You are hereSkip Navigation Links

Gearing Up

Middle Years Children in Ontario Today

Ontario is home to more than one million children ages 6–12. This number is expected to increase to 1.26 million in the next 20 years.4 Middle years children in Ontario today are culturally, spiritually, linguistically, racially, ethnically and geographically diverse. Approximately four per cent of children under the age of 14 across Ontario have disabilities or special needs. Close to six per cent of the middle years population is enrolled in a French-language school.5

Some middle years children have ancestral connections to the land. Some were born in Ontario, some have migrated, and some have come as refugees. Some children practice their faith in places of worship such as temples, synagogues, churches, gurdwaras, and mosques; they engage their spirituality in forests, fields and in their homes and centres. For some, their faith is reflected in their manner of dress, the symbols they carry, their lived experiences, or in their silent prayers. Some children do not follow any faith at all. Middle years children speak many languages, and possess their own unique talents and skills.

What the Data Says

Thirty-two per cent of middle years children in Ontario are considered racialized: this includes children who are South Asian (10 per cent), Black (seven per cent) and Chinese (five per cent).6 Approximately 46 per cent of middle years children in Ontario are first or second generation Canadians, and almost 10 per cent are new immigrants arriving in the last 10 years.7

What the Data Says

Indigenous children represent over three per cent of the middle years population in Ontario.8 Of these Indigenous children, 73 per cent identify as First Nations, 22 per cent as Métis and two per cent as Inuk.

What the Data Says

About 67 per cent of middle years children live in urban centres, and 33 per cent live in small, rural or remote communities. Most middle years children growing up in Ontario are concentrated around the Greater Toronto and Hamilton Area. By 2037, almost 60 per cent of all middle years children in Ontario will live in this region.9

What the Data Says

Almost 14 per cent of middle years children in our province are reported to be living in low-income households, and 18 per cent are living in housing that is considered “not suitable.”10 Provincewide screening of babies born in 2014 (who will be entering their middle years in 2020) showed that 13 per cent of these babies are at high risk of adverse childhood experiences, which is linked to poor long-term outcomes.

Many families face challenges and pressure points. Families in Ontario include parents who work out of the home, some at multiple jobs or in precarious or unstable employment, and some are lone-parent households with added pressures. Finding quality time together can be hard and trying to afford the cost of recreational activities, as well as summer and after-school care, can cause stress and anxiety for many families. Other challenges include food insecurity and access to adequate transportation and stable housing. Many families also face barriers, bias and discrimination, including racism and heterosexism. All of these factors influence the wellbeing of families.

Middle years children are highly connected and digital. They learn and use technology and social media in more frequent and embedded ways than ever before, and this is changing the way they develop, learn, relate to others, and think about the world. While this brings many new opportunities, many parents and caregivers are struggling to guide their children through these new realities, including how best to establish appropriate limits and guidance around technology use in the home.

Support for those that need it

Our vision is that all children in Ontario are happy, healthy, hopeful and well. However, we know that many children have unique circumstances and specific needs, and face multiple and complex barriers that affect their wellbeing. Some children need more targeted supports to ensure they have the same opportunities to succeed, and government and communities need to do more to reduce barriers and help all children to thrive. These children include:

First Nations, Métis and Inuit: Indigenous children and their families are very diverse. First Nations, Métis and Inuit communities across Ontario each have distinct cultures, histories and experiences. The Indigenous population is younger than the non-Indigenous population: about 33 per cent of the Indigenous population in Ontario consists of children and teenagers ages 19 and under, compared with 23.8 per cent for the non-Indigenous population. The Indigenous population in Ontario is also growing faster than the overall population.11

Indigenous children in Ontario face complex challenges due to the historic and ongoing trauma caused by colonialism and residential schools, which have resulted in high rates of poverty, poor housing, and barriers to education and cultural learning. For example, Indigenous children in the middle years are more likely to be overweight,12 have a long-term health problem,13 live in a family without either of their parents, live in a lone-parent family,14 or live in homes that are overcrowded or in need of major repairs.15Indigenous young people report lower levels of wellbeing and are at greater risk for health problems, depression, anxiety, suicide, substance use and lower educational achievement.16

Racialized: The experience of racialized communities is diverse, and the breadth of lived experiences needs to be recognized. We know that racialized children face challenges with racism, marginalization, education setbacks, and social and cultural isolation that can have a negative impact on their development. Racialized/visible minority children 14 and under are more likely to live in families with low income (25 per cent) than their non-visible minority peers (14 per cent).17 They are also more likely to experience discrimination in their daily lives.

Newcomers: Immigrant, refugee and first generation children have unique needs and experiences as they navigate and adapt to a new culture and environment in Canada. These families are also more likely to be living far away from larger, and more rooted family and social networks. There can be a significant range in the social and economic position of newcomer families. Children who are new to Canada may speak English or French as a second language, may have past experiences with trauma, and may have extra responsibilities at home as they support their parents in navigating systems and services in their communities.

LGBTQ2S: Starting in the middle years and continuing into the teen years and beyond, many young Ontarians are beginning to contemplate their gender identity and/or their sexual orientation, and may begin identifying as lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, queer or two-spirited (LGBTQ2S). We know that LGBTQ2S students are more likely to experience discrimination, verbal assault and physical violence than their peers. Almost two-thirds (65 per cent) of educators working with students in the middle years reported awareness of incidents of exclusion and harassment based on sexual orientation and gender identity.18 We also know that LGBTQ2S young people are more likely to face challenges with mental health, substance use and homelessness.

Francophone: Francophone children in Ontario face challenges in building a cultural and linguistic identity, and belonging within a diverse Francophone community. Almost six per cent of middle years students are enrolled in French-language schools throughout Ontario and almost three per cent report having French spoken as one of the main languages at home.19 French reading and media use has been shown to decrease with age through the middle years.20

Children with disabilities or special needs: Many children in Ontario have disabilities or special needs which cut across one or more domains including physical, cognitive, emotional, social and/or communication.21 These include communication disorders, physical disabilities, mental health challenges, behavioural issues, acquired brain injuries, developmental disabilities, Down syndrome, cerebral palsy, spina bifida, Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD), learning disabilities, Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) and chronic and/or long-term medical conditions.

Many children with disabilities or special needs face barriers and challenges relating to accessibility and social inclusion. These young people may be more vulnerable to abuse and bullying and living in poverty. Children with disabilities are less likely to participate in recreational activities than those who do not have disabilities. Additionally, parents of middle years children with disabilities or special needs often need extra support to manage daily activities, child care and other family responsibilities. Two-thirds of parents surveyed reported these needs as unmet.23

Living in families facing socio-economic pressures and precarious situations: In 2011, almost 14 per cent of middle years children were reported as living in families with low income. We know that lone parent families, in particular lone-mother led families, are facing particular barriers with 43 per cent of people living in lone-mother families living below the poverty line. Approximately 20 per cent of middle years children live in lone-parent households, and 85 per cent of these lone-parent households are headed by women.24 Evidence shows that children living in poverty are at an increased risk for a wide range of physical, behavioural and emotional problems. The chronic stress associated with living in poverty can also adversely impact a child's cognitive development, memory, concentration and ability to learn.25 Children living in low-income families and neighbourhoods are much more likely to be overweight,26 and much less likely to participate in recreational and extracurricular activities.27

In addition, families may be facing other pressures and situations that put them and their children at increased risk, including substance use, mental health challenges, domestic violence and family breakdown.

Living in care: In 2012–13, the average number of children in the care of children’s aid societies was 17,273, including 7,552 Crown wards and 1,304 children in formal Customary Care.28 We know that some groups of children are over-represented in the child welfare system, including Indigenous and Black children. First Nations, Métis and Inuit children under the age of 15 represent three per cent of the provincial population, but more than 21 per cent of all children in the care of children’s aid societies are Indigenous. 29 Compared to white children, Black children in Ontario are also more likely to be investigated and taken into care as part of the child welfare system.30

Eighty-two per cent of children in care have diagnosed special needs. Children in care have a high school graduation rate of 46 per cent compared to their peers who, in 2015–16, had an 86.5 per cent graduation rate.31

Living in rural, remote and Northern communities: Middle years children and families who live in rural and remote communities may face additional difficulties in accessing education, recreation, health and social services, due to distance and transportation options. Access to fresh and nutritious food may also be limited in some remote locations, and families may live far from one another, impacting opportunities for day-to-day connection with neighbours and friends.

Gender diversity: Gender stereotypes begin to appear in the middle years, and this is also a prime developmental period to build the confidence, critical thinking and perseverance needed to address sexism, transphobia and gender bias throughout the life course. During this period, children may also be subjected to “gender policing,” pressure to conform to traditional gender expectations and roles, and criticism and bullying if their gender expression falls outside of them. Many disparities also exist between girls and boys. It is important to empower children to explore a range of different learning and subject areas, activities and hobbies without a gender bias.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links

Se préparer

Les enfants du groupe d'âge des années intermédiaires en Ontario de nos jours

Plus d'un million d'enfants âgés de 6 à 12 ans habitent en Ontario. Ce nombre devrait atteindre 1,26 million au cours des vingt prochaines années.4 Les enfants du groupe d'âge des années intermédiaires de l'Ontario d'aujourd'hui sont culturellement, spirituellement, linguistiquement, racialement, ethniquement et géographiquement diversifiés. Environ quatre pour cent des enfants de moins de 14 ans de l'Ontario ont des handicaps ou des besoins spéciaux. Près de six pour cent de la population des années intermédiaires est inscrite dans une école de langue française.5

Certains enfants du groupe d'âge des années intermédiaires ont des liens ancestraux avec la terre. Certains sont nés en Ontario, certains ont immigré et certains sont venus en tant que réfugiés. Certains enfants pratiquent leur religion dans des lieux de culte tels que les temples, les synagogues, les églises, les gurdwaras et les mosquées. Ils pratiquent leur spiritualité dans les forêts et les champs ainsi que dans leurs maisons et des centres. Pour certains, leur foi se reflète dans leur façon de s'habiller, les symboles qu'ils portent, leurs expériences vécues ou leurs prières silencieuses. Certains enfants ne pratiquent aucune religion. Les enfants du groupe d'âge des années intermédiaires parlent de nombreuses langues et possèdent leurs propres talents et aptitudes.

Fait et chiffres

Trente-deux pour cent des enfants du groupe d'âge des années intermédiaires de l'Ontario sont considérés comme racialisés : ils comprennent les enfants sud-asiatiques (dix pour cent), noirs (sept pour cent) et chinois (cinq pour cent).6 Environ 46 pour cent des enfants du groupe d'âge des années intermédiaires de l'Ontario sont des Canadiens de première ou de deuxième génération et près de dix pour cent sont de nouveaux immigrants arrivés au cours des dix dernières années.7

Fait et chiffres

Les enfants autochtones représentent plus de trois pour cent de la population des années intermédiaires de l'Ontario.8 Soixante-treize pour cent de ces enfants autochtones s'identifient comme étant des membres des Premières Nations, 22 % comme étant des Métis et 2 % comme étant des Inuits.

Fait et chiffres

Environ 67 % des enfants du groupe d'âge des années intermédiaires vivent dans des centres urbains et 33 % vivent dans des collectivités de petite taille, rurales ou éloignées. La plupart des enfants du groupe d'âge des années intermédiaires qui grandissent en Ontario sont concentrés dans la région du Grand Toronto et de Hamilton. D'ici 2037, près de soixante pour cent des enfants du groupe d'âge des années intermédiaires de l'Ontario vivront dans cette région.9

Fait et chiffres

Près de quatorze pour cent des enfants du groupe d'âge des années intermédiaires de notre province sont déclarés comme vivant dans des ménages à faible revenu et 18 pour cent vivent dans un logement qui est considéré « inadéquat » .10 Le dépistage réalisé à l'échelle de la province chez les bébés nés en 2014 (qui entreront dans leurs années intermédiaires en 2020) a montré que treize pour cent de ces bébés courent un risque élevé de vivre dans leur enfance des expériences défavorables qui sont liées à des résultats à long terme médiocres.

Beaucoup de familles sont confrontées à des difficultés et à des contraintes. Les familles de l'Ontario comprennent les parents qui travaillent à l'extérieur de la maison, dont certains occupent plusieurs emplois ou des emplois précaires ou instables ou sont des chefs de famille monoparentale ayant des contraintes supplémentaires. Il peut être difficile pour les membres de ces familles de trouver du temps de qualité à passer ensemble et le coût des activités récréatives ainsi que des services de garde d'enfants pour l'été et après l'école peut être une source de stress et d'anxiété pour beaucoup d'entre elles. Les autres difficultés comprennent l'insécurité alimentaire et l'accès à des moyens de transport adéquats et à un logement stable. Beaucoup de familles sont également confrontées à des obstacles, à un biais et à la discrimination, y compris le racisme et l'hétérosexisme. Tous ces facteurs influencent le bien-être des familles.

Les enfants du groupe d'âge des années intermédiaires sont très connectés et adeptes du numérique. Ils apprennent et utilisent la technologie et les médias sociaux plus souvent et d'une manière plus intégrée que jamais auparavant et ceci change la façon dont ils se développent et apprennent, leur relation aux autres et leur vision du monde. Bien que ceci présente de nombreuses possibilités nouvelles, beaucoup de parents et de fournisseurs de soins éprouvent des difficultés à guider leurs enfants dans ces nouvelles réalités, y compris en ce qui concerne la meilleure façon d'établir des limites et des directives appropriées concernant l'utilisation de la technologie à la maison.

Un soutien pour ceux qui en ont besoin

Notre vision consiste à faire en sorte que tous les enfants vivant en Ontario soient heureux, en bonne santé et pleins d'espérance et se portent bien. Cependant, nous savons que de nombreux enfants ont des circonstances particulières et des besoins bien précis et sont confrontés à plusieurs obstacles complexes qui se répercutent sur leur bien-être. Certains enfants ont besoin qu'on leur offre des soutiens plus ciblés pour s'assurer qu'ils ont les mêmes chances de réussir et le gouvernement et les collectivités doivent faire davantage pour réduire les obstacles et aider tous les enfants à s'épanouir. Ces enfants comprennent :

Les Premières Nations, les Métis et les Inuits : Les enfants autochtones et leurs familles sont très diversifiés. Les collectivités des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits de tout l'Ontario ont chacune leur culture, leur histoire et leurs expériences distinctes. La population autochtone est plus jeune que la population non autochtone : environ 33 pour cent de la population autochtone de l'Ontario se compose d'enfants et d'adolescents de 19 ans ou moins, contre 23,8 pour cent de la population non autochtone. La population autochtone de l'Ontario augmente également plus rapidement que l'ensemble de la population.11

Les enfants autochtones de l'Ontario sont confrontés à des défis complexes en raison du traumatisme historique que continuent de causer le colonialisme et les pensionnats qui ont entraîné des taux élevés de pauvreté, de logement inadéquat et d'obstacles à l'éducation et à l'apprentissage culturel. Par exemple, les enfants autochtones des années intermédiaires sont plus susceptibles que les autres d'avoir un excès de poids,12 d'avoir un problème de santé à long terme,13 de vivre dans une famille où l'un ou l'autre des parents est absent, de vivre dans une famille monoparentale,14 ou de vivre dans des maisons qui sont surpeuplées ou qui ont besoin de réparations importantes.15 Les jeunes Autochtones signalent avoir des niveaux de bien-être inférieurs à ceux des autres et présentent un risque accru de problèmes de santé, de dépression, d'anxiété, de suicide et de toxicomanie et de réussir moins bien leurs études.16

Racialisés : L'expérience des communautés racialisées est variée et l'ampleur des expériences vécues doit être reconnue. Nous savons que les enfants racialisés sont confrontés à des difficultés posées par le racisme, la marginalisation, les revers de l'éducation et l'isolement social et culturel qui peuvent avoir un impact négatif sur leur développement. Les enfants racialisés/de minorité visible de 14 ans ou moins sont plus susceptibles de vivre dans des familles à faible revenu (25 %) que leurs pairs qui n'appartiennent pas à des minorités visibles (14 %).17 Ils sont également plus susceptibles d'être victimes de discrimination dans leur vie quotidienne.

Nouveaux arrivants : Les enfants immigrés, réfugiés et de première génération ont des besoins et des expériences particuliers lorsqu'ils doivent s'adapter à une nouvelle culture et à un nouvel environnement au Canada et s'y retrouver. Leurs familles sont également plus susceptibles que les autres de vivre loin des grands réseaux familiaux et sociaux bien enracinés. La situation sociale et économique des familles de nouveaux arrivants peut varier considérablement. Les enfants qui sont des nouveaux venus au Canada peuvent parler l'anglais ou le français en tant que langue seconde, avoir fait l'expérience de traumatismes dans le passé et avoir à la maison des responsabilités supplémentaires consistant à aider leurs parents à s'y retrouver dans les systèmes et les services de leurs collectivités.

LGBTAB : à partir des années intermédiaires et au cours de l'adolescence et au-delà, beaucoup de jeunes Ontariennes et Ontariens commencent à réfléchir à leur identité de genre et/ou à leur orientation sexuelle et peuvent commencer à s'identifier comme lesbienne, gay, bisexuel(le), transgenre, allosexuel(le) ou bispirituel(le) (LGBTAB). Nous savons que les élèves LGBTAB sont plus susceptibles d'être victimes de discrimination, d'agressions verbales et de violence physique que leurs pairs. Près des deux tiers (65 %) des éducateurs qui travaillent avec des élèves des années intermédiaires ont signalé avoir connaissance de cas d'exclusion et de harcèlement fondé sur l'orientation sexuelle et l'identité de genre.18 Nous savons également que les jeunes LGBTAB sont plus susceptibles que leurs pairs d'avoir des problèmes de santé mentale, de toxicomanie et d'itinérance.

Francophones : Les enfants francophones de l'Ontario sont confrontés à des difficultés lorsqu'il s'agit de se créer une identité culturelle et linguistique et de trouver leur place dans une communauté francophone diversifiée. Près de six pour cent des élèves des années intermédiaires sont inscrits dans des écoles de langue française réparties dans tout l'Ontario et près de trois pour cent déclarent que le français est l'une des langues principales parlées à la maison.19 Il a été montré que la lecture et l'utilisation des médias en français diminuaient avec l'âge au cours des années intermédiaires.20

Enfants handicapés ou ayant des besoins spéciaux : Beaucoup d'enfants de l'Ontario ont un handicap ou des besoins spéciaux sur un ou plusieurs plans, y compris sur les plans physique, cognitif, affectif, social et/ou des communications.21 Il s'agit notamment des troubles de la communication, des handicaps physiques, des problèmes de santé mentale, des problèmes de comportement, des lésions cérébrales acquises, de la déficience intellectuelle, du syndrome de Down, de la paralysie cérébrale, du spina bifida, des troubles du spectre de l'autisme (TSA), des troubles de l'apprentissage, du trouble du spectre de l'alcoolisation fœtale (FASD) et des problèmes médicaux chroniques et/ou à long terme.

Beaucoup d'enfants ayant un handicap ou des besoins spéciaux sont confrontés à des obstacles et à des défis liés à l'accessibilité et à l'inclusion sociale. Ces jeunes peuvent être plus exposés que les autres aux sévices, à l'intimidation et à la pauvreté. Les enfants handicapés sont moins susceptibles de participer à des activités récréatives que ceux qui n'ont pas de handicap.22 De plus, les parents des enfants du groupe d'âge des années intermédiaires ayant un handicap ou des besoins spéciaux ont souvent besoin d'un soutien supplémentaire pour gérer les activités quotidiennes, la garde d'enfants et les autres responsabilités familiales. Les deux tiers des parents interrogés ont déclaré que ces besoins n'étaient pas satisfaits.23

Enfants qui vivent dans des familles qui sont confrontées à des difficultés socio-économiques et à des situations précaires : En 2011, il a été signalé que près de 14 pour cent des enfants du groupe d'âge des années intermédiaires vivaient dans des familles à faible revenu. Nous savons que les familles monoparentales, en particulier les familles dirigées par une mère seule, sont confrontées à des obstacles particuliers et que 43 pour cent des personnes qui vivent dans des familles dirigées par une mère seule vivent en dessous du seuil de la pauvreté. Environ vingt pour cent des enfants du groupe d'âge des années intermédiaires vivent dans des ménages monoparentaux et 85 pour cent de ces ménages monoparentaux sont dirigés par des femmes.24 Les données probantes montrent que les enfants qui vivent dans la pauvreté courent un risque accru de souffrir d'un vaste éventail de problèmes physiques, comportementaux et affectifs. Le stress chronique associé au fait de vivre dans la pauvreté peut également avoir des répercussions défavorables sur le développement cognitif, la mémoire, la concentration et la capacité d'apprendre d'un enfant.25 Les enfants qui vivent dans des familles et des quartiers à faible revenu sont beaucoup plus susceptibles que les autres d'avoir un excès de poids26 et beaucoup moins susceptibles de participer à des activités récréatives et parascolaires.27

En outre, les familles peuvent être confrontées à d'autres contraintes et à des situations qui accroissent les risques pour elles et leurs enfants, y compris la consommation de substances, les problèmes de santé mentale, la violence familiale et la décomposition de la famille.

Enfants pris en charge : En 2012-2013, le nombre moyen des enfants confiés aux soins des sociétés de l'aide à l'enfance était de 17 273 dont 7 552 pupilles de la Couronne et 1 304 enfants qui reçoivent des soins structurés conformes aux traditions.28 Nous savons que certains groupes d'enfants sont surreprésentés dans les services de bien-être de l'enfance, y compris les enfants autochtones et noirs. Les enfants des Premières Nations, métis et inuits âgés de moins de quinze ans représentent trois pour cent de la population provinciale mais plus de 21 pour cent des enfants confiés aux soins des sociétés de l'aide à l'enfance sont autochtones.29 Les enfants noirs de l'Ontario sont également plus susceptibles que les enfants blancs de faire l'objet d'une enquête et d'être pris en charge dans le cadre des services de bien-être de l'enfance.30

Quatre-vingt-deux pour cent des enfants pris en charge ont des besoins spéciaux diagnostiqués. Les enfants pris en charge ont un taux d'obtention du diplôme d'études secondaires de 46 pour cent alors qu'il était de 86,5 pour cent chez leurs pairs en 2015–2016.31

Enfants qui vivent dans des collectivités rurales, éloignées et nordiques : Les enfants du groupe d'âge des années intermédiaires et leurs familles qui vivent dans des collectivités rurales et éloignées peuvent être confrontés à des difficultés supplémentaires en matière d'accès à l'éducation, aux loisirs et aux services de santé et sociaux en raison de la distance et des options disponibles pour le transport. L'accès à des aliments frais et nutritifs peut également être limité dans certaines localités éloignées et les familles peuvent vivre loin les unes des autres, ce qui limite les possibilités d'établir quotidiennement des liens avec leurs voisins et leurs amis.

Mixité : Les stéréotypes sexuels commencent à apparaître au cours des années intermédiaires et il s'agit également d'une période du développement d'une importance primordiale pour développer la confiance, la pensée critique et la persévérance nécessaires pour s'attaquer au sexisme, à la transphobie et aux préjugés sexistes tout au long de la vie. Au cours de cette période, les enfants peuvent également être exposés au « maintien de l'ordre lié à la spécificité des sexes » (en anglais, « gender policing » ), soit à des pressions visant à les obliger à se conformer aux attentes et aux rôles traditionnellement associés à la masculinité ou à la féminité ainsi qu'à des critiques et à de l'intimidation si l'expression de leur genre se situe en dehors de leurs limites. De nombreuses disparités existent également entre les filles et les garçons. Il importe d'habiliter les enfants à explorer un éventail de domaines d'apprentissages et de disciplines, d'activités et de passe-temps sans préjugés sexistes.