You are hereSkip Navigation Links

On MY Way

Emotional Development

Over the course of the middle years, children undergo extremely complex emotional development. Their concept of self evolves dramatically, and they develop more complex images of who they are. In addition, their sense of competence—what they believe they are able to achieve—changes significantly. All of this is coupled with their growing understanding of moral behaviour and fairness, and an increased capacity for emotional understanding and expression. It is important to note that how children develop emotionally varies by a child’s circumstances and other influences.

Developing a sense of self and identity

As they progress through the middle years, children gain a greater awareness of how they appear and relate to others, and see themselves with greater complexity — as sons or daughters, friends, students, members of a community, in relation to their culture or areas of personal interest (e.g., arts, athletics). Middle years children also gain greater understanding of their personal attributes and abilities with respect to appearance, behaviour, academics, athletics and social competence. At this stage, the way they see and think about themselves is mainly influenced by parents, caregivers, mentors and cultural role models, although experience at school and with peers can also have an impact.104, 105 Children at this age are exploring their concept of self and often intersecting identities, including their social identities (e.g., cultural, racial, ethnicity, gender expression) and their personal identities (e.g., preferences, values, beliefs, abilities). Children at this age can be supported to develop respectful and inclusive attitudes about diversity.

In the middle years, children begin to develop the identities and form the behaviours, moral beliefs and values that will come to define them as adults. They are increasingly able to examine themselves inwardly and in the abstract, and have a growing sense of themselves as an independent individual.106, 107

Their friendships are increasingly based on compatibility of personal characteristics,108 and interaction with their peers can influence identity formation.109 By age 12, they assess themselves with increasing understanding of the various areas of self-concept (physical appearance, behavioural conduct, academic competence, athletic competence and social competence), and the importance of those areas in their lives.

As they mature into adolescence, children who are racialized, Black, Indigenous, newcomer, from diverse ethnic, religious and varying socio-economic backgrounds and those living with disabilities or special needs, or questioning their gender or sexual orientation, may tend to engage with friends who they relate to, based on a shared sense of identity. It is beneficial for parents to support children’s identity exploration, while supporting a sense of shared belonging in the broader society. Engaged, responsive and supportive families can act as buffers or help children overcome challenges. Supportive families can also nurture children’s self-worth and belief in an inclusive society.110

Children from equity seeking groups may experience challenges in their identity formation, particularly where their community, school, social or family environment conveys a sense of "other" or being an "outsider," or lack of acceptance regarding that aspect of their identity. Connecting with adults and peers with shared social identities (e.g., LGBTQ2S, Deaf culture, racialized and/or cultural communities) can support children to develop a positive, and more stable sense of identity and community/group belonging.

It is also important that parents, caregivers and other caring adults help middle years children to broaden their identity horizons by having them explore a wide variety of potential future opportunities in the educational, employment and recreational spheres.111

Children's Artwork

Cultural identity

For many children, developing a connection to their ethnicity, culture, spirituality or faith supports positive identity development, which continues to evolve over time. Early in the middle years, for example, a child’s feelings and understandings about their culture tend to be oriented to ceremonial practices and food norms. Later in the middle years, these feelings may start to become more abstract and ethically oriented, involving issues associated with cultural beliefs and shared values.

Research has shown that children who feel they belong to a cultural community and understand what membership in that group means to them tend to experience more optimal development.

Children who form strong connections to their cultural groups tend to have better self-esteem, develop better social and behaviour patterns, and experience greater peer acceptance. They also tend to have higher academic motivation and achievement, fewer mental health problems, and take fewer health risks.112 This is particularly important for newcomer children who may be navigating across different cultural contexts. For Indigenous children, immersing in their culture and participating in traditional cultural activities and practices supports the development of pride, identity and spirit, which have far-reaching lifelong impacts.

Families, teachers, school staff, communities, cultural leaders, traditional knowledge keepers and service providers have a role to play to support children who are exploring, building and sharing all aspects of their cultural identities.

Middle years children may turn to the Internet for opportunities to build, manage and experiment with various selves and identities. This can present opportunities as well as risks. Some experts have suggested that the many different ways children can express their identities online — and the many different identities they can express — can undermine their ability to create a strong coherent sense of self.

Developing a sense of competence

Competence is defined as the ability to do something successfully or efficiently. When we talk about children developing a sense of competence, it is important to understand that we are not talking about them simply "getting good at something." Instead, a sense of competence is children feeling that they are being successful. This is an important distinction, because children develop competencies at their own pace, and according to their own abilities. What is a success for one child may not be a success for another, and that is perfectly acceptable. Competence can be understood subjectively based on culture, context and personal experience. For example, children with disabilities or special needs, children who are newcomers, and children from various cultural communities may have different perspectives on what competence means. These differences should be understood and supported accordingly.

Self-esteem

Children generally enter middle childhood with confidence in their ability to master various tasks, so they have relatively high self-esteem. In fact, at this stage, they are less able to distinguish between their desire to be good at something and their actual competence. This can lead to overestimations of their abilities.

Later in the middle years, children have increasing self-awareness and more ability to view their own qualities relative to others. Due to this, there is a stronger relationship between their sense of what they are able to do, and their actual performance. Their self-assessment and descriptions of themselves begin to reflect these changes.

Self-efficacy

There is growing evidence that it is better for children’s development to raise their sense of competence in specific areas — referred to as "self-efficacy"— than to simply raise their self-esteem. Research suggests that the importance given to self-esteem alone may be overestimated and high levels of self-esteem could have negative effects if it is based on unrealistic feedback. On the other hand, developing self-efficacy involves developing social, physical, educational and other competencies, along with confidence and pride in those abilities.113 Self-efficacy, and not self-esteem, often predicts academic achievement.

Sense of industry

The middle years are a time when children develop greater motivation and readiness to take on new challenges, which is often referred to as a sense of "industry".114

Supporting children to develop this sense of industry is important. If they believe their efforts influence their own success, it affects their willingness to strive to succeed. Once their efforts contribute to a successful result, it motivates them to try to achieve even more. But children need to believe in their own ability and how they can influence results. If children believe they have failed because they lack ability, they will be less engaged than if they believe they just need more knowledge or practice.115

Parents/caregivers and others involved in children’s lives can help them build a sense of industry by helping them to focus on setting goals and learning from failure — seeing failure as motivating rather than demoralizing.116

Parents and caregivers who set high but realistic challenges, and help children through these challenges, can encourage higher levels of industry and self-efficacy. As well, adult endorsement of their abilities can reduce child frustration with failure and promote the expectation of future success.

Self-Efficacy

Literature suggests that the early development of a sense of selfefficacy is important, as it can result in better outcomes in the future. There is some concern, however, that those with unrealistically high levels of self-efficacy who lack the judgement to understand their limitations spend less effort as a result of their overconfidence. Experts suggest that teachers and counsellors should help these students become more realistic about their skill levels so as to increase their focus on the effort needed to increase those skills.117, 118

Children's Artwork

Moral behaviour and fairness

Moral reasoning and a sense of right and wrong

Moral and ethical development characterizes the middle years,119 Children are developing a greater sense of right and wrong and fairness.120, 121

In the early part of the middle years, the moral behaviour of children is shaped by the standards set by adults and the consequences of following or breaking adult rules. Later, children begin to recognize that individuals can have different viewpoints about right and wrong, but they still have difficulty separating their perspective from that of others. For children experiencing developmental delays or who do not have a "neurotypical" brain, such as those on the autism spectrum, moral reasoning can be delayed and/or may not develop along this trajectory.

As they age, children begin to act based on what they perceive will gain them a reward for doing the right thing or will gain them social approval. They begin to understand and adopt the moral standards of adult role models, and their perspectives on social conventions, law, justice and duty all deepen.127, 128 This is a prime time to engage children in discussions about racism, discrimination, injustice and inequity and empower them to be advocates for themselves, for their peers, and for a more inclusive and equitable society.

There is evidence that computer and Internet use can lead to more ambiguous moral reasoning. There is real concern that time spent in front of screens can decrease empathy, lead to poor behaviour, and limit ability to identify and describe one’s feelings and the ability to read emotions.122, 123, 124, 125, 126

Emotional regulation

Emotional understanding and expression

During the middle years, children are learning how to identify, express and regulate their emotions, and they are also developing a greater awareness of the emotions of others. They begin noticing when others are upset. During this stage, children begin developing strategies to manage their own emotions, and also to help others.

Around age seven, children generally become aware that how they think can affect the way they feel. This is the first stage in regulating emotions. Suddenly, they begin to realize that there is a crucial difference between experiencing an emotion and expressing it, and that not all emotions should be expressed externally. By age eight or nine, most children are able to competently regulate their emotions. They are better able to adapt to situations, problem solve and behave appropriately.132

The onset of puberty brings with it increased emotions and reactions, as well as mood fluctuations and sensitivity to stress that can influence a child’s response to their emotions.133 This is where an ability to control emotions can dramatically affect a child’s future. Greater emotional regulation is related to many critical factors, including better academic performance and learning, increased literacy, more creativity, higher self-esteem, increased ability to cope with stress, and better moral reasoning. In addition, it is related to better social competence, including peer group acceptance, social skills, friendship quality, less loneliness and less bullying.

Supporting children to build skills to manage emotions early can help to support them later on as they navigate the complex world of adolescence and adulthood, and will help them to more effectively navigate the effects of hormonal changes brought on by puberty.

Culture positively shapes the development of self-regulation. The ways in which children from various cultural and ethnic backgrounds interact with family, friends and their community can help them learn to accept societal rules, tolerate frustrations, control their emotions and impulses, and persist in meaningful activities. Moreover, children’s emotional regulation is influenced by culture, based on emotional behaviour and norms specific to their culture.

Dealing with stress

High levels of stress, and particularly sustained, chronic stress, can threaten the emotional development of children in the middle years and affect their resilience later in life.137 This kind of stress can negatively affect how the brain is wired, and how it develops in terms of memory, concentration, the filtering of information, processing of emotions and regulation of behaviour. For children who have faced high levels of stress due to factors such as poverty, racism, family conflict, abuse, and trauma, chronic stress can compound other problems. For example, children who experience chronic stress may experience challenges such as hypersensitivity and trouble with paying attention and self-regulation.

Helping children cope with stress can improve their health, mental functioning and academic performance, and also reduce sleeplessness, fatigue, memory and concentration problems, irritability and anxiety. Interventions at an early age are particularly important for children who are highly sensitive to stress and at greater risk for developing mental health challenges. The earlier the intervention takes place, the more positive the outcomes. Techniques such as mindfulness-based approaches, teaching children to build awareness of their thoughts, feelings or perceptions in the present moment, are producing successful outcomes.138

Key supports for families and children could include safe and affordable housing, basic income supports and affordable and accessible transportation, especially for those in rural and remote communities, to buffer the stresses associated with living in isolated communities.

Greater income inequality has been associated with increased anxiety.129, 130 Inequality can be perceived by children at young ages and can result in a stress reaction that has the ability to impede their cognitive and social development.131

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links

MON cheminement

Le développement affectif

Au cours des années intermédiaires, le développement affectif des enfants est extrêmement complexe. Leur concept du soi évolue énormément et ils conçoivent une image plus complexe de qui ils sont. En outre, leur sentiment de compétence — ce qu’ils estiment être capables de réaliser — change considérablement. Tous ces sentiments sont jumelés à leur compréhension grandissante du comportement moral et de l’équité et à leur plus grande capacité à comprendre et à exprimer leurs émotions. Il est important de noter que le développement affectif varie selon les circonstances et les autres influences de l’enfant.

Acquérir un sens du soi et un sentiment d’identité

À mesure qu’ils progressent durant les années intermédiaires, les enfants deviennent plus conscients de leur apparence et des comparaisons avec les autres et ils se voient d’une façon beaucoup plus complexe — comme étant des fils ou des filles, des amis, des élèves, des membres d’une communauté, par rapport à leur culture ou aux domaines qui les intéressent personnellement (p. ex. les arts, l’athlétisme). Les enfants qui sont à la phase intermédiaire comprennent mieux leurs attributs et leurs aptitudes personnels en ce qui a trait à l’apparence, au comportement, aux études, aux compétences athlétiques et aux aptitudes sociales. À cette étape, comment ils se voient et ce qu’ils pensent d’eux-mêmes est principalement influencé par les parents, les fournisseurs de soins, les mentors et les modèles culturels, quoique l’expérience à l’école et avec leurs pairs puisse également avoir une incidence.104, 105 À cet âge, les enfants explorent le concept du soi ainsi que leurs identités qui s’intersectent souvent, notamment leur identité sociale (p. ex. culturelle, raciale, ethnique, sexuelle) et leur identité personnelle (p. ex. leurs préférences, valeurs, convictions, capacités). À cet âge, les enfants peuvent être épaulés afin d’adopter une attitude respectueuse et inclusive à l’égard de la diversité.

Durant les années intermédiaires, les enfants commencent à se construire une identité et à acquérir des comportements, des convictions morales et des valeurs qui les définiront à l’âge adulte. Ils sont de plus en plus capables de s’étudier intérieurement et de façon abstraite et ils se voient de plus en plus comme une personne indépendante.106, 107

Les amitiés reposent de plus en plus sur la compatibilité des caractéristiques personnelles,108 et les interactions avec leurs pairs peuvent avoir une influence sur la construction de l’identité.109 À l’âge de 12 ans, ils s’évaluent en comprenant mieux les différents aspects du concept du soi (l’apparence physique, la conduite comportementale, la compétence scolaire, la compétence athlétique et la compétence sociale) ainsi que l’importance de ces aspects dans leur vie.

À l’approche de l’adolescence, les enfants racialisés, noirs, autochtones ou nouveaux arrivants qui ont des antécédents ethniques, religieux et socioéconomiques différents et ceux qui vivent avec des incapacités ou des besoins particuliers ou qui s’interrogent sur leur genre ou leur orientation sexuelle peuvent avoir tendance à se tenir avec des amis dans lesquels ils se reconnaissent en s’appuyant sur un sentiment d’identité partagé. Il est avantageux pour les parents d’encourager l’exploration identitaire des enfants tout en favorisant un sentiment d’appartenance à l’ensemble de la société. Les familles engagées, réceptives et positives peuvent servir de tampons ou aider leurs enfants à surmonter les défis. Les familles positives peuvent aussi cultiver l’estime de soi des enfants ainsi que leur croyance à l’égard d’une société inclusive.110

Les enfants qui sont issus de groupes qui revendiquent l’égalité peuvent être confrontés à des défis dans leur quête d’identité, surtout quand leur communauté, leur école, leur environnement social ou leur milieu familial leur transmet le sentiment qu’ils sont « différents » ou « marginaux » ou leur font sentir que cet aspect de leur identité n’est pas accepté. Tisser des liens avec des adultes et des pairs qui ont une identité sociale commune (p. ex. la communauté LGBTABI, la communauté sourde, les communautés racialisées et/ou culturelles) peut aider les enfants à acquérir un sentiment d’identité positif et plus stable ainsi qu’un sentiment d’appartenance à une communauté ou à un groupe.

Il est également important que les parents, les fournisseurs de soins et les autres adultes attentionnés aident les enfants qui sont à la phase intermédiaire à élargir leurs horizons en termes d’identité en les incitant à explorer un vaste éventail de perspectives d’avenir dans les sphères de l’éducation, de l’emploi et des loisirs.111

Children's Artwork

L’identité culturelle

Pour de nombreux enfants, établir un rapport avec leur ethnicité, leur culture, leur spiritualité ou leur foi favorise le développement d’une identité positive qui continue d’évoluer au fil du temps. Au début des années intermédiaires, par exemple, les sentiments et la compréhension de l’enfant à l’égard de sa culture tendent à être orientés vers les pratiques cérémoniales et les normes alimentaires. Vers la fin des années intermédiaires, ces sentiments peuvent commencer à devenir plus abstraits et davantage orientés vers l’éthique en abordant des questions qui sont associées aux croyances culturelles et aux valeurs communes.

La recherche a montré que les enfants qui sentent qu’ils appartiennent à une communauté culturelle et qui comprennent ce que l’appartenance à ce groupe signifie pour eux ont tendance à connaître un développement plus optimal.

Les enfants qui tissent des liens étroits avec leurs groupes culturels ont tendance à avoir une meilleure estime d’eux-mêmes, à adopter de meilleurs modèles sociaux et types de comportement et à se faire plus facilement accepter par leurs pairs. Ils ont aussi tendance à avoir une plus grande motivation pour les études et un meilleur rendement scolaire, à éprouver moins de problèmes de santé mentale et à prendre moins de risques pour la santé.112 Cela est particulièrement important pour les enfants qui sont de nouveaux arrivants et qui peuvent naviguer entre différents contextes culturels. Pour les enfants autochtones, s’immerger dans leur culture et participer aux activités et aux pratiques traditionnelles favorise l’acquisition de la fierté, de l’identité et de l’esprit, qui ont des incidences profondes tout au long de la vie.

Les familles, le personnel enseignant, le personnel scolaire, les communautés, les leaders culturels, les gardiens du savoir traditionnel et les fournisseurs de services ont un rôle à jouer afin d’accompagner les enfants qui explorent, qui construisent et qui partagent tous les aspects de leur identité culturelle.

Les enfants qui sont à la phase intermédiaire peuvent se tourner vers Internet afin de chercher des possibilités de construire, gérer et essayer plusieurs « mois » et identités. Cette quête peut présenter des occasions et des risques. Des experts ont donné à entendre que les nombreux moyens que les enfants peuvent prendre pour exprimer leurs identités en ligne— et les nombreuses identités qu’ils peuvent exprimer — peuvent miner leur capacité à acquérir un sens du soi solide et cohérent.

Acquérir un sentiment de compétence

La compétence se définit comme la capacité de faire quelque chose avec succès ou d’une manière efficace. Lorsque nous parlons des enfants qui acquièrent un sentiment de compétence, il est important de comprendre que nous ne parlons pas simplement des enfants qui « deviennent bons dans quelque chose ». C’est plutôt le sentiment de réussite que les enfants ressentent. C’est une distinction importante, car les enfants acquièrent des compétences à leur propre rythme et en fonction de leurs propres capacités. Ce qui est une réussite pour un enfant peut ne pas être une réussite pour un autre, et c’est tout à fait acceptable. On peut comprendre la compétence d’une manière subjective en s’appuyant sur la culture, le contexte et l’expérience personnelle. Par exemple, les enfants qui ont des incapacités ou des besoins particuliers, les enfants qui sont des nouveaux arrivants et les enfants de différentes communautés culturelles peuvent avoir des points de vue différents sur la signification de la compétence. Ces différences devraient être comprises et favorisées en conséquence.

L’estime de soi

Comme les enfants commencent généralement la phase intermédiaire en ayant confiance en leur capacité de maîtriser des tâches variées, ils possèdent une estime de soi relativement forte. En fait, à cette étape, ils sont moins capables de faire la distinction entre leur volonté d’être bons dans quelque chose et leur compétence réelle. Cela peut mener à une surestimation de leurs capacités.

Vers la fin des années intermédiaires, les enfants sont plus conscients et capables de voir leurs propres qualités par rapport à celles des autres. Cela leur permet d’établir un lien plus fort entre leur perception de ce qu’ils peuvent faire et leur rendement réel. Les autoévaluations et leurs descriptions d’euxmêmes commencent à refléter ces changements.

L’auto-efficacité

Les données ont de plus en plus tendance à indiquer qu’il est préférable, pour le développement de l’enfant, de rehausser son sentiment de compétence dans des domaines précis — ce que l’on appelle « l’auto-efficacité » — au lieu de simplement renforcer son estime de soi. La recherche laisse entendre que l’importance accordée uniquement à l’estime de soi peut être surestimée et qu’un niveau élevé d’estime de soi pourrait avoir des effets néfastes s’il est fondé sur une rétroaction irréaliste. En revanche, l’acquisition de l’auto-efficacité implique d’acquérir des compétences sociales, physiques, d’apprentissage et autres, d’avoir confiance en ces capacités et d’en être fier.113 C’est l’autoefficacité, et non l’estime de soi, qui prédit souvent la réussite scolaire.

Le sens de l’assiduité

Les années intermédiaires sont une période pendant laquelle les enfants sont plus motivés et plus disposés à relever de nouveaux défis; ils acquièrent ce que l’on appelle souvent le sens de « l’assiduité ».114

Il est important d’aider les enfants à acquérir ce sens de l’assiduité. S’ils croient que leurs efforts ont une influence sur leur propre réussite, cette conviction a un effet sur leur volonté de s’efforcer de réussir. Lorsque leurs efforts contribuent à un résultat fructueux, cela les motive à s’efforcer de réussir encore plus. Les enfants doivent toutefois croire en leurs propres capacités et penser qu’elles peuvent avoir une influence sur les résultats. Si les enfants croient qu’ils ont échoué parce qu’ils ne possèdent pas les aptitudes nécessaires, ils seront moins engagés que s’ils considèrent qu’ils ont seulement besoin d’approfondir leurs connaissances ou de s’exercer davantage.115 Les parents ou les fournisseurs de soins et les autres personnes concernées dans la vie des enfants peuvent les aider à acquérir un sens de l’assiduité en leur montrant à se concentrer sur l’établissement d’objectifs et à tirer des leçons de leurs échecs — à voir l’échec comme un résultat motivant plutôt que démoralisant.116

Les parents et les fournisseurs de soins qui se fixent des défis ambitieux, mais réalistes, et qui aident les enfants à surmonter ces défis peuvent encourager des niveaux d’assiduité et d’auto-efficacité plus élevés. L’approbation des capacités de l’enfant par un adulte peut aussi diminuer la frustration de celui-ci à l’égard de l’échec et l’encourager à se fixer des attentes à l’égard des prochaines réussites.

L’auto-efficacité

La documentation donne à entendre que l’acquisition précoce d’un sentiment d’auto-efficacité est importante, car elle peut se traduire par de meilleurs résultats dans le futur. On se demande, par contre, si les enfants qui ont des niveaux d’auto-efficacité exagérément élevés et qui ne possèdent pas le jugement nécessaire pour comprendre leurs limites font moins d’efforts à cause de leur confiance excessive. Selon les experts, les enseignants et les conseillers devraient aider ces élèves à être plus réalistes à l’égard de leurs niveaux de compétences afin de pouvoir se concentrer davantage sur les efforts requis pour accroître ces compétences.117, 118

Children's Artwork

Le comportement moral et l’équité

Le raisonnement moral et le sens du bien et du mal

Les années intermédiaires sont caractérisées par le développement moral et éthique.119 Les enfants acquièrent un sens du bien et du mal ainsi qu’un sens de la justice plus aiguisés.120, 121

Dans la première partie des années intermédiaires, le comportement moral des enfants est façonné par les normes qui sont établies par les adultes ainsi que par les conséquences de les respecter ou de les enfreindre. Par la suite, les enfants commencent à reconnaître qu’ils ont des points de vue différents sur le bien et le mal, mais ils ont encore de la difficulté à faire la distinction entre leur perspective et celle des autres. Pour les enfants qui ont un retard du développement ou qui n’ont pas le cerveau type sur le plan neurologique, comme ceux qui sont dans le spectre autistique, le raisonnement moral peut être retardé et/ou ne pas se développer le long de cette trajectoire.

En vieillissant, les enfants commencent à agir en s’appuyant sur ce qui, selon leurs perceptions, leur procurera une récompense en agissant comme il se doit ou sur ce qui leur apportera une approbation sociale. Ils commencent à comprendre et à adopter les normes morales des modèles adultes, et leurs perspectives sur les conventions sociales, la loi, la justice et le devoir s’approfondissent.127, 128 C’est le moment idéal pour inciter les enfants à prendre part à des discussions sur le racisme, la discrimination, l’injustice et l’iniquité et pour les habiliter à se défendre, à défendre leurs pairs et à défendre une société plus inclusive et équitable.

Des données indiquent que l’utilisation des ordinateurs et d’Internet peut conduire à un raisonnement moral plus ambigu. On se demande réellement si le temps passé devant des écrans peut diminuer l’empathie, mener à un comportement indésirable et limiter la capacité de déterminer et de décrire ses sentiments ainsi que la capacité d’interpréter les émotions.122, 123, 124, 125, 126

La régulation des émotions

La compréhension et l’expression des émotions

Durant les années intermédiaires, les enfants apprennent comment déceler, exprimer et maîtriser leurs émotions. Ils sont aussi plus sensibles aux émotions des autres. Lorsque d’autres personnes sont contrariées, ils commencent à s’en apercevoir. Pendant cette étape, les enfants se mettent à élaborer des stratégies dans l’optique de gérer leurs propres émotions et aussi dans le but d’aider les autres.

Vers l’âge de sept ans, les enfants s’aperçoivent généralement que leur façon de penser peut avoir un effet sur leur façon de ressentir. Il s’agit de la première étape de la régulation des émotions. Ils commencent tout à coup à s’apercevoir qu’il y a une différence cruciale entre ressentir une émotion et exprimer une émotion et que ce ne sont pas toutes les émotions qui devraient être extériorisées. Vers l’âge de huit ou neuf ans, la plupart des enfants peuvent maîtriser leurs émotions de façon compétente. Ils sont mieux en mesure de s’adapter aux situations, de résoudre des problèmes et de se comporter convenablement.132

Le début de la puberté a pour effet d’exacerber les émotions et les réactions, de provoquer des sautes d’humeur et d’engendrer une sensibilité au stress qui peut avoir une influence sur la réaction de l’enfant à ses émotions.133 C’est ici que la capacité de maîtriser ses émotions peut avoir une incidence énorme sur l’avenir de l’enfant. Une meilleure régulation des émotions est liée à plusieurs facteurs cruciaux, y compris à l’amélioration du rendement scolaire et de l’apprentissage, de la littératie, de la créativité, de l’estime de soi, de la capacité de composer avec le stress et du raisonnement moral. Elle est aussi associée à une plus grande compétence sociale, notamment à l’acceptation par un groupe de pairs, aux aptitudes sociales, à la qualité des amitiés, à une moins grande solitude et à une diminution de l’intimidation.134, 135, 136

Encourager les enfants à acquérir les compétences nécessaires pour gérer leurs émotions à un jeune âge peut contribuer à les aider plus tard lorsqu’ils navigueront dans l’univers complexe de l’adolescence et de l’âge adulte et quand ils pourront gérer plus efficacement les effets des changements hormonaux provoqués par la puberté.

Une plus grande inégalité entre les revenus a été associée à une anxiété accrue.129, 130 L’inégalité peut être perçue par les enfants à un jeune âge et peut déclencher une réaction au stress qui est susceptible d’entraver leur développement cognitif et social.131

Gérer le stress

Les niveaux de stress élevés, et en particulier le stress soutenu et chronique, peuvent menacer le développement affectif des enfants qui sont à la phase intermédiaire et avoir une incidence sur leur résilience en vieillissant.137 Ce genre de stress peut avoir un effet néfaste sur le câblage du cerveau ainsi que sur son développement en ce qui concerne la mémoire, la concentration, le filtrage de l’information, la gestion des émotions et la régulation du comportement. Pour les enfants qui ont subi des niveaux élevés de stress causés par des facteurs comme la pauvreté, le racisme, les conflits familiaux, la violence et le traumatisme, le stress chronique peut aggraver d’autres problèmes. Par exemple, les enfants qui sont aux prises avec un stress chronique peuvent être confrontés à des défis comme une hypersensibilité et une difficulté à porter attention et à maîtriser leurs émotions.

Aider les enfants à composer avec le stress peut améliorer leur santé, leur fonctionnement mental et leur rendement scolaire, en plus de diminuer l’insomnie, la fatigue, les problèmes de mémoire et de concentration, l’irritabilité et l’anxiété. Les interventions à un jeune âge sont particulièrement importantes pour les enfants qui sont très sensibles au stress et qui sont plus susceptibles d’avoir des problèmes de santé mentale. Plus l’intervention se fait tôt, plus les résultats sont positifs. Les techniques comme les approches axées sur la pleine conscience, qui apprennent aux enfants à prendre conscience de leurs pensées, de leurs sentiments ou de leurs perceptions dans le moment présent, donnent de bons résultats.138

Les principaux soutiens pour les familles et les enfants pourraient englober un logement sécuritaire et abordable, des soutiens du revenu de base ainsi qu’un transport abordable et accessible, en particulier pour ceux qui sont dans des communautés rurales et éloignées, afin d’amortir le stress associé à la vie dans une collectivité isolée.

La culture façonne l’acquisition de la maîtrise de soi d’une manière positive. Les moyens que prennent les enfants qui proviennent de milieux culturels et ethniques variés pour interagir avec leur famille, leurs amis et leur communauté peuvent les aider à accepter les règles de la société, à tolérer les frustrations, à maîtriser leurs émotions et leurs impulsions et à persister à faire des activités significatives. Par surcroît, la régulation des émotions des enfants est influencée par la culture et fondée sur le comportement émotionnel ainsi que sur les normes qui sont propres à leur culture.