You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Residential Services > Because Young People Matter > Data and information > Access to Information

Access to Information

There are over 600 residential service providers across the province but there is currently no province-wide mechanism for potential users and placing agencies to get information about those services. The Ministry directly operates residential services (e.g., certain youth justice custody and detention centres and the Child Parent Resource Institute), while it also transfers payments to community agencies such as children’s aid societies to deliver residential and other services. Some transfer payment agencies (TPAs) responsible for placing children in residential care operate their own internal residential resources, whereas others utilize outside paid resources (OPRs) to provide residential services. Adding to the complexity of the service system, some community agencies use a mix of internal and external residential services.

Children’s aid societies are transfer payment agencies that are responsible for caring for children and youth in need of protection. The Panel heard about the challenges that children’s aid societies face in locating suitable residential services and ensuring that the services are high quality and well-suited to the specific and unique needs of individual children and youth. This was particularly difficult when the children’s aid society relied predominantly on outside paid resource residential services. In some cases, children’s aid societies have sought to develop efficiencies by sharing information about the quality of external residential services. For instance, children’s aid societies in the Greater Toronto Area have developed and implemented a shared assessment tool for OPR residential service providers. This tool allows for information sharing regarding the OPR program philosophy, client groups served, staffing levels, serious occurrences, and outcomes for children and youth following services. Other children’s aid societies share quality assurance managers, which may facilitate sharing best practices for analyzing data about children in care.

In addition to transferring payments to child welfare agencies, MCYS currently provides transfer payments to more than 400 agencies that provide services related to children and youth mental health, some of which provide residential services. Children, youth and their caregivers can access Ministry-funded mental health and complex special needs services by contacting service providers directly or receiving a referral from a school or other health or social service professional. Access to residential services for young people with mental health needs is managed through community tables where children and youth mental health service providers, local child welfare agencies, and other human service organizations are represented, including local hospitals. In the GTA, for example, this mechanism is referred to as Centralized Access to Residential Services (CARS). As with most such community tables managing a centralized access point for mental health residential services, referral to CARS can only be made through professionals and human service organizations, including schools. Outside of that process, there is no list describing mental health service providers that offer residential programs along with detailed information about the type and quality of care offered. Information about mental health service providers is expected to be more readily available through the work of lead agencies and the recently updated Health Care Options website ( https://www.ontario.ca/ locations/health/index.php?lang=en ), however these resources provide general information and do not specifically assist families in accessing residential services.

For young people with complex special needs, the Ministry funds transfer payment agencies to coordinate services and in some instances provide respite. A complex system to navigate, we heard that parents have tremendous difficulty locating residential services, and some parents have resorted to accessing protection services through children’s aid societies even when no child protection concerns were present but rather the issue was a lack of access to more appropriate residential services. This issue was the focus of a 2005 Ombudsman report and was discussed in our consultations 10 years later (Ombudsman Ontario, 2005). Like in the child welfare and children and youth mental health sectors, there is a lack of information available to children and youth with special needs and their families about residential service options.

The Ministry’s 2007 Child and Youth Residential Services Action Plan committed to improving access to information on residential services by developing a public website designed “to provide agencies, families, and ministry staff with a single, integrated database of reliable information” (MCYS, 2007, p.4). Following the 2007 Action Plan, the Ministry started to develop a province-wide public website that would provide “one-stop access to information about specific residential programs,” but unfortunately this website is not operational (MCYS, 2007, p.4). Families and service providers can access information about respite services provided by agencies funded by the Ministry of Community and Social Services and the Ministry of Children and Youth Services through a central website ( respiteservices.com ), which is a step in the right direction.

Limits to access to information about residential services are partly a result of the differences in routes for accessing these services. Access to residential services in Ontario is determined largely on the basis of how the need for out-of­home placement is identified (child welfare, youth justice, mental health, complex special needs), the region a young person lives in, and the funding mechanisms in place (direct operated facilities, transfer payment agencies, and outside paid resources). Some resources can be accessed through multiple sources. For instance, parents, child welfare agencies and even out-of-province organizations can access OPR services directly, as long as they have the capacity to cover the costs. Others, such as services run by child welfare agencies or youth justice, are typically only accessed through those systems. As such, each access point maintains its own list of resources. Differences in mandates, funding models and governance structures in many instances explain why access to some residential services is restricted; youth justice custody/detention facilities, for instance, are designed to be accessed through youth justice, which includes a court order. These restrictions, however, do not mean that access to information about the nature, type and quality of residential services in the province cannot be made more readily available to potential users of those services.

Access to services and access to information about services have been identified as important issues needing to be addressed in several previous reports. Throughout our consultations access was also identified as a critical issue, especially with respect to lack of placement resources in some jurisdictions or lack of options for young people with complex special needs. Access to information about resources supports a transparent consumer focused model that gives young people and their families more control over the difficult decisions that often need to be made in placing young people in out-of-home care. While access to information does not necessarily resolve lack of capacity and resources, easier access to information about the full provincial network of service providers can help (1) increase access to resources that service users would otherwise not be aware of, (2) identify service gaps or duplications to support more efficient resource planning, and (3) identify barriers to accessing underutilized services.

The need for information goes beyond simply knowing which residential services exist in the province. Service users would benefit immensely from having access to detailed information about the programming offered within various residential services, the target client group, the certifications of staff and management, and previous client experiences and outcomes. This would allow for service users to understand the quality and specialization of various residential service providers, and could increase the probability of locating a successful match between the child or youth and the residential service. Through our consultations, we learned of the challenges that families and community agencies face in finding residential resources that adequately match the unique needs of children and youth.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Services en établissement > Parce que ce sont les jeunes qui comptent > Données et renseignements > Accès à l’information

Accès à l’information

On dénombre plus de 600 fournisseurs de services en milieu résidentiel à travers l’Ontario, et pourtant il n’existe actuellement aucun mécanisme à l’échelle provinciale permettant aux usagers potentiels et aux organismes de placement d’obtenir des renseignements à propos de ces services. Le ministère administre directement divers services en milieu résidentiel (dont certains établissements de garde et de détention du système de justice pour la jeunesse et le Child and Parent Resource Institute), mais il verse également des paiements de transfert à des organismes communautaires comme les sociétés d’aide à l’enfance pour assurer la prestation, entre autres, de services en milieu résidentiel. Certains organismes de paiements de transfert responsables du placement d’enfants en milieu résidentiel administrent en interne leurs propres ressources en milieu résidentiel, tandis que d’autres exploitent des ressources externes rémunérées (RER) pour offrir des services en milieu résidentiel. Pour accroître encore la complexité du système de services, certains organismes communautaires utilisent les deux modes de prestation, en interne et en externe.

Les sociétés d’aide à l’enfance sont des organismes de paiements de transfert responsables de la prise en charge des enfants et des jeunes ayant besoin de protection. Le Comité a entendu parler des difficultés rencontrées par les sociétés d’aide à l’enfance pour trouver les services en milieu résidentiel adéquats et pour s’assurer que ces services sont de haute qualité et répondent bien aux besoins particuliers propres à chaque enfant et à chaque jeune. La situation s’est avérée particulièrement complexe dans le cas des sociétés d’aide à l’enfance ayant principalement recours aux services en milieu résidentiel offerts par des ressources externes rémunérées. Dans certains cas, les sociétés d’aide à l’enfance ont cherché à obtenir des gains d’efficacité en partageant l’information relative à la qualité des services en milieu résidentiel fournis en externe. Prenons l’exemple des sociétés d’aide à l’enfance de la région du grand Toronto qui ont conçu et mis en œuvre un outil commun d’évaluation des fournisseurs de services en milieu résidentiel de type RER. Cet outil permet le partage d’information concernant la philosophie des programmes offerts par les RER, les groupes de clients servis, les niveaux de dotation en personnel, les incidents graves, et les résultats obtenus par les enfants et les jeunes à l’issue de la prise en charge. D’autres sociétés d’aide à l’enfance font appel à des responsables conjoints de l’assurance de la qualité, ce qui peut faciliter le partage de pratiques exemplaires aux fins de l’analyse des données relatives aux enfants recevant des services.

Outre les paiements de transfert versés aux organismes de bien-être de l’enfance, le MSEJ octroie actuellement des paiements de transfert à plus de 400 organismes fournissant des services en lien avec la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes, dont des services en milieu résidentiel dans certains cas. Les enfants, les jeunes et leurs aidants peuvent accéder aux services de santé mentale et de prise en charge des besoins particuliers complexes financés par le ministère en communiquant directement avec les fournisseurs de services ou en obtenant une recommandation auprès d’une école ou d’un autre professionnel offrant des services de santé ou des services sociaux. L’accès aux services en milieu résidentiel pour les jeunes ayant des besoins en santé mentale est géré par le biais de comités communautaires où sont représentés les fournisseurs de services de santé mentale aux enfants et aux jeunes, les organismes locaux de bien-être de l’enfance et d’autres organismes de services à la personne, dont les hôpitaux locaux. Dans la région du grand Toronto, par exemple, ce mécanisme est désigné par le terme d’accès centralisé aux services en établissement (ACSE). Comme c’est le cas pour la plupart des comités communautaires gérant un point d’accès centralisé aux services de santé mentale en milieu résidentiel, seuls les professionnels et les organismes de services à la personne, dont les écoles, sont habilités à formuler des recommandations permettant de bénéficier de l’ACSE. En dehors de ce processus, aucune liste ne décrit tous les fournisseurs de services de santé mentale offrant des programmes en milieu résidentiel, avec à l’appui des renseignements détaillés sur le type et la qualité des services fournis. L’information relative aux fournisseurs de services de santé mentale devrait être rendue plus accessible grâce au travail des organismes responsables et à la page Web « Options de soins de santé » ( https://www.ontario.ca/ locations/health/index.php?lang=fr ) récemment mise à jour. Toutefois, ces ressources fournissent des renseignements généraux et n’aident pas spécifiquement les familles à accéder aux services en milieu résidentiel.

Concernant les jeunes ayant des besoins particuliers complexes, le ministère finance des organismes de paiements de transfert chargés de coordonner les services et d’offrir une relève dans certains cas. Ce système étant complexe à appréhender, les parents nous ont indiqué avoir d’énormes difficultés à trouver des services en milieu résidentiel, certains ayant fini par se tourner vers les sociétés d’aide à l’enfance pour obtenir des services de protection malgré l’absence de préoccupations en la matière, à défaut de pouvoir accéder à des services en milieu résidentiel plus appropriés. Cette question, déjà mise en avant dans un rapport de l’ombudsman publié en 2005, a été évoquée lors de nos consultations dix ans plus tard (Ombudsman Ontario, 2005). À l’image de la situation observée dans les secteurs du bien-être de l’enfance et de la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes, les enfants et les jeunes ayant des besoins particuliers ainsi que leurs familles n’ont pas suffisamment de renseignements à disposition concernant les options de services en milieu résidentiel.

Dans le document Améliorer les services en établissement pour les enfants et les jeunes en Ontario : Un plan d’action publié en 2007, le ministère s’engageait à améliorer l’accès aux renseignements sur les services en milieu résidentiel grâce à l’élaboration d’un site Web public « où les organismes, les familles et le personnel du ministère pourront trouver une base de données centralisée, fiable et crédible » (MSEJ, 2007, p. 4). À la suite de ce plan d’action publié en 2007, le ministère a entamé l’élaboration d’un site Web public à l’échelle de la province qui constituerait « un point central d’accès à l’information sur les programmes de services précis en établissement », mais malheureusement, ce dernier n’est pas opérationnel (MSEJ, 2007, p. 4). Les familles et les fournisseurs de services peuvent consulter des renseignements concernant les services de relève offerts par les organismes financés par le ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires et par le ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse sur un site Web central ( respiteservices.com ), ce qui va dans le bon sens.

Les limites d’accès à l’information relative aux services en milieu résidentiel sont en partie le fruit des différents parcours empruntés pour bénéficier de ces services. L’accès aux services en milieu résidentiel en Ontario dépend largement de la façon dont la nécessité d’un placement hors du domicile est identifiée (bien-être de l’enfance, justice pour la jeunesse, santé mentale, besoins particuliers complexes), de la région dans laquelle vit le jeune et du mécanisme de financement en place (organismes directement administrés, organismes de paiements de transfert ou ressources externes rémunérées). Certaines ressources sont accessibles par l’intermédiaire de sources multiples. Par exemple, les parents, les organismes de bien-être de l’enfance et même les organismes extraprovinciaux peuvent accéder directement aux services offerts par des RER, dès lors qu’ils sont en mesure de couvrir les coûts correspondants. Les services administrés par des organismes de bien-être de l’enfance ou les services de justice pour la jeunesse, entre autres, sont en général accessibles uniquement par l’intermédiaire des systèmes correspondants. Ainsi, chaque point d’entrée détient sa propre liste de ressources. Les différences observées en ce qui concerne les mandats, les modèles de financement et les structures de gouvernance expliquent bien souvent pourquoi l’accès à certains services en milieu résidentiel est restreint; les établissements de garde/détention, par exemple, prévoient une admission par l’intermédiaire du système de justice pour la jeunesse, sur ordonnance d’un tribunal. Toutefois, ces restrictions ne signifient pas que les renseignements concernant la nature, le type et la qualité des services en milieu résidentiel de la province ne peuvent pas être mis plus facilement à la disposition des usagers potentiels de ces services.

L’accès aux services et aux renseignements connexes a été classé parmi les problèmes les plus importants à résoudre dans plusieurs rapports précédents. Tout au long de nos consultations, l’accès a également été identifié comme un problème majeur, en particulier au regard du manque de ressources de placement dans certains territoires de compétence ou du manque d’options offertes aux jeunes ayant des besoins particuliers complexes. L’accès aux renseignements relatifs aux ressources vient étayer l’instauration d’un modèle transparent axé sur le client qui donne aux jeunes et aux familles un contrôle accru sur les décisions difficiles qui doivent souvent être prises dans le cadre des placements hors du domicile. Si cet accès à l’information ne résout pas nécessairement le manque de capacité et de ressources, la consultation plus facile des renseignements couvrant l’ensemble du réseau provincial de fournisseurs de services peut contribuer (1) à améliorer l’accès des usagers à des ressources dont ils n’auraient pas eu connaissance par ailleurs, (2) à identifier les lacunes et les chevauchements pour favoriser une planification plus efficace des ressources, et (3) à identifier les obstacles entravant l’accès aux services sous-utilisés.

Ce besoin d’information va au-delà du simple fait de connaître les services en milieu résidentiel qui existent dans la province. Les usagers des services profiteraient grandement de la mise à disposition de renseignements détaillés concernant les programmes offerts dans le cadre de divers services en milieu résidentiel, le groupe de clients visé, les certifications du personnel et des gestionnaires, et les expériences et résultats des clients précédents. Cela leur permettrait de comprendre la qualité et la spécialisation des nombreux fournisseurs de services en milieu résidentiel, et d’avoir plus de chances de mettre l’enfant ou le jeune en relation avec le bon service en milieu résidentiel. Lors de nos consultations, nous avons découvert les difficultés rencontrées par les familles et les organismes communautaires pour trouver les ressources en milieu résidentiel adaptées aux besoins uniques des enfants et des jeunes.