You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Stepping Up > 2015 Annual Report > Coordinated and Youth-Friendly Communities

Coordinated & Youth-Friendly Communities

Photo of seven youth posing for photo.

Young people are better able to achieve their full potential when individuals, organizations and communities work together to support them. Ontario must create youth-friendly communities and spaces that are accessible and inclusive, and that make the needs of young people a priority. Doing so will make youth feel more supported, connected, engaged, valued and safe.

Outcomes #19, 20

Ontario wants youth to:

This year, Ontario encouraged youth-friendly communities by enhancing the coordination among services and promoting community collaboration. Its programs and policies have made progress in the following areas:

New in 2014–2015

Supporting Youth through Friendly, Inclusive Communities

Ontario focused on strengthening the youth sector to enable more organizations to support positive youth development, collaborate and provide timely, relevant and responsive services to improve outcomes for youth.

Data from the 2015 Profile

  • 62% of parents feel recreation opportunities in their community meet their child’s needs.
  • 75.7% of youth feel there are good places in their community to spend their free time.

New in 2014–2015

Improving Information and Coordination of Ontario’s Youth Services

Ontario improved the coordination of youth services and reduced wait-lists to help ensure services for youth are accessible and impactful.

What the Data Says

Data from the 2015 Profile

  • 78% of students use social media to find information about news, health issues, or relationships.
  • 10% of callers to 211 looking for community referrals are young people.

Case Study

The SPOT (Sudbury)

The SPOT (Supporting Potential Overtime with Teens) is a multi-functional hub serving youth in the Donovan, Flour Mill and downtown areas of Greater Sudbury. It is a safe space for teens and a central location for community partners to deliver services. The SPOT provides services to teens aged 13 to 17 that promote healthy living, arts and culture; strengthen participants’ resilience; and improve quality of life. The program is free and accessible to youth five days a week. By partnering with over 15 community providers, The SPOT has offered over 70 free activities, outings, services and workshops.

"Youth describe The SPOT as one big family. Many of them feel unaccepted by other traditional social institutions, such as family or school. The SPOT represents a safe place to be truly themselves." —Natasha Lidkea, Outreach Worker, The SPOT

Program participants enjoy a nutritious evening snack with their friends at The SPOT.

Program participants enjoy a nutritious evening snack with their friends at The SPOT.

Top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Intensifions nos efforts > Le rapport annuel 2015 > Collectivités coordonnées et adaptées aux jeunes

Collectivités coordonnées et adaptées aux jeunes

Photo of seven youth posing for photo.

Les jeunes sont plus aptes à réaliser leur plein potentiel lorsqu’ils reçoivent un soutien conjoint de la part des adultes, des organismes et des collectivités. L’Ontario doit créer des collectivités adaptées et des espaces accessibles, inclusifs et centrés sur les besoins des jeunes, afin qu’ils se sentent davantage soutenus, connectés, impliqués, valorisés et en sécurité.

Résultats #19, 20

L’Ontario veut que les jeunes :

Cette année, l’Ontario a encouragé les collectivités à s’adapter aux jeunes en améliorant la coordination des services et en renforçant la collaboration communautaire. Les programmes et politiques de la province ont permis de réaliser des progrès dans les domaines suivants :

Nouveauté en 2014-2015

Soutenir les jeunes par le biais de collectivités conviviales et inclusives

L’Ontario s’est employé en priorité à renforcer le secteur de la jeunesse pour permettre à un plus grand nombre d’organismes de favoriser le développement positif des jeunes, d’oeuvrer en collaboration et de fournir en temps opportun des services pertinents et adaptés qui améliorent les résultats des jeunes.

Données du profil 2015

  • 62 p. 100 des parents estiment que les possibilités offertes par leur collectivité en matière de loisirs répondent aux besoins de leurs enfants.
  • 75,7 p. 100 des jeunes estiment qu’il existe dans leur collectivité des endroits où passer utilement son temps libre.

Nouveauté en 2014-2015

Amélioration de l’information et de la coordination des services à la jeunesse de l’Ontario

L’Ontario a amélioré la coordination des services à la jeunesse et réduit les listes d’attente pour contribuer à garantir l’accessibilité et l’efficacité des services à la jeunesse.

Faits et chiffres

Données du profil 2015

  • 78 p. 100 des élèves utilisent les médias sociaux pour se renseigner sur divers sujets : actualité, santé, relations.
  • 10 p. 100 des personnes qui appellent le 211 pour obtenir des renvois vers des services communautaires sont des jeunes.

Étude de cas

Le SPOT (Sudbury)

Le SPOT (Supporting Potential Overtime with Teens) est un carrefour multifonctionnel au service des jeunes dans les quartiers de Donovan, de Flour Mill et du centre-ville du grand Sudbury. Il s’agit à la fois d’un espace sécuritaire pour les adolescents et d’un lieu central permettant aux partenaires communautaires d’offrir des services. Le SPOT fournit aux adolescents âgés de 13 à 17 ans des services qui promeuvent un mode de vie sain, les arts et la culture, qui renforcent la résilience des participants et qui améliorent leur qualité de vie. Le programme est gratuit et accessible aux jeunes cinq jours par semaine. En partenariat avec plus de 15 fournisseurs de services communautaires, le SPOT offre gratuitement plus de 70 activités, sorties, services et ateliers.

« Les jeunes décrivent le SPOT comme une grande famille. Beaucoup d’entre eux se sentent rejetés par d’autres institutions sociales traditionnelles, comme la famille ou l’école. Le SPOT est un endroit où ils peuvent se sentir en sécurité et être vraiment eux-mêmes. » —Natasha Lidkea, intervenante au SPOT

Des participants au programme savourent une collation nutritive avec leurs amis au SPOT.

Des participants au programme savourent une collation nutritive avec leurs amis au SPOT.

Haut