You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Stepping Up > 2014 Annual Report > A Sustained Commitment

Stepping Up banner – feet climbing stairs.

A Sustained Commitment to Supporting Ontario's Youth

Building on the framework components, Stepping Up also includes a renewed commitment from the Government of Ontario to supporting the wellbeing of Ontario's youth.

Ontario's Profile of Youth Wellbeing

In addition to establishing a common vision and principles and articulating our priorities for youth, the Government of Ontario is making a commitment to provide a picture of how Ontario's youth are doing.

For each of the 20 outcomes discussed in Stepping Up, one or more indicators have been selected to assess the experiences of youth. These indicators are presented at the end of each outcome section. As a whole, the indicators presented in Stepping Up provide a strong basis for us to understand how youth are doing in Ontario and to monitor changes in their experiences over time. The indicators presented throughout Stepping Up have been selected based on available data about youth in Ontario. In some places, you may find that the indicators do not perfectly measure all aspects of each outcome – this is due to limitations in the availability of research and data. As new data becomes available, we will continue to enhance the indicators used in Stepping Up to be sure we can tell the most complete possible story about how youth are doing.

Collectively, the outcomes and indicators presented in Stepping Up have been compiled together to form the Profile of Youth Wellbeing (see cross-cutting actions) which will be used as a resource to describe and monitor the overall state of youth wellbeing in the province over time. This profile provides a platform for ongoing, evidence-based dialogue about changes related to these priorities and outcomes. As a part of the Profile of Youth Wellbeing, the Government of Ontario is committing to present an annual update on the wellbeing of youth in conjunction with future Poverty Reduction Strategy Annual Reports. Although the profile does not describe the experiences of individual youth, it provides the questions that we can ask young people about how they are faring. Through ongoing annual reports on youth wellbeing, the Province will consider the different experiences that specific groups of young people may be facing.

Cross-Cutting Actions

In order to support progress toward our desired outcomes for youth, the Government of Ontario is committing to a number of cross-cutting actions. These actions focus on setting the conditions for success and maximizing the efforts of all those who are working to support youth. We want to do a better job of identifying needs, monitoring progress, enabling innovation and supporting effective practices. We recognize that there are a number of areas where changes are required across sectors in order to facilitate progress. In order to establish these foundations for success, we are committed to:

  1. Provide sustained, positive-oriented leadership
  2. Focus on the needs of marginalized youth
  3. Support collaboration, local planning and partnership
  4. Increase youth voice in design and delivery of services
  5. Increase capacity to better serve diverse and marginalized youth
  6. Support research and evaluation
  7. Provide updates and information on the wellbeing of Ontario's youth

For more information on these cross-cutting actions, see PART 4.

Each of the following theme sections in Stepping Up includes:

  • An explanation of why the theme is important to youth and to Ontario
  • A snapshot of what is happening in the lives of young Ontarians
  • A description of the government's priorities, based on evidence about what youth need to succeed
  • An outcome associated with each priority, together with indicators that will be tracked within the Profile of Youth Wellbeing to assess that outcome
  • An overview of provincial initiatives and steps being taken to support youth in achieving these outcomes
Top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Intensifions nos efforts > Le rapport annuel 2014 > Un engagement durable

Intensifions nos efforts

Un engagement durable pour épauler la jeunesse de l’Ontario

À partir de ses éléments constitutifs, Intensifions nos efforts consolide l’engagement pris par le gouvernement de l’Ontario, à savoir appuyer le bien-être des jeunes de la province.

Profil du bien-être des jeunes de l’Ontario

En plus d’établir une vision et des principes communs et d’énoncer ses priorités pour la jeunesse, le gouvernement de l’Ontario s’engage à brosser un tableau faisant état des résultats obtenus par ses jeunes.

Pour chacun des 20 résultats évoqués dans Intensifions nos efforts, un ou plusieurs indicateurs ont été retenus en vue d’évaluer les expériences vécues par les jeunes. Ces indicateurs sont présentés à la fin de chacune des sections portant sur les résultats. Pris dans leur ensemble, les indicateurs présentés dans Intensifions nos efforts forment un socle solide pour nous aider à comprendre le niveau de bien-être des jeunes de l’Ontario et pour faire un suivi des changements qui interviennent dans leurs expériences au fil du temps. Dans certains cas, il est possible que les indicateurs ne rendent pas parfaitement compte de toutes les facettes de chaque résultat – cela s’explique par des limites quant à la disponibilité des recherches et des données. À mesure que de nouvelles données deviendront disponibles, nous mettrons à jour les indicateurs utilisés dans Intensifions nos efforts pour veiller à illustrer la façon dont se porte la jeunesse de la façon la plus complète possible.

Les résultats et les indicateurs présentés dans Intensifions nos efforts ont été compilés au sein du Profil du bien-être des jeunes de l’Ontario (Actions transversales), ressource qui servira à décrire et à surveiller le niveau général de bien-être des jeunes de la province au fil du temps. Ce profil offre une base permettant d’amorcer un dialogue continu et fondé sur les données probantes qui portera sur les changements concernant ces priorités et résultats. Dans le cadre du Profil du bien-être des jeunes, le gouvernement de l’Ontario s’engage à présenter une mise à jour annuelle sur le bien-être des jeunes parallèlement aux futurs rapports annuels sur la Stratégie de réduction de la pauvreté. Même si ce profil ne décrit pas l’expérience de chaque jeune individuellement, il propose des questions que l’on peut poser aux jeunes pour savoir comment ils s’en sortent. Dans ses rapports annuels sur le bien-être des jeunes, la province prendra en considération les différentes expériences que sont susceptibles de vivre différents groupes spécifiques de jeunes.

Actions transversales

Afin de favoriser sa progression vers les résultats souhaités pour les jeunes, le gouvernement de l’Ontario s’engage à mener un certain nombre d’actions transversales. Ces mesures visent à mettre en place les conditions propices à la réussite tout en tirant le meilleur parti des efforts déployés par tous ceux qui travaillent pour épauler les jeunes. Nous voulons accomplir un travail plus efficace à plusieurs égards : identification des besoins, suivi des progrès, encouragement de l’innovation et soutien des pratiques efficaces. Nous sommes conscients que la progression passe nécessairement par des changements intersectoriels dans plusieurs domaines. Afin de poser les bases du succès, nous nous engageons à :

Veuillez vous reporter à le partie 4 pour en savoir plus sur ces actions transversales.

Chacune des sections thématiques d’Intensifions nos efforts se compose des éléments suivants :

  • Une explication de l’importance du thème pour les jeunes et pour l’Ontario
  • Un « état des lieux » exposant ce qui se passe dans la vie des jeunes de l’Ontario
  • Une description des priorités du gouvernement, sur la base de données probantes relatives aux facteurs de réussite chez les jeunes
  • Le résultat attendu pour chaque priorité et les indicateurs de suivi au sein du Profil du bien-être des jeunes qui permettront d’évaluer la concrétisation des objectifs
  • Un tour d’horizon des initiatives et mesures provinciales visant à aider les jeunes à atteindre ces résultats.
Haut