You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Stepping Up > 2014 Annual Report > Stepping Up: Framework Components

Stepping Up banner – feet climbing stairs.

Stepping Up: Framework Components

Stepping Up is a strategic framework that outlines a common vision, guiding principles, themes and priority outcomes that have been developed to guide work in support of Ontario youth.

Common Vision

Stepping Up presents a strengthened, sustained commitment from the provincial government to support the success of all Ontario youth. Our vision is that:

Together, we will support all young people to become healthy, safe, hopeful, engaged, educated and contributing members of their communities and our province.

In order to achieve this vision, Stepping Up was developed to provide a platform so all those who are involved in supporting youth can come together through a common, overall approach. Although our specific individual contributions to supporting youth development may vary, we all have a role to play in ensuring that young Ontarians have the opportunities and skills they need to thrive.

Stepping Up reflects a holistic and ecological view of youth that considers the role individuals, communities, society and different systems and sectors play in youth wellbeing. It captures the many dimensions of youth development. In this way, Stepping Up is a first-of-its-kind framework for Ontario.

Guiding Principles


Photo of boy talking on cell phone

With this in mind, the following seven aspirational principles – grounded in positive youth development – were selected to guide the development of Stepping Up. Through consultation across government, and with young people and youth service providers, these principles have been proposed in order to provide a shared approach for our ongoing work together to improve youth outcomes.

They will influence the ways in which the Government of Ontario develops policies, designs programs and uses data relating to youth.

  1. A Positive, Asset-Based View of Youth: The social, emotional, physical and cognitive competencies, along with the individual "self" or "spirit" that young people develop during the stages of adolescence and early adulthood prepare them for future wellbeing. We need to nurture these assets to ensure our collective success in the future.
  2. Targeted Support for Those Who Need It: As a priority, we will focus on youth who need help and support to overcome the barriers and challenges to reaching their potential including: Aboriginal youth, youth in and leaving care, youth with disabilities or special needs, racialized youth, newcomer youth, LGBTTQ youth, francophone youth, youth living in rural and remote communities, youth from low-income families and youth in conflict with the law.
  3. Collaboration and Partnership: Strong commitment, accountability and leadership from all youth allies are required to successfully support young people in Ontario. A key aspect of this will be working to break down barriers and strengthen connections between service providers, foundations, community groups, governments, young leaders and families at all levels.
  4. Photo of four youth playing musical instruments
  5. Meaningful Youth Engagement and Leadership: Young people have valuable perspectives and can offer keen insight into issues that they face. They can also lead other youth and help them succeed. We will work collaboratively with youth and seek their input to better support them and empower them to lead.
  6. Diversity: We know that adolescence is a period when young people develop their personal and social-group identities. We need to respect and foster the diversity of Ontario's youth. We can do this by ensuring the way we provide services is barrier-free, inclusive, and culturally responsive. This includes working with organizations that support diverse communities.
  7. Evidence-Informed Choices: We will use and create evidence through research, evaluation and information from front-line workers that will improve the ways we support youth.
  8. Transparency: With an open mind, we will listen to, and gather input from all stakeholders including youth, parents, different levels of government, communities, agencies and religious groups. We will consult our partners on what we are doing to help Ontario's youth achieve their highest potential, and explain why we are doing it.

Themes and Priority Outcomes

Graphic of a representation of the theme areas of Stepping Up. These themes are based on an ecological model of development and a person-centred approach that is also consistent with Aboriginal ways of knowing. The young person is at the centre of the circle – including their spirit / self as described in the graphic of Stepping Stones. Important early interactions for youth include the smaller circles (their personal health and development, their family and friends). As they age, they grow to become members of the broader community (through education and employment, engagement and participation).

A holistic view of youth: Figure 2 provides a representation of the theme areas of Stepping Up. These themes are based on an ecological model of development and a person-centred approach that is also consistent with Aboriginal ways of knowing. The young person is at the centre of the circle – including their spirit / self as described on page 7. Important early interactions for youth include the smaller circles (their personal health and development, their family and friends). As they age, they grow to become members of the broader community (through education and employment, engagement and participation).

Under the guidance of these principles, and based on what research, youth and their allies say matters, Stepping Up is identifying 20 outcomes that are important for the positive development of Ontario's youth (see Stepping Up: A Strategic Framework to Help Ontario's Youth Succeed below). These outcomes articulate what we need to achieve our vision and support youth to succeed.

The selection of these outcomes was based on evidence and represents our key priorities for young people.

The Ontario government is committed to focusing on achieving progress toward these outcomes as our priorities for youth. These outcomes will inform policy design and program development across Ontario ministries and through provincial agencies. It is our hope that all those who play a role in supporting youth will use them too.

To help readers navigate the story and rationale behind each outcome, we have organized the narrative across seven themes (Figure 2). These themes reflect key domains of experiences that support positive youth development.

It is important to recognize that individual characteristics and conditions – such as a young person's cultural background or the neighbourhood they live in – can impact their experience across all of these outcomes. Every young person in Ontario faces unique challenges and considerations as they negotiate their environments. Throughout Stepping Up, specific challenges and considerations for different groups of youth will be identified and discussed. These themes and the outcomes are interrelated and interdependent.


Stepping Up: A Strategic Framework to Help Ontario's Youth Succeed

Common Vision

Together, we will support all young people to become healthy, safe, hopeful, engaged, educated and contributing members of their communities and our province.

Guiding Principles


Evidence-Informed Outcomes

Health & Wellness

Priority Outcomes: 

  1. Ontario youth are physically healthy
  2. Ontario youth feel mentally well
  3. Ontario youth make choices that support healthy and safe development

Strong, Supportive Friends & Families

Priority Outcomes:

  1. Ontario youth have families and guardians equipped to help them thrive
  2. Ontario youth have at least one consistent, caring adult in their lives
  3. Ontario youth form and maintain healthy, close relationships

Education, Training & Apprenticeships

Priority Outcomes:

  1. Ontario youth achieve academic success
  2. Ontario youth have educational experiences that respond to their needs and prepare them to lead
  3. Ontario youth access diverse training and apprenticeship opportunities

Employment & Entrepreneurship

Priority Outcomes:

  1. Ontario youth have opportunities for meaningful employment experiences
  2. Ontario youth have the skills and resources needed to develop a successful career or business
  3. Ontario youth are safe and supported at work

Diversity, Social Inclusion & Safety

Priority Outcomes:

  1. Ontario youth experience social inclusion and value diversity
  2. Ontario youth feel safe at home, at school, online and in their communities
  3. Ontario youth respect, and are respected by, the law and justice system

Civic Engagement & Youth Leadership

Priority Outcomes:

  1. Ontario youth play a role in informing the decisions that affect them
  2. Ontario youth are engaged in their communities
  3. Ontario youth leverage their assets to address social issues

Coordinated & Youth Friendly Communities

Priority Outcomes:

  1. Ontario youth have access to safe spaces that provide quality opportunities for play and recreation
  2. Ontario youth know about and easily navigate resources in their communities

A Sustained Commitment to Supporting Ontario's Youth

Top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Intensifions nos efforts > Le rapport annuel 2014 > Intensifions nos efforts : Éléments du cadre stratégique

Intensifions nos efforts

Intensifions nos efforts : Éléments du cadre stratégique

Intensifions nos efforts est un cadre stratégique qui fait ressortir une vision commune, des principes directeurs ainsi que des thèmes et des résultats prioritaires qui ont été élaborés pour orienter le travail effectué pour appuyer la jeunesse de l’Ontario.

Vision commune :

Intensifions nos efforts présente l’engagement renforcé et à long terme du gouvernement provincial en faveur du succès de tous les jeunes de l’Ontario. Il s’articule autour de la vision suivante :

Ensemble, nous aiderons tous les jeunes à être en bonne santé, à se sentir en sécurité, à avoir foi en l’avenir, à s’impliquer, à s’instruire et à devenir des membres à part entière de leur collectivité et de notre province.

Afin de concrétiser cette vision, nous avons conçu Intensifions nos efforts de façon à offrir une tribune permettant à toutes les parties impliquées dans le soutien des jeunes à se rassembler en vertu d’une démarche globale commune. Même si nos contributions individuelles spécifiques en faveur du développement des jeunes peuvent varier, nous avons tous un rôle à jouer pour faire en sorte que les jeunes de l’Ontario disposent des possibilités et des compétences dont ils ont besoin pour s’épanouir.

Intensifions nos efforts se veut le reflet d’une vision holistique et écologique de la jeunesse qui tient compte du rôle joué par les personnes, les collectivités, la société et différents systèmes et secteurs dans le bien-être des jeunes. Ce document dépeint les nombreuses dimensions du développement des jeunes. Sur ce plan, Intensifions nos efforts est le premier cadre stratégique du genre élaboré pour l’Ontario.

Principes directeurs


Photo d’un garçon qui parle dans un téléphone cellulaire.

Dans cette optique, les sept principes directeurs d’ordre incitatif suivants – fondés sur le concept de développement positif des jeunes – servent de fil conducteur à Intensifions nos efforts à l’échelle du gouvernement et auprès des jeunes et de leurs fournisseurs de services. Ils proposent une approche conjointe servant de socle à notre collaboration continue destinée à améliorer les résultats pour les jeunes.

Ces principes directeurs influenceront les méthodes à partir desquelles le gouvernement de l’Ontario élabore des politiques, conçoit des programmes et exploite les données concernant la jeunesse.

  1. Vision positive des jeunes, axée sur leurs points forts : Les compétences sociales, émotionnelles, physiques et cognitives que les jeunes acquièrent au fil du temps, de l’adolescence jusqu’au début de l’âge adulte, préparent le terrain de leur bien-être futur, de même que leur « esprit » ou « individualité ». Nous devons cultiver ces atouts pour garantir notre réussite collective à l’avenir.
  2. Soutien ciblé pour ceux qui en ont besoin : Nous allons nous concentrer en priorité sur les jeunes qui ont besoin d’aide pour surmonter les obstacles et relever les défis qui les empêchent de réaliser leur plein potentiel, et notamment sur les jeunes Autochtones, les jeunes pris en charge ou qui quittent la prise en charge, les jeunes handicapés ou ayant des besoins particuliers, les jeunes racialisés, les jeunes nouveaux arrivants, les jeunes LGBTBQ, les jeunes francophones, les jeunes vivant dans des collectivités rurales et éloignées, les jeunes issus de familles à faible revenu et les jeunes ayant des démêlés avec la justice.
  3. Collaboration et partenariat : Tous les alliés des jeunes doivent faire preuve d’une ferme détermination, de responsabilité et de leadership pour contribuer à façonner l’avenir de la jeunesse en Ontario. L’un des objectifs majeurs de cette démarche consistera à lever les obstacles et à renforcer les liens à tous les échelons : entre les fournisseurs de services, les fondations, les groupes communautaires, les gouvernements, les jeunes leaders et les familles.
  4. Engagement judicieux et leadership constructif des jeunes : Les jeunes ont des points de vue intéressants à faire valoir et peuvent offrir une analyse perspicace des problématiques qui les concernent. Ils peuvent également montrer la voie à d’autres jeunes et les aider à réussir. Nous œuvrerons en collaboration avec les jeunes et nous leur demanderons leur avis, dans le double objectif de mieux les soutenir et de leur donner les moyens de devenir des leaders.
  5. Photo de quatre jeunes qui utilisent des instruments de musique.
  6. Diversité : Nous savons que c’est au cours de l’adolescence que les jeunes acquièrent un sentiment d’identité personnelle et forgent leur appartenance à un groupe social. Nous devons respecter et encourager la diversité des jeunes de l’Ontario. Pour ce faire, nous devons prévoir un modèle de prestation de services sans entrave, inclusif et tenant compte des différences culturelles. Cela inclut la collaboration avec des organismes qui appuient des communautés diverses.
  7. Choix fondés sur des données probantes : Nous créerons et exploiterons des données probantes par le biais d’études, d’évaluations et de données recueillies auprès de travailleurs de première ligne pour améliorer nos mécanismes de soutien en faveur de la jeunesse.
  8. Transparence : Nous ferons preuve d’ouverture d’esprit et tiendrons compte de l’avis de toutes les parties prenantes — y compris des jeunes, des parents, des différents ordres de gouvernement, des organismes et des groupes religieux. Nous consulterons nos partenaires à propos des actions mises en œuvre pour aider les jeunes de l’Ontario à réaliser leur plein potentiel et nous expliquerons nos motivations.

Thèmes et résultats prioritaires

La Figure 2 (Vision holistique de la jeunesse) représente les 
différents thèmes du cadre Intensifions nos efforts. Ces thématiques s’inspirent d’un 
modèle de développement écologique et d’une approche axée sur 
la personne qui est également compatible avec les voies autochtones 
de la connaissance. Le jeune est au centre du cercle (cela inclut son 
esprit/son soi comme décrit à la page 6). Les premières interactions primordiales pour les jeunes 
font intervenir les cercles au diamètre le plus étroit (leur santé 
et leur développement personnel, leur famille et leurs amis). Au fil 
de leur croissance, ils deviennent des membres de la collectivité au 
sens large (par le biais de l’éducation et de l’emploi, de l’implication 
et de la participation).

La Figure 2 (Vision holistique de la jeunesse) représente les différents thèmes du cadre Intensifions nos efforts. Ces thématiques s’inspirent d’un modèle de développement écologique et d’une approche axée sur la personne qui est également compatible avec les voies autochtones de la connaissance. Le jeune est au centre du cercle (cela inclut son esprit/son soi comme décrit à la page 6). Les premières interactions primordiales pour les jeunes font intervenir les cercles au diamètre le plus étroit (leur santé et leur développement personnel, leur famille et leurs amis). Au fil de leur croissance, ils deviennent des membres de la collectivité au sens large (par le biais de l’éducation et de l’emploi, de l’implication et de la participation).

À la lumière de ces principes, et en s’appuyant sur les contributions des chercheurs, des jeunes et de leurs alliés quant aux aspects qui comptent, Intensifions nos efforts met en évidence 20 résultats qui sont importants pour le développement positif des jeunes de l’Ontario (voir Intensifions nos efforts : Cadre stratégique en faveur de la réussite des jeunes de l’Ontario). Ces résultats énoncent ce dont nous avons besoin pour concrétiser notre vision et soutenir les jeunes pour qu’ils réussissent.

La sélection de ces résultats s’est fondée sur des données probantes et illustre nos priorités essentielles pour la jeunesse.

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario s’engage à s’employer à faire de ces objectifs nos priorités pour les jeunes. Ces résultats appuieront la conception des politiques et l’élaboration des programmes à l’échelle des ministères de l’Ontario et par le biais des organismes provinciaux. Nous espérons que toutes les personnes qui fournissent de l’aide aux jeunes utiliseront également ces résultats.

Pour aider les lecteurs à comprendre les tenants et les aboutissants de chaque résultat, nous avons organisé la présentation autour de sept thèmes (Figure 2) qui reflètent les principaux domaines d’expérience propices au développement positif des jeunes.

Il est important de reconnaître que les caractéristiques et les situations personnelles (comme l’environnement culturel d’un jeune, ou le quartier dans lequel il vit) peuvent influencer son expérience pour chacun des résultats identifiés. Chaque jeune de l’Ontario fait face à des enjeux et à des facteurs uniques à mesure qu’il s’approprie son environnement. Tout au long du cadre Intensifions nos efforts, nous mettrons en avant les différents enjeux et facteurs propres à chaque groupe de jeunes. Ces thèmes et les résultats sont interreliés et interdépendants.


Intensifions nos efforts : Cadre stratégique en faveur de la réussite des jeunes de l’Ontario

Vision commune

Ensemble, nous aiderons tous les jeunes à être en bonne santé, à se sentir en sécurité, à avoir foi en l’avenir, à s’impliquer, à s’instruire et à devenir des membres à part entière de leur collectivité et de notre province.

Principes directeurs


20 résultats en faveur du bien-être des jeunes

Thème : Santé et bien-être

Résultats prioritaires pour les jeunes :

  1. Les jeunes de l’Ontario sont en bonne forme physique.
  2. Les jeunes de l’Ontario se sentent en bonne santé mentale.
  3. Les jeunes de l’Ontario font des choix propices à un développement sain et sécuritaire.

Cercle familial et amical solide et solidaire

Résultats prioritaires pour les jeunes :

  1. Les familles et les personnes responsables des jeunes de l’Ontario disposent de moyens pour aider ces jeunes à s’épanouir.
  2. Les jeunes de l’Ontario ont dans leur vie au moins une personne attentionnée et stable.
  3. Les jeunes de l’Ontario établissent et entretiennent des relations saines et étroites.

Education, formation et apprentissage

Résultats prioritaires pour les jeunes :

  1. Les jeunes de l’Ontario ont un bon rendement scolaire.
  2. Les jeunes de l’Ontario suivent un parcours éducatif qui répond à leurs besoins et les prépare à devenir des leaders.
  3. Les jeunes de l’Ontario ont accès à un vaste éventail de possibilités en matière de formation et d’apprentissage.

Emploi et entrepreneuriat

Résultats prioritaires pour les jeunes :

  1. Les jeunes de l’Ontario ont la possibilité de vivre des expériences professionnelles constructives.
  2. Les jeunes de l’Ontario disposent des compétences et des ressources nécessaires à la construction d’une carrière ou au développement d’une entreprise.
  3. Les jeunes de l’Ontario sont soutenus et en sécurité au travail.

Diversité, inclusion sociale et sécurité

Résultats prioritaires pour les jeunes :

  1. Les jeunes de l’Ontario savent ce qu’est l’inclusion sociale et valorisent la diversité.
  2. Les jeunes de l’Ontario se sentent en sécurité chez eux, à l’école, en ligne et au sein de leur collectivité.
  3. Les jeunes de l’Ontario respectent, et sont respectés par, le système de droit et de justice.

Engagement civique et leadership chez les jeunes

Résultats prioritaires pour les jeunes :

  1. Les jeunes de l’Ontario jouent un rôle en faisant entendre leur voix pour les décisions qui les touchent.
  2. Les jeunes de l’Ontario participent à la vie de leur collectivité.
  3. Les jeunes de l’Ontario tirent parti de leurs points forts pour faire face aux enjeux sociaux

Collectivités coordonnées et adaptées aux jeunes

Résultats prioritaires pour les jeunes :

  1. Les jeunes de l’Ontario ont accès à des espaces sécuritaires qui leur offrent des possibilités intéressantes en matière de divertissement et de loisirs.
  2. Les jeunes de l’Ontario connaissent les ressources mises à leur disposition dans leur collectivité et comprennent facilement comment y avoir accès.

Un engagement durable pour épauler la jeunesse de l’Ontario

Haut