You are hereSkip Navigation Links

SECTION 1: Introduction

Introduction

The following guidelines provide direction regarding the Independent Clinical Review (ICR) process in the Ontario Autism Program (OAP). The ICR allows families to request a review of their child or youth’s OAP Behaviour Plan, developed by an OAP Behaviour Clinician.1 It is a peer-review process with decisions being rendered by a team of independent clinicians based on the clinical review of a child’s OAP case file materials. The ICR is administered by a third party agency, the ICR Coordinator.

Active engagement of families, as set out in the OAP Guidelines and the OAP Clinical Framework, is a key element of the ICR. It requires a clear understanding of the family’s perspective.

The Ministry of Children and Youth Services will continue to work with stakeholders on the design of the OAP. Consequently, as new elements of the OAP are introduced throughout this process, the ICR Guidelines will continue to evolve.

Guiding Principles

The following principles will guide the operation of the ICR:

  1. Clarity and Transparency: The review process is clear and transparent. The family has the opportunity to contribute additional materials to the case file that will be used in the review process, and to present their perspective to the ICR Clinical Reviewers. OAP providers and the ICR Coordinator communicate in a clear and transparent manner with families about decisions related to their child, and the opportunity to have their child’s OAP Behaviour Plan reviewed.
  2. Family Engagement: The review process engages the family through built-in mechanisms to help provide a clear understanding of the family perspective, and an opportunity for families to present their perspectives to the Clinical Reviewers.2
  3. Quality Decision-Making: Decision-making in the ICR is the responsibility of the two Clinical Reviewers. Decisions are guided by the reviewers’ clinical expertise, existing research on evidence-based behavioural intervention for children with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) and a thorough review of the OAP case file materials.
  4. Confidentiality: All ICR staff sign confidentiality agreements, and all documents and information from and about the family and child requesting the review are de-identified by the ICR Coordinator. The ICR Coordinator also acts as an intermediary between all parties to maintain confidentiality in the review process. Any time that the family does have direct contact with members of the ICR Review Committee, it is done on a first-name basis only. In some instances, there is a need to balance the wishes of the family to present their perspective directly to the ICR Clinical Reviewers, and the need to protect confidentiality. In these cases, the family must sign and submit a waiver to the ICR Coordinator confirming that they understand that this may result in a loss of anonymity to the reviewers.
  5. Effective and Efficient Service Delivery: The ICR is administered in a manner that helps to provide timely reviews for children and their families.
  6. Independence: Potential conflicts of interest are avoided by administering the ICR through a third party agency that is independent from the Ministry, the OAP provider and the family, and by having independent clinicians review Behaviour Plans.

Purpose and Application

The ICR Guidelines provide operational guidance for:

The guidelines set out the Ministry’s expectations for the delivery of the ICR across the province.

back to top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links

Section 1 : Introduction

Introduction

Les lignes directrices qui suivent fournissent la marche à suivre concernant le processus d’examen clinique indépendant (ECI) du Programme ontarien de services en matière d’autisme (POSA).1 L’ECI permet aux familles de demander un examen du plan comportemental du POSA pour leur enfant ou pour leur jeune élaboré par une clinicienne ou un clinicien comportemental du POSA. Il s’agit d’un processus d’examen par un pair où les décisions sont prises par une équipe de cliniciennes et de cliniciens indépendants reposant sur l’examen clinique des documents figurant dans le dossier du cas du POSA d’un enfant. L’ECI est administré par un organisme tiers, soit le coordonnateur de l’ECI.

La participation active des familles, comme le décrivent les lignes directrices et le cadre clinique du POSA, est un élément clé de l’ECI. Cela exige une compréhension claire du point de vue la famille.

Le ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse continuera de travailler avec les intervenants sur la conception du POSA. Par conséquent, à mesure que de nouveaux éléments du POSA sont mis en place tout au long du processus, les lignes directrices de l’ECI continueront d’évoluer.

Principes directeurs

Le fonctionnement de l’ECI s’inspirera des principes suivants :

  1. Clarté et transparence : Le processus d’examen est clair et transparent. La famille a la possibilité d’ajouter des documents supplémentaires au dossier qui servira au processus d’examen et de présenter le point de vue de la famille aux examinateurs cliniques de l’examen clinique indépendant. Les fournisseurs du POSA et le coordonnateur de l’ECI communiqueront de manière claire et transparente aux familles les décisions concernant leur enfant et la possibilité d’examiner son plan comportemental du POSA.
  2. Participation de la famille : Le processus d’examen fait participer la famille au moyen de mécanismes intégrés favorisant une compréhension claire du point de vue de la famille et la possibilité de le présenter aux examinateurs cliniques. 2
  3. Processus décisionnel de qualité : Les deux examinateurs cliniques sont chargés du processus décisionnel dans le cadre de l’ECI. La prise de décision repose sur l’expertise clinique des examinateurs et la recherche actuelle sur l’intervention comportementale fondée sur des données probantes pour les enfants ayant un trouble du spectre autistique (TSA) et l’examen approfondi des documents figurant dans le dossier du cas POSA de l’enfant.
  4. Confidentialité : Tous les membres du personnel signent une convention de non-divulgation et le coordonnateur de l’ECI anonymise tous les documents et les renseignements portant sur l’enfant et la famille ayant demandé l’examen. Le coordonnateur de l’ECI joue également le rôle d’intermédiaire entre toutes les parties afin de préserver le caractère confidentiel du processus d’examen. Chaque fois que la famille a un contact direct avec les membres du comité d’examen clinique indépendant, seuls les prénoms sont employés. Dans certains cas, il faut établir un équilibre entre la volonté de la famille de présenter son point de vue directement aux examinateurs cliniques de l’ECI et la nécessité de protéger la confidentialité. Dans de tels cas, la famille doit signer et soumettre une renonciation, au coordonnateur de l’ECI, confirmant avoir compris que cela peut entraîner la perte de l’anonymat auprès des examinateurs.
  5. Prestation de services efficients et efficaces : L’examen clinique indépendant est administré de manière à ce que cela contribue à offrir des examens en temps opportun pour les enfants et leurs familles.
  6. Indépendance : Les conflits d’intérêts éventuels sont évités en déléguant l’administration de l’ECI à un organisme tiers qui est indépendant du ministère, du fournisseur du POSA et de la famille et en confiant l’examen du plan comportemental à des cliniciennes et cliniciens indépendants.

Objet et application

Les lignes directrices de l’ECI prévoient des directives opérationnelles pour :

Ces lignes directrices précisent les attentes du ministère concernant la prestation de l’ECI à l’échelle de la province.

retour en haut