You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Stepping Up > 2016 Annual Report > Employment and Entrepreneurship

Employment & Entrepreneurship

Outcomes 10, 11, 12

Ontario wants youth to:

Making sure that youth have the skills they need to enter the workforce, get good jobs and contribute to the economy helps build a stronger Ontario for all. Ontario continued to make investments in strategies that support youth employment and entrepreneurship, including:

Strategies and Programs Supporting Outcomes

Youth Jobs Strategy

Leads: Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development, Ministry of Economic Development and Growth, and Ministry of Research, Innovation and Science

Introduced in 2013, the Youth Jobs Strategy was renewed in 2015 with an investment of $250 million over two years to provide up to 150,000 youth with the tools, experiences and entrepreneurial support they need to start meaningful careers.

New in this report:

Related:

Highly Skilled Workforce Strategy

Lead: Ministry of Advanced Education and Skills Development

New! Ontario’s Highly Skilled Workforce Strategy will help the province keep the competitive advantage of having one of the best‐educated talent pools in the world, and prepare more people for success in an inclusive new economy.

Related:

Aboriginal Economic Development Fund

Lead: Ministry of Indigenous Relations and Reconciliation

Introduced as part of Ontario’s Jobs and Prosperity Fund, the Aboriginal Economic Development Fund:

New in this report:

Social Enterprise Strategy

Lead: Ministry of Economic Development and Growth

Ontario’s Social Enterprise Strategy (2016–2021) is supporting social enterprises that use business strategies to achieve a social or environmental impact. Across the provinces, social enterprises are reducing poverty and building stronger communities. At the same time, they are creating jobs, growing revenues and attracting investment capital.

New in this report:

Growth Plan for Northern Ontario

Lead: Ministry of Northern Development and Mines

The Growth Plan for Northern Ontario, released in 2011, outlines government priorities for Northern Ontario for a 25-year period. The plan includes policies that focus on building on the strengths and potential of today’s northerners by providing them with more education, training and career opportunities.

New in this report:

Ontario’s Mineral Development Strategy

Lead: Ministry of Northern Development and Mines Ontario’s Mineral Development Strategy was created with input from representatives of First Nations, Métis and northern communities as well as environmental non-governmental organizations, exploration and mining companies, and prospectors.

New in this report:

Strengthening Rural Communities

Lead: Ministry of Agriculture, Food and Rural Affairs

Strong rural communities are the key to a strong, healthy province. The province is working with rural communities to support the growth and retention of good jobs, attract investment, promote new economic opportunities, and create opportunities for youth to develop skills and find meaningful work in their communities.

New in this report:

Related:

Safe At Work Ontario

Lead: Ministry of Labour

Safe At Work Ontario is the Ministry of Labour’s strategy for enforcing the Occupational Health and Safety Act to protect worker (including young worker) health and safety.

New in this report:

Related:

Enforcing Employment Standards and Enacting or Amending Related Laws

Lead: Ministry of Labour

The Employment Standards Act, 2000 (ESA) sets out the rights and responsibilities of both employees and employers in Ontario workplaces. The Ministry of Labour enforces and promotes awareness of employment standards (e.g., minimum wage, hours of work, and public holidays) that are in place to protect workers including youth, and new and vulnerable workers.

New in this report:

What the Data Says

Data from the Profile of Youth Wellbeing

Case Study

Silver Linings Family Circle Tuck Shop

The tuck shop gives real-life employment experience to youth.

The Silver Linings Family Circle is a group of young adults with mild intellectual disabilities and their parents. Formed in 2013, and supported by the Youth Opportunities Fund, Community Living York South, the Toronto Hong Kong Lions Club, and the March of Dimes Canada, the group operates the Silver Linings Family Circle Tuck Shop in a long-term care facility in Richmond Hill.

These parents knew that after high school, many youth with mild intellectual disabilities do not have structured options for education or employment. They came together and started the tuck shop to provide a supportive, real-life pre-employment training program for its young adult participants.

The tuck shop helps youth to identify and develop life skills that will increase their independence and self-confidence. The shop gives them a structured program to attend on a regular basis, and helps them build skills important in the shop and in other areas of their lives. Those skills include budgeting, activities of daily living and social skill development. Open seven days a week, the tuck shop gives each participant ample opportunity to work under the guidance of either a job coach or parent volunteer.

“I would rather spend my day in the shop than on vacation!”JM, Tuck Shop Helper

“I couldn’t understand money—now I can even give correct change.”JCS, Tuck Shop Helper

Top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Intensifions nos efforts > Le rapport annuel 2016 > Emploi et entrepreneuriat

Emploi et entrepreneuriat

Résultats 10, 11, 12

L’Ontario veut que les jeunes :

Veiller à ce que les jeunes disposent des compétences dont ils ont besoin pour intégrer le marché du travail, obtenir des emplois de qualité et participer à l’économie contribue à renforcer la province dans l’intérêt de tout un chacun.

L’Ontario a continué à investir dans des stratégies en faveur de l’emploi et l’entrepreneuriat de la jeunesse :

Stratégies et programmes à l’appui de ces résultats

Stratégie ontarienne d'emploi pour les jeunes

Organismes responsables : ministère de l'Enseignement supérieur et de la Formation professionnelle, ministère du Développement économique et de la Croissance et ministère de la Recherche, de l'Innovation et des Sciences

La Stratégie ontarienne d'emploi pour les jeunes a été établie en 2013 et reconduite en 2015 avec une enveloppe de 250 millions de dollars sur une période de deux ans en vue d’offrir à 150 000 jeunes les outils, les expériences et le soutien entrepreneurial dont ils ont besoin pour entamer des carrières intéressantes.

Nouveaux éléments :

Information connexe :

Stratégie pour une main-d'œuvre hautement qualifiée

Organisme responsable : ministère de l'Enseignement supérieur et de la Formation professionnelle

Nouveauté! La Stratégie pour une main-d’œuvre hautement qualifiée permettra à la province de maintenir l’avantage concurrentiel constitué par son vivier de talents, parmi les mieux formés du monde, et de préparer davantage de personnes à réussir dans une nouvelle économie inclusive.

Information connexe :

Fonds de développement économique pour les Autochtones

Organisme responsable : ministère des Relations avec les Autochtones et de la Réconciliation

Établi dans le cadre du Fonds pour l'emploi et la prospérité de l’Ontario, le Fonds de développement économique pour les Autochtones :

Nouveaux éléments :

Stratégie pour l'entrepreneuriat social

Organisme responsable : ministère du Développement économique et de la Croissance

La Stratégie pour l'entrepreneuriat social de l’Ontario (2016–2021) soutient les entreprises sociales dont les stratégies d’affaires servent des objectifs sociaux et environnementaux. Dans toutes les provinces, les entreprises sociales réduisent la pauvreté et renforcent les collectivités tout en créant des emplois, en augmentant les revenus et en attirant des capitaux d’investissement.

Nouveaux éléments :

Plan de croissance du Nord de l'Ontario

Organisme responsable : ministère du Développement du Nord et des Mines

Lancé en 2011, le Plan de croissance du Nord de l'Ontario définit les priorités du gouvernement pour le Nord de l’Ontario pour une durée de 25 ans. Ce plan intègre des politiques visant à exploiter les atouts et le potentiel des habitants du Nord de l’Ontario d’aujourd'hui en leur ouvrant davantage de possibilités en termes d’éducation, de formation et de carrière.

Nouveaux éléments :

Stratégie ontarienne d'exploitation des minéraux

Organisme responsable : ministère du Développement du Nord et des Mines

La Stratégie ontarienne d'exploitation des minéraux a été conçue avec la participation de représentants des communautés métisses, de collectivités du Nord de la province et de Premières Nations, ainsi que d'organismes non gouvernementaux du secteur de l’environnement, de sociétés d’exploration et d’exploitation minières et de prospecteurs.

Nouveaux éléments :

Renforcer les collectivités rurales

Organisme responsable : ministère de l'Agriculture, de l'Alimentation et des Affaires rurales

La vitalité des collectivités rurales est la clé d’une province forte et en bonne santé. Nous travaillons avec les collectivités rurales pour favoriser la croissance et le maintien des emplois de qualité, attirer les investissements, promouvoir de nouvelles possibilités économiques et fournir aux jeunes des occasions d’acquérir des compétences et de trouver des emplois intéressants dans leur collectivité.

Nouveaux éléments :

Information connexe :

Sécurité au travail Ontario

Organisme responsable : ministère du Travail

Sécurité au travail Ontario est la stratégie du ministère du Travail visant à faire appliquer la Loi sur la santé et la sécurité au travail en vue de protéger la santé et la sécurité des travailleurs, y compris les jeunes.

Nouveaux éléments :

Information connexe :

Application des normes d’emploi, adoption et modification de lois connexes

Organisme responsable : ministère du Travail

La Loi de 2000 sur les normes d’emploi (LNE) établit les droits et les responsabilités des employeurs et des employés dans les milieux de travail ontariens. Le ministère du Travail fait connaître et respecter les normes d’emploi en vigueur (p. ex. salaire minimum, horaires de travail et jours fériés) pour protéger les travailleurs, notamment ceux qui sont jeunes, nouveaux et vulnérables.

Nouveaux éléments :

Faits et chiffres

Profil du bien-être des jeunes : quelques chiffres

Étude de cas 

Boutique de Silver Linings Family Circle

Cette boutique permet à des jeunes d’acquérir une expérience professionnelle concrète.

Silver Linings Family Circle rassemble de jeunes adultes vivant avec une légère déficience intellectuelle ainsi que leurs parents. Ce groupe, formé en 2013, bénéficie du soutien du Fonds Perspectives Jeunesse, de Community Living York South, du Toronto Hong Kong Lions Club et de La Marche des dix sous du Canada, et gère une boutique appelée Silver Linings Tuck Shop (en anglais seulement), située dans un établissement de soins de longue durée à Richmond Hill.

Ces parents savaient qu’après l’école secondaire, de nombreux jeunes vivant avec une déficience intellectuelle n’avaient accès à aucune structure en matière d’éducation ou d’emploi. C’est pourquoi ils se sont regroupés pour ouvrir cette boutique qui permet aux jeunes adultes participants de bénéficier d’un programme de formation professionnelle encourageant et concret.

La boutique aide les jeunes à définir et acquérir des compétences pratiques qui stimulent leur autonomie et leur confiance. Il s’agit d’un programme structuré auquel ces jeunes participent régulièrement et qui contribue à l’acquisition de compétences importantes à la boutique et transposables dans le reste de leur vie, par exemple la tenue d’un budget, les activités quotidiennes et le développement de compétences sociales. Ouverte sept jours sur sept, la boutique offre à chaque participant de nombreuses occasions de travailler sous la tutelle d'un moniteur de formation ou d’un parent bénévole.

« Je préfère passer mes journées à la boutique plutôt qu’en vacances! »JM, aide à la boutique

« Je ne comprenais pas l’argent, et maintenant je peux même rendre la monnaie exacte. »JCS, aide à la boutique

Haut