You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Special needs > Moving on Mental Health > Lead Agencies

Moving on Mental Health

Program Guidelines and Requirements (PGR): Core Services and Key Processes have been released. Learn more about PGRs.

Moving on Mental Health is an important part of Ontario's Mental Health and Addictions Strategy. The plan will help children, youth and families to get mental health services in their communities that are accessible, responsive and meet their needs. Strengthening the community-based system for delivering mental health services brings people and organizations closer together locally and benefits everyone. All children and youth with mental health problems in Ontario, and their families will know:

  • what mental health services are available in their communities; and
  • how to access the mental health services and supports that meet their needs.

To support children, youth and families across the province having access to the same core services, we have identified 33 geographical service areas. Lead agencies will plan to support the effective delivery of core child and youth mental health services within the communities they represent.

Cochrane Timiskaming Lead Agency Identification Process

The period to send in a submission to be considered for the lead agency role in the Cochrane-Timiskaming service area has now closed. We would like to thank those that sent in a submission. To find out more about the process to identify the Cochrane Timiskaming lead agency, please read the Guide to the Cochrane Timiskaming Lead Agency Identification Process, or view a presentation entitled Lead Agency Roles, Responsibilities and Identification Process for the Cochrane Timiskaming Service Area.

Please contact movingonmentalhealth@ontario.ca if you have any questions.

Please note a separate identification process was recently held for the Niagara service area. Both lead agencies are expected to be identified by April 2018.

Service Areas and Lead Agencies for Child and Youth Mental Health

Mental Health Lead Agencies
MCYS Region Service Area Lead Agency
Central Dufferin/Wellington Canadian Mental Health Association Waterloo Wellington Dufferin Branch
Halton Reach Out Centre for Kids (ROCK)
Peel Peel Children’s Centre
Simcoe New Path Youth and Family Counselling Services of Simcoe County
Waterloo Lutherwood
York Kinark Child and Family Services
East Durham Kinark Child and Family Services
Frontenac/Lennox and Addington Maltby Centre
Haliburton/Kawartha Lakes/Peterborough Kinark Child and Family Services
Hastings/Prince Edward/Northumberland Children’s Mental Health Services
Lanark/Leeds/Grenville Children's Mental Health of Leeds and Grenville
Ottawa Youth Services Bureau of Ottawa
Prescott & Russell Valoris for Children and Adults of Prescott-Russell
Renfrew The Phoenix Centre for Children and Families*
Stormont/Dundas/Glengarry Cornwall Community Hospital
North* Algoma Algoma Family Services
Kenora/Rainy River FIREFLY – Physical, Emotional, Developmental and Community Services
Nipissing/Parry Sound/Muskoka Hands TheFamilyHelpNetwork.ca
Sudbury/Manitoulin Child and Family Centre/Centre de l'enfant et de la famille/Ngodweaangizwin Aaskaagewin
Thunder Bay Children’s Centre Thunder Bay
Toronto Toronto East Metro Youth Services
West* Brant Woodview Mental Health and Autism Services
Chatham/Kent Chatham Kent Children’s Services
Elgin/Oxford Oxford-Elgin Child & Youth Centre
Essex Hôtel-Dieu Grace Healthcare - Regional Children's Centre
Grey/Bruce Keystone Child, Youth & Family Services
Haldimand/Norfolk Haldimand Norfolk Resource, Education and Counselling Help (H-N REACH)
Hamilton Lynwood Charlton Centre
Huron/Perth Huron Perth Centre for Children and Youth
Lambton St. Clair Child & Youth Services
Middlesex Madame Vanier Children’s Services

* Lead agency identification processes were recently held for the Niagara service area and the Cochrane Timiskaming service area, and interim planning processes are currently underway. Lead agencies for these service areas are expected to be identified by April 2018.


The responsibilities of lead agencies fall into two broad categories:

  • Core Service responsibilities – ensuring core community-based child and youth mental services are available in every service area.
  • Local System responsibilities – ensuring the community-based sector works together with health care providers, schools, and other organizations so young people get the support they need.

Lead agencies will build the knowledge and understanding of their service area over time – with initial activities focusing on leadership and planning. This includes:

  • building leadership teams
  • beginning local engagement activities
  • raising awareness of the role of the lead agency
  • working together with partners to determine planning processes
  • documenting the status of core child and youth mental health services
  • learning how to use data to support planning

We will provide clear direction to lead agencies and core child and youth mental health service providers through a suite of program guidelines and requirements. These are based on the draft service framework.

Frequently Asked Questions

  1. What do lead agencies do?

    Lead agencies provide leadership at the local level, and are responsible for planning for the effective delivery of core, community-based child and youth mental health services. Lead agencies are also responsible for working with community partners, such as schools and hospitals, across the broader continuum of child and youth mental health services and supports.

    In addition, they play a key role at the provincial-level providing input into broader provincial activities and supporting ongoing accountability and continuous quality improvement of the child and youth mental health system.

    At the core of the lead agency function is their development of a Core Services Delivery Report and a Community Mental Health Report.

  2. What is a Core Services Delivery Report and a Community Mental Health Report?

    Child and youth mental health lead agencies are required to develop a Core Services Delivery Report. The report will be multi-year in focus, with an annual cycle that aligns with the ministry’s annual contracting process. The focus of the Core Services Delivery Report is on identifying and responding to local child and youth mental health needs through the identification of priorities, activities and proposed resource allocations.

    The Community Mental Health Report describes how services and supports across the mental health continuum work together to meet the needs of children and youth, and identifies broader priorities, with an emphasis on supporting clear pathways to, through and out of care.

    Both of these reports will be a key input into the ministry’s annual core service resource allocations, as well as serve a key role in supporting community-level engagement, dialogue and implementation of service area priorities and broader cross-sectoral alignment with Local Health Integration Networks, school boards, etc.

  3. Is the lead agency the best service provider in every community?

    Lead agencies were identified based on excellence in leadership, partnership, service expertise and infrastructure. They have clinical and service expertise across a broad range of agencies and professionals in the community-based mental health sector.

  4. How were the service areas created?

    Service areas are based on census divisions, or multiple census divisions in areas of low population. This approach was taken in order to support a system that makes strong use of population and service data. In most of the province, census division boundaries mirror county or municipal boundaries, which align with public health units, school boards and municipal service.

  5. What are the core services and key processes?

    Core services are funded child and youth mental health services that lead agencies will, at full implementation, be responsible for making available in their service area. Learn more about the core services and key processes.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Besoins particuliers > Pour l'avancement de la santé mentale

Pour l'avancement de la santé mentale

Lignes directrices et exigences relatives au programme (LDEP) : Les services essentiels et principaux processus ont été publiés. Renseignez-vous sur les LDEP.

Le plan d'action Pour l'avancement de la santé mentale est un élément important de la Stratégie ontarienne globale de santé mentale et de lutte contre les dépendances. Ce plan aidera les enfants, les jeunes et les familles à obtenir, au sein de leur collectivité, des services de santé mentale accessibles, adaptables et répondant à leurs besoins. Le renforcement du système communautaire de prestation des services de santé mentale permet de rapprocher les personnes et les organismes et bénéficie à tous. Tous les enfants et les jeunes de l'Ontario et leurs familles sauront :

  • quels services de santé mentale sont offerts dans leur collectivité;
  • comment avoir accès à des services de santé mentale et à un soutien qui répondent à leurs besoins.

Pour favoriser l’accès des enfants, des jeunes et des familles de toute la province aux mêmes services essentiels, nous avons défini 33 zones géographiques de services. Les organismes responsables s’emploieront à appuyer la prestation efficace des services essentiels de santé mentale aux enfants et aux jeunes dans les collectivités qu'ils représentent.

Processus d’identification de l’organisme responsable de Cochrane-Timiskaming

La période de soumission des demandes pour être identifé comme un organisme responsable dans la zone de services de Cochrane-Timiskaming est maintenant terminée. Nous tenons à remercier tous ceux qui ont fait une demande. Pour en savoir plus sur le processus d'identification de l'organisme responsable de Cochrane-Timiskaming, veuillez lire le Guide du processus d'identification de l'organisme responsable de Cochrane-Timiskaming, ou consulter une présentation intitulée Rôles, responsabilités et processus d'identification de l'organisme responsable pour la zone de services de Cochrane-Timiskaming.

Veuillez communiquer avec movingonmentalhealth@ontario.ca si vous avez des questions.

Veuillez noter qu’un processus d’identification distinct a été lancé pour la zone de services de Niagara. Les deux organismes responsables devraient être identifiés d’ici avril 2018.

Zones de services et organismes responsables des services de santé mentale aux enfants et aux jeunes

Organismes responsables des services de santé mentale
Région du MSEJ Zone de services Organisme responsable des services de santé mentale aux enfants et aux jeunes
Centre Dufferin/Wellington Association canadienne pour la santé mentale, filiale de Waterloo-Wellington-Dufferin
Halton Reach Out Centre for Kids (ROCK)
Peel Peel Children's Centre
Simcoe New Path Youth & Family Counselling Services of Simcoe County
Waterloo Lutherwood
York Services d'aide aux enfants et aux familles de Kinark
Est Durham Services d'aide aux enfants et aux familles de Kinark
Frontenac, Lennox et Addington Centre Maltby
Haliburton/Kawartha Lakes/Peterborough Services d'aide aux enfants et aux familles de Kinark
Hastings/Prince Edward/Northumberland Children's Mental Health Services
Lanark, Leeds and Grenville Santé mentale pour enfants de Leeds et Grenville
Ottawa Bureau des services à la jeunesse d'Ottawa
Prescott et Russell Valoris pour enfants et adultes de Prescott-Russell
Renfrew The Phoenix Centre for Children and Families
Stormont, Dundas et Glengarry Hôpital communautaire de Cornwall
Nord* Algoma Services aux familles d'Algoma
Kenora/Rainy River FIREFLY – Physical, Emotional, Developmental and Community Services
Nipissing/Parry Sound/Muskoka Mains LeReseaudaideauxfamilles.ca
Sudbury-Manitoulin Child and Family Centre/Centre de l'enfant et de la famille/Ngodweaangizwin Aaskaagewin
Thunder Bay Children's Centre Thunder Bay
Toronto Toronto East Metro Youth Services
Ouest* Brant Woodview Mental Health and Autism Services
Chatham/Kent Services pour les enfants de Chatham-Kent
Elgin/Oxford Oxford-Elgin Child & Youth Centre
Essex Hôtel‐Dieu Grace Healthcare – Regional Children's Centre
Grey-Bruce Keystone Child, Youth & Family Services
Haldimand-Norfolk Haldimand Norfolk Resource, Education and Counselling Help (H-N REACH)
Hamilton Lynwood Charlton Centre
Huron-Perth Huron-Perth Centre for Children and Youth
Lambton St. Clair Child & Youth Services
Middlesex Madame Vanier Children's Services

*Des processus d’identification de l’organisme responsable de la zone de services de Niagara et la zone de services de Chochrane-Timiskaming ont récemment été lancés, et des processus de planification intérimaire sont en cours. Nous prévoyons identifier les organismes responsables pour ces zones de services d’ici avril 2018.

Les responsabilités des organismes responsables se diviseront en deux grandes catégories:

  • Services essentiels : garantir la prestation des services essentiels par le secteur communautaire des services de santé mentale aux enfants et aux jeunes au sein de chaque zone de services.
  • Système local : veiller à ce que le secteur communautaire collabore avec les fournisseurs de soins de santé, les écoles et d'autres entités dans l'optique d'assurer l'accès des jeunes au soutien dont ils ont besoin.

Les organismes responsables développeront la connaissance et la compréhension de leur zone de services au fil du temps et leurs activités initiales seront axées sur le leadership et la planification, notamment :

  • la constitution de leur équipe de leadership;
  • le lancement d'actions de mobilisation à l'échelle locale;
  • la sensibilisation à l'égard du rôle de l'organisme responsable;
  • la collaboration avec des partenaires pour définir les processus de planification;
  • la documentation de l'état des lieux des services essentiels de santé mentale aux enfants et aux jeunes; et
  • la maîtrise des méthodes d'exploitation des données à l'appui de la planification.

Nous fournirons des orientations claires aux organismes responsables et aux fournisseurs de services essentiels de services de santé mentale aux enfants et aux jeunes au moyen d'un ensemble de lignes directrices et d'exigences relatives au programme qui se fonde sur l'ébauche du Cadre de prestation des services.

Foire Aux Questions

  1. Quel est le rôle des organismes responsables des services de santé mentale aux enfants et aux jeunes?

    Les organismes responsables assurent un leadership à l’échelle locale et ont la responsabilité d’assurer la planification en vue d’une prestation efficace des services communautaires essentiels de santé mentale aux enfants et aux jeunes. Les organismes responsables ont également la responsabilité de travailler avec leurs partenaires communautaires, tels que les écoles et les hôpitaux, dans l’ensemble du continuum des services de santé mentale et des soutiens offerts aux enfants et aux jeunes.

    Ils jouent de plus un rôle clé au niveau provincial en commentant l’ensemble des activités provinciales et en appuyant la responsabilisation courante et l'amélioration continue de la qualité du système de santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes.

    Au cœur de la fonction de l'organisme responsable, il y a l’élaboration d'un Rapport sur la prestation des services essentiels et d’un Rapport sur les services communautaires de santé mentale.

  2. Qu'est-ce que le Rapport sur la prestation des services essentiels et le Rapport sur les services communautaires de santé mentale?

    Les organismes responsables de la santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes doivent élaborer un Rapport sur la prestation des services essentiels. Ce rapport sera pluriannuel et son cycle annuel sera harmonisé avec le processus de passation de marché annuel du ministère. Le Rapport sur la prestation des services essentiels a pour objectif principal de déterminer les besoins locaux en matière de santé mentale des enfants et des jeunes en déterminant les priorités, les activités et l’allocation proposée des ressources et d’y répondre.

    Le Rapport sur les services communautaires de santé mentale décrit la façon dont les services et les soutiens de l’ensemble du continuum de la santé mentale travaillent ensemble à répondre aux besoins des enfants et des jeunes et cerne les priorités plus générales en mettant l'accent sur la façon de favoriser des cheminements clairs permettant d’accéder aux soins, de les recevoir et d’en sortir.

    Ces deux rapports constitueront un des principaux facteurs pris en compte pour les allocations annuelles des ressources aux services de base du ministère et joueront un rôle clé en favorisant l'engagement au niveau communautaire, le dialogue et la mise en œuvre des priorités de la zone de services ainsi que l'harmonisation intersectorielle plus générale avec les réseaux locaux d'intégration des services de santé, les conseils scolaires, etc.

  3. L'organisme responsable est-il le meilleur fournisseur de services de chaque communauté?

    Les organismes responsables ont été désignés sur la base de leur excellence en matière de leadership, de partenariat, d'expertise au niveau des services et d'infrastructure. L'expertise sur le plan clinique et au niveau des services est détenue par un vaste panel d'organismes et de professionnels au sein du secteur communautaire des services de santé mentale.

  4. Comment les zones de services ont-elles été définies?

    Les zones de services correspondent aux divisions de recensement ou regroupent plusieurs divisions de recensement dans les régions peu peuplées. Cette démarche vient soutenir l'évolution vers un système exploitant mieux les données démographiques et les données relatives aux services. Dans la majeure partie de la province, la délimitation des divisions de recensement recoupe celle des comtés ou des municipalités et correspond au territoire de compétence des bureaux de santé publique, des conseils scolaires et des services municipaux.

  5. Que sont les services essentiels et les principaux processus?

    Les services essentiels sont les services financés de santé mentale aux enfants et aux jeunes dont les organismes responsables seront chargés, dès la pleine mise en œuvre de l'initiative, d'assurer la disponibilité dans leurs zones de services respectives. Renseignez-vous sur les services essentiels et les principaux processus.