Part 5: Principles of Coordinated Service Planning

Child, Youth and Family-Centered Service

Coordinated Service Planning is intended to be a supportive, proactive, responsive, and child-, youth- and family-centred service. This means that families and children/youth are actively engaged and their input is incorporated throughout the planning, implementation, delivery and evaluation of Coordinated Service Planning, as well as in the development and monitoring of their child/youth’s Coordinated Service Plan.

Family-centred service recognizes that each child, youth and family is unique; that the family is the constant in the child/youth’s life; and that the family has expertise in their child/youth’s abilities and needs7. The family and service providers, and the child/youth as appropriate, work together to make informed decisions about the services and supports the child/youth and family receive. In family-centred service, the strengths and needs of all family members are considered.

Service Planning Coordinators are expected to facilitate the active participation of the child or youth in Coordinated Service Planning, including in goal setting. Child- and youth-centred service recognizes that young people will have a voice in the planning and delivery of their service. Service Planning Coordinators will recognize that young people may have different perspectives and priorities than their parents that should be respected during the planning and delivery of their services.

Providing child-, youth- and family-centred Coordinated Service Planning will require a cultural shift for many Coordinating Agencies and partner organizations. Coordinating Agencies and their partners are expected to embed family-centred service in their organizational culture. The extent to which Coordinated Service Planning is being provided in a child-, youth-, and family-centred way will need to be constantly monitored across organizations, with plans for capacity building and training as needed.

As part of child-, youth- and family-centred service, families can expect that:

Seamless Service and Information Sharing

Families will experience a seamless sharing of information as part of Coordinated Service Planning. With consent, information about a family’s needs will be shared between providers. Families should not feel like they are repeating intake and assessment information or repeating their stories unnecessarily; however, families should be encouraged to share information with providers and have the opportunity to share their stories with new providers if they wish.

To enable seamless service, Coordinating Agencies are encouraged to promote the use of a common consent form across the service area and are required to seek consent for information sharing at the beginning of the Coordinated Service Planning process to minimize unnecessary duplicative consent seeking.

As required by legislation (including the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act and Personal Health Information Protection Act, 2004), information will be kept secure, shared securely, and appropriately. Ultimately, families and/or youth will decide what information is shared, when information is shared and with whom. Service delivery areas may choose to share information in a variety of ways (e.g. through phone or fax, using a shared electronic record, by mail) that meet their needs and build on local capacity.

Meeting Diverse Needs

The Coordinated Service Planning process will be inclusive, accessible, and culturally-appropriate. It will be respectful of the values and meet the diverse needs of children, youth and their families.

Coordinating Agencies are expected to consider how to make their services accessible to children and youth and their families who may require a range of physical, communication, and/or sensory adaptations.

Coordinating Agencies and their partners will work to understand the demographics of the population within the service delivery area and be responsive to the linguistic and cultural needs of communities within their service delivery area. Coordinating Agencies will engage with the different linguistic and cultural communities within their service delivery area and the service providers who serve them. Coordinating Agencies will incorporate input from these communities into the ongoing planning, delivery and local evaluation of Coordinated Service Planning.

Service providers will be aware of distinct approaches required to address the needs of First Nations, Métis, Inuit and urban Indigenous children and youth. At the local level, Coordinating Agencies are expected to work together with all local service providers to meet the needs of Indigenous children, youth and their families. This includes providing culturally-appropriate services and linkages and referrals to Indigenous service providers and other community resources.

Coordinated Service Planning will also respond to the service needs of French-speaking children and youth, and their families. The French Language Services Act identifies communities where specific services must be available in the French language. Coordinating Agencies, whether or not they are designated under the French Language Services Act, 1990 will engage with French-language school boards and French-language service providers to support the needs of Francophone children and youth with special needs and their families.

back to top

Partie 5 : Principes de la planification coordonnée des services

Service axé sur l’enfant, le jeune et la famille

La planification coordonnée des services est un service de soutien proactif et souple qui est axé sur l’enfant/le jeune et la famille. Cela signifie une participation active des familles et des enfants/jeunes et la prise en compte de leurs commentaires durant la planification, la mise en œuvre, la prestation et l’évaluation de la planification coordonnée des services, ainsi que dans le cadre de l’élaboration et de la surveillance du plan de services coordonné de leur enfant/jeune.

Le service axé sur la famille consiste à reconnaître que chaque enfant, jeune et famille est unique, que la famille est une constante dans la vie de l’enfant ou du jeune, et que la famille connaît bien les capacités et les besoins de son enfant/jeune7. La famille et les fournisseurs de services, ainsi que l’enfant/le jeune, le cas échéant, travaillent ensemble à prendre des décisions éclairées au sujet des services et des soutiens que l’enfant/le jeune et la famille reçoivent. Dans le service axé sur la famille, il est tenu compte des forces et des besoins de tous les membres de la famille.

Les coordonnatrices ou coordonnateurs de la planification des services doivent faciliter la participation active de l’enfant ou du jeune à la planification coordonnée des services, y compris à l’établissement des objectifs. Le service axé sur l’enfant et le jeune reconnaît que les jeunes ont leur mot à dire dans la planification et la prestation de leur service. Les coordonnatrices ou coordonnateurs de la planification des services reconnaîtront que les jeunes peuvent ne pas avoir les mêmes points de vue et priorités que leurs parents et que ceci doit être respecté pendant la planification et la prestation de leurs services.

La mise en œuvre d’une planification coordonnée des services axée sur l’enfant, le jeune et la famille nécessitera un changement de culture pour beaucoup d’organismes de coordination et d’organismes partenaires. Les organismes de coordination et leurs partenaires sont censés intégrer leurs services axés sur la famille à leur culture organisationnelle. La mesure dans laquelle la planification coordonnée des services prend en compte l’enfant/le jeune et la famille devra être constamment surveillée dans toutes les organisations; des plans de renforcement de la capacité et de formation seront établis au besoin.

Dans le cadre d’un service axé sur l’enfant, le jeune et la famille, les familles doivent pouvoir s’attendre à ce que :

Service uniforme et échange de renseignements

L’échange de renseignements se fera sans heurts pour les familles dans le cadre de la planification coordonnée des services. Les familles ne devraient pas avoir l’impression qu’elles répètent inutilement leurs renseignements ou leurs situations pour l’admission et l’évaluation. Toutefois, elles devraient être encouragées à faire part de renseignements aux fournisseurs et avoir la possibilité de raconter leurs histoires à de nouveaux fournisseurs si elles le souhaitent.

Afin d’offrir un service uniforme, les organismes de coordination sont encouragés à promouvoir l’utilisation d’un formulaire de consentement commun dans toute la zone de prestation de services et doivent demander le consentement pour les échanges de renseignements au début du processus de planification coordonnée des services pour réduire au minimum le besoin de redemander le consentement plusieurs fois.

Comme l’exige la loi (y compris la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée et la Loi de 2004 sur la protection des renseignements personnels sur la santé), les renseignements seront conservés et communiqués de façon sécurisée et appropriée. En fin de compte, il appartient aux familles et/ou aux jeunes de décider quels sont les renseignements qui seront communiqués, quand et à qui. Les zones de prestation de services peuvent décider de communiquer leurs renseignements par différents moyens (p. ex. par téléphone ou par télécopieur, en utilisant un dossier électronique partagé, par la poste) qui répondent aux besoins et qui font fond sur la capacité locale.

Répondre à des besoins diversifiés

Le processus de planification coordonnée des services sera inclusif, accessible et culturellement adapté. Il tiendra compte des valeurs et répondra aux différents besoins des enfants, des jeunes et de leurs familles.

Les organismes de coordination doivent songer à la façon de rendre leurs services accessibles aux enfants et aux jeunes et à leurs familles pour lesquels des mesures d’adaptation physique, sensorielle et/ou sur le plan de la communication pourraient être nécessaires.

Les organismes de coordination et leurs partenaires chercheront à comprendre le profil démographique de la population au sein de leurs zones de prestation de services et à tenir compte des besoins linguistiques et culturels des communautés dans leurs zones de prestation de services. Les organismes de coordination dialogueront avec les différentes communautés linguistiques et culturelles au sein de leurs zones de prestation de services et avec les fournisseurs de services qui les desservent.

Les organismes de coordination incorporeront les commentaires de ces communautés dans la planification, la mise en œuvre et l’évaluation locale courantes de la planification coordonnée des services.

Les fournisseurs de services seront au courant des approches distinctes nécessaires pour répondre aux besoins des enfants et des jeunes des Premières nations, des Métis, des Inuits et des Autochtones en milieu urbain. À l’échelle locale, les organismes de coordination doivent travailler avec tous les fournisseurs de services locaux pour répondre aux besoins des enfants et des jeunes autochtones et de leurs familles. À cette fin, ils devront, entre autres, fournir des services et des liens adaptés à la culture et des renvois à des fournisseurs de services autochtones et à d’autres ressources communautaires.

La planification coordonnée des services répondra également aux besoins en services des enfants/jeunes d’expression française et de leurs familles. La Loi sur les services en français indique les communautés où des services particuliers doivent être disponibles en français. Les organismes de coordination, qu’ils soient désignés ou pas en vertu de la Loi de 1990 sur les services en français, établiront des liens avec des conseils scolaires et des fournisseurs de services de langue française pour répondre aux besoins d’enfants et de jeunes d’expression française ayant des besoins particuliers, ainsi que de leurs familles.

retour en haut