You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Residential Services > Because Young People Matter > Appendix 4: Supervisor Certification

Appendix 4 Supervisor Certification

Rationale:

The Panel strongly recommends the development of a supervisor certification program in order to ensure that individuals with responsibility to provide supervision are qualified to do so and able to provide such supervision meaningfully and directly related to life space practice settings. Supervision is a core component of effective child and youth care practice in residential settings. The supervision process should ensure at least four continuous dynamics:

  1. Workers are provided with clinical guidance in their practice with children and youth in the every day context of residential care;

  2. The residential setting is fundamentally oriented toward relational practices and the empowerment and participation of young people in their every day experiences;

  3. Practitioners are supported in their experiences of working with very vulnerable young people in such a way that their resilience in relation to compassion fatigue, vicarious trauma and burnout are mitigated;

  4. Practitioners have real and meaningful professional development and career planning goals that ensure on-going learning and skills development.

The current approaches to appointing individuals to supervisory positions are ad hoc in most cases and across sectors, with standards and required qualifications either absent or geared solely toward positive performance in front-line positions This is not adequate given the pivotal role of supervisor positions in residential services.

Description:

A supervisor certification process must be developed that ensures that anyone appointed to such a position is trained and has demonstrated competence in the following areas of practice:

  1. In-depth understanding of relational practices, including clinical, therapeutic and practice approaches;

  2. Capacity to support and coach front line practitioners in their capacity to deliver high quality services to young people and to maintain their relational engagement within the broader context of empathy;

  3. A thorough understanding of leadership in the context of collaborative team-based approaches to serving young people in residential services.

Structure:

The Panel envisions a multi-module certification program offered through recognized leaders in the field of child and youth care with clear capacity to offer training for supervisors at the highest possible level.. The minimum education level for the delivery agents of the certification program should be a university-based degree in child and youth care practice. The Panel furthermore recommends that existing supervisors be required to complete the certification process within the first year of its availability; newly hired or promoted supervisors must complete the certification prior to beginning work in formal supervisory positions in any context of residential service provision.

The specific curriculum of such program should be developed in partnership between the field and recognized leaders in the field of child and youth care practice. MCYS should provide leadership in ensuring that a small group of such individuals is constituted in order to proceed with the development of this process as soon as possible.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Services en établissement > Parce que ce sont les jeunes qui comptent > Annexes > Annexe 4: Certification des superviseurs

Annexe 4 Certification des superviseurs

Raisonnement :

Le Comité recommande fortement la mise au point d’un programme de certification des superviseurs visant à garantir que les personnes chargées d’assurer une supervision sont compétentes et aptes à exercer cette fonction de façon constructive et en lien direct avec les milieux d’intervention dans l’espace vital. La supervision est une composante essentielle pour assurer un travail efficace auprès des enfants et des jeunes en milieu résidentiel. Le processus de supervision doit garantir au moins quatre dynamiques permanentes :

  1. Les travailleurs reçoivent des conseils cliniques concernant leur travail auprès des enfants et des jeunes dans le contexte quotidien des services en milieu résidentiel.
  2. Le milieu résidentiel est fondamentalement orienté vers les pratiques relationnelles, ainsi que vers la prise d’autonomie et la participation des jeunes dans le cadre de leurs expériences quotidiennes.
  3. Les travailleurs bénéficient d’un soutien dans le cadre de leurs expériences de travail auprès des jeunes très vulnérables de manière à renforcer leur résilience à l’usure de compassion, aux traumatismes par personne interposée et à l’état d’épuisement.
  4. Les travailleurs ont des objectifs de perfectionnement professionnel et de planification de carrière concrets et enrichissants qui garantissent un apprentissage et un perfectionnement des compétences en continu.

Les approches actuelles de nomination aux postes de supervision sont peu systématiques dans la plupart des cas, quel que soit le secteur, et se caractérisent par des normes et des qualifications requises inexistantes ou tenant uniquement compte du rendement positif aux postes de première ligne. Ce principe ne convient pas au vu du rôle crucial joué par les superviseurs dans le cadre des services en milieu résidentiel.

Description :

Un processus de certification des superviseurs doit être mis au point pour garantir que toute personne accédant à un tel poste est formée et a démontré ses compétences dans les domaines de pratique suivants :

  1. Compréhension approfondie des pratiques relationnelles, notamment des approches cliniques, thérapeutiques et pratiques.
  2. Capacité d’appuyer les travailleurs de première ligne, et de les aider à assurer une prestation de services de haute qualité auprès des jeunes et à maintenir leur investissement dans les relations au sein d’un contexte d’empathie plus large.
  3. Compréhension complète du leadership dans le cadre d’approches collaboratives en équipe en matière de prestation de services en milieu résidentiel auprès des jeunes.

Structure :

Le Comité prévoit un programme de certification à plusieurs modules dispensé par des leaders reconnus dans le domaine du travail auprès des enfants et des jeunes ayant clairement la capacité d’offrir une formation de niveau maximal aux superviseurs. Les formateurs au sein du programme de certification devraient au moins être titulaires d’un grade universitaire de travail auprès des enfants et des jeunes. Le Comité recommande en outre que les superviseurs actuels soient tenus de valider ce processus de certification dès sa première année de mise en œuvre; les superviseurs récemment embauchés ou promus doivent obtenir la certification avant d’exercer officiellement leurs fonctions de supervision dans tout milieu résidentiel.

Le programme d’études spécifique de ladite certification devrait être élaboré en partenariat avec les intervenants sur le terrain et les leaders reconnus dans le domaine du travail auprès des enfants et des jeunes. Le MSEJ doit jouer un rôle de leader en veillant à ce qu’un petit groupe rassemblant ces parties prenantes soit constitué afin d’entamer dès que possible l’élaboration de ce processus.