You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Special needs > Special Needs Strategy > Coordinated Service Planning > Part 3: Target Population

Part 3: Target Population

The overall target population for Coordinated Service Planning is families of children and youth with multiple and/or complex special needs whose need for service coordination goes beyond the scope of inter-professional collaboration to address and who would benefit from the added support provided by Coordinated Service Planning. This could be due to the breadth and cross-sectoral nature of a child/youth’s service needs and/or potential challenges in coordinating services because of factors affecting the whole family.

Children and youth under the age of 18, and young people between the ages of 18 and 21 who remain in school, are eligible for CSP. A diagnosis is not required to access Coordinated Service Planning.

Decisions around whether a family should receive Coordinated Service Planning will be made by the Coordinating Agency with input from the family, based on an assessment of whether the service will be beneficial to a child/youth and family, considering the factors below. Service Planning Coordinators and other trained staff involved in intake will work with the family to determine whether a family should receive service and at what level of intensity.2

If a child/youth and family will not receive Coordinated Service Planning and a formal Coordinated Service Plan, the Coordinating Agency should provide an explanation to the family and refer them, seamlessly through a warm referral3, to any other appropriate supports that may be required.

The family will also be informed that if, in the future, their needs intensify, circumstances change or if new needs develop they are welcome to return to the Coordinating Agency to seek access to Coordinated Service Planning. With consent from the family, the Coordinating Agency will keep the family’s information on file so it can be updated if the family seeks to access Coordinated Service Planning later.

Factors to Consider

Coordinating Agencies will consider the following child/youth and family characteristics and external factors when identifying whether or not children and youth and families should receive Coordinated Service Planning:

  • Characteristics of the family
    • Families of children and youth with multiple and/or complex special needs may be experiencing challenges in one or more of the following areas which may impede their ability to coordinate services for their child/youth with multiple and/or complex special needs:
      • Coping strengths and adaptability;
      • Health and well-being of other family members;
      • Literacy and/or language barriers; and/or
      • Other family/life events which may contribute to the family’s level of distress.
  • External/environmental factors
    • Families of children and youth with multiple and/or complex special needs may also be experiencing challenges in the following areas which may impede their ability to coordinate services for their child/youth with multiple and/or complex special needs:
      • Limited social/community supports;
      • Competing demands of caregiving and employment; and/or
      • Financial instability.

    For examples of children and youth and their families who may receive Coordinated Service Planning, please see Appendix A.

    back to top

Partie 3 : Population cible

La population cible de la planification coordonnée des services se compose des familles d’enfants et de jeunes ayant des besoins particuliers multiples et/ou complexes dont les besoins en matière de coordination des services dépassent ce à quoi la capacité de collaboration interprofessionnelle peut répondre et qui bénéficieraient du soutien accru fourni par la planification coordonnée des services. Ceci pourrait être en raison de l’étendue et de la nature intersectorielle des besoins de l’enfant ou du jeune en matière de services et/ou des difficultés associées à la coordination des services à cause de facteurs touchant toute la famille.

Les enfants et les jeunes de moins de 18 ans et les jeunes personnes de 18 à 21 ans qui n’ont pas quitté l’école sont admissibles à la planification coordonnée des services. Un diagnostic n’est pas nécessaire pour accéder à la planification coordonnée des services.

C’est l’organisme de coordination qui décidera si une famille peut bénéficier d’une planification coordonnée des services en s’appuyant sur les commentaires de la famille et en cherchant à déterminer si le service serait bénéfique pour un enfant/un jeune et sa famille, compte tenu des facteurs ci-dessous. Les coordonnatrices ou coordonnateurs de la planification des services et autres employés formés qui jouent un rôle dans l’accueil travailleront avec la famille pour déterminer si elle doit recevoir le service et à quel niveau d’intensité2.

Si l’organisme de coordination décide de ne pas offrir à l’enfant/au jeune et à la famille une planification coordonnée des services et un plan de services coordonné officiel, il doit fournir une explication à la famille et la diriger de façon uniforme, au moyen d’un aiguillage chaleureux3, vers les autres soutiens appropriés qui peuvent être nécessaires.

La famille sera également informée du fait que si, dans l’avenir, ses besoins s’intensifient ou si ses circonstances changent ou si de nouveaux besoins apparaissent, elle ne devra pas hésiter à retourner vers l’organisme de coordination pour demander l’accès à la planification coordonnée des services. Avec le consentement de la famille, l’organisme de coordination conservera les renseignements sur la famille dans ses dossiers afin de pouvoir les mettre à jour si la famille demande l’accès à la planification coordonnée des services plus tard.

Facteurs dont il faut tenir compte

Les organismes de coordination prendront en compte les caractéristiques des enfants/jeunes et des familles, ainsi que des facteurs externes, pour déterminer si les enfants/jeunes et leurs familles doivent ou non recevoir une planification coordonnée des services :

Pour des exemples d’enfants et de jeunes et de familles qui peuvent recevoir une planification coordonnée des services, se reporter à l’Annexe A.

retour en haut