You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Residential Services > Because Young People Matter > Human resources > Introduction

Introduction

Residential services across sectors rely substantially on human resources for the purpose of meeting the needs of young people. From a budgetary perspective, human resources account for 80% to 85% of operating expenditures (Gharabaghi, 2009). Evidence with respect to quality of care considerations strongly suggests that relational practices, based on highly skilled human resources, provide for the best and most sustainable outcomes for children and youth living in residential services (Holden, 2009). Over the course of the past ten years, demands for ever more complex evidence-based interventions, inter-disciplinary collaboration and family systems-oriented approaches to being with young people in residential services have accelerated across sectors, and service providers across sectors are working hard to embed such practices and approaches within their programs. This places significant pressure on human resources involved in residential service provision to keep pace with the increasing complexity and demands of the work.

Outside of the directly operated youth justice sector, the lack of standards for hiring qualified staff members in residential care settings has resulted in significant variations in the qualifications, levels of experience, compensation, training, and employment conditions of front line staff across sectors. In many instances, this leads to the recruitment of under-qualified individuals as staff members. This frequently results in poor retention and high turnover rates of those under-qualified individuals, creating further instability for the children and youth in their care. Across all of the sectors of the residential service system, promotional standards are often unclear and supervision, in the context of relational and clinical practice, of staff members is inconsistent and inadequate. In addition, training is often limited to in-house mandatory training related to health and safety, policies and procedures and other themes and issues that are not directly related to the everyday experience of young people in out-of-home care.

The human resources typically associated with residential care services include the following:

Many other kinds of positions play significant roles in residential services, including management staff within the larger agency, owners and operators in the private sector, as well as clinical staff, teaching staff, administrative staff and custodial, maintenance and kitchen staff.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Services en établissement > Parce que ce sont les jeunes qui comptent > Ressources humaines > Introduction

Introduction

Les services en milieu résidentiel, tous secteurs confondus, sont en grande partie tributaires des ressources humaines pour répondre aux besoins des jeunes. D’un point de vue budgétaire, les ressources humaines représentent 80 à 85 p. 100 des dépenses de fonctionnement (Gharabaghi, 2009). Les données probantes relatives aux questions touchant la qualité des services suggèrent fortement que les pratiques relationnelles, mises en œuvre par des ressources humaines hautement qualifiées, s’accompagnent des résultats les meilleurs et les plus durables pour les enfants et les jeunes recevant des services en milieu résidentiel (Holden, 2009). Au cours des dix dernières années, les exigences à l’appui d’interventions toujours plus complexes fondées sur des données probantes, d’une collaboration interdisciplinaire et d’approches systémiques axées sur la présence de la famille aux côtés des jeunes pris en charge en milieu résidentiel se sont multipliées, et les fournisseurs de services de tous les secteurs travaillent d’arrache-pied pour intégrer de telles pratiques et approches au sein de leurs programmes. Cela exerce une pression considérable sur les ressources humaines intervenant dans la prestation des services en milieu résidentiel, qui doivent s’adapter à cette complexité accrue et aux exigences croissantes de leur travail.

Hormis dans le cadre des services de justice pour la jeunesse directement administrés, l’absence de normes régissant l’embauche d’un personnel qualifié dans les milieux résidentiels a fait naître d’importants écarts en termes de qualifications, de niveaux d’expérience, de rémunération, de formation et de conditions d’emploi des travailleurs de première ligne entre les secteurs. D’où le recrutement, dans bien des cas, de personnes sous-qualifiées se traduisant souvent par un taux médiocre de maintien de l’effectif et par une fréquence élevée de roulement du personnel qui contribuent à accroître le climat d’instabilité pour les enfants et les jeunes pris en charge. Dans l’ensemble des secteurs du système de services en milieu résidentiel, les normes de promotion du personnel manquent souvent de clarté et la supervision de ce dernier, dans le contexte de pratiques relationnelles et cliniques, n’est ni uniforme ni adaptée. Par ailleurs, la formation est souvent limitée aux programmes internes obligatoires portant sur l’hygiène et la sécurité, les politiques et procédures, et d’autres thèmes et questions sans lien direct avec l’expérience quotidienne des jeunes bénéficiant d’une prise en charge hors du domicile.

Les ressources humaines suivantes sont généralement associées à la prestation de services en milieu résidentiel :

Bon nombre d’autres employés jouent un rôle majeur dans les services en milieu résidentiel, notamment les gestionnaires au sein des grands organismes, les propriétaires et les exploitants du secteur privé, ainsi que le personnel clinique, enseignant et administratif et le personnel assurant la garde, l’entretien et la préparation des repas.