You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Residential Services > Because Young People Matter > Appendix 3: New Worker Training & Refreshers

Appendix 3 New Worker Training & Refreshers

Description:

A mandatory two week training course required of all direct service staff hired to work in residential care settings such as group care and foster care support, including full time workers, part time workers, relief or casual workers and workers hired to perform one to one supervision under Special Rate Agreements. The New Worker training certificate must be completed prior to deployment in any residential care setting, and a biennial (every two years) two day refresher course must be completed thereafter.

Purpose:

To ensure that all workers involved in residential care provision are informed by and committed to working from an empathy-based perspective that is framed by the theoretical and practice elements of relational practice, life space intervention, ethical decision-making and child and youth participation, engagement and rights.

Structure:

The New Worker training course is to be delivered by the post-secondary education sector in partnership with the field. It is critical that the course be neither delivered nor owned by the field or any agency within residential care systems across sectors. Instead, the course must be delivered by the post-secondary education sector with a focus on child and youth care practice in particular, as the most relevant conceptual and practice elements envisioned for excellence in residential services are elements of the discipline of child and youth care practice.

Ontario’s post-secondary education sector offers 22 diploma and two degree programs in Child and Youth Care Practice, geographically spread across the province with excellent capacity to deliver such training, where applicable in partnership with institutional continuing education units (for example, the Chang School of Continuing Education at Ryerson University). It is envisioned that the training course is available to newly hired practitioners at least once per month at an institution at reasonable distance to the new employee.

The cost of such course should not exceed $500 per person, and residential service providers should be responsible for cost-sharing this cost at a minimum 50/50 split with prospective employees who do not yet have such certification. Certification is transferable across employers and sectors. Employers can create more competitive recruitment strategies by covering the full cost of the course.

Sample Curriculum:

The ten-day curriculum is envisioned to include the following elements:

  1. Understanding the context of young people placed in residential care

  2. Empathy and the development of Self

  3. Relational practice – theory

  4. Relational practice – practice elements

  5. Life-space intervention

  6. Children’s rights and child and youth participation / engagement

  7. Unique cultural, identity and lifestyle contexts

  8. Ethical decision-making, the use of supervision, team work

  9. Crisis Intervention certification

Refresher training:

A two day training program every two years, with a curriculum that captures the core elements of the New Worker training but seeks to incorporate the practice experiences of workers in order to bring the concepts of the new worker training to life.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Services en établissement > Parce que ce sont les jeunes qui comptent > Annexes > Annexe 3: Programme de formation du nouveau personnel et remises à niveau

Annexe 3 Programme de formation du nouveau personnel et remises à niveau

Description :

Programme de formation obligatoire de deux semaines que doivent valider tous les membres du personnel intervenant directement auprès des enfants et des jeunes qui sont embauchés pour travailler en milieu résidentiel (services fournis en foyer de groupe, soutien en famille d’accueil, par exemple), y compris les employés à temps plein et à temps partiel, les employés occasionnels ou les travailleurs de relève et les travailleurs recrutés pour assurer une supervision individuelle en vertu d’ententes de tarifs spéciaux. Le certificat de formation du nouveau personnel doit être obtenu avant le déploiement en milieu résidentiel, et un programme de remise à niveau sur deux jours devra ensuite être suivi tous les deux ans.

Objet :

Garantir que tous les travailleurs participant à la prestation de services en milieu résidentiel adoptent une attitude éclairée par l’empathie, encadrée par des éléments théoriques et pratiques en matière de pratique relationnelle, d’intervention dans l’espace vital, de prise de décision éthique, de participation des enfants et des jeunes et de défense de leurs droits, et s’engagent à respecter cette optique dans leur travail.

Structure :

Le programme de formation du nouveau personnel est dispensé par le secteur de l’enseignement postsecondaire en partenariat avec les intervenants sur le terrain. Il est essentiel que sa prestation ou sa propriété ne revienne pas aux intervenants sur le terrain ou à un quelconque organisme au sein des systèmes de services en milieu résidentiel, quel que soit le secteur. Au contraire, ce programme doit être dispensé par le secteur de l’enseignement postsecondaire avec un accent particulier sur le travail auprès des enfants et des jeunes, dans la mesure où les éléments conceptuels et pratiques les plus pertinents dans une optique d’excellence des services en milieu résidentiel relèvent de cette discipline.

Le secteur de l’enseignement postsecondaire en Ontario propose 22 diplômes et deux programmes menant à un grade dans le domaine du travail auprès des enfants et des jeunes, avec une répartition géographique au sein de la province offrant une excellente capacité de prestation de ladite formation, le cas échéant en partenariat avec des unités institutionnelles de formation continue (par exemple, la Chang School of Continuing Education de l’Université Ryerson). Il est prévu de mettre ce programme de formation à la disposition des travailleurs récemment embauchés au moins une fois par mois dans un établissement situé à une distance raisonnable pour le nouvel employé.

Le coût de cette formation ne devrait pas dépasser 500 $ par personne, et les fournisseurs de services en milieu résidentiel devraient être tenus de prendre en charge au moins la moitié des frais pour les employés potentiels n’ayant pas encore obtenu cette certification. La certification est transférable d’un employeur à un autre et entre les secteurs. Les employeurs peuvent élaborer des stratégies de recrutement plus compétitives en couvrant intégralement le coût de la formation.

Programme d’études type :

Le programme d’études sur dix jours pourrait inclure les éléments suivants :

Remise à niveau :

Programme de formation sur deux jours, dispensé tous les deux ans, reposant sur un programme d’études qui reprend les notions essentielles de la formation initiale, tout en s’efforçant d’intégrer les expériences pratiques des travailleurs afin de concrétiser les concepts évoqués dans la formation du nouveau personnel.