You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Residential Services > Because Young People Matter > Data and information > Implications for Recommendations

Implications for Recommendations

An effective province-wide cross-sectoral information and data management system is essential to ensure that Ontario is able to offer young people in residential care the quality of services that they need. Such a system should include (1) a clearinghouse which provides young people, their parents and professionals working with them with information about the full range of placement options that are available to them; (2) a data repository that can be used to monitor services, analyze service trends and track outcomes; (3) a research and evaluation strategy that supports innovation and implementation of evidence-based practices.

Existing Information and Data Collection Systems

Although there currently is very little province-wide information being reported about young people in residential care, the Ministry collects an enormous amount of data about these services. Crown Ward reviews, licensing reports and serious occurrence reports are rich under-utilized sources of data. The Ministry has already developed a province-wide Youth Justice information system (Youth Offender Tracking and Information System). The Ministry is also investing significant resources into the development of CPIN, the province-wide child welfare information management system. CPIN tracks many key indicators that could be used to monitor services, analyze trends and track outcomes. The placement module in CPIN can be expanded to include information about all residential service providers. The deployment of CPIN has been slower than expected and in several of our consultations concerns were raised about its implementation. It is also important to note that CPIN has limited capacity to allow for complex analyses to be conducted with data from pre-existing systems. To analyze long term trends, analysts will need to access legacy systems; OCANDS has the capacity to be used to tap into those legacy systems.

Service providers also collect a range of important information: the Assessment and Action Records used by child welfare agencies through the OnLAC initiative and the Partners in Care project conducted by OARTY include a rich amount of information about young people’s relationships, education and well-being that can be used to help understand service needs and outcomes. As discussed, these data collection efforts have serious limitations alongside their strengths. In reviewing these various tools we considered the merits of selecting a single assessment tool to be used across all service providers. While a common tool would have some advantages, such as simplifying referral procedures between service providers, and facilitating comparisons of services and outcomes between different service providers, we were concerned that imposing a single assessment tool could (1) undermine clinical approaches that integrate existing tools, (2) be poorly completed by staff who may fail to buy into a Ministry imposed tool, and (3) risk moving the Ministry’s role from oversight to administration. These tools nevertheless provide helpful information that include indicators of key dimensions that can be compared across different assessment platforms and analyzed at the aggregate level. MCYS does not intend to mandate the use of any specific assessment tool and the Panel found this to be appropriate.

User satisfaction ratings are one area where new data collection systems may be required. Other jurisdictions, including British Columbia, collect client satisfaction information following the provision of services to children and youth. In Ontario, informal reviews for certain residential services such as shelters are sometimes posted in online forums such as Google Reviews, but there has been no systematic collection of user satisfaction from young people who have experienced residential services. The exception is youth justice, where youth feedback is gathered through a youth experience survey completed with the probation officer following discharge from custody. A parent/guardian experience survey is also used.

Legal and Ethical Considerations

Opening up of access to information about services must be balanced against a range of privacy and safety considerations. Accessing and sharing information about residential service providers was identified as a major challenge in many of our consultations:

Some of these issues were examined through the Ministry’s recently completed review of the CFSA. Given the Ministry’s role in funding residential services and its licensing function, it will be important to ensure that the Ministry is able to access information needed by the proposed Quality Inspectorate to meet its function. A framework will also need to be developed to determine what types of information can be shared at what level of aggregation and with whom.

Data Infrastructure Needs

Given the wealth of existing data and the significant investments that are being made to develop common information in the child welfare sector, we do not think that a new residential services information system is the appropriate way to go. Initiatives like OCANDS demonstrate how programming and data analytics can be used to effectively combine information across different platforms. While some information collection systems require some enhancements – Serious Occurrence Reports are currently faxed into regional offices, Crown Ward Review data are provided to children’s aid societies in spreadsheets, CPIN has limited cross-sector information sharing capacity and there is no comprehensive strategy for using the data to inform policy – we have concluded that a focused investment in developing programming and data analysis capacity would be more effective and expedient than creating new data collection systems dedicated to residential care.

In addition to developing the analytic infrastructure for making better use of existing data, a commitment to a standard and comprehensive set of public reports is a powerful mechanism for ensuring that data are used and for creating incentives for improving data quality. The Ministry is currently reporting on several child welfare indicators and on important trends in Youth Justice. These initiatives could be significantly expanded by including a broader array of indicators. In Chapter 10, we review many of the indicators used in other jurisdictions and present a framework for selecting key indicators that should be reported on an annual basis. We also discuss some of the analytic issues that have to be addressed before reporting publicly on meaningful data comparing service providers.

One of the information and data challenges that will need to be addressed will be finding effective methods to track young people who experience placements across different sectors. The sector-specific information systems that are currently in place fail to provide a good mechanism for tracking and understanding the placement trajectories of these “cross-over” youth. Given that these are some of the most vulnerable young people in residential care, it is critical that enhancements made to existing information systems provide the Ministry with the ability to track and analyze the service trajectories and outcomes for these young people.

Along with enhancing the Ministry’s data analytic capacity, service providers and independent researchers also need to be supported to make better use of the data that they produce. Independent researchers should be encouraged to access non-identifying data to conduct more in depth analyses of these administrative datasets. In addition, research studies based on selected samples of young people in residential care are important tools to generate more nuanced and in-depth understanding of the experiences of young people and the outcomes of services.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Services en établissement > Parce que ce sont les jeunes qui comptent > Données et renseignements > Répercussions sur les recommandations

Répercussions sur les recommandations

Il est essentiel de disposer d’un système efficace de gestion de l’information et des données intersectorielles à l’échelle de la province pour s’assurer que l’Ontario est en mesure d’offrir aux jeunes pris en charge en milieu résidentiel la qualité de services dont ils ont besoin. Pour ce faire, ledit système devrait inclure (1) un centre d’information permettant aux jeunes, à leurs parents et aux professionnels intervenant auprès d’eux de se renseigner sur la panoplie complète d’options de placement à leur disposition; (2) un entrepôt de données pouvant servir à la surveillance des services, à l’analyse des tendances inhérentes aux services et au suivi des résultats; et (3) une stratégie de recherche et d’évaluation favorisant l’innovation et la mise en œuvre de pratiques fondées sur des données probantes.

Systèmes de collecte d’information et de données existants

Si très peu de renseignements à l’échelle de la province sont actuellement rendus publics au sujet des jeunes recevant des services en milieu résidentiel, le ministère recueille néanmoins une quantité monumentale de données concernant ces services. Les révisions du statut des pupilles de la Couronne, les rapports de délivrance des permis et les signalements d’incident grave constituent des sources de données riches, mais sous-exploitées. Le ministère a déjà élaboré un système informatique à l’échelle provinciale pour les services de justice pour la jeunesse (Système informatique de suivi des jeunes contrevenants). Le ministère investit aussi d’importantes ressources au titre du développement du RIPE, le système de gestion de l’information des services de bien-être de l’enfance de la province. Le RIPE mesure de nombreux indicateurs clés qui pourraient être utilisés pour la surveillance des services, l’analyse des tendances et le suivi des résultats. Il est possible d’étendre le module dédié aux placements au sein du RIPE de façon à inclure des renseignements sur l’ensemble des fournisseurs de services en milieu résidentiel. Le déploiement du RIPE a été plus lent que prévu et sa mise en œuvre a soulevé des préoccupations lors de plusieurs séances de consultation. Il est également important de souligner que le RIPE offre une capacité restreinte pour mener des analyses complexes à l’aide des données provenant de systèmes préexistants. Pour analyser les tendances à long terme, les analystes devront accéder à des systèmes hérités; il serait possible d’utiliser l’OCANDS pour récupérer les données qu’ils contiennent.

Les fournisseurs de services recueillent eux aussi un éventail de renseignements importants : les Cahiers d’évaluation et de suivi utilisés par les organismes de bien-être de l’enfance dans le cadre du projet SOCEN et du projet Partners in Care mené par l’Association Ontarienne des Résidences pour la Jeunesse contiennent une mine de renseignements concernant les relations, l’éducation et le bien-être des jeunes, lesquels peuvent servir à mieux comprendre les besoins en matière de services et les résultats. Comme nous l’avons évoqué, ces initiatives en matière de collecte de données souffrent d’importantes limites contrebalançant leurs points forts. Au cours de l’examen de ces divers outils, nous avons étudié l’intérêt d’opter pour un outil d’évaluation unique, mis en œuvre par tous les fournisseurs de services. Si l’adoption d’un outil commun présenterait certains avantages, comme la simplification des procédures de recommandation entre fournisseurs de services et la comparaison plus aisée des services et des résultats entre les différents fournisseurs de services, nous nous sommes tout de même inquiétés du fait qu’un seul outil d’évaluation risquait (1) de compromettre les approches cliniques qui intègrent des outils existants, (2) de ne pas être rempli correctement par le personnel, s’il n’est pas enclin à adopter un outil imposé par le ministère, et (3) de faire endosser au ministère un rôle de gestion et non plus de surveillance. Ces outils offrent néanmoins des renseignements utiles, dont des indicateurs éclairant certaines dimensions essentielles qui peuvent être comparées à travers différentes plateformes d’évaluation et analysées de manière globale. Le MSEJ ne prévoit pas d’imposer l’usage d’un outil d’évaluation en particulier, ce que le Comité juge pertinent.

La mesure des taux de satisfaction des usagers est un volet susceptible de nécessiter de nouveaux systèmes de collecte de données. D’autres territoires de compétence, dont la Colombie-Britannique, recueillent des renseignements sur la satisfaction des clients à l’issue de toute prestation de services aux enfants et aux jeunes. En Ontario, il arrive parfois que des examens informels portant sur certains services en milieu résidentiel (tels que les refuges) soient publiés sur des forums en ligne comme Google Reviews, mais aucun outil ne permet de consigner systématiquement le degré de satisfaction des jeunes ayant fait l’expérience des services en milieu résidentiel. Le système de justice pour la jeunesse est la seule exception, la rétroaction des jeunes étant recueillie dans le cadre d’une enquête concernant leur expérience remplie avec l’agent de probation après la libération. Une enquête sur l’expérience des parents/tuteurs est également mise en œuvre.

Questions de nature juridique et éthique

L’ouverture de l’accès aux renseignements concernant les services doit être équilibrée avec diverses questions touchant le respect de la vie privée et la sécurité. La consultation et le partage de l’information au sujet des fournisseurs de services en milieu résidentiel ont fait figure d’enjeu majeur au cours d’un grand nombre de nos séances de consultation :

Certaines d’entre elles ont été étudiées dans le cadre de l’examen de la LSEF achevé récemment par le ministère. Au vu du rôle joué par le ministère dans le financement des services en milieu résidentiel et de sa fonction de délivrance des permis, il sera important de veiller à ce que ce dernier soit en mesure d’accéder aux renseignements dont le service d’inspection de la qualité proposé aura besoin pour exercer sa fonction. Il sera également nécessaire d’élaborer un cadre déterminant les types de renseignements qui peuvent être communiqués, les niveaux d’agrégation applicables et les destinataires autorisés.

Besoins en matière d’infrastructure de données

Étant donné la richesse des données existantes et les importants investissements actuellement consentis pour établir des renseignements communs dans le secteur du bien-être de l’enfance, nous ne pensons pas qu’il soit judicieux d’opter pour un nouveau système d’information sur les services en milieu résidentiel. Diverses initiatives comme l’OCANDS illustrent comment utiliser la programmation et l’analyse des données pour combiner efficacement les renseignements provenant de différentes plateformes. Bien que certains systèmes de collecte d’information requièrent des améliorations (les signalements d’incident grave sont actuellement envoyés par télécopie aux bureaux régionaux; les données de la révision du statut des pupilles de la Couronne sont fournies aux sociétés d’aide à l’enfance sous forme de feuilles de calcul; le RIPE offre une capacité limitée de partage d’information entre les secteurs et aucune stratégie globale concernant l’utilisation de ces données n’est prévue pour éclairer les politiques), nous avons conclu qu’un investissement ciblé visant à développer la capacité de programmation et d’analyse des données serait une solution plus efficace et plus rapide que la création de nouveaux systèmes de collecte de données dédiés aux services en milieu résidentiel.

En plus d’une infrastructure d’analyse renforcée pour mieux exploiter les données existantes, l’engagement à rendre public un ensemble complet et normalisé de rapports constitue un puissant moyen de s’assurer que les données sont utilisées et de créer des mesures d’encouragement visant une meilleure qualité des données. Le ministère produit actuellement des rapports portant sur plusieurs indicateurs relatifs au bien-être de l’enfance et sur des tendances importantes dans le secteur de la justice pour la jeunesse. Ces initiatives pourraient être considérablement étoffées en intégrant un éventail plus vaste d’indicateurs. Au chapitre 10, nous passons en revue un grand nombre des indicateurs employés dans d’autres territoires de compétence et nous présentons un cadre pour la sélection des indicateurs clés qui devraient faire l’objet d’une reddition de comptes annuelle. Nous évoquons également certaines questions en matière d’analyse qui doivent être résolues avant de divulguer au public des données significatives comparant les fournisseurs de services.

L’une des difficultés posées en ce qui concerne les renseignements et les données portera sur l’identification de méthodes efficaces permettant de suivre les jeunes qui font l’objet de placements dans différents secteurs. Les systèmes d’information propres à chaque secteur qui sont actuellement en place n’offrent pas un mécanisme propice au suivi et à la compréhension des parcours de placement des jeunes changeant de type de milieu résidentiel. Ces derniers faisant partie des jeunes les plus vulnérables au sein des services en milieu résidentiel, il est capital que les améliorations apportées aux systèmes d’information existants confèrent au ministère la capacité de suivre et d’analyser leurs parcours au sein des services et leurs résultats.

Parallèlement au renforcement de la capacité d’analyse des données du ministère, les fournisseurs de services et les chercheurs indépendants ont également besoin d’être épaulés pour mieux faire usage des données qu’ils produisent. Les chercheurs indépendants devraient être encouragés à consulter des renseignements non identificatoires afin d’analyser plus en profondeur ces ensembles de données administratives. En outre, les travaux de recherche portant sur des échantillons sélectionnés de jeunes recevant des services en milieu résidentiel sont des outils importants pour générer une compréhension plus nuancée et approfondie des expériences faites par les jeunes et des résultats des services.