You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Stepping Up > 2015 Annual Report > Diversity, Social Inclusion and Safety

Diversity, Social Inclusion & Safety

Photo of two female youth, one in wheelchair.

Ontario has a vibrant mix of young people with diverse strengths, needs, abilities, perspectives and experiences. To realize the potential of this diversity, the government works to ensure that Ontario is a safe, inclusive and accepting place where all our young people can thrive. When young Ontarians are safe and supported at home, school, work, online and in their communities, they can move into adulthood more successfully and can better support inclusion and diversity in their communities.

Outcomes #13, 14, 15

Ontario wants youth to:

This year, Ontario encouraged diversity, social inclusion and safety among young people by improving access to services, targeting supports and continuing to deliver on existing commitments. Its programs and policies have made progress in the following areas:

New in 2014–2015

Promoting Diversity and the Social Inclusion of Young People

Photo of three male youth, one with rake, doing yard work.

Ontario is committed to ensuring all young people have an equal opportunity to participate in society, regardless of their circumstances. This year, Ontario supported social inclusion and identified barriers for youth and their communities through various initiatives.

New in 2014–2015

Helping Young People to be Safe, Grow and Develop

Photo of three male youth and one female youth  at a table in classroom having a discussion.

Wherever young people spend their time—at home, in school, on campus, in workplaces and online—they need to be safe. Ontario is committed to identifying and addressing the root causes of social issues that challenge this safety, such as youth crime, youth violent crime, and sexual violence and harassment.

Data from the 2015 Profile

  • 95.7% of youth feel safe at school.
  • 19% of youth have been bullied online.
  • 98% of Ontarians felt "very safe" or "safe" in their communities.

New in 2014–2015

Supporting Youth Who Are At Risk of Conflict with the Law

Ontario is committed to improving outcomes for all youth who are at risk of, or have come into conflict with, the law and the youth justice system. This year, Ontario focused on programs that help youth get back on track, where necessary, and improve outcomes for youth who have come into contact with the law.

Data from the 2015 Profile

  • 7% of youth engage in antisocial behaviour.
  • Ontario's total youth crime rate is 3,201 per 100,000 youth.
  • Ontario's total youth violent crime rate is 1,048 per 100,000 youth.

Case Study

The Black Experience Project

The Black Experience Project (BEP) is a ground-breaking research study that explores the lived experiences of individuals in the Greater Toronto Area (GTA) Black community. The BEP’s data-collection survey covers many aspects of life such as identity, education, spirituality and experiences with the justice system. The study also looks at the different experiences of Black Canadians, immigrants and newcomers. To date, interviews have been held with people from more than 50 countries across Africa and the Americas, capturing the cultural diversity of the Black community. Youth involvement has greatly enriched the research process.

The BEP researches the challenges and contributions of members of the youth and adult Black community. It also provides youth with meaningful opportunities to develop their skills and learn about their community. Currently, 70% of the staff employed with the BEP are under 30.

Through the project, youth are trained and mentored on research and data collection, community engagement and social change. Youth also play a key role in working with media outlets to offer reflections on youth experiences in the GTA and the broader study findings. The project has also provided an avenue for Youth Community Interviewers to experience a greater connection to their community than they would otherwise have had.

"Even though I am Black, I have not been a person that is deeply involved with my community. I feel like I have been ignorant to a lot of things. Being able to hear people’s stories and what they go through opens my eyes." —Tynelle Chase, BEP Community Interviewer

The Black Experience Project Community Meet and Greet Event

The Black Experience Project Community Meet and Greet Event

Top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Intensifions nos efforts > Le rapport annuel 2015 > Diversité, inclusion sociale et sécurité

Diversité, inclusion sociale et sécurité

Photo of two female youth, one in wheelchair.

L’Ontario compte une grande et riche variété de jeunes ayant divers atouts, besoins, capacités, perspectives et expériences. Pour réaliser le potentiel de cette diversité, le gouvernement veille à ce que l’Ontario soit un endroit sécuritaire, inclusif et tolérant où tous les jeunes peuvent s’épanouir. Lorsque les jeunes de l’Ontario sont en sécurité et soutenus à la maison, à l’école, au travail, en ligne et dans leurs collectivités, ils sont plus à même de réussir leur transition vers l’âge adulte et de contribuer à l’inclusion et à la diversité dans leurs collectivités.

Résultats #13, 14, 15

L’Ontario veut que les jeunes :

Cette année, l’Ontario a amélioré l’accès aux services, offert des soutiens ciblés et poursuivi ses actions en faveur de la diversité, de l’inclusion sociale et de la sécurité des jeunes. Les programmes et politiques de la province ont permis de réaliser des progrès dans les domaines suivants :

Nouveauté en 2014-2015

Promotion de la diversité et de l’inclusion sociale des jeunes

Photo of three male youth, one with rake, doing yard work.

L’Ontario est déterminé à faire en sorte que tous les jeunes aient les mêmes chances de participer à la vie de la société, quelle que soit leur situation. Cette année, dans le cadre de diverses initiatives, l’Ontario a appuyé l’inclusion sociale et recensé les obstacles rencontrés par les jeunes et leurs collectivités.

Nouveauté en 2014-2015

Aider les jeunes à être en sécurité, à grandir et à s’épanouir

Les jeunes ont besoin d’être en sécurité dans tous les lieux où ils passent du temps, que ce soit à la maison, à l’école, sur le campus, sur le lieu de travail et sur Internet. L’Ontario est déterminé à identifier et à traiter les causes profondes des problèmes sociaux qui nuisent à la sécurité, comme la criminalité chez les jeunes, la criminalité violente chez les jeunes, ainsi que la violence et le harcèlement à caractère sexuel.

Photo of three male youth and one female youth  at a table in classroom having a discussion.

Données du profil 2015

  • 95,7 p. 100 des jeunes se sentent en sécurité à l’école.
  • 19 p. 100 des jeunes ont fait l’objet de cyberintimidation.
  • 98 p. 100 des Ontariennes et des Ontariens se sentent « en sécurité » ou « très en sécurité » dans leur collectivité.

Nouveauté en 2014-2015

Soutien aux jeunes ayant des démêlés avec la justice

L’Ontario est déterminé à améliorer les résultats de tous les jeunes qui ont des démêlés avec la justice et le système de justice pour les jeunes ou qui risquent d’en avoir. Cette année, l’Ontario s’est employé tout particulièrement à soutenir des programmes qui aident les jeunes à revenir sur le droit chemin, le cas échéant, et à améliorer les résultats des jeunes aux prises avec la loi.

Données du profil 2015

  • 7 p. 100 des jeunes ont un comportement antisocial.
  • Le taux de criminalité global chez les jeunes de l’Ontario est de 3 201 par tranche de 100 000 jeunes.
  • Le taux global de crimes violents chez les jeunes de l’Ontario est de 1 048 par tranche de 100 000 jeunes.

Étude de cas

Le projet sur l’expérience des Noirs

Le projet sur l’expérience des Noirs est une étude inédite des expériences vécues par la communauté noire de la région du grand Toronto. L’enquête couvre de nombreux aspects de la vie, comme l’identité, l’éducation, la spiritualité et les liens avec le système de justice. L’étude se penche également sur les différentes expériences des Canadiennes et Canadiens, des immigrants et des nouveaux arrivants de race noire. À ce jour, des entrevues ont été effectuées auprès de personnes provenant de plus de 50 pays d’Afrique et d’Amérique, de manière à refléter la diversité culturelle de la communauté noire. La participation des jeunes a considérablement enrichi le processus de recherche.

Le projet sur l’expérience des Noirs examine les défis rencontrés par les membres de la communauté des jeunes et des adultes noirs et met en avant les contributions qu’ils apportent pour les relever. Le projet fournit également aux jeunes des occasions réelles de perfectionner leurs compétences et d’en apprendre davantage sur leur communauté. Actuellement, 70 p. 100 du personnel employé dans le cadre du projet a moins de 30 ans.

Par le biais du projet, des jeunes sont soutenus par des mentors et formés à la recherche, à la collecte de données, à la participation communautaire et au changement social. Les jeunes jouent également un rôle crucial en travaillant avec les médias pour faire part de leurs réflexions sur le vécu des jeunes de la région du grand Toronto et les résultats généraux de l’étude. Le projet a aussi donné l’occasion aux jeunes intervieweurs communautaires de se rapprocher davantage de leur communauté qu’ils ne l’auraient fait autrement.

« Bien que je sois noire, je ne m’investis pas activement dans ma communauté. J’ai l’impression d’ignorer beaucoup de choses. Pouvoir entendre les témoignages des gens m’ouvre les yeux. » —Tynelle Chase, intervieweuse communautaire du projet sur l’expérience des noirs

Rencontre communautaire dans le cadre du projet sur l’expérience des Noirs

Rencontre communautaire dans le cadre du projet sur l’expérience des Noirs

Haut