You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Stepping Up > 2016 Annual Report > Diversity, Social Inclusion and Safety

Diversity, Social Inclusion & Safety

Outcomes 13, 14, 15

Ontario wants youth to:

"Canadians embrace multiculturalism, human rights and diversity as fundamental values. However, there are ongoing incidents of discrimination in our society that require our continuing attention. Bullying, hate propaganda and cyberbullying are major concerns for parents and students. Racism, religious intolerance, homophobia and gender-based violence are still evident in our communities and, unfortunately, in our schools...

Ontario is Canada’s most diverse province, and we must find solutions to these concerns. We must address the needs of a rapidly changing and increasingly complex society by ensuring that our policies evolve with changing societal needs." Ministry of Education, “Quick Facts: Ontario’s Equity and Inclusive Education Strategy” (2013)

This year, Ontario launched strategies that focus on improving youth outcomes related to diversity, social inclusion and safety. In addition, the province announced new, enhanced or expanded “whole of population” strategies that will have a significant impact on youth. These strategies and programs include:

Strategies and Programs Supporting Outcomes

The Journey Together: Ontario’s Commitment to Reconciliation with Indigenous Peoples

Lead: Ministry of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation

New! On May 30, 2016, the Premier made a historic statement of commitment to reconciliation with Indigenous peoples and a formal apology for the policies and practices supported by past Ontario governments, and the harm they caused.

At the same time, the province released The Journey Together: Ontario’s Commitment to Reconciliation with Indigenous Peoples. This report sets out actions towards reconciliation. It is supported by an investment of $250 million over three years. Working with Indigenous partners, the province is taking action in five areas:

Related:

Ontario Indigenous Children and Youth Strategy

Lead: Ministry of Children and Youth Services

Ontario is working with First Nations, Métis, Inuit and urban Indigenous partners to implement the Ontario Indigenous Children and Youth Strategy together.

Through the strategy, Indigenous communities and the government are building stronger bonds and improving services to meet the needs of Indigenous children and youth. This will enable the Indigenous community to have a holistic, culturally based and community-driven approach to children and youth services.

The vision of the strategy is for First Nations, Métis, Inuit and urban Indigenous children and youth to be healthy, happy, resilient, grounded in their cultures and languages, and thriving as individuals and as members of their families and Nations or communities.

Once the strategy is implemented, Indigenous communities and service providers in Ontario will have greater authority over child and family services. The strategy will also build Indigenous perspectives and cultures into all programs and policies.

The strategy is based on the following five pillars:

Related:

It’s Never Okay: An Action Plan to Stop Sexual Violence and Harassment

Leads: Ministries of the Status of Women, Community Safety and Correctional Services

Sexual assault can and does happen to anyone. It’s Never Okay is the government’s groundbreaking action plan to stop sexual violence and harassment. The government has committed $41 million over three years to support its implementation.

New in this report:

Ontario’s Culture Strategy

Lead: Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport

New! Engagement in arts and culture is a catalyst for creative thinking and innovation. This year, Ontario launched its first Culture Strategy, which embraces our diversity and builds on initiatives already taking place. Initiatives include those meant to inspire the next generation and help youth build careers in the culture sector by:

Related:

Immigration and Settlement

Lead: Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration

Ontario continued to collaborate with the federal and municipal governments and community partners to support settlement and integration of newcomers to Ontario. This year, efforts included taking action to welcome resettled refugees from Syria and other parts of the world.

New in this report:

Youth Justice Services

Lead: Ministry of Children and Youth Services

Youth justice services have transformed from a custody-focused system to a continuum of community-based and custodial programs. These services are designed to improve outcomes, create opportunities, meet diverse needs and successfully transition youth out of custody and into the community. Nine out of ten youth now receive service in the community.

New in this report:

Related:

SPOTLIGHT

Ontario Provincial Police Youth Initiatives

The Ontario Provincial Police (OPP) Northern Community Youth Initiatives are youth programming and community wellness initiatives provided to remote First Nations communities. Through consultation with Chief, Council and school staff, programming needs are assessed and themes developed. During 2015–16, activities took place in:

The OPP’s Aboriginal Policing Bureau supports Indigenous youth through:

A partnership with the Aboriginal Sport and Wellness Council of Ontario (ASWCO) is directly linked to Game ON: The Ontario Government’s Sport Plan and the 2017 North American Indigenous games.

What the Data Says

Data from the Profile of Youth Wellbeing

Case Study

CANVAS

CANVAS is working to create a culture that is free from sexual violence, homophobia and transphobia.

CANVAS Arts Action Programs (CANVAS) is a youth-led non-profit organization that runs customized arts programming using spoken word poetry, photography and drama for trans and queer youth, youth with disabilities, and youth from low-income communities.

CANVAS facilitators give unique interactive workshops that combine art with education and social action. Participants gain a critical understanding of consent, sexual pressures, rape culture, gender identity, sexual orientation, and LGBTQ+ inclusion. They also learn how to be advocates for change and support their peers.

Since August 2014, CANVAS has reached over 2,000 students and more than 1,000 youth workers, camp staff members, and lawyers. CANVAS has partnered with community organizations across Toronto and has received funding from the Ontario Trillium Foundation, Toronto Arts Council, ArtReach, Laidlaw Foundation and the Canadian Women’s Foundation.

“I now know that we are the solution and the change.”Middle School Student, Voice Integrative School
Top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Intensifions nos efforts > Le rapport annuel 2016 > Diversité, inclusion sociale et sécurité

Diversité, inclusion sociale et sécurité

Résultats 13, 14, 15

L’Ontario veut que les jeunes :

Les Canadiens voient dans le multiculturalisme, les droits de la personne et la diversité des valeurs fondamentales. Néanmoins, les cas de discrimination qui persistent dans notre société réclament notre vigilance constante. L’intimidation, la cyberintimidation et la propagande haineuse suscitent de fortes préoccupations chez les parents et les élèves. Le racisme, l’intolérance religieuse, l’homophobie et la violence fondée sur le sexe continuent de se manifester dans nos collectivités et, malheureusement, dans nos écoles...

L’Ontario est la province la plus diverse du Canada, c’est pourquoi nous devons trouver des solutions à ces préoccupations. Il nous faut répondre aux besoins d'une société en mutation rapide et toujours plus complexe en veillant à ce que nos politiques restent en phase avec ces besoins.Ministère de l'Éducation, « Faits en bref : La Stratégie ontarienne d’équité et d’éducation inclusive » (2013)

Cette année, l’Ontario a lancé des stratégies pour améliorer les résultats en matière de diversité, d’inclusion sociale et de sécurité qui visent la jeunesse. En outre, la province a annoncé des stratégies nouvelles, améliorées ou élargies à l’ensemble de la population qui auront des retentissements considérables sur les jeunes. Voici quelques-unes de ces initiatives :

Stratégies et programmes à l’appui de ces résultats

Cheminer ensemble : l’engagement de l’Ontario envers la réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones

Organisme responsable : ministère des Relations avec les Autochtones et de la Réconciliation

Nouveauté! Le 30 mai 2016, la première ministre a fait une déclaration historique signalant l’engagement de la province envers la réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones, assortie d’excuses formelles visant les politiques et les pratiques des anciens gouvernements ontariens ainsi que les dommages qu’elles ont causés.

Au même moment, la province a publié Cheminer ensemble : l’engagement de l’Ontario envers la réconciliation avec les peuples autochtones. Ce rapport définit des mesures en faveur de la réconciliation, appuyées par une enveloppe de 250 millions de dollars sur trois ans. En coopération avec des partenaires autochtones, la province agit dans cinq domaines :

Information connexe :

Stratégie ontarienne pour les enfants et les jeunes autochtones

Organisme responsable : ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse

Nous travaillons actuellement avec les Premières Nations, les Métis, les Inuits et les Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain à la mise en œuvre conjointe d’une Stratégie pour les enfants et les jeunes autochtones.

Cette stratégie permettra aux collectivités autochtones et au gouvernement de resserrer leurs liens mutuels et d’améliorer les services afin de répondre aux besoins des enfants et des jeunes autochtones. Elle permettra aussi aux collectivités autochtones de bénéficier d’une approche holistique communautaire et adaptée sur le plan culturel en matière de services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse.

La vision de la stratégie est de s’assurer que les enfants et les jeunes des Premières Nations, métis, inuits et autochtones vivant en milieu urbain sont en bonne santé, heureux, résilients, enracinés dans leurs cultures et leurs langues, et épanouis en tant que personnes et membres de leurs familles, de leurs collectivités et de leurs nations.

Une fois la stratégie mise en œuvre, les collectivités et les fournisseurs de services autochtones de l’Ontario jouiront d’une plus grande autorité dans le domaine des services à l’enfance et à la famille. De surcroît, la stratégie intégrera les points de vue et les cultures autochtones dans l’ensemble des programmes et politiques.

Elle repose sur cinq piliers :

Information connexe :

Ce n’est jamais acceptable : Plan d’action pour mettre fin à la violence et au harcèlement sexuels

Organismes responsables : ministère de la Condition féminine, ministère de la Sécurité communautaire et des Services correctionnels

Les agressions sexuelles visent et touchent tout le monde. Ce n’est jamais acceptable est le plan d’action innovant conçu par le gouvernement pour mettre un terme à la violence et au harcèlement à caractère sexuel. Le gouvernement a alloué 41 millions de dollars sur trois ans à sa mise en œuvre.

Nouveaux éléments :

Stratégie ontarienne pour la culture

Organisme responsable : ministère du Tourisme, de la Culture et du Sport

Nouveauté! L’engagement dans les arts et la culture catalyse la créativité et l’innovation. Cette année, nous avons lancé la toute première stratégie pour la culture, qui célèbre la diversité de l’Ontario en prenant appui sur les initiatives existantes. Une partie de ces initiatives visent à inspirer la nouvelle génération et à aider les jeunes à bâtir des carrières dans le secteur culturel en suivant les axes ci-dessous :

Information connexe :

Immigration et établissement

Organisme responsable : ministère des Affaires civiques et de l'Immigration

Nous avons prolongé notre collaboration avec le gouvernement fédéral et les administrations municipales, ainsi qu’avec les partenaires communautaires pour soutenir l'établissement et l'intégration des nouveaux arrivants en Ontario. Cette année, des mesures ont été prises pour accueillir les réfugiés réinstallés venus de Syrie et d’autres régions du monde.

Nouveaux éléments :

Services de justice pour la jeunesse

Organisme responsable : ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse

Les services de justice pour la jeunesse sont passés d’un système axé sur la détention à un continuum de programmes de placement sous garde et communautaires. Ces services sont conçus pour améliorer les résultats, ouvrir des possibilités, répondre aux divers besoins et permettre une bonne réinsertion dans la collectivité des jeunes placés sous garde. Actuellement, neuf jeunes sur dix bénéficient de services communautaires.

Nouveaux éléments :

Information connexe :

PLEINS FEUX

sur les initiatives pour la jeunesse de la Police provinciale de l'Ontario

Les initiatives pour la jeunesse du Nord de l’Ontario mises au point par la Police provinciale comportent des programmes pour les jeunes et des actions en faveur du bien-être communautaire offerts chaque année aux collectivités des Premières Nations isolées. Les programmes nécessaires sont évalués et les thèmes sont élaborés en concertation avec le chef, le conseil et le personnel scolaire. En 2015–2016, ces activités ont bénéficié aux collectivités suivantes :

Le Bureau des services policiers des Autochtones de la Police provinciale soutient la jeunesse autochtone grâce à divers programmes :

Un partenariat avec l’Aboriginal Sport and Wellness Council of Ontario (ASWCO) a été noué en lien direct avec ON joue : Le Plan de promotion du sport du gouvernement de l'Ontario ainsi que l’édition 2017 des Jeux autochtones de l'Amérique du Nord.

Faits et chiffres

Profil du bien-être des jeunes : quelques chiffres

Étude de cas

CANVAS

CANVAS cherche à susciter une culture exempte de violence sexuelle, d’homophobie et de transphobie.

CANVAS Arts Action Programs (CANVAS) (en anglais seulement) est un organisme sans but lucratif dirigé par des jeunes qui propose des programmes artistiques sur mesure fondés sur la poésie du parlé, la photographie et le théâtre à des jeunes trans, queer, handicapés ou issus de collectivités à faible revenu.

Les animateurs de CANVAS offrent des ateliers interactifs uniques qui marient éducation et action sociale. Les participants y acquièrent une compréhension critique des notions de consentement, de pression à caractère sexuel, de culture du viol, d’identité sexuelle, d'orientation sexuelle et d’inclusion des personnes LGBTQ+. Ils apprennent également comment militer pour le changement et soutenir leurs pairs.

Depuis août 2014, plus de 2 000 élèves et plus de 1 000 techniciens et techniciennes en éducation spécialisée, personnels de camp et avocats sont passés par CANVAS. CANVAS s’est associé à des organismes communautaires partout à Toronto et a reçu des financements de la Fondation Trillium de l’Ontario, du Toronto Arts Council, d’ArtReach, de la Laidlaw Foundation et de la Fondation canadienne des femmes.

« À présent, je sais que nous incarnons la solution et le changement. »Élève du palier intermédiaire, Voice Integrative School

Haut