You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Stepping Stones > Moving forward

Stepping Stones banner – legs and feet of a person stepping on stones to walk across water.

Moving forward

The research and input from youth presented in this document represents our current understanding of the ways young people develop. It also presents the views of a sample of Ontario's youth on how we can support them to succeed. This document is intended as a resource that will help support the positive development of young people, whether that involves developing programs or lesson plans, mentoring, community planning or designing policies. Moving forward, the information provided in this resource is meant as a tool that can be adapted, specialized and updated to suit the needs of youth in your community.

Make it relevant

This resource is designed to support work across provincial and local contexts
This resource is a step toward improving the way that young people are supported into adulthood in Ontario. It is intended as a tool that can be used to foster integration and collaboration across the youth-serving sector, and a platform for continuing conversations about how services can be better aligned to support youth. It also relies on the understanding that all those who have a role in supporting youth will use, adapt and advance the information in this resource to suit the needs of youth in communities across the province—from frontline service provision to developing specific community programming and organizing broader provincial planning.

A photo of a young person from the Youth Development Committee looking over to the side.

The resource can be used to identify key opportunities to introduce new programs, services or supports for youth in your community. It could also be used to generate ideas about how to enhance existing services by integrating positive developmental opportunities into current programs and practices.

It also provides an important platform for ongoing dialogue
It is our intent that this resource will also serve as a valuable tool to prompt discussion and action at the government, community, organizational and family levels.

Government: partnering across ministries/departments, various levels of government and youth-serving organizations to align and focus services, policies and programs toward positive development.

Communities: partnering with community organizations to develop local networks that align efforts and create an awareness of the services offered by the community.

Example:
Ontario Best Start Networks

Ontario's 47 local Best Start Networks play a key role in the development and evolution of an integrated local system of early years services. The networks have been established and are recognized as the planning body for the province's Best Start strategy. They are well positioned to foster community collaboration through their broad representation and in their development of a common understanding of the vision and goals that need to be achieved.

Service Providers: reforming programs in partnership with youth to engage them in the design of programs and implementation strategies.

Example:
Partnering with youth to create space for youth leadership

Providing this platform allows for youth-led social innovation, and engages young people in collective leadership and decision making. Not only does this approach provide an opportunity to develop strategies for service delivery design in collaboration with youth, but it also provides an opportunity to develop transferable skills and boost the self-efficacy and self-esteem of participating youth.

Example:
Including youth in decision making

Including youth in decision making positions within your organization is an excellent way to incorporate youth perspectives into your work. For example, the Ontario Federation of Indian Friendship Centres has two dedicated seats on their Board of Directors for youth aged 18–24. Another way to include youth is to support and validate youth-led organizations.

Families: rethinking and enhancing daily routines to support their youth’s development.

Example:
Modelling a confident understanding of your own skills and capabilities allows youth to learn behaviours that will increase their self-confidence to complete challenging tasks

Youth learn to be confident in their own abilities by internalizing the confidence displayed by role models in their lives. Providing youth with leadership opportunities (for example, planning family dinners or activities), and talking through the process or problem with youth, allows them to realize both their capabilities and limitations, and to build confidence as they complete challenging tasks.

Adapt this information to local needs
While this resource explores many "typical" aspects of youth development, it offers this information with acknowledgement that no two individuals are alike, and that context also plays an important role in the development of every early adolescent, adolescent and young adult.

A close up of a smiling young man from the Youth Development Committee.

For example, individual differences associated with ability, culture or identity will result in different pathways, as youth face unique opportunities and challenges. Likewise, environmental differences also have an impact on development, affecting the supports, opportunities and experiences that youth have access to. Also consider the spirit or sense of self in adapting your approach to supporting individual youth.

In the end, you know the youth you serve best. While using this document, consider the social, cultural, economic and geographical factors specific to youth in your community and how best you can support their development.

An illustration of a speech bubble. This section provides information heard from Ontario youth.INSIGHT: IN THEIR OWN VOICES

"As a first generation Canadian, my parents don’t necessarily sit my siblings and I down to talk about serious issues such as using protection and substance abuse."

"I used to play house league soccer and basketball at school—I have Down Syndrome and the coaches didn’t feel comfortable with me."

"My parents never had money to put me in extra-curriculars so I never stuck to anything because I never took up anything."

A living document

Our knowledge continues to evolve
This resource has brought together the best research and evidence on youth development available in 2011. It is clear, however, that the developmental research field is growing by the minute and that there are still gaps in this research. Similarly, the youth input that was gathered and reflected in this report is based on a sample of today’s young people—it is expected that youth across Ontario may have different experiences and ideas about the supports and opportunities that they will need in the future.

A photo of a smiling young man from a multi-ministry youth meeting sitting in a chair.

This resource is intended as a living document
This resource was created with the intent that it become a "living document" that is adapted and specialized to suit the needs of governments, communities, providers and families over time. It is important that we collectively remain current with new evidence, approaches and knowledge as they become available, taking an adaptive approach to harnessing and reflecting these advancements in our work with youth. Involving youth directly in ongoing conversations about their development will also help to ensure that this remains a living document that is relevant and personalised to meet the changing needs of all youth.

Working together

Supporting youth requires that we work collaboratively
There are many actors involved in supporting youth throughout Ontario—including governments, communities, frontline providers, and parents. These individuals and organizations have exceptional knowledge, expertise, insight and experience in supporting the development of youth.

A photo of smiling young members from the Youth Development Committee giving the thumbs up.

Given the complexity of young people’s lives, and the youth services sector, it is clear that no one organization or group can single-handedly address and support all aspects of youth development. However, in partnership, we can effectively support the success of young people in Ontario and have a significant impact.

Ultimately, this resource is intended as a tool that fosters the development of a common language and understanding of youth development, placing young people at the centre of an integrated system of supports that maximizes their positive development.

Top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > D'un stade à l’autre > Perspectives à long terme

Perspectives à long terme

La recherche et les avis des jeunes présentés dans ce document correspondent à notre compréhension actuelle des façons dont s'opère le développement des jeunes. Un échantillon de jeunes Ontariennes et Ontariens ont fait part de leurs points de vue sur la manière de les épauler pour assurer leur réussite. Ce document se veut une ressource aidant à soutenir le développement positif des jeunes, qu'il s'agisse de l'élaboration de programmes ou de plans de leçon, de mentorat, de planification communautaire ou de conception de politiques. Dans une perspective à plus long terme, les renseignements fournis dans cette ressource doivent constituer un outil pouvant être adapté, spécialisé et mis à jour pour qu'il corresponde aux besoins des jeunes de votre collectivité.

Privilégiez la pertinence

Cette ressource est conçue pour soutenir le travail mené à différents niveaux provinciaux et locaux
Cette ressource est une étape permettant d'améliorer la façon dont les jeunes sont aidés à faire la transition vers l'âge adulte en Ontario. Elle doit servir d'outil pour favoriser l'intégration et la collaboration dans le secteur des services à la jeunesse et de plateforme pour poursuivre les discussions sur les meilleures façons d'harmoniser ces services pour appuyer les jeunes. Ce document repose également sur l'idée que tous ceux qui participent au soutien de la jeunesse utiliseront, adapteront et amélioreront les renseignements fournis pour qu'ils correspondent aux besoins des jeunes dans les collectivités de toute la province – de la prestation de services de première ligne à l'élaboration de programmes communautaires particuliers et à l'organisation de la planification provinciale au sens large.

Une ressource sur le développement des jeunes

Cette ressource peut servir à définir les possibilités clés pour le lancement de nouveaux programmes, services et soutiens destinés à la jeunesse de votre collectivité. En outre, elle peut être utilisée pour faire naître des idées en vue d'améliorer les services existants en intégrant les occasions de développement positif aux programmes et pratiques actuels.

Il s'agit également d'une plateforme essentielle pour poursuivre le dialogue
Notre objectif est que cette ressource serve également d'outil précieux en vue de favoriser les discussions et l'action aux niveaux gouvernemental, communautaire, organisationnel et familial.

Gouvernement : partenariats entre les ministères/services, les différents ordres de gouvernement et les organismes au service de la jeunesse en vue d'harmoniser les services, politiques et programmes et de les axer sur le développement positif.

Collectivités : partenariats avec les organismes communautaires pour mettre en place des réseaux locaux qui harmonisent les efforts et sensibilisent aux services offerts par les collectivités.

Exemple :
Réseaux Meilleur départ en Ontario

Les 47 réseaux Meilleur départ des collectivités de l'Ontario jouent un rôle clé dans l'élaboration et l'évolution d'un système local intégré des services à la petite enfance. Ces réseaux ont été établis et reconnus comme organe de planification de la stratégie provinciale Meilleur départ. Ils occupent une place idéale pour faciliter la collaboration communautaire du fait de leur large représentation et pour assurer une compréhension commune de la vision et des objectifs à atteindre.

Fournisseurs de services : refonte des programmes en partenariat avec les jeunes pour les intégrer à la conception des programmes et au déploiement des stratégies.

Exemple :
Partenariat avec la jeunesse pour créer des possibilités de leadership des jeunes

Cette plateforme permet des innovations sociales menées par les jeunes et place les jeunes dans une position de leadership et de prise de décision à l'échelle collective. Cette approche offre l'occasion non seulement d'élaborer des stratégies de prestation de services conçues en collaboration avec les jeunes, mais aussi de perfectionner des compétences transférables et d'encourager l'auto-efficacité et l'estime de soi des jeunes participants.

Exemple :
Inclusion des jeunes dans la prise de décisions

L'inclusion des jeunes dans la prise de décisions au sein de votre organisme est un excellent moyen d'intégrer leurs points de vue à vos travaux. Par exemple, le conseil d'administration de l'Ontario Federation of Indian Friendship Centres dispose de deux sièges réservés à des jeunes âgés de 18 à 24 ans. Un autre moyen d'inclure la jeunesse est de soutenir et de valoriser les organismes dirigés par des jeunes.

Familles : repenser et améliorer les routines quotidiennes en vue de soutenir le développement des jeunes.

Exemple :
Montrer l'exemple en appréhendant de façon confiante vos propres compétences et capacités permet aux jeunes d'apprendre des comportements qui augmenteront leur confiance en soi pour mener à bien des tâches difficiles.

Les jeunes apprennent à avoir confiance en leurs propres capacités en intériorisant la confiance affichée par les modèles qu'ils ont dans leur vie. Offrir aux jeunes des possibilités de leadership (p. ex., pour la planification de repas de famille ou d'activités) et discuter avec eux du processus ou des problèmes rencontrés leur permettent d'appréhender à la fois leurs capacités et leurs limites et de bâtir leur confiance lorsqu'ils mènent à bien des tâches difficiles.

Cette ressource informative doit être adaptée aux besoins locaux
Bien que cette ressource explore de nombreux aspects « typiques » du développement des jeunes, l'on reconnaît que chaque individu est unique et que le contexte joue également un rôle clé dans le développement des jeunes à chacun des stades (début de l'adolescence, adolescence et début de l'âge adulte).

Gros plan d’un jeune homme souriant du Comité jeunesse.

Ainsi, les différences liées aux capacités, à la culture ou à l'identité entraîneront des trajectoires différentes, car chaque jeune est confronté à des occasions et à des défis uniques. De même, les différences en matière d'environnement ont une incidence sur le développement, influant sur les soutiens, les possibilités et les expériences auxquels les jeunes ont accès. Il convient également d'envisager la nature de chacun ou son sens identitaire afin d'adapter votre approche pour soutenir les jeunes.

En fin de compte, c'est vous qui connaissez le mieux les jeunes que vous aidez. Tout en vous appuyant sur ce document, tenez compte des facteurs sociaux, culturels, économiques et géographiques spécifiques aux jeunes de votre collectivité et envisagez les meilleures façons de soutenir leur développement.

Illustration représentant une bulle (phylactère). Cette section fournit des renseignements qui ont été communiqués par de jeunes Ontariennes et Ontariens.DANS LEURS PROPRES MOTS

« Dans ma famille, moi et mes frères et soeurs sommes la première génération de Canadiens et mes parents ne s'assoient pas nécessairement avec nous pour parler de sujets importants comme le fait d'utiliser un moyen de protection ou les problèmes de toxicomanie. »

« Avant, je jouais au soccer et au basketball dans les ligues de l'école – j'ai le syndrome de Down et les entraîneurs n'étaient pas à l'aise avec moi. »

« Mes parents n'avaient jamais d'argent pour m'inscrire à des activités extrascolaires. Je n'ai jamais rien commencé, du coup je ne me suis jamais accroché à une activité. »

Un document dynamique

Nos connaissances ne cessent d'évoluer
Cette ressource a rassemblé les meilleures recherches et données disponibles en 2011 sur le développement des jeunes. Néanmoins, il est clair que le champ de la recherche en la matière ne cesse de s'étendre et qu'il reste encore de nombreuses lacunes à combler. De même, les avis des jeunes qui ont été recueillis et présentés dans ce rapport reposent sur un échantillon de la jeunesse d'aujourd'hui – il est évident que les jeunes Ontariennes et Ontariens peuvent avoir des expériences et des idées différentes sur les soutiens et les occasions dont ils auront besoin à l'avenir.

Photo d’un jeune homme souriant assis sur une chaise. La photo a été prise à l’occasion d’une rencontre entre jeunes organisée par plusieurs ministères.

Cette ressource se veut dynamique
Cette ressource a été créée dans l'intention de constituer un « document vivant » : elle doit être adaptée et spécialisée au fil du temps pour correspondre aux besoins des gouvernements, collectivités, fournisseurs de services et familles. Il est important que nous nous tenions tous informés des nouvelles données probantes, des nouvelles approches et des nouvelles connaissances qui deviennent disponibles, en adoptant une perspective adaptative pour exploiter et refléter ces progrès dans notre collaboration avec la jeunesse. Le fait d'impliquer directement les jeunes dans des discussions continues sur leur développement permettra également de nous assurer que cette ressource demeure un document dynamique, pertinent et personnalisé pour répondre aux besoins évolutifs de tous les jeunes.

L'importance de la collaboration

Le soutien des jeunes exige la collaboration
De nombreux acteurs entrent en jeu dans le soutien des jeunes de l'Ontario – y compris les gouvernements, les collectivités, les fournisseurs de services de première ligne et les parents. Ces personnes et ces organismes possèdent un savoir, une expertise, une perspective et une expérience exceptionnels pour soutenir le développement des jeunes.

Photo de jeunes membres du Comité jeunesse, qui sourient et lèvent le pouce en l’air.

Étant donné la complexité de la vie des jeunes et au vu de l'importance du secteur des services à la jeunesse, il est clair qu'aucun organisme ou groupe ne peut gérer et soutenir à lui seul tous les aspects du développement des jeunes. Néanmoins, si nous collaborons, nous pouvons soutenir efficacement la réussite de la jeunesse ontarienne et avoir une influence significative.

Enfin, cette ressource est envisagée comme un outil visant à favoriser l'élaboration d'une compréhension et d'un langage communs quant au développement des jeunes, plaçant ces derniers au coeur d'un système intégré de soutiens qui optimise leur développement positif.

Haut