You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Stepping Up > 2015 Annual Report > Employment and Entrepreneurship

Employment & Entrepreneurship

Photo of an employer assisting youth in the workplace.

Starting a new business or rewarding job helps young people build their sense of identity, connects them to new people and places, and allows them to develop lifelong skills. Employed young people can better contribute to their families and their own well-being and can reduce the economic costs related to unemployment and poverty. Ontario’s workforce and job market continue to change. Ontario has focused on developing innovative strategies to ensure young people can access employment in a competitive economy. It has also sought to help employers and qualified candidates connect.

Outcomes #10, 11, 12

Ontario wants youth to:

This year, Ontario supported young people to have safe and meaningful employment and entrepreneurship opportunities by creating new programs and expanding on existing strategies. Its programs and policies have made progress in the following areas:

New in 2014–2015

Supporting Youth Employment

Photo of two female youth and one male youth at construction site.

Employment increases access to resources and can improve well-being and life outcomes for youth. This year, Ontario carried out strategies to create jobs, train youth with appropriate skills and help job seekers and employers connect. The government also developed new supports for youth who face the greatest barriers to accessing employment.

What the Data Says

Data from the 2015 Profile

  • 61.9% of youth are in the labour force.
  • 9.5% of youth are not in education, employment or training.
  • 88.6% of youth who are employed full-time are in work related to their field.

New in 2014–2015

Helping Youth Develop Skills for Work and Enterprise

Ontario’s economy, workforce and job market continues to change. As a result, the government is working to remove skills barriers, encourage entrepreneurship, and help youth to lead in innovation, and generate new ideas and perspectives. This year, Ontario supported opportunities for youth to develop the skills they will need in a changing economy.

What the Data Says

Data from the 2015 Profile

  • 1.7% of youth are self-employed.

New in 2014–2015

Ensuring Youth Work in Safe and Supportive Environments

Photo of a male youth working in a mechanical shop.

Young workers are often vulnerable workers. They are often employed in non-standard jobs such as temporary and part-time positions. They may hold service-sector jobs or internships. They may earn only the minimum wage. They may have the minimum amount of training needed to operate heavy equipment. This year, the government continued to work with employers to ensure all young workers are safe, qualified and prepared for employment in diverse areas.

Data from the 2015 Profile

  • The annual Workplace Safety and Insurance Board (WSIB) Lost-Time Injury (LTI) rate for youth employees was 0.93 per 100 workers in 2014.

Case Study

Hospitality Workers Training Centre

The Hospitality Workers Training Centre (HWTC) is a non-profit organization that provides hands-on vocational training for employment in Toronto’s growing hospitality industry. Training is linked to real employment needs identified by hospitality industry partners. Between 30 to 50% of the participants in the program are under the age of 30. Over 70% of participants are racialized and/or from low-income families. Participants include refugee and LGBTQ youth. A full 90% of youth in the program receive social assistance.

HWTC works with community partners across the GTA to identify, recruit and train strong candidates. It also works closely with industry partners to connect pre-screened and trained talent with the right employer. To support ongoing success, the program offers post-employment services. Those services include career development, vocational cross-training (to help students grow their careers in the sector), supervisory soft skills, English, computer skills and financial planning. With an 80% placement rate and a 70% retention rate among at-risk youth, this program is doing great work!

"I love being a houseman... I’m always on the move. It’s given me a purpose and a future." — Andre, graduate of the Hospitality Workers Training Centre

The Hospitality Workers Training Centre celebrates the graduation and achievements of its students.

The Hospitality Workers Training Centre celebrates the graduation and achievements of its students.

Top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Intensifions nos efforts > Le rapport annuel 2015 > Emploi et entrepreneuriat

Emploi et entrepreneuriat

Photo of an employer assisting youth in the workplace.

La création d’une entreprise ou l’accès à un emploi valorisant est un moyen pour les jeunes de renforcer leur sentiment d’identité, de créer des liens avec de nouvelles personnes, de découvrir de nouveaux endroits et d’acquérir des compétences tout au long de la vie. Lorsqu’ils ont un travail, les jeunes peuvent mieux contribuer à leur bien-être et à celui de leurs familles et peuvent réduire les coûts économiques liés au chômage et à la pauvreté. Alors que la main-d’oeuvre et le marché du travail de l’Ontario continuent leur mutation, la province a veillé à élaborer des stratégies novatrices pour faire en sorte que les jeunes puissent trouver un emploi dans une économie concurrentielle. La province a également cherché à mettre en relation des employeurs avec des candidats qualifiés.

Résultats #10, 11, 12

L’Ontario veut que les jeunes :

Cette année, l’Ontario a conçu de nouveaux programmes et élargi des stratégies existantes afin d’offrir aux jeunes des possibilités sécuritaires et constructives en matière d’emploi et d’entrepreneuriat. Les programmes et politiques de la province ont permis de réaliser des progrès dans les domaines suivants :

Nouveauté en 2014-2015

Soutien de l’emploi des jeunes

Photo of two female youth and one male youth at construction site.

L’emploi permet un meilleur accès aux ressources et peut améliorer le bien-être et la situation des jeunes. Cette année, l’Ontario a mené à bien des stratégies visant à créer des emplois, à donner aux jeunes des compétences appropriées et à mettre en relation des demandeurs d’emploi avec des employeurs. Le gouvernement a également mis au point de nouveaux soutiens pour les jeunes confrontés aux obstacles les plus importants en matière d’accès à l’emploi.

Faits et chiffres

Données du profil 2015

  • 61,9 p. 100 des jeunes font partie de la population active.
  • 9,5 p. 100 des jeunes ne sont pas scolarisés, ne suivent pas de formation et n’occupent pas d’emploi.
  • 88,6 p. 100 des jeunes qui exercent un emploi à temps plein travaillent dans leur domaine.

Nouveauté en 2014-2015

Aider les jeunes à acquérir des compétences pour le travail et l’entrepreneuriat

L’économie, la main-d’oeuvre et le marché du travail de l’Ontario sont en constante évolution. C’est pourquoi le gouvernement s’emploie à éliminer les obstacles en matière de compétences, à encourager l’entrepreneuriat ainsi qu’à aider les jeunes à jouer un rôle moteur en matière d’innovation et à concevoir de nouvelles idées et perspectives. Cette année, l’Ontario a appuyé diverses initiatives permettant aux jeunes d’acquérir les compétences dont ils auront besoin dans une économie en mutation.

Faits et chiffres

Données du profil 2015

  • 1,7 p. 100 des jeunes sont des travailleurs autonomes.

Nouveauté en 2014-2015

Veiller à ce que les jeunes travaillent dans des environnements sécuritaires et positifs

Photo of a male youth working in a mechanical shop.

Les jeunes travailleurs sont souvent des travailleurs vulnérables. Ils occupent souvent des emplois non conventionnels, comme des emplois temporaires et à temps partiel. Certains peuvent travailler dans le secteur des services ou effectuer des stages. Ils peuvent uniquement toucher le salaire minimum. Ils peuvent aussi avoir reçu la formation minimale requise pour manoeuvrer des machines lourdes. Cette année, le gouvernement a poursuivi sa collaboration avec les employeurs pour garantir la sécurité de tous les jeunes travailleurs et veiller à ce qu’ils soient qualifiés et prêts à l’emploi dans divers domaines.

Données du profil 2015

  • Le taux annuel de lésions avec interruption de travail déclarées à la Commission de la sécurité professionnelle et de l’assurance contre les accidents du travail (CSPAAT) qui concernent de jeunes employés était de 0,93 pour 100 travailleurs en 2014.

Étude de cas

Hospitality Workers Training Centre

Le Hospitality Workers Training Centre (HWTC) (site en anglais uniquement) est un organisme sans but lucratif qui propose des formations professionnelles pratiques en vue d’un emploi dans le secteur de l’accueil en plein essor à Toronto. Les formations sont liées aux besoins réels recensés par des partenaires du secteur de l’accueil. Entre 30 et 50 p. 100 des participants au programme ont moins de 30 ans. Plus de 70 p. 100 des participants sont racialisés et/ou issus de familles à faible revenu. Les participants comptent des jeunes réfugiés et des jeunes LGBTQ. Pas moins de 90 p. 100 des jeunes du programme sont bénéficiaires de l’aide sociale.

Le HWTC travaille avec des partenaires communautaires de toute la région du grand Toronto pour sélectionner, recruter et former des candidats qualifiés. Il travaille également en étroite collaboration avec des partenaires sectoriels pour mettre en relation des personnes talentueuses sélectionnées et formées avec le bon employeur. Pour favoriser la réussite des étudiantes et des étudiants à long terme, le programme offre des services consécutifs à l’emploi dans les domaines suivants : développement de carrière, formation professionnelle croisée (pour aider les étudiantes et les étudiants à faire avancer leur carrière dans le secteur), techniques d’encadrement générales, anglais, compétences en informatique et planification financière. Avec un taux de placement de 80 p. 100 et un taux de maintien en fonction de 70 p. 100 chez les jeunes à risque, ce programme accomplit un travail formidable.

« J’aime beaucoup travailler comme préposé à l’entretien… Je suis toujours en mouvement. Cela m’a donné un but et un avenir. » — André, diplômé du Hospitality Workers Training Centre

Le Hospitality Workers Training Centre célèbre la fin de la formation et les réalisations de ses étudiants.

Le Hospitality Workers Training Centre célèbre la fin de la formation et les réalisations de ses étudiants.

Haut