You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Stepping Up > 2015 Annual Report > Education, Training and Apprenticeships

Education, Training & Apprenticeships

Female teacher supportively holds arms of young girl as a boy and girl look on.

A strong education helps young people become successful, confident and informed citizens. Supportive learning environments are linked to increased student achievement, higher paying jobs, and enhanced overall well-being. Ontario focused its efforts to ensure that young people are supported in achieving their learning goals and reaching their full potential.

Outcomes #7, 8, 9

Ontario wants youth to:


This year, Ontario’s programs and policies have made progress in the following areas:

New in 2014–2015

Increasing Access to and Success in Postsecondary Education

In today’s labour market, more jobs need young people to have postsecondary credentials. To support youth, Ontario has made getting a postsecondary education more accessible so young people can gain the skills and opportunities they need to thrive.

What the Data Says

Students who drop out can expect an income loss of more than $100,000 over their lifetime compared with individuals with a high school diploma (and no postsecondary education).15

Data Breakout

For the first time, Ontario is publishing school board level graduation rates from across the province. Giving parents, students, teachers and boards open access to this data will help inform efforts to improve students’ success.

Data from the 2015 Profile

  • 78% of English-speaking and 88% of French-speaking students completed 16 high school credits by the end of Grade 10.
  • 84% of high school students graduate within five years.

New in 2014–2015

Helping Young People Get the Skills They Need

Male youth works on siding of house.

Academic success can lead to improved health and well-being across a range of areas. This year, Ontario focused on providing youth with the tools they need to succeed at school, make healthy life choices and become informed active citizens.

Data from the 2015 Profile

  • 12% of students are enrolled in the Specialist High Skills Major Program.
  • 310,555 students have Individual Education Plans.

New in 2014–2015

Reflecting Diverse Learning Needs

Ontario is committed to providing learners with the tools they need to reach their full potential, regardless of their individual circumstances. This year, there was a focus on supporting youth who face the greatest barriers, including youth with disabilities, youth with special needs and Aboriginal youth.

What the Data Says

Data from the 2015 Profile

  • 11.5% of youth have a postsecondary certificate or diploma.
  • 21,588 youth were served through the Ontario Youth Apprenticeship Program.

Case Study

Mining Matters

Mining Matters is a national charitable organization dedicated to bringing knowledge and awareness about Canada’s geology and mineral resources to students, educators and the public. One of its core programs, the Mining Rocks Earth Science Program, is designed to illustrate real-life experience with earth science, mineral exploration and mining.

Mining Matters educates youth aged 9 to 17 about the mineral sector, including key environmental, economic, and social issues associated with resource development. It provides youth with information on employment opportunities and the necessary education to work in the sector. It also provides career guidance and mentoring opportunities.

Programs are delivered in First Nations communities across Northern Ontario. In 2015–16, Mining Matters will also offer sessions to Aboriginal, non-Aboriginal and francophone youth in the Hearst to Cochrane corridor.

"My favourite activity was doing the cookie mining because it was kind of like math." — A 15-year-old Grade 8 female student in Webequie First Nation

Mining Matters students from Aroland First Nation complete the Product-Matching Game with graphite

Mining Matters students from Aroland First Nation complete the Product-Matching Game with graphite

Top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Intensifions nos efforts > Le rapport annuel 2015 > Éducation, formation et apprentissage

Éducation, formation et apprentissage

Female teacher supportively holds arms of young girl as a boy and girl look on.

Une éducation solide aide les jeunes à devenir des citoyens prospères, confiants et informés. Les environnements propices à l’apprentissage aboutissent à de meilleurs résultats scolaires, à des emplois mieux rémunérés et à un niveau supérieur de bien-être global. L’Ontario a centré ses efforts de manière à aider les jeunes à atteindre leurs objectifs d’apprentissage et à réaliser leur plein potentiel.

Résultats #7, 8, 9

L’Ontario veut que les jeunes :

Cette année, les programmes et politiques de la province ont permis de réaliser des progrès dans les domaines suivants :

Nouveauté en 2014-2015

Amélioration de l’accès aux études postsecondaires et de la réussite des étudiantes et étudiants

Dans le marché du travail actuel, de plus en plus d’emplois exigent que les jeunes obtiennent un diplôme postsecondaire. C’est pourquoi l’Ontario a rendu l’éducation postsecondaire plus accessible pour permettre aux jeunes d’obtenir les compétences et les possibilités nécessaires à leur épanouissement.

Faits et chiffres

Les élèves qui décrochent peuvent s’attendre à une perte de revenu de plus de 100 000 dollars au cours de leur vie, comparativement aux personnes ayant terminé leurs études secondaires (mais qui n’ont pas poursuivi leur éducation postsecondaire15.

Publication de données

Pour la première fois, l’Ontario rendra publics les taux d’obtention de diplôme de chaque conseil scolaire de la province. Permettre aux parents, aux élèves, au personnel enseignant et aux conseils d’accéder librement à ces données contribuera à orienter les efforts consentis pour améliorer la réussite des élèves.

Données du profil 2015

  • 78 p. 100 des élèves anglophones et 88 p. 100 des élèves francophones ont obtenu 16 crédits du palier secondaire à la fin de la 10e année.
  • 84 p. 100 des élèves du palier secondaire obtiennent leur diplôme dans un délai de cinq ans.

Nouveauté en 2014-2015

Aider les jeunes à acquérir les compétences dont ils ont besoin

Male youth works on siding of house.

La réussite scolaire peut contribuer à améliorer la santé et le bien-être à différents égards. Cette année, l’Ontario s’est notamment employé à fournir aux jeunes les outils dont ils ont besoin pour réussir à l’école, faire des choix de vie sains et devenir des citoyens actifs et éclairés.

Données du profil 2015

  • 12 p. 100 des élèves sont inscrits à un programme de Majeure Haute Spécialisation.
  • 310 555 élèves disposent d’un plan d’enseignement individualisé.

Nouveauté en 2014-2015

Refléter la diversité des besoins d’apprentissage

L’Ontario est déterminé à fournir aux apprenantes et aux apprenants les outils dont ils ont besoin pour réaliser leur plein potentiel, quelles que soient leurs circonstances particulières. Cette année, des efforts ont été déployés pour venir en aide aux jeunes qui font face aux obstacles les plus importants, et notamment aux jeunes gens handicapés, aux jeunes ayant des besoins particuliers et aux jeunes Autochtones.

Faits et chiffres

Données du profil 2015

  • 11,5 p. 100 des jeunes ont un certificat ou un diplôme d’études postsecondaires.
  • 21 588 jeunes ont eu accès aux services du Programme d’apprentissage pour les jeunes de l’Ontario.

Étude de cas

Une mine de renseignements

Une mine de renseignements est un organisme de bienfaisance national ayant pour mission de renseigner et de conscientiser les élèves, les éducateurs et le grand public sur la géologie et les ressources minérales du Canada. L’un de ses principaux programmes, le programme Mining Rocks en sciences de la Terre, a pour objectif d’aborder les sciences de la Terre, l’exploration et l’exploitation minière sous un angle concret.

Une mine de renseignements éduque les jeunes de 9 à 17 ans sur le secteur minier, et notamment sur les principaux enjeux environnementaux, économiques et sociaux associés à l’exploitation des ressources. L’organisme donne aux jeunes des renseignements sur les perspectives d’emploi et la formation requise pour travailler dans le secteur. Il fournit également des conseils d’orientation professionnelle et des occasions de mentorat.

Une mine de renseignements offre ses programmes dans les collectivités des Premières Nations du Nord de l’Ontario. En 2015-2016, il offrira également des séances à des jeunes autochtones, non autochtones et francophones vivant dans le corridor reliant Hearst à Cochrane.

« Mon activité préférée a été l’exploitation de la mine de biscuit, car c’était un peu comme des mathématiques. » — A Une élève de 8e année âgée de 15 ans de la Première nation de Webequie

Des élèves de la Première Nation d’Aroland remplissent le jeu d’Une mine de renseignements consistant à associer des produits de la vie quotidienne avec les ressources à partir desquelles ils sont faits, ici le graphite.

Des élèves de la Première Nation d’Aroland remplissent le jeu d’Une mine de renseignements consistant à associer des produits de la vie quotidienne avec les ressources à partir desquelles ils sont faits, ici le graphite.

Haut