You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Child welfare > Residential Services > Because Young People Matter > Voice

2. VOICE

Introduction

The importance of young people having a voice in the decisions and experiences that impact them and in their everyday life has long been recognized both in scholarly literature and in the work of service providers across child and youth serving sectors. The concept of ‘doing with’ rather than ‘doing to’ or ‘doing for’ young people is often cited as a way of distinguishing the construction of young people as subjects versus objects. Inherently, to the extent that treatment approaches are based in medical models of service provision, the risk of continuing the construction of young people as objects exists (AACRC, 2014; Allan et al., 2011; Brendtro & Larson, 2004; Child Fund Australia, 2012).

Government strategic directions, service plans developed by child and youth serving agencies, and previous Panels and consultations have cited the need for a coherent and meaningful strategy to ensure that young people are active participants in their experience in out-of-home care. The Blueprint for Fundamental Change to Ontario’s Child Welfare System (2013), identifies as essential and urgent that the group care system is evaluated to make sure that it focuses on the best outcomes for youth, starting with a process that listens to the voices of youth in and from care. In addition, a recent report from Kinark Child and Family Services (2015) states that empowering youth to be equal decision-makers in their own treatment is particularly important in health-related fields, including residential treatment programs, where traditional structures have created inherent power differentials between youth and caregiving adults. Young people themselves have consistently stated that the opportunity to have a direct involvement and a meaningful role in the decisions that affect them is of critical importance.

The recognition that young people’s voices are important stands in contrast with the expert-driven nature of much of the residential services system. We heard from young people that major decisions that have a direct and often life altering impact on young people continue to be made without their direct involvement, or without a significant weighing of the perspectives presented by young people. A recent draft report from Children and youth mental health Ontario (CMHO, 2015), for example, proposes a significant restructuring of the children and youth mental health system, including residential treatment services, without reference to young people’s voices at all. This in spite of the report acknowledging the critical importance and extensive evidence related to the benefits of youth participation and engagement in their involvement with services (p.9). Young people and CAS-based Children’s Services Workers indicated to the Panel that this often includes placement decisions, where young people often have no role in determining either the type of placement or the specific service provider they may prefer.

Notable contexts in which the voices of young people are key include the development of programs and services for young people in out-of-home care, the governance and accountability frameworks for such services, the design - including the rules, procedures and physical design of programs and services - as well as the treatment, relationships and caring that unfolds in programs and services. Of great importance is the active involvement and joint decision-making between young people, families and professionals in the context of major transitions, such as the transition into out-of-home care, the transition between placements, and the transition out of out-of-home care, including into emerging adulthood.

The Panel was told that the issue of voice extends beyond the participation of young people in their own lives; within the residential service sector, the voices of direct care providers (residential front line staff, foster parents, youth services officers) also have often not found opportunities to be heard and to have their perspectives fully integrated into decision-making. Similarly, the voices of families, including parents, siblings, grandparents and extended family or kin are often very peripheral to the expert-driven approaches in service design and governance.

In spite of shortcomings, the Panel is impressed with several initiatives aiming to ensure the inclusion of young people in the design of residential services and feedback about young people’s everyday experience. A longstanding example of this is the Youth Amplifiers who work with the Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth to consult with young people in care to ensure that their experiences in care are known by others. Other examples include New Mentality, a youth group and program in the children and youth mental health sector, and YouthCan, a youth group in the child welfare sector that works to represent the voices and experiences of young people in care. The Panel supports these aforementioned initiatives, and moving forward feels that it is important for young people who are not likely to join such groups to be given alternative opportunities to have their voices heard.

Issues

Across Ontario’s residential services system, there is a general appreciation that the voices of young people living in residential services are important. During its consultation sessions, the Panel encountered a wide range of approaches that aim to provide opportunities for young people to express their unique needs. However, except for the aforementioned youth groups facilitated and supported by major organizations such as PACY, CMHO and OACAS, these approaches are inadequate at the agency and system levels when aiming to provide youth with meaningful ways to actively participate in their service experience at all levels of that experience. For example, holding regular focus groups in order to elicit youth perspectives or ensuring that young people are involved in their Plans of Care are not in and of themselves sufficient mechanisms of engagement. The Panel heard repeatedly in its consultations with young people and also with child protection staff, foster parents and residential staff that plans of care processes vary significantly from program to program and even from worker to worker. These processes are often not seen as providing young people with meaningful opportunities to be partners in their own care.

Many young people report a high level of disengagement and disempowerment within their everyday experience of care as well as their trajectories through care. They elaborate that they feel that their inspiration for their life and future and their unique sense of self is continuously challenged by professionals and a system that they believe should embrace them. Young people cited examples such as being streamed into vocational education against their wishes, being discouraged from pursuing their professional aspirations if these appear as incongruent with their educational achievement, and in some cases being discouraged from exploring their cultural, sexual and lifestyle identities.

The voices of young people in the system of residential services are frequently minimally represented in decision-making at the individual case, program and system levels. While there is often an emphasis on individualized treatment plans and plans of care, the mechanism of individualization also serves to fragment and minimize the collective voices of young people impacted directly by these services when these processes are implemented in a mutually exclusive manner. While it is in fact important to maintain Plans of Care and related interventions as highly customized and personalized in order to engage the unique context of young people, the voices of young people, like the voices of the professionals who work with them, need to be heard as a collective and encompass all levels of service provision, including governance, accountability, system design and specific program contexts.

The Panel is concerned that we did not hear of any mechanisms, or even initiatives, to ensure that young people with complex needs, including non-verbal young people and young people with developmental challenges, also have a voice in what happens to them within the residential service system. Furthermore, the Panel notes that the most common mechanism to listen to young people involves group formats, which excludes many young people uncomfortable in such formats. It is worrisome that residential services across sectors have not developed a menu of opportunities to provide feedback and contribute to service design involving contexts suitable for the rich diversity of young people in out-of-home care. Constant efforts are required to include the voices of the full diversity of young people.

Residential services across sectors are characterized by a high commitment to professional expertise, often at the exclusion of the expertise embedded in the lived experiences of young people and their families. Historically, residential care was firmly based on a medical model of practice, with a deficit-based approach in which professional experts operated under the assumption that they would be able to “fix” the young people who received care in this system. As a result, young people living in residential services often had no agency and voice. Although today there is much rhetoric and also increasingly authentic attempts to recognize young people’s agency, voice and valuable expertise based on their lived experience, many major decisions in a young person’s life, including issues related to the use of psychotropic medication, the types of treatment they receive, and the location and types of placements they are offered, are made by professional experts without youth participation. The Panel heard from clinical staff and social workers in several consultations that decision-making about young people particularly in the context of placement decisions can involve additional pressures related to cost containment.

The voices of families of young people involved in the system of residential services, including in children and youth mental health residential treatment services, often appear to be peripheral, especially in the context of major decisions impacting the life of a young person. Although the Panel heard many instances where young people reconnected with their biological families including their siblings following their discharge from the system, these families were not effectively included in residential services while that young person was receiving programs and services. In the Panel’s consultations, a young person’s family was either rarely referred to or referred to in negative ways by residential front line staff and foster caregivers. In the Panel’s research beyond the consultations, very few examples of services and programs were found designed specifically to include and effectively engage families. In the context of residential treatment, family work is often cited as the key ingredient of the treatment, yet the Panel heard repeatedly that families who are not immediately responsive to the attempts to engage them in the treatment process by the service provider are viewed as ‘difficult’ and often seen as the cause for treatment breakdown. The Panel is concerned that a family’s social location, which includes their socioeconomic status, education and race, can have an impact on access to resources resulting from varying capacities for self-advocacy.

The Panel was surprised to learn that immediate caregivers, including front line residential staff in group care and foster parents, see themselves as peripheral in the decision-making processes about the children and youth they care for, and also in the design of the programs and services they are tasked to deliver. Their voices, based on significant accumulated experience of being with young people where they live, and of providing for the needs of young people for ‘the other 23 hours’, appear to not be fully integrated into what are often described as multi- or interdisciplinary teams. In some instances, the Panel heard about evidence-based practices in some residential treatment programs that staff we spoke to in that program were unable to confirm or even identify. When management teams and front line care givers operate in silos, it represents a lost opportunity to meet the needs and hopes of young people.

Implications for Recommendations

The overall context of the Panel’s recommendations with respect to Voice is a mitigation of the top-down, expert-driven model of service provision in which the lived experience of young people and their families are marginalized. Given strong support amongst service providers for the importance of youth voice, engagement and participation in all aspects of service provision, there is an opportunity for MCYS to provide leadership in ensuring that this broad endorsement is put into practice in real and tangible ways. This recommendation aligns with a previous recommendation and theme from, My REAL Life Book – Report from Youth Leaving Care Hearings (2012), which notes that the province of Ontario should recognize the current system needs to fundamentally change by valuing and implementing the incorporation of young people in and from care in the governance and system design of the services and programs that are being offered throughout the residential system. To this end, many recommendations in other areas of this report will incorporate elements of Voice; however, some specific implications for recommendations follow from the above:

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Bien-être de l'enfance > Services en établissement > Parce que ce sont les jeunes qui comptent > Voix

2. VOIX

Introduction

L’importance de faire entendre la voix des jeunes en ce qui a trait aux décisions et aux expériences ayant un impact sur eux et sur leur vie quotidienne est depuis longtemps reconnue dans la littérature savante et dans le travail des fournisseurs de services au sein des secteurs intervenant auprès des enfants et des jeunes. L’idée d’« agir avec » les jeunes au lieu de « leur faire subir » ou de « faire pour eux » est souvent citée comme un moyen de les traiter comme des sujets et non comme des objets. Intrinsèquement, dans la mesure où les approches de traitement sont fondées sur des modèles médicaux de prestation des services, le risque existe de perpétuer cette vision des jeunes « objets » (AACRC, 2014; Allan et coll., 2011; Brendtro & Larson, 2004; Child Fund Australia, 2012).

Les orientations stratégiques du gouvernement, les programmes élaborés par les organismes de services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse, les rapports précédents d’autres comités et nos consultations ont mis en avant la nécessité d’instaurer une stratégie cohérente et constructive pour que les jeunes deviennent acteurs de leur expérience de la prise en charge hors du domicile. Le Plan directeur visant un changement fondamental du système de bien-être de l’enfance de l’Ontario (2013) indique qu’il est essentiel et urgent qu’on évalue le réseau des foyers de groupe pour s’assurer que celui-ci met l’intérêt supérieur des jeunes au centre de ses préoccupations et que les voix des jeunes pris en charge et ayant quitté la prise en charge sont entendues. En outre, un rapport récent publié par Kinark Child and Family Services (2015) souligne l’importance, dans les domaines liés à la santé, de donner aux jeunes le pouvoir d’intervenir à parts égales dans les décisions concernant leur traitement, notamment dans le cadre des programmes de traitement en milieu résidentiel où les structures traditionnelles ont créé un déséquilibre naturel des pouvoirs entre les jeunes et les aidants adultes. Les jeunes eux-mêmes se sont accordés à dire qu’il est crucial d’avoir l’occasion d’intervenir directement et de jouer un rôle important dans les décisions qui les touchent.

Cette reconnaissance quant à l’importance d’écouter la voix des jeunes s’oppose à la nature experte vers laquelle s’oriente majoritairement le système de services en milieu résidentiel. Les jeunes nous ont fait savoir que certaines décisions capitales ayant un impact direct sur eux, et souvent synonymes d’un bouleversement dans leur vie, continuent d’être prises sans leur participation directe, ou sans accorder un poids important aux points de vue qu’ils expriment. Un rapport préliminaire récent émanant de Santé mentale pour enfants Ontario (2015), par exemple, propose une réorganisation majeure du système de services de santé mentale aux enfants et aux jeunes, y compris des services de traitement en milieu résidentiel, sans faire aucune mention de la voix des jeunes. Pourtant, ce rapport reconnaît l’importance cruciale et les avantages de la participation des jeunes, données probantes à l’appui, dans la prestation des services (p. 9). Les jeunes et les travailleurs des services à l’enfance des SAE ont expliqué au Comité que cela concerne souvent les décisions de placement, les jeunes n’ayant pas voix au chapitre quant au type de placement ou au fournisseur de services qui leur conviendrait le mieux.

Il est notamment essentiel de faire entendre la voix des jeunes dans les contextes suivants : élaboration des programmes et des services destinés aux jeunes pris en charge hors du domicile; cadres de gouvernance et de reddition de comptes régissant lesdits services; conception des programmes et services (y compris des règles, procédures et structures); traitement, relations et soutiens mis en place dans le cadre des programmes et services. Il est très important de permettre la participation active des jeunes et la prise des décisions d’un commun accord entre les jeunes, les familles et les professionnels au moment des transitions majeures, comme l’admission au sein du système de prise en charge hors du domicile, le transfert entre les placements, et la fin de la prise en charge hors du domicile, y compris l’entrée dans l’âge adulte.

Les participants ont expliqué au Comité que la question de la voix dépasse le cadre de la participation des jeunes dans leur propre vie; au sein du secteur des services en milieu résidentiel, les fournisseurs de services directs (personnel de première ligne, parents de famille d’accueil, agents des services aux jeunes) n’ont souvent pas l’occasion de s’exprimer eux non plus et de faire peser leur avis dans la prise des décisions. De même, la voix des familles, y compris des parents, des frères et sœurs, des grands-parents et de la famille étendue ou des personnes ayant un lien de parenté, reste souvent en périphérie des approches dirigées par les experts en matière de conception et de gouvernance des services.

Malgré les lacunes, le Comité est impressionné par diverses initiatives visant à inclure les jeunes dans la conception des services en milieu résidentiel et à obtenir une rétroaction sur leur expérience quotidienne. C’est le cas des porte­parole des jeunes qui collaborent de longue date avec le Bureau de l’intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes afin de faire connaître le vécu des jeunes pris en charge. Citons également le groupe de jeunes New Mentality, une initiative menée dans le secteur de la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes, et YouthCan, un groupe de jeunes dans le secteur du bien-être de l’enfance qui s’efforce de faire entendre la voix des jeunes pris en charge et de partager leurs expériences. Le Comité appuie les initiatives susmentionnées, et juge qu’il est important à l’avenir de donner d’autres occasions de s’exprimer aux jeunes qui ont peu de chances de rejoindre de tels groupes.

Problèmes de fond

Au sein du système de services en milieu résidentiel de l’Ontario, l’importance de donner la parole aux jeunes pris en charge est unanimement reconnue. Lors des séances de consultation, le Comité a relevé un vaste éventail d’approches visant à permettre aux jeunes d’exprimer les besoins qui leur sont propres. Cependant, à l’exception des groupes de jeunes susmentionnés qui sont animés et soutenus par des organismes majeurs comme le Bureau de l’intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes, Santé mentale pour enfants Ontario et l’AOSAE, ces approches ne sont pas adaptées à l’échelle des organismes ou du système dans l’optique d’offrir aux jeunes des moyens constructifs favorisant leur participation active à tous les niveaux de leur expérience des services. Par exemple, la tenue régulière de groupes de concertation afin d’obtenir l’avis des jeunes ou le fait de veiller à ce que les jeunes soient impliqués dans leur programme de soins ne constitue pas, à proprement parler, un mécanisme de participation suffisant. Le Comité a entendu à maintes reprises lors des consultations auprès des jeunes, mais aussi auprès du personnel des services de protection de l’enfance, des parents de famille d’accueil et du personnel des services en milieu résidentiel, que les processus d’élaboration des programmes de soins varient grandement d’un programme à l’autre, et même d’un travailleur à l’autre. Les participants ont souvent jugé que ces processus n’offraient pas aux jeunes d’occasions constructives de devenir partenaires de leur prise en charge.

Bon nombre de jeunes font état d’un fort désengagement et d’une perte de pouvoir dans leur expérience quotidienne et dans leur parcours au sein du système de services. Ils expliquent avoir l’impression que leurs idéaux de vie et leur identité propre sont constamment remis en cause par les professionnels et par un système qui devrait plutôt, selon eux, les valoriser. Les jeunes ont cité divers exemples à l’appui, comme le fait qu’on les oriente contre leurs souhaits vers la formation professionnelle, qu’on les dissuade de suivre leurs aspirations professionnelles comme si elles étaient en décalage avec leur niveau d’études, voire qu’on les décourage d’explorer leur identité culturelle et sexuelle ou leur choix de vie.

La voix des jeunes au sein du système de services en milieu résidentiel jouit fréquemment d’une représentation minimale dans la prise des décisions à l’échelon d’un cas particulier, d’un programme et du système. Si l’accent est souvent placé sur les programmes de traitement et de soins individualisés, le mécanisme d’individualisation vient aussi fragmenter et minimiser le poids collectif des opinions exprimées par les jeunes directement concernés par ces services lorsque ces processus sont mis en œuvre de manière mutuellement exclusive. Bien qu’il soit effectivement important de conserver un degré élevé de personnalisation des programmes de soins et des interventions connexes pour s’adapter au contexte particulier des jeunes, leurs voix et celles des professionnels qui travaillent auprès d’eux doivent être entendues collectivement et peser à tous les niveaux de la prestation des services, y compris sur le plan de la gouvernance, de la responsabilisation, de la conception du système et des contextes de programmes particuliers.

de transmettre une rétroaction et de contribuer à la conception des services dans des contextes exploitant la riche diversité des jeunes pris en charge hors de leur domicile. Il est indispensable de prendre des mesures pérennes pour donner la parole aux jeunes dans toute leur diversité. Le Comité s’inquiète de n’avoir entendu parler d’aucun mécanisme, ni même d’initiatives, visant à s’assurer que les jeunes ayant des besoins complexes, y compris les jeunes non verbaux et ceux ayant une déficience intellectuelle, peuvent également s’exprimer sur leur expérience au sein du système de services en milieu résidentiel. En outre, le Comité remarque que le plus souvent, l’avis des jeunes est demandé dans le cadre de discussions de groupe, un format qui exclut la participation de bon nombre de jeunes mal à l’aise en public. Il s’avère inquiétant que les services en milieu résidentiel, dans l’ensemble des secteurs, ne s’accompagnent pas d’une panoplie d’options permettant

Les services en milieu résidentiel, tous secteurs confondus, se caractérisent par un fort engagement en faveur de l’expertise professionnelle, souvent au détriment de l’expertise inhérente au vécu des jeunes et de leurs familles. Historiquement, les services en milieu résidentiel se sont ancrés sur un modèle d’activité médical répondant à une approche fondée sur la carence, les experts partant du principe qu’ils seraient en mesure de « réparer » les jeunes pris en charge au sein de ce système. Par conséquent, les jeunes bénéficiant de services en milieu résidentiel n’avaient souvent aucun moyen d’agir ou de s’exprimer. Bien que l’on assiste aujourd’hui à un vaste exercice de rhétorique, mais aussi à un nombre croissant de véritables tentatives visant à reconnaître le droit d’action et de parole des jeunes, ainsi que la précieuse expertise qu’ils ont acquise par leur vécu, bon nombre de décisions capitales dans la vie d’un jeune, notamment les problèmes liés à la prise de médicaments psychotropes, au type de traitements administrés, et au lieu et au type de placements proposés, sont prises par des experts sans la participation des jeunes. Lors de plusieurs séances de consultation, le personnel clinique et les travailleurs sociaux ont indiqué au Comité que la prise des décisions relatives aux jeunes, en particulier dans le contexte des décisions de placement, peut faire l’objet de contraintes supplémentaires touchant la restriction des coûts.

La voix des familles ayant des jeunes pris en charge dans le système de services en milieu résidentiel, notamment dans des centres de santé mentale pour enfants et jeunes, semble souvent marginale, en particulier lorsqu’il s’agit de prendre des décisions majeures ayant un impact sur la vie d’un jeune. Si le Comité a entendu beaucoup d’exemples de jeunes ayant repris contact avec leurs familles biologiques, notamment leurs frères et sœurs, après avoir quitté la prise en charge, ces familles n’ont pas joué un rôle effectif au sein du système pendant que le jeune bénéficiait de programmes et de services en milieu résidentiel. D’après les consultations menées par le Comité, il s’est avéré que la famille d’un jeune est rarement consultée par le personnel de première ligne des services en milieu résidentiel et les aidants des familles d’accueil ou bien que les échanges sont menés dans une optique négative. Lors de ses recherches au-delà du processus de consultation, le Comité a trouvé très peu d’exemples de services et de programmes spécialement conçus pour inclure les familles et prévoir leur participation effective. Dans le contexte du traitement en milieu résidentiel, le travail des familles est souvent cité comme l’ingrédient clé de la prise en charge, et pourtant, le Comité a entendu de nombreux témoignages selon lesquels les familles qui ne se montrent pas immédiatement réactives aux tentatives du fournisseur de services visant à les impliquer dans le processus de traitement sont considérées comme « difficiles » et souvent vues comme la cause de l’échec d’un traitement. Le Comité s’inquiète de constater que la situation sociale d’une famille, qui englobe son statut socioéconomique, son niveau d’études et son origine ethnique, peut avoir un impact sur l’accès aux ressources, en fonction de sa capacité à défendre ses droits.

Le Comité a été surpris d’apprendre que les aidants immédiats, y compris le personnel de première ligne dans les foyers de groupe et les parents de famille d’accueil, considèrent jouer un rôle annexe dans les processus décisionnels concernant les enfants et les jeunes qui leur sont confiés, ainsi que dans la conception des programmes et services dont ils sont chargés d’assurer la prestation. Leurs voix, fortes de l’expérience importante acquise en vivant auprès des jeunes et en subvenant à leurs besoins pratiquement 24 heures sur 24, ne sont visiblement pas pleinement prises en compte au sein des équipes souvent décrites comme pluridisciplinaires ou interdisciplinaires. Dans certains cas, le Comité a entendu parler de pratiques fondées sur des données probantes dans certains programmes de traitement en milieu résidentiel, alors que le personnel interrogé au sein desdits programmes n’a pas pu confirmer cette allégation, ni même identifier les pratiques en question. Les équipes de gestion et les aidants de première ligne agissent de façon cloisonnée, ce qui représente une occasion manquée de répondre aux besoins et aux espoirs des jeunes.

Répercussions sur les recommandations

De manière générale, les recommandations du Comité concernant la voix visent à atténuer le modèle descendant de prestation des services, placé sous la houlette des experts, au sein duquel l’expérience faite personnellement par les jeunes et leurs familles est marginalisée. Au vu du soutien important manifesté par les fournisseurs de services quant à l’importance de donner aux jeunes un droit de parole et de participation dans tous les aspects de la prestation des services, le MSEJ a une occasion de faire preuve de leadership en veillant à traduire cet appui à travers des mesures réelles et concrètes. Cette recommandation rejoint un thème figurant déjà dans Le livre de ma véritable histoire : Rapport sur des audiences publiques des jeunes quittant la prise en charge (2012), selon lequel la province de l’Ontario devrait reconnaître que le système actuel a besoin de changer fondamentalement en valorisant la participation des jeunes pris en charge et quittant la prise en charge et en prenant des mesures pour qu’ils soient inclus dans la gouvernance du système et la conception des services et programmes offerts en milieu résidentiel. À cette fin, bon nombre de recommandations figurant dans d’autres chapitres de ce rapport intègreront des éléments relatifs à la voix; toutefois, les arguments ci-dessus ont diverses répercussions sur les recommandations :