You are hereSkip Navigation Links

Section 3: Access to the Ontario Autism Program

The overall goal is to establish a collaborative, community-based approach to streamline access to the OAP, and to help children, youth and their families access appropriate services and supports quickly and easily.

Eligibility

All children and youth with a diagnosis of Autism Spectrum Disorder from a qualified professional can access the OAP until the age of 18. Eligibility will not be defined by age or by the severity of a child’s autism.

Children and youth may be receiving or waiting for other ASD-specific or general services and supports funded by MCYS or other ministries1 and they may continue to receive these services in addition to receiving services through the OAP. Other services and supports that children are receiving will be taken into consideration in the development of the OAP Family Service Plan.

Children who may have previously been deemed ineligible for the former Autism Intervention Program (AIP), or who have been discharged from the AIP are eligible for the OAP, and will receive service according to their needs, as long as they have a diagnosis of ASD and are under the age of 18.

Referral for Services

In order to access services through the OAP, families/caregivers can self-refer to the OAP, or with the family’s consent, a referral can be made by a professional such as:

Referrals may also be received directly from the five MCYS-funded regional ASD diagnostic hubs. More information on the hubs can be found on the Ministry’s website at: www.children.gov.on.ca/htdocs/English/specialneeds/autism/diagnostic-hubs.aspx.

A written diagnosis of ASD from a qualified professional is required for referral to the OAP. Referrals for service will be accompanied by relevant assessments and other information pertaining to the child or youth and their family that will assist in the development of the OAP Family Service Plan. Where a diagnosis of ASD has been made by the referring professional, all required assessment information and documentation pertaining to that diagnosis will be included with the referral.

Single Point of Access

All referrals to the OAP are made through a single point of access in each of the nine service areas2. (Appendix D: Service areas for single points of access).

Specifically, the single point of access is required to:

Management of Referrals and Inter-Regional Transfers

The single point of access in each of the nine service areas is responsible for maintaining the OAP waitlist using a first come first served principle. Families can call the single point of access in their service delivery area or their Family Support Worker with questions regarding the waitlist and/or wait times. Providers will proactively and transparently communicate the following information with families:

New families entering the OAP will be added to the OAP waitlist in chronological order based on date of referral. While families may contact the OAP prior to receiving a written diagnosis, their child will not be placed on the wait list until the OAP service provider receives a written diagnosis of ASD from a relevant professional who is qualified to make a diagnosis.

If a family on the OAP waitlist moves to an Ontario community outside the boundaries served by the local single point of access, upon notice from the family and with their consent, the sending agency will contact the single point of access in the new home region and transfer the child or youth's date of referral and all relevant documentation to the receiving agency in the new home region. The child or youth will be added to the OAP waitlist in the new region based on the original date of referral.

If a family receiving OAP services from either a regional provider or a direct funding provider, moves to an Ontario community outside the boundaries served by the local single point of access, upon notice from the family and with their consent, the sending agency will notify the single point of access in the new home region and transfer the child or youth's date of referral and all relevant documentation to the receiving agency. The receiving single point of access in the new home region will work in partnership with the family to meet their needs and reduce any disruption in service. All efforts will be made to maintain service continuity; however, it is based on provider availability in the new home region.

If there is not currently a spot available or if the new home region is serving children or youth referred to the OAP before that of the family, the child or youth will be added to the OAP waitlist in the new region based on the original date of referral. The family will be provided with the support of a new Family Support Worker who will provide the family with information about available resources, including family services and training. The Family Support Worker will continue to support the development and/or revision of the existing OAP Family Service Plan.

back to top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links

Accés au programme ontarien des services en matiére d’autisme

L’objectif global est d’instaurer une approche collaborative et communautaire permettant de rationaliser l’accès au POSA, et d’aider les enfants, les jeunes et leurs familles à obtenir rapidement et facilement les services et les soutiens dont ils ont besoin.

Admissibilité

Tous les enfants et les jeunes ayant reçu un diagnostic de trouble du spectre autistique posé par un professionnel compétent peuvent accéder au POSA jusqu’à l’âge de 18 ans. L’admissibilité aux services ne sera pas définie en fonction de l’âge de l’enfant ou de la gravité de son trouble.

Les enfants et les jeunes ayant un TSA peuvent recevoir ou attendre d’obtenir d’autres services et soutiens généraux ou particuliers financés par le MSEJ ou par d’autres ministères,1, et ils peuvent continuer à recevoir ces services en complément du POSA. Les autres services et soutiens offerts aux enfants seront pris en compte lors de l’établissement du plan de services à la famille du POSA (voir page 24).

Les enfants n’étant auparavant pas admissibles à l’ancien Programme d’intervention en autisme (PIA) ou ayant été retirés du PIA sont admissibles au POSA, et en bénéficieront en fonction de leurs besoins, tant qu’ils présentent un diagnostic de TSA et qu’ils sont âgés de moins de 18 ans.

Aiguillage vers les services

Pour accéder aux services du POSA, les familles ou les fournisseurs de soins peuvent demander eux-mêmes l’aiguillage vers les services ou autoriser un professionnel à le faire, par exemple :

Les aiguillages peuvent également être obtenus directement auprès des cinq centres régionaux pour le diagnostic du TSA financés par le MSEJ. Pour en savoir plus sur ces centres, consultez le site Web du ministère à cette adresse.

La présentation d’un diagnostic écrit du TSA posé par un professionnel compétent est indispensable pour l’aiguillage vers le POSA. L’aiguillage vers les services s’accompagnera des évaluations pertinentes et d’autres renseignements concernant l’enfant ou le jeune et sa famille qui seront jugés utiles pour établir le plan de services à la famille du POSA. Une fois le diagnostic de TSA posé par un professionnel compétent, l’ensemble des renseignements et des documents d’évaluation connexes est joint à l’aiguillage.

Accès à un guichet unique

Tous les aiguillages transiteront par un seul point d’entrée dans chacune des neuf zones de service.2 (Annexe D : Zones de service pour les guichets uniques)

Plus particulièrement, l’accès à guichet unique est nécessaire pour :

Gestion des aiguillages et des transferts entre régions

Le guichet unique dans chacune des neuf zones de service est chargé de gérer la liste d’attente du POSA selon l’ordre de réception des demandes. Les familles peuvent appeler le point d’accès unique dans leur zone de prestation de services ou leur préposée ou préposé aux services de soutien à la famille pour poser des questions concernant la liste et/ou les temps d’attente. Les fournisseurs de services communiqueront aux familles, de façon proactive et transparente, les renseignements suivants :

Les nouvelles familles accédant au POSA seront ajoutées à la liste d’attente par ordre chronologique, d’après leur date d’aiguillage. Les familles peuvent entrer en relation avec le POSA avant d’avoir obtenu un diagnostic écrit. Toutefois, leurs enfants ne seront pas inscrits sur la liste d’attente tant qu’un professionnel spécialiste n’aura pas posé par écrit son diagnostic de TSA.

Si une famille sur la liste d’attente du POSA déménage dans une communauté ontarienne à l’extérieur de la zone desservie par le guichet unique régional, à la réception d’un avis de la famille et avec son consentement, l’organisme de l’ancienne région communiquera avec le point d’accès unique de la nouvelle région de résidence et transférera la date d’aiguillage de l’enfant ou du jeune ainsi que tout document pertinent figurant dans le dossier du cas de l'enfant à l’organisme de la nouvelle région. L’enfant ou le jeune sera ajouté à la liste d’attente du POSA dans la nouvelle région selon la date d’aiguillage initiale.

Si une famille recevant des services du POSA d’un fournisseur de services régional ou d’un fournisseur de financement direct déménage dans une communauté ontarienne à l’extérieur de la zone desservie par le point d’accès unique régional, à la réception d’un avis de la famille et avec son consentement, l’organisme de l’ancienne région avisera le point d’accès unique de la nouvelle région de résidence et transférera la date d’aiguillage de l’enfant ou du jeune ainsi que tout document pertinent à l’organisme de la nouvelle région. Le guichet unique de la nouvelle région de résidence collaborera avec la famille afin de répondre à ses besoins et de minimiser toute interruption de service. Tous les efforts seront faits pour assurer la continuité des services; cependant, celle-ci est sujette à la disponibilité du fournisseur de services dans la nouvelle région de résidence.

S’il n’y a aucune place disponible actuellement ou si la nouvelle région de résidence offre des services à des enfants ou des jeunes aiguillés vers le POSA avant la famille, l’enfant ou le jeune sera ajouté à la liste d’attente du POSA dans la nouvelle région en fonction de la date d’aiguillage initiale. La famille recevra le soutien d’une nouvelle préposée ou d'un nouveau préposé aux services de soutien à la famille, qui lui fournira des renseignements sur les ressources à sa disposition, y compris les services familiaux et la formation. La préposée ou lee préposé aux services de soutien à la famille continuera à soutenir la création ou la révision du plan de services à la famille du POSA actuel.

haut