You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Stepping Stones > Welcome!

Stepping Stones banner – legs and feet of a person stepping on stones to walk across water.

Welcome!

An action shot of two young men from the Youth Development Committee. One man is talking, while the other listens closely.

Across Ontario, hundreds of dedicated organizations and individuals are making a difference for youth every day. Stepping Stones is intended to support and enhance the work of these adult allies by presenting a shared understanding of how youth develop in a clear and cohesive way. While every person is unique, the stages of development between childhood and adulthood are consistent across populations and generations. However, today’s youth, more than ever, face a complex and constantly evolving world. Stepping Stones has been created to serve as a tool to guide the development and delivery of high quality services and supports for youth province-wide. Together, we can ensure that all young people in Ontario are fully supported in becoming purposeful, involved and engaged members of our communities and our province.

About this resource

Stepping Stones: A Resource on Youth Development was created by the Ontario Government in broad consultation with researchers, youth, community leaders and service providers. It is designed to support those who work with youth aged 12 to 25 by providing:

An overview of youth development: A detailed look at the predictable developmental stages of youth aged 12 to 25, and the ways in which we can identify and respond to the needs of youth at each stage of their development.

Developmental maps: Chart-based summaries of key developmental events for early adolescents, adolescents and young adults, and suggested supports aligned with each developmental stage.

Tips for implementation: Examples of how to adapt, specialize and apply this information in a way that is relevant and meaningful in communities across Ontario.

Who it is for

This resource is for organizations and individuals who, either directly or indirectly, support and influence the well-being and development of youth:

Legs and feet of a person stepping on stones to walk across water.

Stepping Stones will be of interest to anyone who wants to deepen their knowledge of how youth develop (physically, cognitively, emotionally and socially), and the ways they can be supported through these transitions. It is important to acknowledge, however, that this resource is not a diagnostic tool designed to gauge a young person’s progress against a set of targets, nor a screening tool to uncover potential developmental delays. A variety of tools exist for those purposes.

Look for these text features

A young woman from the Youth Development Committee paying attention in a meeting.

An illustration of a speech bubble. This section provides information heard from Ontario youth.In their own voices
What we heard from Ontario youth

An illustration of a gold magnifying glass. This section provides more information to deepen your knowledge. Digging deeper
Information to deepen your knowledge

The letter ‘I’ in lowercase. This section provides helpful ideas to consider.Insight
Helpful ideas to consider

The letter ‘I’ in lowercase. This section provides helpful ideas to consider.INSIGHT: A COMMUNITY-WIDE PERSPECTIVE

Many individuals and organizations within your community have contact with, and support, youth at various stages of their development. Consider encouraging all partners in your community to become familiar with Stepping Stones so that youth benefit from a consistent and cohesive approach to youth development across the community.

Top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > D'un stade à l’autre > Bienvenue!

Bannière d’Un stade à l’autre – jambes et pieds d’une personne qui marche sur des pierres pour traverser une étendue d’eau.

Bienvenue!

Cliché « sur le vif » de deux jeunes hommes du Comité jeunesse. L’un est en train de parler; l’autre écoute avec attention.

Partout en Ontario, des centaines d'organismes spécialisés et de personnes dévouées jouent tous les jours un rôle majeur dans la vie des jeunes. D'un stade à l'autre vise à soutenir et à améliorer le travail de ces partenaires adultes en présentant une vision commune sur le développement des jeunes de façon claire et cohérente. Même si chaque personne est unique, les stades de développement qui jalonnent la période entre l'enfance et l'âge adulte sont uniformes, quelles que soient les populations et les générations. Néanmoins, la jeunesse d'aujourd'hui est plus que jamais confrontée à un monde complexe et en perpétuelle évolution. D'un stade à l'autre a donc été créé afin de servir de guide pour élaborer et fournir des services et des dispositifs de soutien de qualité supérieure pour la jeunesse dans l'ensemble de la province. Ensemble, ous pouvons faire en sorte que tous les jeunes de l'Ontario bénéficient de tous les soutiens possibles pour devenir des membres déterminés, concernés et engagés de nos collectivités et de notre province.

À propos de cette ressource

Le document D'un stade à l'autre : une ressource sur le développement des jeunes a été élaboré par le gouvernement de l'Ontario à l'issue de consultations approfondies avec des chercheurs, des jeunes, des responsables communautaires et des fournisseurs de services. Il vise à soutenir ceux et celles qui travaillent avec les jeunes âgés de 12 à 25 ans en fournissant :

Un aperçu du développement des jeunes : vue d'ensemble détaillée des stades prévisibles du développement des jeunes âgés de 12 à 25 ans, et des différentes façons d'identifier leurs besoins et d'y répondre à chaque stade de leur développement.

Des feuilles de route : résumés sous forme de tableaux indiquant les principaux stades de développement au début de l'adolescence, à l'adolescence et au début de l'âge adulte, ainsi que les soutiens suggérés pour chaque stade de développement.

Des conseils de mise en œuvre : exemples sur la façon d'adapter, de particulariser et d'appliquer ces renseignements de façon pertinente et significative dans les diverses collectivités de l'Ontario.

Les destinataires

Cette ressource s'adresse aux organismes et aux personnes qui, directement ou indirectement, soutiennent et influencent le bien-être et le développement des jeunes, à savoir :

Jambes et pieds d’une personne qui marche sur des pierres pour traverser une étendue d’eau.

Le document D'un stade à l'autre sera utile à tous ceux et celles qui souhaitent approfondir leurs connaissances sur le développement des jeunes (sur les plans physique, cognitif, émotionnel et social) et sur les moyens d'aider ces derniers à passer ces étapes de transition. Néanmoins, il est important de comprendre que cette ressource n'est ni un outil de diagnostic destiné à évaluer les progrès d'un jeune à l'aune d'un ensemble d'objectifs cibles, ni un outil de dépistage servant à déceler d'éventuels retards de développement. Il existe un certain nombre d'autres ressources qui répondent à ces objectifs.

Gardez l'œil sur ces icônes

Une jeune femme du Comité jeunesse concentrée pendant une réunion.

Illustration représentant une bulle (phylactère). Cette section fournit des renseignements qui ont été communiqués par de jeunes Ontariennes et Ontariens.Dans leurs propres mots
Ce que les jeunes de l'Ontario nous ont dit

Illustration représentant une loupe dorée. Cette section fournit des renseignements supplémentaires pour vous aider à approfondir vos connaissances.Pour aller plus loin
Renseignements pour approfondir vos connaissances

La lettre « i » en minuscule. Cette section fournit des idées utiles qu’il est intéressant de prendre en compte.Aperçu
Suggestions utiles

La lettre « i » en minuscule. Cette section fournit des idées utiles qu’il est intéressant de prendre en compte.APERÇU : UNE PERSPECTIVE COMMUNAUTAIRE

Un grand nombre de personnes et d'organismes au sein de votre collectivité sont en contact avec des jeunes à divers stades de leur développement et les soutiennent dans cette période. Pensez à encourager tous les partenaires de votre collectivité à se familiariser avec D'un stade à l'autre afin que les jeunes puissent bénéficier d'une approche cohérente et uniforme à l'échelle communautaire en ce qui concerne leur développement.

Haut