You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Stepping Up > 2016 Annual Report > Civic Engagement and Youth Leadership

Civic Engagement & Youth Leadership

Outcomes 16, 17, 18

Ontario wants youth to:

Research shows that youth benefit from the opportunity to actively participate in their community. It helps them develop the skills they need to be effective leaders. Youth who are engaged in community efforts at a young age show better problem-solving and decision-making skills when compared with those who are not engaged.19

This year, the province continued to support strategies and initiatives that encourage civic engagement and youth leadership, including:

Strategies and Programs Supporting Outcomes

Modernizing Elections

Lead: Ministry of Intergovernmental Affairs

New! To better engage young people in the electoral process, the Election Statute Law Amendment Act, 2016 includes amendments to allow 16- and 17-year-olds to add their names to a provisional voter register. When a person enrolled on the register turns 18, his or her information will be transferred to the Permanent Register of Electors for Ontario. The minimum age to vote remains 18. This change will help ensure that new voters are registered and receive voter information for the next provincial election after their 18th birthday.

Ontario’s Volunteer Action Plan

Lead: Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration

Volunteers of all ages are welcomed and valued in every Ontario community. Through Ontario’s Volunteer Action Plan, the province works with other levels of government, non-profit organizations and the corporate sector to strengthen volunteerism across the province.

New in this report:

Ontario Honours and Awards: Volunteer Recognition

Lead: Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration

Ontario’s medal and recognition programs celebrate the people who make our province a better place to live. Volunteer award programs recognize the contributions of volunteers of all ages, from youth to seniors.

New in this report:

Youth Engagement

Lead: Ministry of Children and Youth Services

A guiding principle of Stepping Up: A Strategic Framework to Help Ontario’s Youth Succeed is recognizing and supporting meaningful youth engagement and leadership. By giving youth a voice in the decisions that affect them, they have an opportunity to build their confidence and capacity to lead and influence the world around them.

New in this report:

#PoliHack

#PoliHack attendees get ready for end-of-day project presentations.

A hackathon brings together computer programmers and others to collaborate intensively, usually on software projects. This year, the province supported several #PoliHack events that brought together participants with diverse skill sets and an interest in having a direct impact on real-world, youth-related issues. Participants were challenged to find answers to questions such as the following:

“Excited to witness first-hand the focus on young people and making government resources easier to access through #PoliHack!” —Brennan Wong, #PoliHack Facilitator

Hearing Youth Voice – Youth Leading the Way

The Ministry of Children and Youth Services (MCYS) used a range of innovative strategies to engage youth across a broad spectrum of policy and program issues during the last year.

MCYS engaged with youth, who were supported by the Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth (PACY), on the following:

We Have Something to Say Advisory Committee – Special Needs Strategy

The strategy’s focus is to improve services provided to special needs youth. MCYS met with youth amplifiers/committee members, who were youth with special needs. Topics discussed included:

Youth Advisors with Foster Care Experience – Stay Home for School Policy

The policy extends funding to caregivers (foster parents) so they can give residential stability to youth (aged 18 to 21) who need additional time to finish high school. Youth advisors with foster care experience were engaged to inform MCYS on the development of the policy. Topics discussed included:

LGBT2SQ* Child Welfare Advisory Committee – Resource Guide

The LGBT2SQ resource guide was developed so the needs of LGBT2SQ youth involved with the child welfare system could be met. It was designed to increase the knowledge and capacity of people working in:

The LGBT2SQ Child Welfare Advisory Committee was made up of youth with lived experiences of the child welfare system. Topics discussed included:

Youth Panel with Lived Experience of Residential Care – Blueprint for Licensed Residential Services Reform

The goal of the reform is to ensure youth have a voice in their care and to improve the quality and continuity of care in licensed residential settings. MCYS is meeting with a Youth Panel of youth with lived experience of residential care who are providing advice on:

MCYS also engaged with youth on additional initiatives, including several put forward by youth themselves. A few of those initiatives are outlined below.

Youth, Young Parents and Families – Middle Years Strategy

The strategy will support children aged 6 to 12 to successfully transition into their teen years. MCYS interviewed families, including young parents and youth, to support strategy development. Discussion topics included:

The Premier’s Council on Youth Opportunities gave input on:

Youth Labs – Long-Term Affordable Housing Strategy (Lead: Ministry of Housing)

Housing for youth is a stated priority of the strategy, which has a goal to support every person to have an affordable, suitable and adequate home. Participants at Youth Labs included youth who have been marginally housed and/or are homeless. The labs were supported as part of the strategy development process. MCYS participates in the strategy development and has attended Youth Labs.

Ontario First Nations Young Peoples Council – Ontario Indigenous Children and Youth Strategy

MCYS is working with First Nations, Métis, Inuit and urban Indigenous partners, including youth, to co-implement the Ontario Indigenous Children and Youth Strategy. The Ontario First Nations Young Peoples Council (OFNYPC) receives ministry funding, through the Chiefs of Ontario, to support First Nations youth engagement from across the province.

OFNYPC youth informed direction on:

Youth with Lived Experience of Youth Justice Services – Youth Justice Outcomes Framework

The framework is a service outcome measurement model designed to support a better understanding of the impact that youth justice programs and services have on youth. Input is received from all youth justice sectors that include qualitative assessments from youth (such as experience surveys). This input was used to inform outcome analysis and reporting.

Listening Tours – Premier’s Council on Youth Opportunities

The council is an ongoing formal advisory body, made up of youth, young professionals and allies. Council members give advice to the Premier and Minister of Children and Youth Services and other ministries on issues affecting youth.

Last year, the council held Listening Tours, or youth engagement sessions, and spoke with over 400 youth in communities across the province to learn more about the issues that matter to Ontario’s youth.

The council also advised ministries on a range of initiatives, including:

Innovative Disruptors – #PoliHack

#PoliHack brings together participants with diverse skill sets to give input on youth-related issues. Discussions at the events focused on improving knowledge and understanding of:

Ontario Youth – YouthVoiceON

YouthVoiceON is a cross-government web and social media platform tool to engage youth and youth-sector stakeholders in two-way dialogue on policy and program questions. The tool was developed with input from youth attending the Listening Tours of the Premier’s Council on Youth Opportunities and participating in Ontario Open Government community workshops (in-person and online) during fall 2016.

Youth Impact Summit – The Next 150 Grants

A youth-designed, time-limited grant was created as part of the Ontario 150 celebrations. The grant supports grassroots and youth-led projects that are focused on the future of youth civic engagement in Ontario.

A Youth Impact Summit was held in September 2016 for input on the proposed grant. Youth participation, both in-person and online, centered on:

What the Data Says

  • Students must complete a minimum of 40 hours of community involvement activities as part of the secondary school diploma requirements. The goal is to encourage students to be aware of and understand civic responsibility, and the role they can play and the contributions they can make in their community.

Data from the Profile of Youth Wellbeing

  • 56.2% of youth voted in the last (2015) federal election.

Case Study

CHEERS

Anayah Phares receives the 2015 Queen’s Young Leaders Award from Her Majesty The Queen.

Creating Hope and Ensuring Excellent Roads to Success (CHEERS) supports young people in and from care. It connects them through its tri-mentorship model with peer and adult mentors who are trained to provide emotional support, guidance and access to resources and services.

The program’s main goals are to:

CHEERS is a BMO Financial Group community-based mentorship program. The program is also sponsored by Queen West Central Toronto Community Health Centre and funded by the Children’s Aid Foundation.

Receiving the Queen’s Young Leaders Award for my work with CHEERS was equal to receiving the royal assent the Queen gives to pass an act. It said that supporting youth in and from care is a pressing issue that society as a whole should be concerned with.” —Anayah Phares, Former Foster Child and Founder of CHEERS

Case Study

Grand Council Treaty #3 Youth Unity Path

Youth participants from Grand Council Treaty #3 gathered together to give input on youth services and programs and participate in leadership training.

In April 2016, Grand Council Treaty #3 gathered youth from 28 communities to give input on plans to create more supportive local environments for them. The youth agreed to map youth services in their home community and evaluate youth programming. This information is being used to support effective youth services and programs in Grand Council Treaty #3.

At the same time, the youth took part in leadership training and returned to their communities to act as mentors and participate in an informal youth support system.

The Grand Council Treaty #3 initiative promotes social inclusion and values diversity of youth and their experiences. It gives youth a voice in decisions that affect them. It also helps ensure that youth have access to safe spaces and quality opportunities for play and recreation.

Treaty #3 Youth Unity Path.

*Lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, transsexual, two-spirited, queer and youth who may be questioning their sexual orientation or gender identity.
Top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Intensifions nos efforts > Le rapport annuel 2016 > Engagement civique et leadership chez les jeunes

Engagement civique et leadership chez les jeune

Résultats 16, 17, 18

L’Ontario veut que les jeunes :

Des recherches ont montré que les occasions de participer activement à la vie de la collectivité sont bénéfiques pour les jeunes et les aident à acquérir les compétences nécessaires pour devenir des chefs de file efficaces. Les jeunes qui contribuent aux efforts communautaires à un âge précoce ont de meilleures aptitudes à résoudre les problèmes et prendre des décisions que les autres19.

Cette année, nous avons continué à soutenir les stratégies et les initiatives qui encouragent l’engagement civique et le leadership des jeunes, notamment :

Stratégies et programmes à l’appui de ces résultats

Initiative de modernisation des élections

Organisme responsable : ministère des Affaires intergouvernementales

Nouveauté! Dans le but d’accentuer la participation des jeunes au processus électoral, la Loi de 2016 modifiant des lois en ce qui concerne les élections apporte des modifications permettant aux personnes de 16 et 17 ans d’inscrire leur nom à un registre provisoire d’électeurs. Lorsqu’une personne inscrite à ce registre atteint 18 ans, les renseignements qui la concernent sont transférés au registre permanent des électeurs de l’Ontario. L’âge minimum requis pour voter demeure toutefois fixé à 18 ans. Cette nouveauté permettra de s’assurer que les nouveaux électeurs sont inscrits et reçoivent l’information relative à la première élection provinciale qui suit leur 18e anniversaire.

Plan d'action de l'Ontario pour le bénévolat

Organisme responsable : ministère des Affaires civiques et de l'Immigration

Toutes les collectivités de la province accueillent et apprécient les bénévoles de tous âges. Par le truchement du Plan d'action de l'Ontario pour le bénévolat, nous collaborons avec d’autres échelons gouvernementaux, des organismes sans but lucratif et le secteur privé en vue de stimuler le bénévolat dans toute la province.

Nouveaux éléments :

Distinctions et prix de l’Ontario : reconnaissance du bénévolat

Organisme responsable : ministère des Affaires civiques et de l'Immigration

Les programmes de distinctions et de prix de l’Ontario rendent hommage aux personnes qui améliorent la qualité de la vie dans la province. Les programmes de prix pour l’action bénévole reconnaissent les contributions de bénévoles de tous âges, des jeunes aux personnes âgées.

Nouveaux éléments :

Participation des jeunes

Organisme responsable : ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse

Intensifions nos efforts : Cadre stratégique en faveur de la réussite des jeunes de l’Ontario s’attache particulièrement à reconnaître et soutenir un engagement fort et un solide leadership chez les jeunes. Quand les jeunes ont voix au chapitre quant aux décisions qui les concernent, ils peuvent gagner en confiance, prendre des initiatives et influencer leur environnement.

Nouveaux éléments :

PLEINS FEUX

sur #PoliHack

Les participants à #PoliHack se préparent aux présentations de projets qui clôturent la journée.

Un programmathon est un événement d’intense collaboration rassemblant des programmeurs et programmeuses informatiques ainsi que d’autres intervenants, généralement sur des projets logiciels. Cette année, la province a prêté appui à plusieurs manifestations #PoliHack (en anglais seulement) qui ont réuni des participants aux compétences variées souhaitant avoir un impact direct sur les questions concrètes qui touchent la jeunesse. Ces participants ont été invités à répondre à des questions telles que :

« Je suis excité de constater par moi-même la priorité accordée à la jeunesse et à la promotion d’un accès simplifié aux ressources gouvernementales que porte #PoliHack! »Brennan Wong, animateur #PoliHack

PLEINS FEUX

Pleins feux sur la voix de la jeunesse – Les jeunes au cœur de l’action

L’an dernier, le ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse (MSEJ) a employé diverses stratégies innovantes de mobilisation de la jeunesse à travers un large éventail de programmes et de politiques.

Le MSEJ a ainsi suscité la participation des jeunes, soutenus par le Bureau de l’intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes, dans le cadre des initiatives suivantes :

Comité consultatif de la jeunesse dans le cadre de l’initiative « J’ai mon mot à dire » – Stratégie pour les services en matière de besoins particuliers

Cette stratégie vise à améliorer les services fournis aux jeunes ayant des besoins particuliers. Le MSEJ a rencontré les membres du comité et les porte-parole des jeunes qui étaient eux-mêmes des jeunes ayant des besoins particuliers. Voici les sujets évoqués :

Jeunes conseillers ayant connu le système d’accueil – Politique favorisant le parachèvement des études des pupilles

Cette politique ouvre les financements aux fournisseurs de soins (familles d’accueil) afin que les jeunes (âgés de 18 à 21 ans) qui ont besoin de plus de temps pour terminer leurs études secondaires puissent bénéficier d’une résidence stable. Les jeunes conseillers ayant connu le système d’accueil ont été sollicités pour éclairer le MSEJ sur certains aspects de la politique en cours d’élaboration. Voici les sujets évoqués :

Comité consultatif des services de bien-être aux jeunes LGBT2SQ* – Guide des ressources

Le guide des ressources pour les personnes LGBT2SQ a été élaboré afin de répondre aux besoins des jeunes LGBT2SQ au sein du système de bien-être de l’enfance. Il vise à accroître les connaissances et les moyens d’action des personnes travaillant dans :

Le comité consultatif des services de bien-être aux jeunes LGBT2SQ est composé de jeunes ayant fait partie du système de bien-être de l’enfance. Voici les sujets évoqués :

Comité de jeunes ayant fréquenté les services en milieu résidentiel – Ébauche de la réforme des services agréés en milieu résidentiel

La réforme vise à s’assurer que les jeunes ont leur mot à dire sur les soins qui leur sont prodigués et à améliorer la qualité et la continuité des soins dans les services agréés en milieu résidentiel. Le MSEJ se réunit avec un comité qui se compose de jeunes ayant fréquenté les services en milieu résidentiel et qui s’emploie à formuler des avis sur les aspects suivants :

Le MSEJ a également mobilisé la jeunesse dans le cadre d’initiatives supplémentaires, dont plusieurs ont été proposées par les jeunes eux-mêmes. Quelques-unes de ces initiatives sont présentées ci-dessous.

Jeunes, jeunes parents et familles – Stratégie de soutien durant les années intermédiaires

Cette stratégie aidera les enfants de 6 à 12 ans à aborder l’adolescence avec succès. Le MSEJ a interrogé des familles, y compris des jeunes parents et des jeunes, afin qu’ils participent à l’élaboration de la stratégie. Voici les sujets évoqués :

Le Conseil de la première ministre pour de meilleures perspectives pour la jeunesse est intervenu sur les points suivants :

Laboratoires jeunesse – Stratégie à long terme de logement abordable (organisme responsable : ministère du Logement)

La stratégie, qui compte le logement des jeunes parmi ses priorités, vise à faire en sorte que chacun dispose d’un logement convenable, abordable et de qualité. Les laboratoires jeunesse ont notamment rassemblé des jeunes qui ont vécu dans des logements précaires et/ou qui ont été sans-abri. Leur création a été soutenue dans le cadre du processus d’élaboration de la stratégie. Le MSEJ, qui participe à ce processus, a assisté aux laboratoires jeunesse.

Ontario First Nations Young Peoples Council – Stratégie ontarienne pour les enfants et les jeunes autochtones

Le MSEJ travaille actuellement avec les Premières Nations, les Métis, les Inuits et les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain, y compris les jeunes, à la mise en œuvre conjointe de la Stratégie pour les enfants et les jeunes autochtones. L’Ontario First Nations Young Peoples Council (OFNYPC) reçoit des financements du ministère, par l’intermédiaire de Chiefs of Ontario, en vue d’accentuer la participation des jeunes des Premières Nations dans toute la province.

Les jeunes de l’OFNYPC ont orienté l’action dans les domaines suivants :

Jeunes ayant connu les services de justice pour la jeunesse – Cadre des résultats en matière de justice pour la jeunesse

Ce cadre est un modèle de mesure des résultats en matière de services conçu pour mieux connaître l’impact des programmes et services de justice pour la jeunesse sur les jeunes. Il intègre les contributions de jeunes de tous les secteurs de la justice pour la jeunesse qui effectuent des évaluations qualitatives (p. ex. des enquêtes sur les expériences). Ces données ont alimenté l’analyse et la publication des résultats en matière de services.

Tournées de discussions – Conseil de la première ministre pour de meilleures perspectives pour la jeunesse

Le Conseil est un organe consultatif officiel, composé de jeunes, de jeunes actifs et d’alliés. Les membres du Conseil fournissent des conseils à la première ministre, au ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse et à d’autres ministères sur les questions relatives à la jeunesse.

L’an passé, le Conseil a organisé des séances de participation des jeunes, appelées Tournées de discussions, échangeant ainsi avec plus de 400 jeunes dans des collectivités de toute la province afin d’en savoir plus sur les questions qu’ils jugent importantes.

Le Conseil a en outre conseillé les ministères sur plusieurs initiatives, notamment :

Innovateurs perturbateurs – #PoliHack

#PoliHack réunit des participants dotés de compétences variées pour qu’ils contribuent aux questions ayant trait aux jeunes. Les discussions menées lors de ces rassemblements portaient sur l’amélioration des connaissances et une compréhension accrue des problématiques suivantes :

Jeunesse de l’Ontario – VoixDesJeunesON

VoixDesJeunesON est un outil gouvernemental transversal pour le Web et les médias sociaux visant à nouer un dialogue entre les jeunes et les intervenants du secteur de la jeunesse concernant les politiques et les programmes. Cet outil a été élaboré grâce aux contributions fournies, d’une part, par les jeunes ayant pris part aux Tournées de discussions du Conseil de la première ministre pour de meilleures perspectives pour la jeunesse et, d’autre part, par les participants aux ateliers communautaires sur le gouvernement ouvert (sur place ou en ligne) organisés durant l’automne 2016.

Sommet Impact Jeunesse – Subventions « Les 150 prochaines années »

Un programme de subventions destinées aux jeunes, limité dans le temps, a été créé dans le cadre des célébrations de l’initiative Ontario150. Ces subventions soutiennent les projets communautaires portés par des jeunes qui touchent l’engagement civique de la jeunesse en Ontario.

Le Sommet Impact Jeunesse a été organisé en septembre 2016 afin de recueillir des contributions au sujet des subventions proposées. Les jeunes présents sur place ou en ligne ont échangé sur les thèmes suivants :

Faits et chiffres

Profil du bien-être des jeunes : quelques chiffres

Étude de cas 

CHEERS

Anayah Phares reçoit le Queen’s Young Leaders Award de 2015 de la main de Sa Majesté la Reine.

Creating Hope and Ensuring Excellent Roads to Success (CHEERS) est un organisme qui soutient les jeunes faisant partie ou issus du système de prise en charge. CHEERS tisse des liens entre ces jeunes grâce à un système de triple mentorat associant des adultes et des pairs formés à fournir un soutien émotionnel, de l'orientation ainsi que l’accès à des ressources et services.

Voici les principaux objectifs du programme :

CHEERS est un programme de mentorat communautaire de BMO Groupe financier. Ce programme est également parrainé par le centre de santé communautaire Queen West Central Toronto et financé par la Children’s Aid Foundation.

« Voir mon travail avec CHEERS distingué par le Queen’s Young Leaders Award, c’était comme recevoir la sanction royale que la reine accorde pour promulguer une loi. Ce prix signifie que le soutien aux jeunes qui font partie ou sont issus du système de prise en charge est une question urgente qui devrait concerner l’ensemble de la société. »Anayah Phares, autrefois placée en famille d’accueil et fondatrice de CHEERS

Étude de cas 

Initiative « Youth Unity Path » du Grand Council Treaty #3

Les jeunes participants du Grand Council Treaty #3 se sont réunis pour donner leur avis sur les programmes et les services pour la jeunesse et ont reçu une formation en matière de leadership.

En avril 2016, le Grand Council Treaty #3 a rassemblé des jeunes de 28 collectivités afin de recueillir leurs avis sur des plans en faveur d’environnements plus favorables à la jeunesse dans leur localité. Les jeunes ont accepté de cartographier les services à la jeunesse de leur collectivité et d’évaluer les programmes pour les jeunes. Ces données viennent étayer l’efficacité des services et des programmes pour la jeunesse du Grand Council Treaty #3.

Parallèlement, les jeunes ont bénéficié d'une formation en matière de leadership et sont retournés dans leur collectivité en qualité de mentors pour prendre part à un système informel de soutien de la jeunesse.

Cette initiative du Grand Council Treaty #3 favorise l’inclusion sociale et valorise la diversité des jeunes et de leurs expériences. Elle permet aux jeunes de se faire entendre s’agissant des décisions qui les touchent, et contribue à faire en sorte que les jeunes puissent jouir d’espaces sûrs et de bonnes options ludiques et récréatives.

Initiative « Youth Unity Path » du Treaty #3.

*jeunes lesbiennes, gais, bisexuels, transgenres, transsexuels, bispirituels, queer, et en questionnement quant à leur orientation ou leur identité sexuelle
Haut