You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Stepping Up > 2014 Annual Report > Civic Engagement and Youth Leadership

Stepping Up banner – feet climbing stairs.

Civic Engagement and Youth Leadership

Stepping Up: Ontario Federation of Indian Friendship Centres

Case Study

Photo of two women standing

The Ontario Federation of Indian Friendship Centres (OFIFC) represents 29 Friendship Centres across Ontario. OFIFC supports Aboriginal youth-led activities that encourage equal access and participation in Canadian society and celebrates the Aboriginal culture.

OFIFC helps foster self-determination through youth leadership development in an environment that is accountable to youth. OFIFC promotes youth involvement in board governance, creates opportunities for participation in civic action and community development, and provides programs that promote education, economic development, children's and youth initiatives, and cultural awareness.

Lorena Garvey's Story

"The Friendship Centre is where I grew up. It's where I learned about ceremonies, language, and our elders. It also opened my eyes to the many challenges that exist within my Aboriginal community.

In my mid-teens, I co-founded my centre's Youth Council and attended many OFIFC youth forums. The OFIFC Youth Forums give young Aboriginal people like me a chance to use our voice in positive ways. We discuss our issues and concerns, like suicide, program funding and addictions. And we also share our successes, like graduation rates, engagement practices and our fundraising efforts.

At the age of 19, I ran for the position of Regional Representative on the Ontario Aboriginal Youth Council (OAYC). I held that position for two years. That leadership role gave me the confidence to run for an executive position and sit on the OFIFC Board of Directors. Today, I work at OFIFC and with Aboriginal youth at local Friendship Centres.

The OAYC, the board, and the staff of the OAYC are my family away from home. They support me and encourage me to go after my dreams - and that I can do whatever I put my mind to. I hope I am able to make a difference in a young person's life, just like the Friendship Centre did for me when I was growing up.

"My advice to young people is: Show up! When you show up, you get to speak. You get to plan. People begin to trust you. Others will show up, too. Yes, there will be days when it's hard to love the world. But just find the things you love and keep going. Keep your friends and family close. They keep you humble, remind you where you came from - and what you are working towards." – Lorena Garvey

Civic Engagement and Youth Leadership

Outcomes #16, 17, 18

Youth leading change

Young Ontarians have a lot to offer their communities. We know that better outcomes are achieved when youth are heard and involved. It is important to ensure that all young people in Ontario have the opportunity to learn life and leadership skills so they can be engaged, contribute to issues they care about and participate in decisions that affect them.

Civic engagement and youth leadership matters to young Ontarians:

Civically engaged young people enjoy higher self-esteem and grades, and tend to be more physically active and committed to their friends, families and communities.200 Actively engaged youth can also act as role models to their peers.

And it's important for Ontario:

Giving young people more of a voice in government, policy and decision-making builds their capacity while providing platforms for youth to lead change and take action. Youth participation broadens the discussion and enhances decisions about civic policies and programs.

Snapshot of Civic Engagement and Youth Leadership in Ontario

Ontario's young people are already engaged: Youth in Ontario volunteer at a higher rate than any other group in Canada. They have higher rates of participation in community, cultural, recreational or school-related organizations and activities than the rest of the population – and many volunteer at rates far beyond the 40 hours required to graduate high school.

Sixty-two per cent of youth between 15 and 24 years reported that they volunteered at some point in the past year, and 72 per cent said they had made a charitable donation.201

Some youth volunteer less than others: Some of Ontario's youth face barriers to volunteering. In 2010, only 43 per cent of newcomer youth between 15 and 24 years volunteered; this is 15 per cent lower than Canada's average volunteer rate.202

Young people are engaging in different ways: The Internet and social media have changed the way in which young people communicate. The more traditional forms of engagement – such as belonging to a political party, voting in an election or attending a town hall meeting – are no longer how most young people participate in their communities. Young Ontarians may feel the greatest engagement when they are directly involved in community events and have opportunities to connect with others.

Voter turnout rates among youth are lower than among adults and have declined in recent decades when compared to the historical average. Over the past four federal elections, however, youth voter turnout rates have remained relative stable.203

Young people are digitally wise: Young people rely heavily on digital technology and social media to access information and carry out social interactions.204 Digitally wise youth take advantage of social media platforms such as blogs and wikis to participate in advocacy on social issues, develop and run charities, and raise funds for causes.205 Digital technology creates powerful opportunities for youth to connect globally to complex and evolving issues, such as addressing climate change or supporting human rights.

Support young people to be heard

We know that active youth participation in decision-making processes (such as through political or civic participation) is linked to improved outcomes in education, employment and overall health, as well as improved social skills and emotional development.206

Supporting young people to be heard involves:

Informing young people and others about youth rights: Young people have a right to participate in informing the decisions that affect them. We know that most young people want to be involved in decision-making and have a voice on issues that are important to them. Respecting the rights of youth also includes understanding the individual and social factors that can limit young people's participation – such as social inclusion, education, employment and lack of availability and accessibility to opportunities.207

The 1989 United Nations Convention of the Rights of the Child states that young people have a human right to be consulted about the decisions that affect their lives.208

Equipping youth voice: The more capacity young people have, the more likely they are to participate. Education equips young people with cognitive skills that support active engagement and can foster a sense of civic responsibility. Having a sense of duty is one of the most powerful incentives for turning out to vote209 and education makes a significant difference to whether young Canadians vote or not. The 2000 Canadian Election Study reveals that turnout in the youngest generation was almost 50 points higher among university graduates than it was among those who left school without a high school diploma.

Youth are less likely to vote than adults – and some young people are less likely to vote than others.210 Low turnout is found to be greatest among Aboriginal, ethnocultural and unemployed youth as well as youth with disabilities or special needs.211 Rural youth have also reported barriers to electoral participation.212

Creating opportunities for those less likely to participate: We know that some youth are less likely to use their voice in traditional ways – such as through voting – than others. Aboriginal young people, for example, may not feel engaged in provincial or federal politics but may still have ideas about how policies and programs can better serve them and their communities. By creating more and flexible mechanisms for young people to have their say, we can achieve better results and ensure that decision-makers hear from more young people.

Outcome we want:

#16 Ontario youth play a role in informing the decisions that affect them.

How we can tell:


Provide opportunities for youth to be involved and lead

Photo of four young people working at a table

Youth engagement and youth-led initiatives provide a positive, proactive opportunity for youth to develop their identities, improve confidence, and increase their social and professional networks. Studies also indicate that when a young person is involved in their community, they engage in fewer risk-associated activities (such as alcohol consumption, smoking, drug use, unsafe sexual practices, bullying behaviour and criminal activity).213 Emotional problems, as well as problems at school, are also diminished when youth are engaged.

Supporting youth to be engaged in their communities involves:

Engaging youth in ways that work for them: To be effective, strategies to engage young people to participate and lead should reflect their availability, skills and interests. This may involve reaching out to youth at certain times of the day, or by using youth-friendly engagement tools such as social media. Young people have reported that they are more likely to take advantage of opportunities to participate in a socially inclusive environment, where they can connect with peers with shared experiences and feel safe to express their views.214

Research suggests that the time of day when we engage youth is an important factor in seeking their input. The hours between 3:30 p.m. and 6:30 p.m. are the best times to reach youth.215

Ensuring young people know about opportunities: Youth are much more likely to volunteer when they have been asked or invited to.216 Taking advantage of youth friendly communication tools – such as online media – can help ensure youth know about opportunities.Youth have identified that keeping them informed and providing opportunities for feedback and expression is effective in strengthening their engagement.217

Nurturing participatory values: We can nurture young people's sense of civic responsibility by helping them to understand their assets and the ways that they can contribute. Young people who are civically engaged and have formed volunteer habits are significantly more likely to contribute to their communities in adulthood. Research has shown that a young person's participation in initiatives such as a youth council, a community service project or a conference can help them to build a sense of civic responsibility and also improve their knowledge of civic processes and government.218

Young people who had been active in student government during their youth volunteered at a significantly higher rate than those who had not been active (62 per cent versus 45 per cent).219

Outcome we want:

#17 Ontario youth are engaged in their communities.

How we can tell:


Understand and harnesss the contributions of youth


Photo of young people reading at a table

Many of Ontario's young people have ideas on how they can be better supported to succeed. Research shows that the developmental changes taking place during adolescence enable inventive and innovative thinking.220 We know that nobody is more knowledgeable about the challenges, goals and opportunities for young people than youth themselves. We also know that young people are interested in having a say and making contributions to areas of general concern to society, such as social justice, poverty and environmental sustainability.221 Youth also need to see evidence that their voices and perspectives are not only heard but incorporated into decisions that affect them.

Making the most of young people's contributions involves:

Being receptive to youth ideas: Individuals, communities and organizations should listen and respond thoughtfully to youth ideas, and collaborate with young people wherever possible to make change happen. Creating collaborative opportunities for youth to participate in decision-making in cooperation with adult allies is important to supporting long-term civic engagement and can help improve outcomes.222 This approach will help us build stronger families, better schools, more effective programs, and more integrated communities.

Studies indicate that youth in Canada are looking for more purposeful opportunities for participation. Youth have expressed that they want to be able to influence policy – not only in youth issues but also in areas important to society as a whole.223

Supporting youth-led innovation: Investing in youth-led innovation can have significant benefits for both young people and their communities. Youth-led innovation has been highlighted as an important component of building an innovation-based economy in Ontario.224 Young people have a desire to address social problems, especially those that directly impact them, but also those that affect their communities as a whole. Many young leaders are active in socially innovative projects and enterprises that work to solve long-standing social and environmental challenges through novel, collaborative approaches. Supporting youth-led innovation involves empowering more young people to lead and act as agents of social change in their communities.

Outcome we want:

#18 Ontario youth leverage their assets to address social issues.

How we can tell:


What is Ontario doing to support these outcomes?

The Government of Ontario has a number of initiatives that support civic engagement and youth leadership:

4-H Programs

4-H is a youth development organization with 6,000 members between 10 and 21 years. Members meet with 1,700 volunteers in clubs across Ontario to develop self-confidence, a sense of responsibility, and to learn leadership, problem solving and goal setting skills.

Change The World, the Ontario Youth Volunteer Challenge

The Challenge kicks off annually during National Volunteer Week in April. Its goal is to encourage youth between 14 and 18 years to volunteer in their community and foster a lifelong commitment to volunteerism.

Youth Advocacy Training Institute (YATI)

YATI is a program of the Ontario Lung Association that provides various training programs, interactive games, learning experiences, train-it-yourself guidebooks and multimedia resources to support self-advocacy, education and positive youth development.

Top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Intensifions nos efforts > Le rapport annuel 2014 > Engagement civique et leadership chez les jeunes

Intensifions nos efforts

Engagement civique et leadership chez les jeunes

Intensifions nos efforts : Ontario Federation of Indian Friendship Centres

Photo de deux femmes qui se tiennent debout.

Étude de cas

L’OFIFC (Ontario Federation of Indian Friendship Centres) représente 29 centres d’amitié à travers l’Ontario. L’OFIFC appuie les activités autochtones dirigées par les jeunes qui favorisent l’égalité d’accès et la participation à la société canadienne et qui célèbrent les particularités de la culture autochtone.

L’OFIFC contribue à l’instauration de l’auto-détermination par le renforcement du leadership des jeunes dans un cadre où ils sont responsabilisés. L’OFIFC promeut la participation des jeunes à des conseils d’administration, crée des possibilités d’implication dans les activités civiques et le développement communautaire, et propose des programmes en faveur de l’éducation, du développement économique, de la prise d’initiative des enfants et des jeunes et de la sensibilisation aux cultures.

L’histoire de Lorena Garvey

« Le centre d’amitié est l’endroit où j’ai grandi et où j’ai tout appris au sujet des cérémonies, de la langue et de nos anciens. Il m’a aussi ouvert les yeux sur les nombreux enjeux qui existent au sein de ma communauté autochtone.

Pendant mon adolescence, j’ai cofondé le conseil des jeunes de mon centre d’amitié et j’ai assisté à un grand nombre de forums des jeunes organisés par l’OFIFC. Les forums des jeunes de l’OFIFC sont l’occasion, pour les jeunes Autochtones comme moi, de faire entendre notre voix de façon positive. Nous débattons des problématiques et des préoccupations qui nous touchent, comme le suicide, le financement des programmes ou les dépendances. Nous faisons aussi part de nos succès, comme le taux d’obtention des diplômes, les pratiques en faveur de la mobilisation ou les initiatives de collecte de fonds.

À 19 ans, je me suis portée candidate au poste de représentante régionale au sein de l’Ontario Aboriginal Youth Council (OAYC). J’ai exercé ces fonctions pendant deux ans. Ce rôle de leader m’a permis de prendre confiance et de présenter ma candidature pour siéger au conseil d’administration de l’OFIFC. Aujourd’hui, je travaille à l’OFIFC et auprès des jeunes Autochtones dans les centres d’amitié locaux.

Les membres du conseil et du personnel de l’OAYC sont devenus ma deuxième famille, loin de chez moi. Ils me soutiennent et m’encouragent à poursuivre mes rêves, et ils m’ont convaincue que rien n’est impossible si on y croit vraiment. J’espère être en mesure de faire une différence dans la vie d’un jeune, comme le centre d’amitié l’a fait pour moi quand j’étais plus jeune.

Mon conseil aux jeunes est le suivant : manifestez-vous! Si vous vous manifestez, vous pourrez vous exprimer. Vous pourrez faire des projets. Les gens commenceront à vous faire confiance. D’autres jeunes se manifesteront aussi. Évidemment, il y a des jours où le monde extérieur est plus difficile à aimer. Mais il suffit de trouver ce que l’on aime et de poursuivre dans cette voie. Restez proches de vos amis et de votre famille; ce sont eux qui vous aident à rester humbles, à vous souvenir d’où vous venez... et des objectifs que vous voulez atteindre. » – Lorena Garvey

Engagement civique et leadership chez les jeunes

Résultats prioritaires #16, 17, 18

La jeunesse, chef de file du changement

Les jeunes de l’Ontario ont beaucoup à offrir à leur collectivité. Nous savons que l’on peut obtenir de meilleurs résultats en donnant aux jeunes la possibilité de se faire entendre et de s’impliquer. Il est important de faire en sorte que tous les jeunes de l’Ontario aient accès à des possibilités leur permettant d’acquérir des aptitudes à la vie quotidienne et des compétences de leadership de façon qu’ils puissent s’impliquer, s’exprimer sur les questions qui les préoccupent et prendre part aux décisions qui les touchent.

Importance de l’engagement civique et du leadership pour les jeunes de l’Ontario :

Les jeunes qui participent à la vie civique éprouvent une plus grande estime de soi, obtiennent de meilleures notes, ont tendance à être plus actifs physiquement et à faire preuve d’un dévouement accru envers leur cercle amical et familial et leur collectivité200. Les jeunes mobilisés peuvent aussi jouer un rôle de modèle aux yeux de leurs pairs.

Importance pour l’Ontario :

En permettant aux jeunes de mieux faire entendre leur voix dans le cadre des décisions gouvernementales et politiques, nous renforçons leurs aptitudes tout en leur offrant un tremplin pour prendre les rênes du changement. La participation des jeunes permet d’élargir le débat et de renforcer les décisions en matière de politiques et de programmes civiques.

État des lieux de l’engagement civique et du leadership chez les jeunes de l’Ontario

Les jeunes de l’Ontario sont déjà mobilisés : La proportion des jeunes de l’Ontario qui font du bénévolat est supérieure à celle de tous les autres groupes au Canada. Les jeunes sont davantage représentés parmi les participants aux organismes et activités communautaires, culturels, récréatifs ou scolaires que le reste de la population, et de nombreux jeunes vont au-delà des 40 heures de bénévolat requises pour obtenir le diplôme d’études secondaires.

Parmi les jeunes âgés de 15 à 24 ans, 62 p. 100 ont déclaré avoir fait du bénévolat au cours de l’année précédente et 72 p. 100 ont déclaré avoir fait un don en argent201.

Certains jeunes font moins de bénévolat que les autres : Certains jeunes de l’Ontario rencontrent des obstacles au bénévolat. En 2010, seulement 43 p. 100 des jeunes nouveaux arrivants âgés de 15 à 24 ans faisaient du bénévolat, soit 15 p. 100 de moins que le taux moyen de bénévolat au Canada202.

Les jeunes s’impliquent différemment : Internet et les médias sociaux ont modifié les modes de communication des jeunes. Les formes de mobilisation les plus traditionnelles (inscription à un parti politique, vote aux élections ou participation à une séance de discussion ouverte, par exemple) ne font plus partie des mécanismes privilégiés par les jeunes pour participer à la vie de leur collectivité. Les jeunes Ontariennes et Ontariens peuvent se sentir plus impliqués lorsqu’ils participent directement aux événements communautaires et ont des possibilités d’échanger avec autrui.

Les taux de participation des jeunes électeurs sont inférieurs à ceux des adultes et ont diminué au cours des dernières décennies par rapport à la moyenne historique. Aux quatre dernières élections fédérales, les taux de participation des jeunes électeurs sont toutefois restés relativement stables203.

Les jeunes vivent à l’ère du numérique : Pour les jeunes, l’accès à l’information et l’interaction sociale passent désormais beaucoup par les technologies numériques et les médias sociaux204. Les plateformes en ligne comme les blogues et les wikis peuvent ainsi aider les jeunes qui maîtrisent les nouvelles technologies à prendre position sur les enjeux sociaux, à organiser des activités caritatives et à collecter des fonds au profit d’une cause205. Les technologies numériques offrent aux jeunes des occasions notables de s’impliquer sur des questions d’intérêt mondial à la fois complexes et évolutives, comme le changement climatique ou la défense des droits de la personne.

Aider les jeunes à faire entendre leur voix

Nous savons que la participation active des jeunes au processus décisionnel (par le biais d’une implication politique ou civique, par exemple) est liée à l’obtention de résultats plus favorables dans les domaines de l’éducation, de l’emploi ou de la santé en général, et a également une influence bénéfique sur les compétences sociales et le développement émotionnel206.

Voici quelques axes permettant d’aider les jeunes à faire entendre leur voix :

Informer les jeunes et la population des droits de la jeunesse : Les jeunes ont le droit de faire entendre leur voix pour les décisions qui les touchent. Comme nous le savons, la plupart des jeunes veulent pouvoir s’exprimer et prendre part à la prise de décisions qui leur tiennent à cœur. Le respect des droits des jeunes passe aussi par la compréhension des facteurs individuels et sociaux qui peuvent freiner la participation des jeunes, tels que le manque d’inclusion sociale, les enjeux liés à l’éducation ou à l’emploi, ou encore le fait que certaines possibilités ne soient pas accessibles ou disponibles207.

La Convention des Nations Unies de 1989 relative aux droits de l’enfant stipule que les jeunes ont le droit d’être consultés pour les décisions qui affectent leur vie208.

Donner corps à la voix des jeunes : Plus les jeunes se dotent d’aptitudes, plus il est probable qu’ils participent à la vie de leur collectivité. L’éducation donne aux jeunes les aptitudes cognitives favorisant leur participation active et peut leur inculquer le sens des responsabilités du citoyen. Le sens du devoir civique est l’un des plus puissants stimulants pour inciter les jeunes à voter209, et l’éducation est un facteur absolument déterminant dans la participation électorale des jeunes au Canada. L’Étude électorale canadienne 2000 révèle que le taux de participation de la plus jeune génération était près de 50 points supérieur chez les diplômés de l’université que chez les jeunes ayant quitté l’école sans diplôme d’études secondaires.

Les jeunes ont moins tendance à voter que les adultes, et certains jeunes sont moins enclins à voter que d’autres210. Nous savons que les taux de participation électorale varient chez les jeunes. On relève un plus faible taux de participation chez les jeunes Autochtones, les jeunes issus de groupes ethnoculturels, les jeunes sans emploi ainsi que chez les jeunes handicapés ou ayant des besoins spéciaux211. Les jeunes des régions rurales indiquent également qu’ils rencontrent des obstacles à la participation électorale212.

Donner d’autres possibilités à ceux qui sont moins susceptibles de participer : Nous savons que certains jeunes sont moins susceptibles de faire entendre leur voix en utilisant des méthodes traditionnelles telles que le vote. Les jeunes Autochtones, par exemple, peuvent ne pas se sentir engagés à l’égard des politiques provinciales ou fédérales, mais avoir des idées sur la façon dont les politiques et les programmes peuvent être plus efficaces pour leur communauté et pour eux-mêmes. En créant des mécanismes plus nombreux et plus souples afin que les jeunes puissent s’exprimer, nous pouvons obtenir de meilleurs résultats et veiller à ce que les décisionnaires entendent la voix d’un plus grand nombre de jeunes.

Résultat attendu :

No 16 : Les jeunes de l’Ontario jouent un rôle en faisant entendre leur voix pour les décisions qui les touchent.

Indicateurs de suivi :


Donner aux jeunes la possibilité de s’engager et de diriger


Photo de quatre jeunes qui travaillent autour d’une table.

Les initiatives impliquant la participation et le leadership des jeunes leur offrent une occasion positive et proactive d’acquérir un sentiment d’identité, de renforcer leur confiance et d’étoffer leurs réseaux d’un point de vue social et professionnel. D’après les études, les jeunes qui participent à la vie de leur collectivité s’adonnent moins à des activités à risque (p. ex. consommation d’alcool, tabagisme, consommation de drogues, relations sexuelles non protégées, intimidation et activités criminelles)213. Les problèmes d’ordre émotionnel, ainsi que les problèmes scolaires, sont également moindres en cas d’implication des jeunes.

Voici quelques axes en faveur de la participation des jeunes à la vie de leur collectivité :

Employer des moyens adaptés pour mobiliser les jeunes : Pour être efficaces, les stratégies visant à inciter les jeunes à s’impliquer et à jouer un rôle de leader doivent tenir compte de leur disponibilité et refléter leurs compétences et leurs centres d’intérêt. C’est pourquoi il peut s’avérer judicieux de les solliciter à certaines heures de la journée ou par le biais d’outils qu’ils affectionnent comme les médias sociaux. Les jeunes indiquent qu’ils sont plus enclins à profiter des possibilités de participation qui leur sont offertes dans un environnement propice à l’inclusion sociale, au sein duquel ils peuvent échanger avec des pairs ayant vécu des expériences similaires, et dans lequel ils estiment qu’ils peuvent exprimer leur avis en toute sécurité214.

La recherche suggère qu’il est important de bien choisir le moment où les jeunes sont invités à donner leur point de vue. La plage horaire de 15 h 30 à 18 h 30 est la mieux adaptée pour entrer en contact avec les jeunes215.

Veiller à ce que les jeunes soient informés des possibilités qui existent : Les jeunes sont nettement plus susceptibles de faire du bénévolat si on le leur demande ou si on les y invite216. Les outils de communications qu’affectionnent les jeunes, comme les médias sociaux, peuvent contribuer à les informer de l’existence de possibilités de bénévolat. De l’avis des jeunes, pour renforcer leur implication avec efficacité, il convient de les tenir informés et de leur donner la possibilité de s’exprimer et de donner une rétroaction217.

Inculquer des valeurs participatives : Nous pouvons cultiver le sens civique des jeunes en les aidant à comprendre leurs points forts et les différentes façons d’apporter leur contribution. Les jeunes qui participent à la vie civique et qui ont pris l’habitude de faire du bénévolat sont nettement plus susceptibles d’apporter leur contribution à la collectivité à l’âge adulte. La recherche montre que la participation d’un jeune à certaines initiatives (p. ex. un conseil des jeunes, un projet de service communautaire ou une conférence) l’aide à bâtir un sens civique tout en améliorant ses connaissances à propos des processus civiques et gouvernementaux218.

Les jeunes qui ont participé activement au sein d’organismes de gestion étudiante font davantage de bénévolat que ceux n’y ayant pas pris une part active (62 p. 100 contre 45 p. 100)219.

Résultat attendu :

No 17 : Les jeunes de l’Ontario participent à la vie de leur collectivité.

Indicateurs de suivi :


Comprendre les contributions des jeunes et les mettre à profit


Photo de jeunes qui lisent, assis à une table.

Bon nombre de jeunes de l’Ontario ont des idées quant à la façon de mieux les soutenir pour favoriser leur réussite. La recherche démontre que les changements intervenant à l’adolescence permettent aux jeunes d’avoir des raisonnements inventifs et novateurs220. Nous sommes conscients que personne ne connaît mieux que les jeunes eux-mêmes les enjeux, les objectifs et les possibilités qui concernent la jeunesse. Nous savons aussi que les jeunes souhaitent avoir leur mot à dire sur les questions d’intérêt général comme la justice sociale, la pauvreté et le développement durable, et qu’ils souhaitent faire des contributions en ce sens221. Les jeunes ont aussi besoin de pouvoir constater que leur voix et leurs opinions sont non seulement entendues, mais aussi intégrées aux décisions qui les concernent.

Voici quelques axes permettant de tirer le meilleur parti des contributions des jeunes :

Se montrer réceptifs aux idées formulées par les jeunes : Les individus, les collectivités et les organismes devraient écouter attentivement les idées formulées par les jeunes et y apporter une vraie réponse, et doivent instaurer une collaboration avec les jeunes le plus souvent possible pour faire avancer les choses. Il est important de créer des possibilités de collaboration pour que les jeunes puissent participer à la prise de décision avec des adultes alliés, car cela permet d’appuyer leur engagement civique à long terme et peut se traduire par des résultats plus favorables222. Cette démarche nous aidera à bâtir des familles plus fortes, de meilleures écoles, des programmes plus efficaces et des collectivités plus intégrées.

Les études indiquent que les jeunes du Canada sont demandeurs d’occasions plus constructives de participer. Les jeunes ont fait savoir qu’ils souhaitent avoir la possibilité d’influer sur les politiques, non seulement dans le cadre des questions touchant la jeunesse, mais aussi sur des thèmes importants à l’échelle de la société223.

Soutenir l’innovation dirigée par les jeunes : Les investissements misant sur l’innovation dirigée par les jeunes peuvent avoir d’importants bénéfices pour les jeunes comme pour leur collectivité. L’innovation dirigée par les jeunes apparaît comme un aspect important en ce qui touche l’édification d’une économie ontarienne fondée sur l’innovation224. Les jeunes sont désireux de se pencher sur les problèmes d’ordre social, en particulier sur ceux qui ont un impact direct sur leur vie, mais aussi sur ceux qui affectent leur collectivité dans son ensemble. De nombreux jeunes leaders participent activement à des entreprises et à des projets socialement innovants qui s’emploient à résoudre des problématiques sociales et environnementales en privilégiant des approches inédites et collaboratives. Soutenir l’innovation dirigée par les jeunes implique de donner à un plus grand nombre de jeunes les moyens de devenir des chefs de file et de devenir des acteurs du changement social dans leur collectivité.

Résultat attendu :

No 18 : Les jeunes de l’Ontario tirent parti de leurs points forts pour faire face aux enjeux sociaux.

Indicateurs de suivi :


Que fait l’Ontario pour concrétiser ces résultats?

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario mène diverses initiatives en faveur de l’engagement civique et du leadership chez les jeunes :

Programmes de 4-H

4-H est un organisme de développement des jeunes qui compte 6 000 membres âgés de 10 à 21 ans. Aux côtés de plus de 1 700 bénévoles, ils se réunissent dans des clubs de tout l’Ontario pour développer leur confiance en soi et leur sens des responsabilités, ainsi que pour acquérir des compétences en leadership, en résolution de problèmes et en établissement d’objectifs.

Change le monde, le défi des jeunes bénévoles de l'Ontario

Le défi donne le coup d’envoi chaque année à la Semaine de l’action bénévole en avril. L’événement a pour but d’encourager les jeunes de 14 à 18 ans à faire du bénévolat dans leur collectivité et pour qu’ils continuent à s’engager à la cause du bénévolat tout au long de leur vie.

Institut de formation de jeunes porte-parole (YATI)

Le programme YATI a été créé sous l’égide de l’Association pulmonaire de l’Ontario. Il propose des programmes de formation, des jeux interactifs, des expériences d’apprentissage, des guides didactiques et des ressources multimédias sur des thèmes variés en vue de soutenir l’autonomie sociale, l’éducation et le développement positif de la jeunesse.

Haut