You are hereSkip Navigation Links

Gearing Up

Supporting Indigenous Children and Families in Ontario

First Nations, Mètis and Inuit children and families in Ontario face unique challenges due to the trauma caused by colonialism. Government policies disrupted cultural practices and family relationships, and have resulted in deep-seated structural and systemic inequities. The impacts of these inequities can be seen in poor health and social outcomes experienced by many Indigenous children and families in Ontario.

The Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s Final Report demonstrated the immense and prolonged impact that the residential school system has had on Indigenous people.32 We recognize that this system was a manifestation of policies and programs driven by colonialism and racism,33 and that its impacts on the wellbeing of First Nations, Mètis and Inuit children in Ontario are lasting.

All young people need to know who they are and from where they come. Aboriginal children and youth, searching for their own identities and places of belonging, need to know and take pride in their Indigenous roots. They need to know the answers to some very basic questions. Who are my people? What is our history? How are we unique? Where do I belong?
—Truth and Reconciliation Commission Final Report, 2015

The tragedy of the colonial legacy is that “too many children are not growing up well in all the domains of healthy development, too many are removed from their families, and too many are not getting the opportunities they deserve to reach their full potential.” (Chiefs of Ontario)34

Many First Nations, Mètis and Inuit children, families and communities are facing real challenges – poverty, lack of access to safe water and housing, high rates of youth suicide, barriers to good nutrition and health, and over-representation in the child welfare and justice systems.

We also know that these communities across Ontario are places of hope, strength, wisdom and care for children and families. Families and communities are drawing on multigenerational knowledge about wellbeing and practising “everyday good living” by striving to balance all aspects of life: the physical, mental, emotional and spiritual.35

It is crucial for the wellbeing of Indigenous children, families and communities to preserve and promote the culture and identity of Indigenous children.

To support healing and reconciliation, Gearing Up includes a dedicated section for ways to support First Nations, Mètis and Inuit children, families and communities to thrive

Ontario Indigenous Children and Youth Strategy

Gearing Up builds on the vision, principles and pillars established within the Ontario Indigenous Children and Youth Strategy (OICYS).

Vision

Guiding Principles

First Nations, Mètis, Inuit and urban Indigenous children and youth are healthy, happy, resilient, grounded in their cultures and languages and thriving as individuals and as members of their families and Nations or communities.

Children and youth centred

Culture and identity as foundational

Respect rights and jurisdictional aspirations

Co-development and partnership

Outcomes focus

Responsive to youth voice

Flexibility

Shared accountability

Reconciliation (acknowledge the past, act now and look to the future)

Pillars

First Nations Jurisdiction and Control / Mètis, Inuit and Urban Indigenous Control

First Nations, Mètis, Inuit and urban Indigenous communities and organizations have authority to care for their children and youth.

Prevention, Culture and Opportunities

First Nations, Mètis, Inuit and urban Indigenous children and youth have access to preventive services focused on well-being, culture and opportunities.

Coordinated and Responsive Circle of Care

The child and youth service workforce is equipped to provide high quality, integrated and culturally appropriate services.

Monitoring, Evaluation and Shared Accountability

Progress is tracked through culturally and contextually appropriate monitoring and evaluation approaches.

Transformed Relationships and Collaborative, Holistic Action

Systemic change through collaborative action and transformed relationships with First Nations, Mètis, Inuit and urban Indigenous partners.

The OICYS is a long-term strategic framework approved through co-development in 2015 by the Government of Ontario and First Nations, Mètis, Inuit and urban Indigenous partners across Ontario.

Central to the OICYS is a commitment to fundamental structural changes, beyond improvements to individual programs or services, that allow Indigenous communities to take the lead in the care of their children, and that enable the delivery of wholistic and culturally grounded services. A core pillar of the OICYS is systemic change through collaborative action and transformed relationships with First Nations, Mètis, Inuit and urban Indigenous partners.

Aboriginal people and organizations must design, deliver and evaluate services for our people, and this must be facilitated through mechanisms that are cooperative and collaborative.
—Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres, Ontario Native Women’s Association, and the Mètis Nation of Ontario Collaborative Submission Regarding a Provincial Indigenous Children & Youth Strategy

Gearing Up upholds the pillars of the OICYS and recognizes and respects the cultures and worldviews of Indigenous people, as well as Indigenous approaches to raising children. It recognizes that to support improved outcomes for Indigenous children and families requires a transformation in the way that services are governed, designed, delivered and evaluated.

Supporting Indigenous children to thrive

In response to the Truth and Reconciliation Commission’s report and recommended actions, the Ontario government is moving ahead in supporting reconciliation, transformed relationships and improved outcomes for Indigenous children and families.

Identifying distinct Indigenous goals and outcomes in the Ontario Middle Years Strategy is meant to acknowledge the distinct rights and responsibilities that Ontario has towards Indigenous peoples and their communities, and to recognize the impact of colonialism and the need for governments to come together to support reconciliation.

Ontario worked collaboratively with First Nations, Mètis, Inuit and urban Indigenous partners to develop this specific section of Gearing Up. The priority outcomes outlined in Gearing Up are based on the OICYS outcomes, co-developed with Indigenous partners. The ways to support outcomes for First Nations, Mètis and Inuit children and families was informed through discussions and papers submitted by partners, as well as other expert research.

The other six goals and 18 outcomes outlined in Gearing Up are also relevant to supporting Indigenous child and family wellbeing.

It is important to continue rebuilding Indigenous cultures; the future generation of Indigenous youth depends on it. Being able to self-identify as an Indigenous person is a powerful feeling.
—Indigenous youth engaged in the development of Ontario Indigenous Children and Youth Strategy

Many First Nations in Ontario have experienced first-hand that our people have better wellbeing when they feel their voices are heard, when they have meaningful control over their own futures, and when they spend time on the land and keep connected to who they are. Many First Nations wish to pursue both Western and traditional approaches to health, education and overall wellbeing. Both approaches can be complementary, and in today’s world, both are often absolutely essential for achieving successful, effective services that meet the real needs of First Nations children, youth and families.
—Chiefs of Ontario36

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links

Se préparer

Appuyer les enfants et les familles autochtones vivant en Ontario

Les enfants et les familles des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits de l'Ontario sont confrontés à des difficultés particulières en raison du traumatisme causé par le colonialisme. Les politiques gouvernementales ont perturbé les pratiques culturelles et les relations familiales et entraîné des inégalités structurales et systémiques bien enracinées. Les répercussions de ces inégalités peuvent se manifester par les mauvais résultats obtenus sur le plan de la santé et sur le plan social par de nombreux enfants et familles autochtones de l'Ontario.

Le rapport final de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada a montré l'impact immense et prolongé que le système des pensionnats a eu sur les peuples autochtones.32 Nous reconnaissons que ce système était une manifestation de politiques et de programmes motivés par le colonialisme et le racisme33 et que ses effets sur le bien-être des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits de l'Ontario sont durables.

« Tous les jeunes doivent savoir qui ils sont et d'où ils viennent. Les enfants et les jeunes autochtones, qui sont à la recherche de leur propre identité et de leur lieu d'appartenance, doivent connaître leurs racines autochtones et en être fiers. Ils doivent connaître les réponses à certaines questions fondamentales. Qui est mon peuple? Quelle est notre histoire? Qu'est-ce qui nous distingue? Quelle est mon appartenance? »

Rapport final de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation du Canada, 2015

La tragédie de l'héritage colonial est que « trop d'enfants ne grandissent pas bien sur tous les plans du développement sain, que trop d'entre eux sont retirés de leur famille et que trop d'entre eux n'obtiennent pas les possibilités qu'ils méritent de réaliser pleinement leur potentiel. » (Chiefs of Ontario)34

De nombreux enfants, familles et collectivités des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits sont confrontés à de véritables défis : la pauvreté, le manque d'accès à l'eau potable et au logement, des taux élevés de suicide chez les jeunes, des obstacles à une bonne nutrition et à la santé et la surreprésentation dans les systèmes du bien-être de l'enfance et de la justice.

Nous savons également que ces collectivités réparties dans tout l'Ontario sont des lieux d'espoir, de force, de sagesse et de soins pour les enfants et les familles. Les familles et les collectivités s'appuient sur les connaissances multigénérationnelles sur le bien-être et pratiquent la « vie saine de tous les jours » en s'efforçant de concilier tous les aspects de la vie : physique, mental, affectif et spirituel.35

Il est essentiel pour le bien-être des enfants, des familles et des collectivités autochtones de préserver et de promouvoir la culture et l'identité des enfants autochtones.

Pour favoriser la guérison et la réconciliation, Se préparer comprend une section consacrée aux façons d'aider les enfants, les familles et les collectivités des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits à s'épanouir.

Stratégie ontarienne pour les enfants et les jeunes autochtones

Se préparer s'appuie sur la vision, les principes et les piliers établis dans la Stratégie ontarienne pour les enfants et les jeunes autochtones (SOEJA).

Vision

Principes directeurs

Les enfants et les jeunes des Premières nations, des Métis, des Inuits et des Autochtones en milieu urbain sont en santé, heureux, résilients et enracinés dans leurs cultures et leurs langues et s'épanouissent en tant que personnes et membres de leurs familles et de leurs nations ou collectivités.

Axée sur les enfants et les jeunes

La culture et l'identité sont fondamentales

Respecte les droits et les aspirations aux compétences

élaboration en commun et partenariat

Axé sur les résultats

Réceptif au point de vue des jeunes

Flexibilité

Responsabilisation partagée

Réconciliation (reconnaître le passé, agir maintenant et regarder vers l'avenir)

Piliers

Compétence et contrôle des Premières nations / Contrôle des Métis, des Inuits et des Autochtones en milieu urbain

Les collectivités et les organismes des Premières nations, des Métis, des Inuits et des Autochtones en milieu urbain ont le pouvoir de prendre soin de leurs enfants et de leurs jeunes.

Prévention, culture et possibilités

Les enfants et les jeunes des Premières nations, des Métis, des Inuits et des Autochtones en milieu urbain ont accès à des services préventifs axés sur le bien-être, la culture et les possibilités.

Cercle de soins coordonné et réceptif

La main d'œuvre des services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse est équipée pour fournir des services d'excellente qualité, intégrés et adaptés à la culture.

Surveillance, évaluation et responsabilisation partagée

Les progrès sont suivis au moyen d'approches à la surveillance et à l'évaluation adaptées à la culture et au contexte.

Des relations transformées et une action collaborative et globale

Changement systémique obtenu au moyen d'une action collaborative et de relations transformées avec les partenaires des Premières nations, des Métis, des Inuits et des Autochtones en milieu urbain.

La SOEJA est un cadre stratégique à long terme approuvé dans le cadre de son élaboration en commun en 2015 par le gouvernement de l'Ontario et ses partenaires des Premières Nations, des Métis, des Inuits et des Autochtones en milieu urbain de l'Ontario.

Au cœur de la SOEJA, il y a un engagement à réaliser des changements structuraux fondamentaux qui vont au-delà des améliorations apportées à certains programmes ou services et qui permettent aux collectivités autochtones d'assumer la responsabilité des soins de leurs enfants et rendent possible la prestation de services globaux enracinés dans la culture. Un pilier essentiel de la SOEJA est un changement systémique réalisé grâce à une action collaborative et à des relations transformées avec les partenaires des Premières Nations, des Métis, des Inuits et des Autochtones en milieu urbain.

« Les peuples et les organisations autochtones doivent concevoir, fournir et évaluer des services pour nos personnes et ceci doit être facilité par des mécanismes coopératifs et collaboratifs. »

Déclaration présentée en collaboration par l'Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres (« Fédération des centres d'amitié autochtones de l'Ontario » ), l'Ontario Native Women's Association (« Association des femmes autochtones de l'Ontario » ) et Métis Nation of Ontario (« Nation métisse de l'Ontario » ) concernant une stratégie provinciale pour les enfants et les jeunes autochtones

Le cadre Se préparer applique les piliers de la SOEJA et a été établi en reconnaissant et en respectant les cultures et les visions du monde des peuples autochtones ainsi que les approches adoptées par les Autochtones pour élever les enfants. Il reconnaît que pour favoriser l'obtention de meilleurs résultats pour les enfants et les familles autochtones, il faut transformer la façon dont les services sont régis, conçus, livrés et évalués.

Aider les enfants autochtones à s'épanouir

En réponse au rapport de la Commission de vérité et réconciliation et aux recommandations concernant les mesures à prendre, le gouvernement de l'Ontario va de l'avant pour favoriser la réconciliation, la transformation des relations et l'amélioration des résultats pour les enfants et les familles autochtones.

L'établissement d'objectifs et de résultats distincts pour les Autochtones dans la Stratégie ontarienne de soutien durant les années intermédiaires a pour but de reconnaître les droits et les responsabilités distincts qu'a l'Ontario envers les peuples autochtones et leurs collectivités et de reconnaître l'impact du colonialisme et le besoin pour les gouvernements de s'unir pour appuyer la réconciliation.

L'Ontario a travaillé en collaboration avec ses partenaires des Premières Nations, des Métis, des Inuits et des Autochtones en milieu urbain pour élaborer cette section de Se préparer. Les résultats prioritaires décrits dans Se préparer ont été établis en fonction des résultats de la SOEJA élaborés conjointement avec les partenaires autochtones. Le choix des moyens d'appuyer les résultats pour les enfants et les familles des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits a été éclairé par des discussions et des documents soumis par les partenaires, ainsi que par d'autres recherches réalisées par des experts.

Les six autres objectifs et les 18 résultats décrits dans Se préparer sont également pertinents pour favoriser le bien-être des enfants et des familles autochtones.

« Il importe de continuer à rebâtir les cultures autochtones. La génération future des jeunes Autochtones en dépend. C'est un sentiment puissant que de pouvoir s'identifier en tant qu'Autochtone. »

Jeune Autochtone qui a participé à l'élaboration de la Stratégie ontarienne pour les enfants et les jeunes autochtones

« Un grand nombre de Premières Nations de l'Ontario ont vécu personnellement l'expérience à savoir que le bien-être de nos membres est amélioré lorsqu'ils ont le sentiment que leurs voix sont entendues, lorsqu'ils exercent un contrôle significatif sur leur propre avenir, et lorsqu'ils passent du temps sur la terre et gardent contact avec leur identité. Un grand nombre de collectivités des Premières Nations désirent poursuivre à la fois des approches occidentales et des approches traditionnelles en matière de santé, d'éducation et de bien-être général. Les deux approches peuvent être complémentaires et, dans le monde d'aujourd'hui, les deux sont souvent essentielles pour offrir des services fructueux et efficaces qui répondent aux besoins réels des enfants, des jeunes et des familles des Premières Nations. »

Chefs de l'Ontario