You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Stepping Up > 2016 Annual Report > Education, Training and Apprenticeships

Education, Training & Apprenticeships

Outcomes 7, 8, 9

Ontario wants youth to:

In Achieving Excellence: A Renewed Vision for Education in Ontario the Ministry of Education laid out the government’s plan to build on past achievements in education and move forward with ambitious new goals. Through this plan, the ministry continues to focus on basics like reading, writing and math, while placing a new emphasis on higher-order skills like critical thinking, communication, collaboration and entrepreneurship. Achieving Excellence also recognizes the importance of student well-being inside and outside of school.

The Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development helps develop Ontario’s highly skilled workforce by increasing experiential learning opportunities, helping students acquire the talent and skills needed for the knowledge economy, and encouraging partnerships in high-demand fields.

This year, Ontario continued to make investments in strategies that support outcomes related to education, training, and apprenticeships, including:

Strategies and Programs Supporting Outcomes

Achieving Excellence: A Renewed Vision for Education in Ontario

Lead: Ministry of Education

Achieving Excellence: A Renewed Vision for Education in Ontario builds on the education system’s current priorities and reaches deeper and broader, raising expectations both for the education system and for the potential of our children and students. The province’s renewed vision for education has four interconnected goals:

Achieving Excellence

Lead: Ministry of Education

Through the goal of achieving excellence, children, youth and students of all ages are achieving high levels of academic performance, acquiring valuable skills and demonstrating good citizenship.

New in this report:

Ensuring Equity

Lead: Ministry of Education

The goal of ensuring equity is to inspire children and students to reach their full potential. Ontario schools need to be places where everyone can succeed in a culture of high expectations. They need to be places where educators and students value diversity, respect each other and see themselves reflected in their learning. It is particularly important to provide the best possible learning opportunities and supports for students who may be at risk for not succeeding. The goal of ensuring equity builds on the Equity and Inclusive Education Strategy, which first launched in 2009.

New in this report:

Promoting Well-Being

Lead: Ministry of Education

The goal of promoting well-being is to help children and students develop greater mental and physical health, a positive sense of self and belonging, and the skills to make positive choices. Children and students who have strong relationships and a positive sense of self are in a better position to reach their full potential. It is essential to support all of our students to have a positive sense of well-being in the world that will help them learn, grow and thrive.

New in this report:

Enhancing Public Confidence

Lead: Ministry of Education

An education system that is sustainable, responsible, accountable and transparent inspires public confidence and contributes to positive student outcomes.

New in this report:

Indigenous Education Strategy

Lead: Ministry of Education

Ontario’s Indigenous Education Strategy has been designed to improve opportunities and close the achievement gap for First Nations, Métis and Inuit students in provincially funded schools, whether they live in remote areas or in urban areas. It builds the foundation for lifelong learning as students transition to postsecondary, training or workplace opportunities. The strategy also increases the knowledge and awareness of all students about Indigenous histories, cultures, perspectives and contributions.

New in this report:

Safe and Accepting Schools

Lead: Ministry of Education

Ontario schools should be a place where everyone—children, students, staff, parents and the community—feels welcome, safe and respected. Safe and Accepting Schools are essential for student well-being and achievement.

New in this report:

Healthy Schools Strategy

Lead: Ministry of Education

Good food, daily physical activity and a healthy environment that supports learning and growth are vital to helping students reach their full potential. Through the Healthy Schools Strategy the ministry is working with students, teachers, principals, parents and others to help Ontario’s students do their best in school and to make our schools healthier places for students to learn and grow.

New in this report:

Transforming Ontario’s Postsecondary Education System

Lead: Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development

Ontario is working with its partners on transforming Ontario’s postsecondary education system. To help guide the sector, the province is strengthening its stewardship role and promoting a more coordinated approach. The goals of this initiative are to:

New in this report:

Indigenous Postsecondary Education and Training

Lead: Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development

Working in partnership with Indigenous leadership, communities and institutions, Ontario is helping Indigenous learners gain the education and skills they need to succeed in today’s economy. Since the launch of the Aboriginal Postsecondary Education and Training Policy Framework in 2011, significant progress has been made in First Nations, Métis and Inuit learning.

New in this report:

SPOTLIGHT

Promising Programs Supporting Indigenous Postsecondary Students Promising programs that support the Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development’s Aboriginal Postsecondary Education and Training Policy Framework include:

Apprenticeship Training

Lead: Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development

Ontario is supporting growth in high-demand jobs by introducing more young people to careers in the skilled trades, helping to ensure that Ontario’s future workforce has the skills and training for the jobs of tomorrow.

New in this report:

Ontario College of Trades

Lead: Ministry of Labour

The Ontario College of Trades is responsible for promoting and modernizing the skilled trades and protecting tradespeople, industry and, above all, the public interest.

New in this report:

These amendments will further enable the college to carry out its duty to serve and protect the public interest.

Youth Justice Education and Skills Training Success Strategy

Lead: Ministry of Children and Youth Services

The goals of the Youth Justice Education and Skills Training Success Strategy are to improve educational achievement, enhance skills attainment and increase school engagement for youth in, or at risk for, conflict with the law.

New in this report:

eCampusOntario

Lead: Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development

The province is investing $72 million over five years to support the development and operation of eCampusOntario. A centre of excellence in online and technology-enabled learning, eCampusOntario brings together offerings from all 45 of Ontario’s publicly assisted colleges and universities. It also funds and facilitates college and university collaborations in the development of new, high-quality online courses and programs, research and knowledge mobilization, and a variety of student and faculty supports.

New in this report:

What the Data Says

Data from the Profile of Youth Wellbeing

Case Study

Pathways to Education

Participants in Pathways to Education celebrate their graduation in Kitchener in 2016.

Pathways to Education is working to make Canada a “graduation nation.” The program began in 2001 in Regent Park, Toronto, and now serves 18 communities across the country.

Partnering with dedicated organizations in low-income communities, Pathways to Education supports youth in graduating from high school so they can reach their full potential. The combination of academic, financial, social and one-on-one supports helps youth break the cycle of poverty through the power of education.

The results of the program are impressive. Every year Pathways to Education welcomes over 5,000 students to the program. Graduation rates in Pathways to Education communities have improved by an average of 85%. A full 74% of graduates have gone on to postsecondary education or training. There is now an alumni base of over 4,000 youth who have become active members in their communities.

“The Pathways to Education program had—and continues to have—a major impact on my life. Pathways was able to connect me to several internship opportunities that gave me first-hand work experience in my intended field of study and allowed me to form networks and meet employers that would otherwise be inaccessible to me.”Farhana, Pathways to Education Alumna

Top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Intensifions nos efforts > Le rapport annuel 2016 > Éducation, formation et apprentissage

Éducation, formation et apprentissage

Résultats 7, 8, 9

L’Ontario veut que les jeunes :

Dans Atteindre l’excellence : Une vision renouvelée de l’éducation en Ontario, le ministère de l’Éducation a défini le plan permettant au gouvernement d’aller de l’avant, muni d’objectifs ambitieux, en tirant parti des réussites passées. Par l’intermédiaire de ce plan, le ministère continue de mettre l’accent sur les compétences de base comme la lecture, l’écriture et les mathématiques, tout en accordant une nouvelle importance aux compétences supérieures comme la pensée critique, la communication, la collaboration et l’entrepreneuriat. Atteindre l’excellence reconnaît également l’importance du bien-être des élèves en milieu scolaire et au-delà des heures de classe.

Le ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Formation professionnelle contribue au développement d’une main-d’œuvre hautement qualifiée en Ontario en élargissant les possibilités d’apprentissage par l’expérience, en aidant les étudiants et les étudiantes à acquérir les talents et les compétences indispensables dans l’économie du savoir, et en incitant aux partenariats dans les domaines à forte demande.

Cette année, l’Ontario a continué à investir dans des stratégies en faveur de l’éducation, de la formation et de l’apprentissage, notamment :

Stratégies et programmes à l’appui de ces résultats

Atteindre l’excellence : Une vision renouvelée de l’éducation en Ontario

Organisme responsable : ministère de l’Éducation

Atteindre l’excellence : Une vision renouvelée de l’éducation en Ontario fait fond sur les priorités actuelles du système d’éducation et va au-delà en largeur et en profondeur en rehaussant les attentes tant à l’égard du système qu’à l’égard du potentiel de nos enfants et de nos élèves.

Dans cette optique, la province a défini quatre objectifs liés, à savoir :

Atteindre l’excellence

Organisme responsable : ministère de l’Éducation

En réponse à l’objectif d’excellence, les enfants, les jeunes et les élèves de tout âge auront un rendement scolaire élevé, acquerront des compétences précieuses et feront preuve de civisme.

Nouveaux éléments :

Assurer l’équité

Organisme responsable : ministère de l’Éducation

L’objectif d’équité a pour but de motiver les enfants et les élèves à réaliser leur plein potentiel. Les écoles de l’Ontario doivent être des endroits où chaque personne peut réussir dans une culture d’attentes élevées, et où l’ensemble des éducateurs et éducatrices et des élèves valorisent la diversité, font montre de respect mutuel et s’identifient dans leur apprentissage. Il est particulièrement important d’offrir les meilleures occasions d’apprentissage et le meilleur soutien possible aux élèves qui risquent de ne pas réussir. L’objectif d’équité se fonde sur la Stratégie d’équité et d’éducation inclusive, lancée en 2009.

Nouveaux éléments :

Promouvoir le bien-être

Organisme responsable : ministère de l’Éducation

L’objectif en faveur du bien-être a pour but de s’assurer que tous les enfants et les élèves ont une bonne santé mentale et physique, une image positive de soi, un sentiment d’appartenance, et les compétences nécessaires pour faire de bons choix. Les enfants et les élèves qui établissent des relations solides et qui acquièrent une image positive d’eux-mêmes sont plus susceptibles de réaliser leur plein potentiel. Il est essentiel d’aider tous les élèves à avoir un sentiment de bien-être et d’appartenance au monde qui contribuera à leur apprentissage, à leur développement et à leur épanouissement.

Nouveaux éléments :

Rehausser la confiance du public

Organisme responsable : ministère de l’Éducation

Un système d’éducation qui est viable, responsable et transparent et qui adhère à l’obligation de rendre des comptes inspire la confiance du public et contribue aux bons résultats des élèves.

Nouveaux éléments :

Stratégie d’éducation autochtone

Organisme responsable : ministère de l’Éducation

La Stratégie d’éducation autochtone de l’Ontario a été conçue pour améliorer les possibilités offertes aux élèves métis, inuits et des Premières Nations et pour réduire l’écart de rendement avec l’ensemble des élèves dans les écoles financées par les fonds publics de l’Ontario, qu’ils vivent dans des régions isolées ou en ville. Elle jette les bases de l’éducation permanente lors de la transition des élèves vers l’enseignement postsecondaire, la formation ou le marché du travail. Cette stratégie permet également de mieux faire connaître les cultures, l’histoire et les perspectives autochtones à l’ensemble des élèves.

Nouveaux éléments :

Écoles sécuritaires et tolérantes

Organisme responsable : ministère de l’Éducation

Les écoles de l’Ontario doivent être des lieux où tout le monde – enfants, élèves, employés, parents et membres de la communauté – se sent en sécurité, bien accueilli et respecté. Avoir des écoles sécuritaires et tolérantes est essentiel au bien-être et à la réussite des élèves.

Nouveaux éléments :

Stratégie visant des écoles saines

Organisme responsable : ministère de l’Éducation

Pour réaliser leur plein potentiel, les enfants ont besoin d’une bonne alimentation, d’une activité physique quotidienne et d’un milieu sain qui favorise l’apprentissage et la croissance. Dans le cadre de la Stratégie visant des écoles saines, le ministère travaille en partenariat avec les élèves, les enseignants et enseignantes, les directeurs et directrices d’école, les parents et d’autres intervenants afin d’aider les élèves de l’Ontario à faire de leur mieux à l’école et de faire de nos écoles des endroits plus sains où apprendre et s’épanouir.

Nouveaux éléments :

Transformer le système d’éducation postsecondaire de l’Ontario

Organisme responsable : ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Formation professionnelle

L’Ontario travaille avec ses partenaires pour transformer son système d’éducation postsecondaire. Pour aider le secteur, la province renforce son rôle d’intendance et favorise une approche plus coordonnée. Les objectifs de cette initiative sont les suivants :

Nouveaux éléments :

Éducation postsecondaire et formation des Autochtones

Organisme responsable : ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Formation professionnelle

L’Ontario travaille en partenariat avec les dirigeants, les communautés et les organismes autochtones pour aider les apprenants autochtones à acquérir la formation et les compétences dont ils ont besoin pour réussir dans l’économie actuelle. Depuis le lancement du Cadre d’élaboration des politiques d’éducation postsecondaire et de formation autochtones en 2011, des progrès considérables ont été réalisés en matière d’apprentissage pour les peuples des Premières Nations, métis et inuits.

Nouveaux éléments :

PLEINS FEUX

sur les programmes prometteurs en matière d’éducation postsecondaire des Autochtones

Le Cadre d’élaboration des politiques d’éducation postsecondaire et de formation autochtones du ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Formation professionnelle appuie divers programmes prometteurs, notamment :

Formation en apprentissage

Organisme responsable : ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Formation professionnelle

L’Ontario appuie la croissance des emplois en forte demande en présentant les carrières dans un métier spécialisé à un plus grand nombre de jeunes. Il veille ainsi à ce que la main-d’œuvre future de l’Ontario possède les compétences et la formation nécessaires pour exercer les emplois de demain.

Nouveaux éléments :

Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario

Organisme responsable : ministère du Travail

L’Ordre des métiers de l’Ontario a pour mandat de promouvoir et de moderniser les métiers spécialisés, et de protéger les gens de métier, les représentants de l’industrie et, par-dessus tout, l’intérêt public.

Nouveaux éléments :

Ces modifications permettront également à l’Ordre de mieux remplir son obligation de servir et de protéger l’intérêt public.

Stratégie de réussite en éducation et en développement des compétences au sein du système de justice pour la jeunesse

Organisme responsable : ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse

La Stratégie de réussite en éducation et en développement des compétences au sein du système de justice pour la jeunesse a pour objectif d’améliorer la réussite scolaire, de renforcer l’acquisition de compétences et d’augmenter la participation à l’école des jeunes ayant ou risquant d’avoir des démêlés avec la justice.

Nouveaux éléments :

eCampusOntario

Organisme responsable : ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Formation professionnelle

La province investit 72 millions de dollars sur cinq ans pour soutenir le développement et l’exploitation d’eCampusOntario. Centre d’excellence collaboratif dédié à l’apprentissage en ligne et intégrant la technologie, eCampusOntario donne accès à des cours en ligne offerts par l’ensemble des 45 collèges et universités financés par les fonds publics de l’Ontario. Il subventionne et favorise en outre les collaborations entre les établissements pour la conception de nouveaux cours et programmes en ligne de qualité, de travaux de recherche et de mobilisation du savoir, et d’un éventail de ressources à l’intention des étudiants et étudiantes et des professeurs.

Nouveaux éléments :

Faits et chiffres

Données du Profil de bien-être des jeunes

Étude de cas

Passeport pour ma réussite

Les participants à Passeport pour ma réussite fêtent l’obtention de leur diplôme à Kitchener, en 2016.

Passeport pour ma réussite s’efforce de bâtir une génération de diplômés au Canada. Créé en 2001 à Regent Park, Toronto, Passeport offre actuellement des programmes dans 18 collectivités à travers le pays.

En partenariat avec des organismes dévoués œuvrant dans des communautés à faible revenu, Passeport aide les jeunes à obtenir leur diplôme d’études secondaires et à réaliser leur plein potentiel. La combinaison de mesures de soutien scolaires, financières, sociales et individuelles permet aux jeunes de briser le cycle de la pauvreté grâce au pouvoir de l’éducation.

Les résultats de ce programme sont remarquables. Chaque année, Passeport offre des soutiens à plus de 5 000 élèves. Les taux d’obtention de diplôme dans les collectivités desservies se sont améliorés de 85 p. 100 en moyenne. Pas moins de 74 p. 100 des diplômés ont entamé des études postsecondaires ou suivi une formation. Aujourd’hui, plus de 4 000 anciens élèves sont devenus des membres actifs au sein de leurs collectivités.

« Le programme Passeport pour ma réussite a eu, et continue d’avoir, un impact majeur dans ma vie. Passeport m’a permis d’accéder à plusieurs occasions de stage, grâce auxquelles j’ai pu acquérir une expérience professionnelle directe dans le domaine de compétences de mon choix, mais aussi développer des réseaux et rencontrer des employeurs, chose impossible sans cela. »Farhana, ancienne élève de Passeport pour ma réussite

Haut