You are hereSkip Navigation Links

On MY Way

Physical Development

Children in the middle years are steadily growing. It is important to remember, however, that physical changes occur at different ages and rates, and can differ greatly among children. This is particularly true between ages 9-12.53, 54, 55 There is a clear link between good physical health and good physical development during these years, and good nutrition and exercise are critical to children’s overall development.

Growth

During the middle years, most children experience a rapid growth spurt, both in height and weight. For girls, the growth spurt tends to occur between ages 9-13 typically starting at 10 and peaking at 12 years of age. For boys, it generally happens between ages 11-15 with a peak at age 14. During this time, children can grow between five and eight centimetres and gain as much as 2.75 kilograms in a year.56 In general, girls gain more weight and height during this time period than do boys. This growth marks the beginning of adolescence, and sex-related differences start to become more evident.57

Strength and endurance

In the early middle years, children tend to have limited muscular endurance, and there is no significant difference in the physical abilities of boys and girls. Starting at age seven, children’s muscular strength increases slowly and steadily until age 13 to 14 in boys, and age 12 in girls. Boys, however, also experience an acceleration in strength development during the growth spurt stage that does not occur in girls.58

It is important to remember that any strength building activities should take into account the readiness of the child’s bones, muscles, nervous system and joints to handle load-bearing exercises.59

Children's Artwork

Puberty

Around age seven, the physical precursor to puberty occurs, when genes associated with reproductive behaviour and sexual differentiation are activated and changes to bodily hair, skin and sweat glands begin to occur.60 Puberty itself generally occurs between the ages of 10 and 12 for girls. For boys, it usually occurs after the middle years, between ages 12-14. However, these ages can vary greatly.61

In puberty, children undergo a growth spurt, develop gender characteristics, become fertile and experience increased curiosity about human development, including changes in the body. There are changes in both physical appearance and behaviour,62 with increased interest in romantic relationships63 and exploratory behaviour.64 As well, children’s notions of gender and their own gender identity become more solidified.65

Movement skills

The middle years are a critical phase in the development of motor (movement) skills. These skills are required for more than sports and recreation, and are critical for nearly all physical activities. They should be learned sequentially, based on the characteristics of the child. Skill development is less related to age than it is to growth and physical maturity, and is also associated with the environment in which a child is being raised.66

Early in the middle years, fundamental movement skills typically improve significantly. These skills include running, jumping, bending, twisting, throwing and kicking, and they should be mastered before children are able to develop more specialized skills. At this stage, children are typically able to perform these skills one at a time, but might have difficulty combining them. Gradually, they learn to combine various motor skills in sequence, and they can adapt them to various physical activities.67 Children with developmental disabilities may develop these skills in a different manner.

Fine motor skills are also developing during this time period.68 Fine motor skills involve the use of the small muscles in the fingers, hand and arm to effectively manipulate tools and materials. Hand-eye coordination is an important component of this development and requires a child to use their vision to control the movements and actions of their small muscles. As children enter the middle years, they continue to enhance their fine motor skills and their drawing, writing, colouring and scissoring skills become more fluid and adept.69

During the middle years, there is a need for children to become more independent in self-care tasks, productivity and leisure. All of these tasks require the development and application of skilled hand-eye coordination and the ability to use two hands when each hand is doing something different than the other. Examples of self-care skills that are developing during the middle years include:

  • dressing independently (doing up zippers, buttons and snaps)
  • using forks and knives
  • completing morning and evening routines (e.g., tooth brushing)
  • tying shoelaces
  • managing backpacks and lunch containers
  • using scissors
  • keyboarding and using a computer mouse
  • learning to play a musical instrument
  • making art/crafts

Health knowledge and behaviour

Understanding and taking responsibility for good health

It is important for children in their middle years to begin understanding the factors that contribute to healthy growth and development. They also need to start taking responsibility for and playing a role in their own health and wellbeing.

Health literacy

It is important that children have the skills and knowledge that are essential for maintaining and improving their own health. These skills and knowledge are referred to as “health literacy”.70, 71 As children develop and gain health literacy, they begin making better choices when it comes to food and drink, lifestyle, and safety.

Health literacy includes mental health. Increasing mental health literacy promotes wellness and knowing the signs and symptoms of mental illness. Those with high levels of mental health literacy are better able to identify the strengths and needs in themselves and others and are more equipped and empowered to seek help. In addition, those with high levels of mental health literacy report lower levels of mental health stigma.72

For children in their middle years, developing health literacy requires support from family, at school and in the community.76 Parents and caregivers, in particular, can support children by modelling healthy choices related to eating, substance use, relationships, personal care, mental health and injury prevention. Families that select foods and prepare healthy meals together help children develop food literacy skills and reinforce healthy eating habits. Likewise, parents and caregivers that acknowledge and care for their own mental health help children to develop positive habits related to their mental wellness.

For Indigenous children, the use of traditional medicine can be a mechanism for wellbeing, and may be used to maintain good health.77 Indigenous ways of knowing include a recognition that achieving balance across spiritual, emotional, physical and social spheres of life is essential to safeguarding health and wellbeing. Indigenous spiritual wellness is grounded in cultural connections, and so for Indigenous children in the middle years, participation in cultural learning and activities can inspire healthy choices and healthier living.

Canada’s Food Guide for First Nations, Inuit and Métis reflects the values, traditions and food choices of Indigenous people. For Indigenous families and communities, sharing food together is an important part of cultural learning and connection. For Inuit children and families, promoting opportunities to access and share country food has been identified as a fundamental component of healthy community development.78

Lower levels of physical activity in children are associated with poor health, including obesity and Type 2 diabetes, and reduced motor skills.73 Greater physical exercise in middle childhood is related to better brain functioning, cognitive skills and academic performance, including attention, memory, processing speed, mental adaptability and self-control.74, 75

For Indigenous children, physical activity often involves transmitting cultural traditions, and land-based activities practices.79 This could include activities such as cultural camps, building fires, swimming, chopping wood and traditional games.80 It has been recognized that “physical activity is cultural activity” and that these acts support wellbeing.81

Participation in physical activity

Children in their middle years need to maintain a healthy, active lifestyle. Most Ontario children in their middle years are not getting the recommended daily physical activity of 60 minutes of moderate to vigorous exercise, as well as vigorous muscle and bone strengthening activities at least three times a week. The need for more physical activity is even more essential for children with physical challenges, illness or disabilities, who may not reach the recommended levels because of their different abilities. It is important that parents, caregivers and other caring adults find ways of making physical activity meaningful and enjoyable for all children in the middle years, as this will increase the chances that they stick with these activities, develop good physical fitness, and remain physically active throughout their life.

Successful efforts to increase physical activity emphasize lifelong physical activity, the benefits of the outdoors and nature, and the importance of relaxation and having fun with family and friends. Ideally, such efforts should emphasize being physically active at various times throughout the day. They should also mix organized and unorganized activities, and address barriers to physical activity, such as the challenges faced by children with special needs.82

Experience and connection with the natural world provides children with dynamic developmental, social and cultural opportunities. Connection to nature has an impact not only on physical development, but also on social and emotional development. The value of going on the land and having a connection with the natural world and wild spaces has long been recognized by Indigenous cultures, but is equally relevant and beneficial for all children. Studies have shown that spending time in nature helps with recall and memory, problem-solving, and creativity, in addition to the benefits to physical health.83

For Indigenous children, spending time in the living world, including time with plants and animals and thinking about Creation stories allows the children to emotionally connect with their culture.84

Children's Artwork

Parents/caregivers and play

Parents and caregivers have an important role to play in supporting their children’s healthy physical development. Parents and caregivers can increase children’s activity levels by reducing the family’s sedentary time, promoting active play and time outdoors as an alternative to screen time, and planning for and spending time with children in physical activities. Acting as a role model for children is important; children who perceive at least one of their parents or caregivers to be physically active are more likely to meet physical fitness guidelines. The children who are physically active with their families are more likely to continue to be active as adults.85

Organized play

It has long been recognized that participation in organized sport, recreation and physical fitness yields tremendous benefits. For example, involvement in physical fitness is associated with reduced body fat and a lifetime of exercise and good health.86 Many children in Canada participate in organized sports, with higher participation rates among boys, children with parents/caregivers involved in sports, children in smaller cities or towns, and children of Canadian-born parents and caregivers.87, 88 Research shows a troubling trend that girls tend to drop out of organized sports and fitness as they get older,89 demonstrating that more work is needed to create and support gender inclusive opportunities for participation.

Nutrition and healthy weights

In addition to physical activity and exercise, good nutrition and a healthy body weight are critical to healthy physical development. Nutrition and healthy weight is supported by access to adequate, affordable, fresh, nutritious food. The effects of unhealthy weights, such as high blood pressure and insulin resistance, can affect children’s cognitive skills, including memory, brain processing speed and verbal skills. There are a number of factors in the physical and social environments of children that can contribute to weight gain. These include poor eating habits and overeating, high-calorie drinks, lack of physical activity, toxic stress, inadequate or poor quality sleep, mental health challenges, too much screen time, and eating away from home.90

Sleep

There is increasing recognition that the quantity and quality of sleep that middle years children are getting has a great impact on their physical and mental health.91 Ideally, children in the middle years should get nine to 11 hours of uninterrupted sleep per night.

Research indicates, however, that one-third of children have trouble falling asleep and staying asleep at least some of the time, and one-third are classified as sleep deprived.92 Children with histories of stressful or traumatic experiences may have neurologic differences in sensory processing and self-regulation that may cause disturbances in sleep. Also, children with perceptual sensitivities to sound, light, or touch are more likely to have difficulty filtering these out at night. It is also thought that screen time and the presence of screens (e.g., phones) in bed, especially just before bedtime, have contributed to sleep problems. Bedtime access to and use of media devices is associated with an inadequate amount of sleep, poor sleep quality and excessive daytime sleepiness. Children who sleep less also tend to be less active. Conversely, exercise has been found to improve sleep quality.93, 94, 95

Body image

Concern about body image can emerge early in some children. Starting at age six, some children report dissatisfaction with their bodies, and those feelings increase with age. The physical changes in the later part of the middle years have a significant effect on children’s sense of identity and body image.

Children at this age are becoming very aware of what others may be thinking, and as a result, some become more self-conscious about their bodies and how they compare to others. This increases through exposure to age inappropriate sexualized media content which is becoming more available and accessible to children online.96 All of this is happening at a time when children are experiencing a greater need for social acceptance, and some children develop anxiety about being accepted or rejected based on appearance. For girls in particular, interactions with their peers focus more often on appearance and physical comparisons,97, 98 and girls tend to become more dissatisfied with their bodies than boys.

Unfortunately, teasing about appearance is more common during this period and can have a significant influence on body image. 99, 100 Poor body image can contribute to depression, low self-esteem, eating disorders, risky sexual behaviour and children representing themselves in age inappropriate sexualized ways to others.101 However, friendships can protect against poor body image,102 and increased physical activity can also help to improve body satisfaction.103

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links

MON cheminement

Le développement physique

Les enfants qui sont à la phase intermédiaire grandissent de façon constante. Il est toutefois important de ne pas oublier que des changements surviennent à des vitesses et à des âges différents et qu’ils peuvent différer grandement d’un enfant à l’autre. Cela est particulièrement vrai entre l’âge de 9 et de 12 ans.53, 54, 55 Il y a un lien évident entre une bonne santé physique et un bon développement physique pendant ces années. Une bonne alimentation et l’exercice sont indispensables au développement global de l’enfant.

La croissance

Durant les années intermédiaires, la plupart des enfants ont une poussée de croissance rapide au niveau de leur taille et de leur poids. Pour les filles, la poussée de croissance tend à survenir entre l’âge de neuf et de 13 ans, en commençant généralement à 10 ans et en atteignant un pic à l’âge de 12 ans. Pour les garçons, elle se produit généralement entre l’âge de 11 et de 15 ans, puis elle culmine à l’âge de 14 ans. Pendant ce temps, les enfants peuvent gagner entre cinq et huit centimètres et jusqu’à 2,75 kilogrammes en l’espace d’un an.56 En règle générale, les filles prennent plus de poids et grandissent plus vite que les garçons pendant cette période de temps. Cette croissance marque le début de l’adolescence et les différences entre les sexes commencent à devenir plus évidentes.57

La force et l’endurance

Au début des années intermédiaires, les enfants ont tendance à avoir une endurance musculaire limitée et il n’y a pas de différence significative entre les capacités physiques des garçons et des filles. À partir de l’âge de sept ans, la force musculaire des enfants augmente lentement et graduellement jusqu’à l’âge de 13 à 14 ans, chez les garçons, et jusqu’à l’âge de 12 ans, chez les filles. Chez les garçons, par contre, le développement de la force s’accélère durant la phase de la poussée de croissance; un phénomène qui ne se produit pas chez les filles.58

Il est important de ne pas oublier que toutes les activités qui augmentent la force devraient tenir compte de l’état de préparation des os, des muscles, du système nerveux et des articulations de l’enfant afin de pouvoir composer avec les exercices qui impliquent de porter des charges.59

Children's Artwork

La puberté

Vers l’âge de sept ans, le précurseur physique de la puberté se manifeste lorsque les gènes associés au comportement procréateur et à la différenciation sexuelle sont activés et quand des changements commencent à s’opérer sur le plan de la pilosité, de la peau et des glandes sudoripares.60 La puberté en tant que telle survient généralement entre l’âge de 10 et de 12 ans pour les filles. Pour les garçons, elle survient habituellement après les années intermédiaires, entre l’âge de 12 et de 14 ans. Cela dit, ces âges peuvent varier grandement.61

À la puberté, les enfants connaissent une poussée de croissance, acquièrent les caractéristiques propres à chaque sexe, deviennent fertiles et s’intéressent de plus en plus au développement humain, notamment aux modifications qui surviennent dans le corps. Il y a des changements sur les plans de l’apparence physique et du comportement,62 et un intérêt accru pour les relations amoureuses,63 et le comportement explorateur.64 De plus, les notions de genre des enfants et leur propre identité sexuelle deviennent plus solidifiées.65

Les habiletés de mouvement

Les années intermédiaires sont une phase cruciale du développement des habiletés motrices (de mouvement). Ces habiletés ne sont pas seulement nécessaires pour le sport et les loisirs, elles sont indispensables pour pratiquement toutes les activités physiques. Elles devraient être acquises en séquences, en fonction des caractéristiques de l’enfant. L’acquisition des compétences est moins liée à l’âge qu’à la croissance et à la maturité physique. Elle est également associée à l’environnement dans lequel l’enfant est éduqué.66

Au début des années intermédiaires, on observe généralement une grande amélioration des habiletés de mouvement fondamentales. Ces habiletés, qui consistent notamment à courir, à sauter, à se pencher, à faire une torsion, à lancer et à donner un coup de pied, devraient être maîtrisées avant que les enfants puissent acquérir des compétences plus spécialisées. À cette étape, les enfants sont généralement capables de se servir de ces habiletés une à la fois, mais ils peuvent avoir du mal à les combiner. Ils apprennent graduellement à combiner différentes habiletés motrices dans une séquence et ils peuvent les adapter à différentes activités physiques.67 Les enfants qui ont des déficiences développementales peuvent acquérir ces habiletés d’une façon différente.

La motricité fine se développe également pendant cette période de temps.68 La motricité fine implique l’utilisation des petits muscles dans les doigts, la main et le bras pour manipuler efficacement des outils et du matériel. La coordination oculo-manuelle, qui est un élément important de ce développement, requiert que l’enfant se serve de sa vision pour maîtriser les mouvements et les actions de ces petits muscles. Lorsque les enfants entrent dans les années intermédiaires, ils continuent d’améliorer leur motricité fine et leurs aptitudes à dessiner, à écrire, à colorier et à découper deviennent plus fluides et mieux maîtrisées.69

Durant les années intermédiaires, les enfants doivent devenir plus indépendants en accomplissant des tâches qui sont liées à l’autonomie, à la productivité et aux loisirs. Toutes ces tâches nécessitent l’acquisition et l’application d’une coordination oculo-manuelle habile ainsi que la capacité de se servir de ses deux mains lorsqu’il y en a une qui fait quelque chose de différent de l’autre. Voici des exemples de capacités d’autonomie qui se développent durant les années intermédiaires :

  • s’habiller seul (se servir des fermetures éclair, des boutons et des boutons pression)
  • utiliser des fourchettes et des couteaux
  • faire les routines du matin et du soir (p. ex. se brosser les dents)
  • nouer des lacets
  • gérer les sacs à dos et les contenants-repas
  • utiliser des ciseaux
  • se servir d’un clavier et d’une souris informatique
  • apprendre à jouer d’un instrument de musique
  • faire des créations artistiqu es ou de l’artisanat

Les connaissances et le comportement liés à la santé

Comprendre ce qu’est une bonne santé et se prendre en main

Il est important pour les enfants qui sont à la phase intermédiaire de commencer à comprendre les facteurs qui contribuent à une croissance et à un développement sains. Ils doivent également commencer à se responsabiliser et à jouer un rôle dans leur santé et leur bien-être.

La littératie en matière de santé

Il est important que les enfants possèdent les aptitudes et les connaissances nécessaires pour conserver et améliorer leur propre santé. Ces aptitudes et connaissances sont ce que l’on appelle la « littératie en matière de santé».70, 71 À mesure que les enfants se développent et acquièrent une littératie en matière de santé, ils se mettent à faire de meilleurs choix lorsqu’il est question des aliments et des boissons, du mode de vie et de la sécurité.

La littératie en matière de santé englobe la santé mentale. Accroître la littératie en matière de santé mentale favorise le bien-être et aide à reconnaître les signes et les symptômes de la maladie mentale. Les personnes qui ont un niveau plus élevé de littératie en matière de santé mentale sont mieux en mesure de déterminer leurs forces et leurs besoins ainsi que les forces et les besoins des autres et elles sont mieux outillées et habilitées pour demander de l’aide. En outre, les personnes qui ont un niveau élevé de littératie en matière de santé mentale déclarent des niveaux de stigmatisation inférieurs à l’égard de la maladie mentale.72

Pour les enfants qui sont à la phase intermédiaire, acquérir une littératie en matière de santé nécessite un soutien au sein de la famille, de l’école et de la collectivité.76 Les parents et les fournisseurs de soins, en particulier, peuvent soutenir les enfants en leur donnant l’exemple, c’est-à-dire en faisant des choix sains en ce qui concerne la nourriture, la consommation de drogues, les relations, les soins personnels, la santé mentale et la prévention des blessures. Les familles qui choisissent leurs aliments et qui préparent des repas sains ensemble aident les enfants à acquérir une littératie en matière de nourriture et à renforcer leurs saines habitudes alimentaires. Dans la même veine, les parents et les fournisseurs de soins qui sont conscients de leur propre santé mentale et qui en prennent soin aident les enfants à acquérir des habitudes positives liées à leur bien-être mental.

En ce qui concerne les enfants autochtones, l’utilisation de la médecine traditionnelle peut être un mécanisme pour le bien-être et peut contribuer à rester en bonne santé.77 Les moyens que prennent les Autochtones pour le savoir sont notamment de reconnaître qu’atteindre un juste équilibre entre les sphères spirituelle, émotionnelle, physique et sociale de la vie est indispensable pour préserver la santé et le bien-être. Comme le bien-être spirituel des Autochtones est enraciné dans les liens culturels, la participation à des activités et à un apprentissage qui sont liés à la culture peut inciter les enfants autochtones qui sont à la phase intermédiaires à faire des choix sains et à adopter un mode de vie plus sain.

Le Guide alimentaire canadien - Premières Nations, Inuit et Métis tient compte des valeurs, des traditions et des choix alimentaires des peuples autochtones. Pour les familles et les communautés autochtones, le partage de la nourriture est un élément important de l’apprentissage culturel et du lien avec la culture. Pour les enfants et les familles inuits, il a été déterminé que l’un des éléments fondamentaux d’un développement communautaire sain consiste à faire connaître les occasions d’avoir accès aux aliments prélevés dans la nature et de les partager.78

Les niveaux inférieurs d’activité physique chez les enfants sont associés à une mauvaise santé, notamment à l’obésité et au diabète de type 2 ainsi qu’à des habiletés motrices réduites.73 L’exercice physique en plus grande quantité, à la phase intermédiaire de l’enfance, est associé à une amélioration du fonctionnement du cerveau, des aptitudes cognitives et du rendement scolaire, notamment de l’attention, de la mémoire, de la vitesse d’assimilation, de l’adaptabilité mentale et de la maîtrise de soi.74, 75

Pour les enfants autochtones, l’activité physique consiste souvent à transmettre les traditions culturelles et les pratiques qui concernent les activités rattachées aux ressources naturelles.79 Cela pourrait inclure des activités comme participer à des camps culturels, faire des feux, de la natation, couper du bois et prendre part à des jeux traditionnels.80 Il est reconnu que « l’activité physique est une activité culturelle » et que ces actes favorisent le bien-être.81

La participation à l’activité physique

Les enfants qui sont à la phase intermédiaire doivent conserver un mode de vie sain et actif. En Ontario, la plupart des enfants qui sont à la phase intermédiaire ne suivent pas la recommandation de faire de l’exercice allant de modéré à vigoureux pendant 60 minutes chaque jour et de faire également des activités vigoureuses pour renforcer leurs muscles et leurs os au moins trois fois par semaine. Le besoin d’augmenter l’activité physique est encore plus indispensable pour les enfants qui ont des défis physiques, des maladies ou des incapacités et qui peuvent ne pas atteindre les niveaux recommandés en raison de leurs capacités différentes. Il est important que les parents, les fournisseurs de soins et les autres adultes attentionnés trouvent des moyens pour faire en sorte que l’activité physique soit pertinente et agréable pour tous les enfants qui sont à la phase intermédiaire, car cela augmentera les chances qu’ils poursuivent l’activité, qu’ils acquièrent une bonne forme physique et qu’ils demeurent actifs toute leur vie.

Les efforts fructueux pour accroître l’activité physique mettent en relief l’activité physique tout au long de la vie, les avantages du plein air et de la nature et l’importance de relaxer et de s’amuser avec les parents et amis. Idéalement, ces efforts devraient reconnaître l’importance d’être physiquement actif à différentes périodes de la journée. Ils devraient également mélanger des activités physiques organisées et non organisées et aborder les obstacles à l’activité physique, comme les défis auxquels les enfants qui ont des besoins particuliers sont confrontés.82

Une expérience et un lien avec le monde naturel apportent aux enfants des possibilités développementales, sociales et culturelles dynamiques. Le lien avec la nature a une incidence non seulement sur le développement physique, mais également sur le développement social et affectif. L’importance de se rendre sur la terre et d’avoir un lien avec le monde naturel et les espaces sauvages est reconnue depuis longtemps par les cultures autochtones, mais elle est tout aussi pertinente et profitable pour tous les enfants. Des études ont montré que le fait de passer du temps dans la nature favorise le rappel et la mémoire, la résolution de problèmes et la créativité, en plus de contribuer à la santé physique.83 Passer du temps dans le monde vivant, notamment avec les plantes et les animaux, et penser aux histoires de la création permet aux enfants autochtones de créer un lien émotif avec leur culture.84

Children's Artwork

Les parents ou les fournisseurs de soins et le jeu

Les parents et les fournisseurs de soins ont un rôle important à jouer afin de favoriser le développement physique sain de leurs enfants. Les parents et les fournisseurs de soins peuvent accroître les niveaux d’activité physique des enfants en diminuant le temps sédentaire de la famille, en encourageant le jeu actif et en passant du temps en plein air au lieu de passer du temps devant un écran ainsi qu’en planifiant et en faisant des activités physiques avec les enfants. Il est important d’être un modèle pour les enfants; les enfants qui considèrent qu’au moins un parent ou fournisseur de soins est physiquement actif sont plus enclins à suivre les lignes directrices relatives à la forme physique. Les enfants qui sont physiquement actifs avec leur famille sont plus susceptibles de devenir des adultes actifs.85

Le jeu organisé

Il est reconnu depuis longtemps que la participation à un sport organisé ou à un loisir et la mise en forme physique apportent des bienfaits immenses. Par exemple, la participation à la mise en forme physique est associée à une diminution de la graisse corporelle ainsi qu’à une vie active et en santé.86 De nombreux enfants au Canada participent à des sports organisés et les taux de participation sont plus élevés parmi les garçons et les enfants dont les parents ou les fournisseurs de soins s’intéressent aux sports, les enfants qui vivent dans de petites villes ou des villages et les enfants dont les parents et les fournisseurs de soins sont nés au Canada.87, 88 La recherche révèle le fait troublant que les filles ont tendance à abandonner les sports organisés et la mise en forme en vieillissant,89 ce qui démontre qu’il faut déployer plus d’efforts pour créer et soutenir des possibilités de participation qui sont inclusives à l’égard des sexes.

L’alimentation et le poids santé

En plus de l’activité physique et de l’exercice, une saine alimentation et un poids santé sont indispensables pour assurer un développement physique sain. Pour favoriser une saine alimentation et un poids santé, il faut un accès à des aliments adéquats, abordables, frais et nutritifs. Les effets d’un poids malsain, comme l’hypertension et la résistance à l’insuline, peuvent avoir une incidence sur les aptitudes cognitives des enfants, notamment sur la mémoire, la vitesse d’assimilation du cerveau et les aptitudes verbales. Il y a plusieurs facteurs dans les environnements physiques et sociaux des enfants qui peuvent contribuer à un gain de poids. Ils sont notamment les mauvaises habitudes alimentaires et les excès de table, les boissons qui ont une teneur élevée en calories, le manque d’activité physique, le stress toxique, le sommeil inadéquat ou de piètre qualité, les difficultés engendrées par la maladie mentale, la surexposition aux écrans et les repas pris en dehors du foyer.90

Le sommeil

On reconnaît de plus en plus que la quantité et la qualité du sommeil des enfants durant les années intermédiaires ont une incidence sur leur santé mentale et physique.91 Idéalement, durant les années intermédiaires, les enfants devraient avoir entre neuf et 11 heures de sommeil ininterrompu chaque nuit.

La recherche indique, cependant, que le tiers des enfants ont de la difficulté à s’endormir et à rester endormis au moins pendant une partie du temps et que le tiers des enfants sont considérés être privés de sommeil.92 Les enfants qui ont connu des expériences stressantes ou traumatisantes peuvent avoir des différences neurologiques sur les plans du traitement sensoriel et de l’autorégulation qui sont susceptibles de perturber le sommeil. De plus, les enfants qui ont une sensibilité perceptive au son, à la lumière ou au toucher sont plus susceptibles d’avoir du mal à les filtrer pendant la nuit. On pense également que le temps passé devant un écran et que la présence d’écrans (p. ex. de cellulaires) au lit, en particulier juste avant l’heure du coucher, ont contribué à des problèmes de sommeil. L’accès à des appareils qui donnent accès aux médias sociaux et leur utilisation sont associés à une quantité de sommeil insuffisante, à une piètre qualité de sommeil et à une somnolence excessive pendant le jour. Les enfants qui dorment moins ont également tendance à être moins actifs. À l’inverse, il est prouvé que l’exercice améliore la qualité du sommeil.93, 94, 95

L’image corporelle

Les préoccupations à l’égard de l’image corporelle peuvent émerger tôt chez certains enfants. Dès l’âge de six ans, certains enfants déclarent être insatisfaits de leur corps et ces sentiments s’amplifient avec l’âge. Les changements physiques qui se produisent dans la dernière partie des années intermédiaires ont un effet important sur le sentiment d’identité et l’image corporelle des enfants. À cet âge, les enfants deviennent très conscients de ce que les autres peuvent penser et, par conséquent, il y en a qui sont plus gênés par leur corps lorsqu’ils le comparent à d’autres. Cette gêne s’accroît avec l’exposition à un contenu médiatique à caractère sexuel qui n’est pas adapté à leur âge et auquel ils ont de plus en plus accès en ligne.96 Tous ces changements surviennent dans une période pendant laquelle les enfants ont davantage besoin d’être acceptés par la société et certains enfants deviennent anxieux à force de se demander s’ils seront acceptés ou rejetés à cause de leur apparence. Pour les filles en particulier, les interactions avec leurs pairs sont davantage centrées sur l’apparence et les comparaisons physiques,97, 98 et les filles ont tendance à être plus insatisfaites de leur corps que les garçons.

Malheureusement, les taquineries sur l’apparence sont plus courantes durant cette période et elles peuvent avoir une influence importante sur l’image corporelle.99, 100 Une image corporelle négative peut mener à la dépression, à une faible estime de soi, à des troubles alimentaires, à un comportement sexuel risqué et à des enfants qui projettent une image sexualisée qui ne convient pas à leur âge.101 L’amitié peut toutefois protéger contre une mauvaise image corporelle,102 et une activité physique accrue peut également améliorer la satisfaction à l’égard de son corps.103