Infant Hearing Program – Information for professionals


What is the Infant Hearing Program?

The Infant Hearing Program provides services from birth to school-entry, including:


Back to top


What you should know and how you can help

International benchmarks for Early Hearing Detection and Intervention programs follow a 1-3-6 guideline which involves:

Screening by ONE MONTH

Hearing screening should be completed by one month (corrected) age wherever possible. Services are available in hospital or community settings for Ontario infants. You can:

  • Ask families about the hearing screen and any recommended follow-up.
  • Monitor hearing, speech and language milestones.
  • Connect families with the Infant Hearing Program, if needed.
  • Refer infants with acquired risk factors for hearing loss.
Assessment by THREE MONTHS

Infants whose hearing screens produce a “refer” result are assessed by audiologists with the Infant Hearing Program using evidence-based protocols. Permanent hearing loss should be identified by three months (corrected) age, wherever possible. You can:

  • Ask families about the audiology assessment and recommendations.
  • Support any recommended medical referrals (i.e. otolaryngology or genetic consultations).
Intervention by SIX MONTHS

Intervention is available for those infants identified with permanent hearing loss. This may include amplification and/or language development services, where chosen by families. Intervention should be in place by six months (corrected) age, wherever possible. You can:

  • Confirm families are attending follow-up appointments.
  • Encourage the consistent use of any prescribed amplification (hearing aids or cochlear implants). Hearing devices must be worn during all waking hours for the child to realize the greatest benefit.

Back to top


Identifying children at risk for permanent hearing loss

Hearing screeners conduct a risk assessment at the time of the hearing screen. Families are also offered a risk factor screen to look for additional risks which may not be evident in the newborn period. The risk factor screen is performed by Newborn Screening Ontario using the same sample collected by the hospital or midwife for the newborn blood spot screening (heel prick test) and can detect:

  1. Congenital cytomegalovirus infection, which is associated with progressive hearing loss in childhood as well as other medical implications, and
  2. Several common genetic factors that are associated with permanent hearing loss at birth or in early childhood.

The Infant Hearing Program also accepts referrals when a risk indicator is identified after the hearing screen has been completed. Please contact your local Infant Hearing Program for information about risk factors for permanent hearing loss.

Did you know?

Healthy babies may pass their hearing screen but can still have Auditory Neuropathy Spectrum Disorder. This condition can impact the audibility and clarity of sounds to varying degrees such that even if a child is able to hear sounds, those sounds may be too distorted and inconsistent to allow them to develop speech appropriately. It is identified in about eight per cent of children with hearing loss and is more commonly caused by genetic anomalies, perinatal hypoxia, hyperbilirubinemia or infections.


Back to top


Additional resources

Back to Top

Programme de dépistage néonatal des troubles auditifs et d’intervention précoce – Information pour les professionnels


Qu’est-ce que le PDNTAIP ?

Le PDNTAIP offre des services de la naissance à l’entrée à l’école, notamment :


Haut


Ce que vous devez savoir et comment vous pouvez aider

Les points de repère internationaux pour les programmes de dépistage néonatal des troubles auditifs et intervention précoce suivent une ligne directrice de 1-3-6 qui implique :

Un dépistage d’ici l’âge d’UN MOIS

Le dépistage auditif devrait être terminé d’ici l’âge d’un mois (corrigé) dans la mesure du possible. Ces services sont offerts en milieu hospitalier ou communautaire pour les nourrissons de l’Ontario.
Vous pourrez :

  • poser des questions aux familles au sujet du dépistage et de tout suivi recommandé;
  • surveiller les jalons de l’audition, de la parole et du langage;
  • au besoin, mettre les familles en contact avec le PDNTAIP;
  • aiguiller les nourrissons présentant des facteurs de risque acquis de perte auditive.
Évaluation d’ici l’âge de TROIS MOIS

Les nourrissons dont le dépistage auditif produit un résultat d’aiguillage vers un audiologiste sont évalués par ceux du PDNTAIP à l’aide de protocoles fondés sur des données probantes. La perte auditive permanente doit être relevée d’ici l’âge de trois mois (corrigé), dans la mesure du possible.
Vous pourrez :

  • poser des questions aux familles sur l’évaluation et les recommandations audiologiques;
  • soutenir toute référence médicale recommandée (p. ex. oto-rhino-laryngologie ou consultations génétiques).
Intervention d’ici l’âge de SIX MOIS

Une intervention est disponible pour les nourrissons chez qui on a identifié une perte auditive permanente. Il peut s’agir de services d’amplification ou de développement du langage, si la famille en fait le choix. L’intervention devrait être réalisée avant l’âge de six mois (corrigé), dans la mesure du possible.
Vous pourrez :

  • confirmer que les familles se présentent aux rendez-vous de suivi;
  • encourager l’utilisation régulière de toute amplification prescrite (prothèses auditives ou implants cochléaires). Les appareils auditifs doivent être portés pendant toutes les heures d’éveil pour que l’enfant en tire le plus grand bénéfice.

Haut


Identifier les enfants à risque de perte auditive permanente

Les personnes chargées du dépistage des troubles auditifs procèdent à une évaluation des risques au moment du dépistage. Les familles se voient également offrir un dépistage des facteurs de risque afin de déceler d’autres risques qui peuvent ne pas être évidents au cours de la période néonatale.
Le dépistage des facteurs de risque est effectué par Dépistage néonatal Ontario à l’aide du même échantillon prélevé par l’hôpital ou la sage-femme pour la détermination du facteur de risque de perte auditive au moyen de la tache de sang chez le nouveau-né (sang prélevé au talon) et peut détecter :

  1. une infection congénitale à cytomégalovirus (cCMV), qui est associée à une perte auditive progressive pendant l’enfance ainsi qu’à d’autres implications médicales; et
  2. plusieurs facteurs génétiques communs qui sont associés à une perte auditive permanente à la naissance ou pendant la petite enfance.

Le PDNTAIP accepte également les aiguillages lorsqu’un indicateur de risque est identifié après que l’examen auditif a été réalisé. Veuillez communiquer avec le PDNTAIP de votre région pour obtenir de l’information sur les facteurs de risque de perte auditive permanente.

Le saviez-vous ?

Les bébés en bonne santé peuvent passer leur examen auditif, mais ils peuvent quand même souffrir d’un trouble du spectre de la neuropathie auditive. Cette condition peut avoir un impact sur l’audibilité et la clarté des sons à des degrés divers, de sorte que même si un enfant est capable d’entendre des sons, ces derniers peuvent être trop déformés et incohérents pour lui permettre de développer convenablement la parole. Elle est identifiée chez environ huit pour cent des enfants malentendants et est le plus souvent causée par des anomalies génétiques, une hypoxie périnatale, une hyperbilirubinémie ou des infections.


Haut


Ressources supplémentaires

Haut