You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Ontario's Youth Action Plan > Roots of Youth Violence > Volume 3 > Report on Consultations with Urban Aboriginal Youth

Review of the Roots of Youth Violence:
Community Perspectives Report

Volume 3: Section 4:

Report on Consultations with Urban Aboriginal Youth

Concerning Violence Involving Youth

Introduction

The Ontario Federation of Indian Friendship Centres (OFIFC), a provincial Aboriginal organization that administers a range of Aboriginal youth programs, organized and facilitated consultation sessions with Aboriginal youth living in urban areas. Representing 27 friendship centres across Ontario, the OFIFC is uniquely situated to reach out to Aboriginal youth living in urban centres in a culturally appropriate way. The Ontario Ministry of Aboriginal Affairs helped pay for this consultation.

The Aboriginal youth consultations explored:

An Overview of the Process

In June 2008, the OFIFC organized and facilitated Aboriginal youth consultations in two stages. In the first stage, the OFIFC worked with local friendship centres to arrange consultations in northern Ontario urban areas (Kenora, Fort Frances, Thunder Bay, Sault Ste. Marie, Sudbury, Timmins and North Bay). In each location, 15 youth were invited to the local friendship centre to talk about violence involving youth and their communities. The OFIFC provided a facilitator and note-taker. Following each session, the OFIFC compiled a summary of the discussion and the recommendations.

In the second stage, the OFIFC organized a full-day session at its Toronto offices, bringing together 34 youth from urban areas in southern Ontario (Toronto, Ottawa, Hamilton, London, Niagara/Fort Erie and Barrie). Two OFIFC staff members facilitated the session. To help focus the discussion, youth participants at both the northern and southern consultations followed the same discussion guide that was used in the community consultations (please see the Neighbourhood Insights Final Report included in this volume). A local elder and an OFIFC education programmer spoke with youth about their roles and responsibilities. Again, the OFIFC provided a summary of the proceedings.

Participants

Youth that participated in the northern consultations offered perspectives from many different backgrounds and experiences. They were attending high school or post-secondary institutions, they were young mothers, they had just moved from a First Nation or small town to a larger urban centre, or they were living in the care of child and family services or in a variety of other circumstances. Many had close ties to reserve communities.

Youth that participated in the southern consultations were mostly in high school; however, some were attending post-secondary institutions or working. Other participants lived in shelters or foster care, and a few had been in custody. Some participants had close ties to reserve communities, while others had grown up primarily in large urban centres.

Violence Involving Youth and its Impacts on Communities

Participants in both the north and south had experienced violence involving youth and had been subject to a number of the immediate risk factors often identified for violence involving youth. Both northern and southern participants cited the following as roots of violence involving youth in their communities:

My Experience of Youth Violence

I never experienced youth violence until I entered high school. I found violence comes in every shape and form and from people you’d least expect it. I found people were the most violent towards people who were so-called, “un-cool,” people who have a different sexual orientation, and people who are from a lower class and don’t have money.

Growing up was very difficult and I was always aware of violence. I would even walk home from school after everyone else had left because I used to be so terrified. I was also very self-conscious.... I used to feel so sorry for people that got picked on, beat up or made the centre of attention, even though I was always in the same boat.

But here I am, out of high school, living downtown in a shelter and some people terrify me. I have had phones, money and even my dignity stolen. Violence really is everywhere, in all races [and] parts of the city.... I even got punched in the face when I was confronted [for] money. Then, I was in an awkward position whether to tell or not—the person would centre me out more and more. I don’t know if these people are unsure of themselves or whatever [or] how long violence will go on for. Will we ever escape it? I think people need to learn acceptance, then they will understand.... [B]ullies really don’t know how it affects the victims.

I’m not sure how to cure violence, but I think there should be commercials, billboards, groups, and things to make violence awareness everywhere and help people who experience [violence] or [give them] someone to turn to.

Toronto session participant

There were differences between north and south in terms of the way youth experienced violence. In the north, participants seemed to focus more on the effects of racism, family dysfunction, alcohol and drug abuse, suicide and depression. The young people in the north had closer ties with reserve communities and they mentioned outsiders coming into the community as a cause of violence. Youth in southern Ontario urban centres pointed out that larger cities like Toronto and Ottawa have many diverse neighbourhoods, and their experiences of violence depended on where they lived.

Local Strategies, Programs and Mechanisms to Address Violence Involving Youth

Aboriginal Youth in Northern Urban Centres

Aboriginal youth living in northern urban centres said local strategies and programs to address violence involving youth include youth centres, family services, youth programs and youth workers, and programs offered by organizations like Big Brothers and Big Sisters and the Salvation Army. The participants felt that elders, traditional healers and traditional medicine help youth to better address violence. Participants mentioned a healing and wellness program in North Bay that they believed could be helpful. Counselling, particularly youth counsellors or peer counselling, was also said to be helpful.

Several specific local programs were cited as effective. In Fort Frances, for example, the participants mentioned a substance abuse program, the Atikokan Crisis Centre for women and the local Al-Anon program. In Sault Ste. Marie, participants mentioned “The Hub,” which is associated with the Children’s Aid Society. Throughout the province, many Aboriginal youth felt that participating in sports and leisure activities like going to movies helped youth to keep busy and relieve stress. Neighbourhood Watch programs made youth feel safer and made them feel more like going home. Some felt that police helped to make their neighbourhoods safer, and in Sudbury, one youth suggested that security in co-op housing areas helped to decrease violence in his neighbourhood.

To address racism in northern urban centres, youth mentioned a race relations committee and a group of students working against bullying in a school in Fort Frances. In North Bay, Warriors Against Violence Everywhere (WAVE) was also cited. This group takes a stand against violence towards youth and adults in native communities.

Simply having a place to go was often mentioned. For example, the YMCA in North Bay provides a meeting place for young people, and in Fort Frances, the Urban Multipurpose Aboriginal Youth Centre, sponsored by the United Native Friendship Centre, provides educational, social, recreational and cultural activities for Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal youth ages 13–24. The participants also felt that local friendship centres, which offer programs including drumming workshops, youth programs and traditional teaching by elders, helped them feel more connected to their communities and gave them a place to go.

Despite these promising efforts, some young people said that nothing was working. Some felt that more police were needed to prevent and deal with violence, but others said that police involvement with Aboriginal youth was mostly negative.

Aboriginal Youth in Southern Urban Centres

As in the north, participants from southern Ontario commented on programs and services in their neighbourhoods that help to address violence involving youth. Some felt that intramural and recreational activities (e.g., after-school programs and the YMCA) helped keep youth busy and out of trouble. Many youth found youth-led initiatives (e.g., youth councils and peer mentoring programs) to be particularly useful in helping them relate to other youth. They also mentioned the importance of local anti-bullying and mental health counselling programs.

A few participants talked about the Akwe:go program (Akwe:go means “everybody” or “all of us” in Mohawk). The Ministry of Children and Youth Services and other provincial agencies provide funding to the OFIFC for this program, which promotes healthy development in ways that respect cultural backgrounds and traditions. The program is for Aboriginal children ages 7–12 and is run in 27 friendship centres across Ontario. The program provides an action plan for each child, elder teachings, culturally relevant programs, recreational and after-school programs, peer support, health resources, and program referrals and awareness.

Some participants mentioned Job Connect, a provincial government program delivered through community delivery sites, some of which are sponsored by Aboriginal groups. It provides access to career/job information, training and employment placements. Youth from Barrie mentioned Simcoe Outreach Services, an agency funded by the Ontario Ministry of Health and Long-Term Care, which provides counselling to individuals and families dealing with alcohol, drugs and gambling problems.

Like northern youth, Aboriginal youth in southern urban centres found support at local friendship centres. Many felt that friendship centres can help youth avoid violence. They found help lines effective when they needed someone to turn to, and they felt that Children’s Aid Society shelters and safe houses were useful in dealing with violence.

Native Youth Centre drop-in programs, the Youth Council at Native Child and Family Services of Toronto and the Native Canadian Centre of Toronto’s youth program were also considered positive influences in preventing violence. Police, teachers, parents and grandparents, volunteers, schools and counsellors were mentioned as helpful resources.

Nevertheless, some participants had no hope that violence could be stopped. Participants from London said that a helpful youth group had existed there, but had been cut because of lack of funding. Some young people expressed the view that many youth programs do not truly engage youth and are not accessible enough or are not delivered to youth where they are. Some youth felt that having police in their neighbourhoods helped deter violence. Others talked about harassment by police, and some said that they had been harassed or arrested by police based on their race.

Strategies, Programs and Mechanisms to Address the Issue of Violence Involving Youth

Participants were asked about the most important things that could be done in their neighbourhoods to address violence involving youth. In the north, participants recommended:

Aboriginal youth living in the south recommended:

Aboriginal youth in both northern and southern urban centres recommended:

Broad Structural or Strategic Measures to Address the Roots of Violence Involving Youth

Consultation participants both north and south offered suggestions to help address the roots of violence involving youth in their communities. The suggestions were similar throughout the consultations and are here presented in general categories:

Connecting Aboriginal Youth With Each Other

There should be a networking system to connect Aboriginal youth, as well as a provincial powwow. Powwows and other gatherings help youth develop a stronger sense of community. Youth also suggested that traditional ceremonies (e.g., sweats, smudging and using sweet grass) help them spiritually and in terms of their physical and mental health. Friendship centres should have programs or trips for youth from all over the province so that they can learn about each other. There should also be more youth conferences and gatherings to talk about issues like violence involving youth.

Youth and Aboriginal Representation

Youth should have a place on city councils and in governments, particularly in planning and policy-making. There should also be more advocacy and youth engagement in Aboriginal and non-Aboriginal agencies running programs for youth. Ontario needs more politicians who are Aboriginal, more youth-oriented politicians and youth leaders.

Education About Violence

The Province should develop anti-violence programs for younger children to stop violence before it starts. A mandatory youth anti-violence class for credit in high school should be created, and there should be an anti-violence day and a provincial youth anti-violence conference.

Racism and Bullying

Racism- and bullying-awareness presentations should be made in schools, and there should be posters, television and Internet public service announcements directed at youth to help them make better choices. These may be more effective if youth give the presentations, sharing their own experiences with racism and bullying. Local anti-bullying presentations (such as OPP bullying presentations) can also make young people more aware of violence and ways of stopping it in their communities, homes and schools, as well as in society generally. There should be more sustainable funding for anti-bullying and anti-racism programs, and the programs should include real experiences related by youth who have dealt with violence.

Funding for Friendship Centres and Programs

More sustainable funding should be available for programs for and by youth and for traditional programs. Spending should be increased for current systems and programs that are working.

Further Recommendations to the Review

The participants were asked if they had any other advice for the review. Youth from both northern and southern consultations recommended:

Contents

Volume 1. Findings, Analysis and Conclusions

Volume 2. Executive Summary

Volume 3. Community Perspectives Report

Volume 4. Research Papers

Volume 5. Literature Reviews

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Version élargie du Plan d’action pour la jeunesse > Examen des causes de la violence chez les jeunes > Volume 3 > Rapport sur les consultations au sujet de la violence chez les jeunes menéesauprès des jeunes Autochtones en milieu urbain

Examen des causes de la violence chez les jeunes (2008)

Volume 3 : section 4 :

Rapport sur les consultations au sujet de la violence chez les jeunes menées

auprès des jeunes Autochtones en milieu urbain


Introduction

L’Ontario Federation of Indian Friendship Centres (OFIFC), organisme autochtone provincial qui administre divers programmes destinés aux jeunes Autochtones, a organisé et animé des séances de consultation auprès de jeunes Autochtones qui vivent en milieu urbain. L’OFIFC, qui représente 27 centres d’amitié de l’Ontario, est très bien placée pour aider ces jeunes de manière culturellement appropriée. Le ministère des Affaires autochtones de l’Ontario a contribué au financement de ces consultations.

Les consultations avec les jeunes Autochtones ont exploré :

Vue d’ensemble du processus

En juin 2008, l’OFIFC a organisé et animé des consultations en deux phases auprès de jeunes Autochtones. Lors de la première phase, l’OFIFC a organisé des consultations dans les villes du Nord de l’Ontario (Kenora, Fort Frances, Thunder Bay, Sault Ste. Marie, Sudbury, Timmins et North Bay) en collaboration avec des centres d’amitié locaux. Quinze jeunes ont été invités au centre d’amitié local de chaque ville pour parler de la violence chez les jeunes et de leur communauté. L’OFIFC a détaché deux personnes : l’une pour animer les séances, l’autre pour prendre des notes. Après chaque séance, l’OFIFC a préparé un résumé des discussions et des recommandations.

Lors de la deuxième phase, l’OFIFC a organisé une séance d’une journée dans ses bureaux de Toronto, réunissant 34 jeunes qui vivent dans des villes du Sud de l’Ontario (Toronto, Ottawa, Hamilton, London, Niagara/Fort Erie et Barrie). Deux membres du personnel de l’OFIFC ont animé la séance. Afin de cibler le débat, les jeunes qui ont participé aux séances dans le Nord et dans le Sud de la province ont suivi le guide de discussion qui avait été utilisé lors des consultations communautaires (le Rapport final sur les séances de consultation des gens des quartiers est compris dans ce volume). Un aîné local et un responsable des programmes d’éducation de l’OFIFC se sont entretenus de leurs rôles et responsabilités avec les jeunes. L’OFIFC a aussi préparé un résumé de ces débats.

Participants

Les personnes qui ont participé aux consultations dans le Nord venaient de milieux très divers et vivaient des expériences très différentes. Certaines faisaient des études secondaires ou postsecondaires, étaient de jeunes mamans ou avaient quitté leur communauté des Premières nations ou leur petite ville pour vivre dans un grand centre urbain; d’autres encore étaient prises en charge par les services à l’enfance et à la famille ou vivaient des expériences différentes. Beaucoup sont en étroite relation avec leur communauté sur réserve.

La plupart des personnes qui ont participé aux séances de consultation dans le Sud allaient à l’école secondaire; un petit nombre faisait des études postsecondaires ou travaillait. D’autres encore vivaient dans des foyers d’hébergement ou étaient placées en famille d’accueil, et quelques-unes avaient été incarcérées. Certaines ont gardé des liens étroits avec leur communauté sur réserve, tandis que d’autres ont passé la plus grande partie de leur vie dans une grande ville.

Violence chez les jeunes et ses répercussions sur les communautés

Les personnes qui ont participé aux séances dans le Nord et le Sud ont connu la violence et subi un certain nombre de facteurs de risque immédiats souvent associés à la violence chez les jeunes. Toutes ont mentionné les facteurs suivants comme des causes de violence qui affectent les jeunes de leurs communautés :

Ce que je sais de la violence chez les jeunes

Je n’avais jamais été confrontée à la violence chez les jeunes avant l’école secondaire. Je me suis aperçue que la violence prenait des formes diverses et qu’elle pouvait venir de personnes desquelles on s’y attend le moins. J’ai vu que les gens se montraient très violents envers les personnes qu’ils considèrent comme n’étant pas « cool », qui ont une orientation sexuelle différente ou qui viennent d’un milieu social inférieur et n’ont pas d’argent.

J’ai eu beaucoup de problèmes pendant mon enfance et j’ai toujours su qu’il y avait de la violence autour de moi. J’attendais que tout le monde soit parti de l’école pour rentrer chez moi, car j’étais terrifiée. J’avais aussi beaucoup de complexes [...] J’avais de la peine de voir certains de mes camarades en butte aux moqueries, se faire battre ou être au centre de l’attention, alors que cela m’arrivait à moi aussi.

Mais me voilà aujourd’hui, je ne vais plus à l’école, je vis dans un foyer du centre-ville et certaines personnes me terrorisent. On m’a volé des téléphones, de l’argent, ainsi que ma dignité. La violence est partout, dans tous les milieux ethniques [et] dans tous les quartiers. On m’a même mis un coup de poing au visage pour me voler. Je me suis demandée si je devais porter plainte ou non. Je craignais de me faire harceler encore plus. Je ne sais pas si les gens se comportent ainsi parce qu’ils manquent d’assurance, ou quelle est la raison de ce comportement, jusqu’à quand cela va-t-il durer? Allons-nous y échapper? Les gens doivent s’accepter pour comprendre [...] Les brutes se fichent des répercussions de leur comportement sur les victimes.

Je ne sais pas comment on pourrait mettre fin à la violence, mais on devrait faire de la publicité, mettre des panneaux-réclames, créer des groupes et penser à d’autres moyens de sensibiliser les gens au problème de la violence et d’aider les victimes de [violence]; on devrait mettre des services à leur disposition.

Jeune participante de Toronto

Les jeunes du Nord et du Sud ne vivent pas la violence de la même façon. Dans le Nord, on semble se préoccuper davantage des effets du racisme, du dysfonctionnement familial, de la surconsommation d’alcool et d’autre drogue, du suicide et de la dépression. Les jeunes y sont plus proches de leur communauté sur réserve et incluent l’arrivée d’étrangers au nombre des causes de la violence. Dans le Sud, les jeunes en milieu urbain disent qu’il y a beaucoup de quartiers dans de grandes villes comme Toronto et Ottawa et que la violence varie selon l’endroit où on vit.

Stratégies, programmes et mécanismes locaux pour lutter

contre la violence chez les jeunes

Les jeunes Autochtones du Nord en milieu urbain

Pour les jeunes Autochtones du Nord en milieu urbain, les stratégies et les programmes mis en place pour vaincre la violence chez les jeunes incluent les centres de jeunes, les services à la famille, les programmes pour les jeunes et les intervenants auprès de jeunes ainsi que les programmes d’organismes comme les Grands Frères et Grandes Sœurs et l’Armée du salut. On nous a dit que les aînés, les guérisseurs et la médecine traditionnelle aidaient les jeunes à faire face à la violence. À North Bay, les jeunes ont parlé d’un programme de guérison et de bien-être qui pourrait produire de bons résultats selon eux. On nous a dit que le counseling par des intervenants auprès des jeunes ou des pairs pouvait aussi aider.

Plusieurs programmes locaux semblent porter leurs fruits. À Fort Frances, par exemple, on nous a parlé d’un programme de traitement des toxicomanies, du Atikokan Crisis Centre for women et du programme Al Anon local. À Sault Ste. Marie, on nous a parlé d’un programme associé à la Société d’aide à l’enfance, appelé « The Hub ». Partout dans la province, beaucoup de jeunes Autochtones ont dit que les sports et les loisirs, par exemple le cinéma, occupaient les jeunes et leur permettaient de se détendre. Les programmes de surveillance de quartier aident les jeunes à se sentir plus en sécurité et les incitent à rentrer chez eux. Des jeunes nous ont dit qu’ils se sentaient plus en sécurité dans leurs quartiers grâce à la police; une jeune personne de Sudbury a indiqué que la violence avait diminué dans son quartier depuis que des mesures de sécurité avaient été instaurées dans les logements coopératifs.

Pour vaincre le racisme dans les villes du Nord, des jeunes ont mentionné un comité de relations interraciales et un groupe d’élèves qui luttent contre l’intimidation dans une école de Fort Frances. À North Bay, il a aussi été question de Warriors Against Violence Everywhere (WAVE). Ce groupe s’élève contre la violence envers les jeunes et les adultes des communautés autochtones.

Beaucoup ont indiqué qu’ils aimeraient avoir un lieu où ils pourraient se réunir. Par exemple, le YMCA de North Bay met un local à la disposition des jeunes et, à Fort Frances, le Urban Multipurpose Aboriginal Youth Centre, parrainé par le United Native Friendship Centre, propose des activités éducatives, sociales, récréatives et culturelles aux jeunes d’origine autochtone et non autochtone âgés de 13 à 24 ans. Les participants ont également indiqué que les centres d’amitié, qui offrent divers programmes, notamment des ateliers de tambour, des programmes pour les jeunes et d’enseignement traditionnel animés par des aînés, leur permettaient de se rapprocher de leurs communautés et de se rencontrer.

Malgré ces efforts prometteurs, certaines jeunes personnes ont affirmé que rien ne marchait. Certaines ont indiqué qu’il devrait y avoir plus de policiers pour prévenir et vaincre la violence, tandis que d’autres ont dit que les policiers avaient souvent des comportements négatifs envers les jeunes Autochtones.

Jeunes Autochtones du Sud en milieu urbain

Comme dans le Nord, les jeunes du Sud ont parlé des programmes et services de leur quartier qui contribuaient à lutter contre la violence chez les jeunes. Certaines personnes ont indiqué que les activités intra-muros et récréatives (programmes après l’école et YMCA) permettaient aux jeunes de s’occuper et les empêchaient de faire des bêtises. Beaucoup de jeunes considèrent que les initiatives dirigées par des jeunes (conseils de jeunes et programmes de mentorat par les pairs) sont particulièrement efficaces car elles leur permettent de s’identifier à d’autres jeunes. Ils trouvent également que les programmes locaux de lutte contre l’intimidation et de counseling en matière de santé mentale sont importants.

Quelques personnes ont parlé du programme Akwe:go (ce qui veut dire « tout le monde » en mohawk). Le ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse et d’autres organismes provinciaux versent des fonds à l’OFIFC pour ce programme, qui prône des comportements sains et le respect des traditions et de la culture. Le programme, qui s’adresse aux enfants autochtones de sept à 12 ans, est offert dans 27 centres d’amitié partout en Ontario. Il propose un plan d’action pour chaque enfant, des cours animés par des aînés, des programmes culturellement pertinents, récréatifs et offerts après l’école, des séances de soutien par les pairs, des ressources en santé et des programmes d’aiguillage et d’information.

Certains participants ont mentionné Connexion Emploi, programme du gouvernement provincial offert par l’intermédiaire de centres communautaires et dont certains sont parrainés par des groupes autochtones. Ce programme donne accès à des renseignements sur les carrières et les emplois, et à des stages de formation et d’emploi. À Barry, on a mentionné les Simcoe Outreach Services, organisme financé par le ministère de la Santé et des Soins de longue durée de l’Ontario qui offre des séances de counseling aux personnes et aux familles confrontées à des problèmes d’alcool, de drogue et de jeu.

Comme dans le Nord, les jeunes Autochtones du Sud en milieu urbain trouvent le soutien dont ils ont besoin dans les centres d’amitié. De nombreuses personnes ont dit que ces centres aidaient les jeunes à échapper à la violence. Elles trouvent que les services d’écoute téléphonique sont utiles pour les jeunes qui ont besoin de parler à quelqu’un, tout comme les foyers de la Société d’aide à l’enfance et les maisons d’hébergement sont utiles en cas de violence.

On nous a dit que les centres de jour pour jeunes Autochtones, le conseil des jeunes du Native Child and Family Services de Toronto et le programme destiné aux jeunes du Native Canadian Centre de Toronto réussissaient à prévenir la violence, et que la police, le personnel enseignant, les parents et les grands-parents, les bénévoles, les écoles et les conseillers étaient des ressources utiles.

Malgré tout, certaines personnes ne croient pas qu’il soit possible d’éliminer la violence. À London, on nous a parlé d’un groupe de jeunes qui produisait de bons résultats, mais a dû cesser ses activités à cause du manque de fonds. D’après quelques jeunes personnes, beaucoup de programmes conçus pour les jeunes ne réussissent pas à les mobiliser, ne sont pas suffisamment accessibles ou offerts dans les quartiers où se trouvent les jeunes. Certaines ont dit que la présence de la police dans leurs quartiers contribuait à réduire la violence. D’autres ont parlé du harcèlement de la part de la police et indiqué qu’elles avaient été embêtées ou arrêtées par la police à cause de leur race.

Stratégies, programmes et mécanismes pour lutter contre

le problème de la violence chez les jeunes

On a demandé aux personnes quelles étaient, à leur avis, les mesures les plus importantes qui pourraient être instaurées dans leurs quartiers pour régler le problème de la violence chez les jeunes. Dans le Nord, les participants ont recommandé ce qui suit :

Les jeunes Autochtones du Sud ont recommandé :

Les jeunes Autochtones du Nord et du Sud en milieu urbain ont recommandé ce qui suit :

Vastes mesures structurales ou stratégiques pour vaincre

les causes de la violence chez les jeunes

Nombre de personnes qui ont participé aux consultations dans le Nord et dans le Sud ont présenté les mêmes suggestions pour lutter contre les causes de la violence chez les jeunes dans leurs communautés; voici ces suggestions regroupées en catégories générales :

Relier les jeunes Autochtones entre eux

Il devrait y avoir un système de réseautage pour relier les jeunes Autochtones entre eux, de même qu’un pow-wow provincial. Les pow-wow et autres assemblées contribuent à instiller chez les jeunes un sentiment d’appartenance à leur communauté. On nous a dit également que les cérémonies traditionnelles (p. ex., bains de sudation, peintures corporelles et foin d’odeur) apportaient un réconfort sur le plan spirituel, physique et mental. Les centres d’amitié devraient offrir des programmes ou des excursions à tous les jeunes de la province afin qu’ils puissent se rencontrer et faire connaissance. Il devrait aussi y avoir plus de congrès et d’assemblées de jeunes traitant de questions diverses, dont la violence chez les jeunes.

Représentation des jeunes et des Autochtones

Les jeunes devraient avoir leur place au sein des conseils municipaux et des gouvernements, notamment pour planifier et élaborer les politiques. Les organismes autochtones et non autochtones qui desservent les jeunes devraient aussi mieux les défendre et les mobiliser. L’Ontario a besoin de plus de femmes et d’hommes politiques autochtones ou intéressés par les questions touchant les jeunes, et de jeunes leaders.

Programmes d’information sur la violence

La province devrait créer des programmes de lutte contre la violence à l’intention des jeunes enfants pour étouffer la violence dans l’œuf. Les écoles secondaires devraient avoir des cours obligatoires de lutte contre la violence donnant droit à crédit et on devrait créer une journée de lutte contre la violence et une conférence provinciale de lutte contre la violence à l’intention des jeunes.

Racisme et intimidation

Les écoles devraient présenter des exposés sur le racisme et l’intimidation et on devrait créer des affiches et des messages d’intérêt public à la télévision et sur Internet encourageant les jeunes à faire de meilleurs choix. Ces mesures seraient encore plus efficaces si elles étaient présentées par de jeunes victimes de racisme et d’intimidation. On pourrait aussi faire des exposés dénonçant l’intimidation (par exemple, par l’OPP) pour sensibiliser les jeunes à la violence et leur présenter des moyens de la neutraliser dans leurs communautés, chez eux et à l’école, et dans la société en général. On devrait augmenter le financement à long terme des programmes de lutte contre l’intimidation et le racisme et inviter les jeunes qui ont connu la violence à parler de leurs expériences.

Financement des centres d’amitié et des programmes

Il faudrait augmenter le financement des programmes destinés aux jeunes et dirigés par eux, des programmes traditionnels et autres qui produisent de bons résultats.

Autres recommandations présentées dans le cadre de l’Examen

On a demandé aux participantes et participants s’ils avaient d’autres conseils à présenter aux responsables de l’Examen. Les jeunes du Nord et du Sud de la province ont recommandé ce qui suit :


Table des matières

Volume 1. Résultats, analyse et conclusions

Volume 2. Sommaire

Volume 3. Les points de vue des communautés