You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Stepping Up > 2016 Annual Report > Strong, Supportive Friends and Families

Strong, Supportive Friends & Families

Outcomes 4, 5, 6

Ontario wants youth to:

Youth benefit when they have supportive families, mentors and friends in their lives that care about them, encourage them and believe in them. For some families, however, providing the basic necessities is hard. These families may require additional services and support. Strategies that work towards reducing poverty and increasing affordable housing have positive and real impacts on children and youth. Addressing child and youth poverty is often achieved by addressing family poverty.

This year, Ontario continued to make investments in strategies and services that help build strong, supportive friends and families, including:

Strategies and Programs Supporting Outcome

Poverty Reduction Strategy

Lead: Ministry of Community and Social Services

Ontario’s Poverty Reduction Strategy focuses on breaking the cycle of poverty for children and youth. It also aims to create a province where every person has the opportunity to achieve his or her full potential and contribute to a prosperous and healthy Ontario. The three pillars of the strategy are child poverty, financial security and homelessness. Initiatives listed here and in the Inventory of Youth Programs 2016 are not exhaustive. The initiatives listed here focus mostly on youth.

New in this report:

Long-Term Affordable Housing Strategy

Lead: Ministry of Housing

Through the 2016 update to its Long-Term Affordable Housing Strategy, Ontario made investments to achieve its vision of a province where every person has an affordable, suitable and adequate home. The strategy includes a focus on ending homelessness for youth. As with poverty, addressing youth homelessness is often achieved by addressing family homelessness. The initiatives listed in this report focus mostly on helping youth.

New in this report:

Family Justice Services

Lead: Ministry of the Attorney General

The Ministry of the Attorney General provides a variety of programs and services to Ontario families facing separation and/or divorce. Information about these programs and services can be found on the ministry’s Family Justice Services web page.

New in this report:

 

Licensed Child and Youth Residential Services

Lead: Ministry of Children and Youth Services

Licensed child and youth residential settings include group homes, foster homes, provincially operated facilities, and youth justice open and secure custody/detention facilities.

New in this report:

Child Protection Services

Lead: Ministry of Children and Youth Services

In Ontario, child protection services are delivered exclusively by children’s aid societies and Indigenous child well-being societies.

These societies are independent legal entities responsible for investigating reports or evidence of abuse or neglect of children under the age of 16 and, when necessary, taking steps to protect children. They also look after children who come under their care or supervision, counsel and support families, and place children for adoption.

The Child and Family Services Act (1990) is the governing legislation that guides the work of these societies, aspects of residential care for children and youth with special needs, and other services and supports for vulnerable children, youth and families. The work of these societies is also guided by the Ontario Child Protection Standards (2016) and the Ontario Child Welfare Eligibility Spectrum (2016).

New in this report:

Permanency and Adoption

Lead: Ministry of Children and Youth Services

Through permanency and adoption, Ontarians are supported to build their families and improve outcomes and stability for children and youth in the care of children’s aid societies and Indigenous child well-being societies.

New in this report:

Youth Leaving Care Strategy

Lead: Ministry of Children and Youth Services

The Youth Leaving Care Strategy provides supports and resources for youth in and leaving the care of a children’s aid society or Indigenous child well-being society.

New in this report:

What the Data Says

Data from the Profile of Youth Wellbeing

Case Study

Black Women in Motion

Black Women in Motion helps young women reach their personal and professional goals.

Black Women in Motion (BWIM) is a grassroots, youth-led initiative that seeks to inspire and empower young women and girls. Through programs and workshops, BWIM supports young women’s intellectual, emotional and physical well-being. Programs help young women achieve their personal and professional goals. They also give them the skills they need to become role models, mentors and leaders in their communities.

In 2016, BWIM received support from the Laidlaw Foundation and the Youth Opportunities Fund (YOF). The YOF funding supported a team of local Toronto youth assemble to organize and execute the annual This Means WARR: Weekend of Action Against Rape Culture conference. The two-day event focuses on increasing dialogue on cultural attitudes towards rape. Through interactive panel discussions, workshops and activities, participants learn about what rape culture is, and how to recognize and take action against it.

“I am extremely grateful to be a part of a program like this. I feel that with this new knowledge, I have the power to change the attitudes that individuals have regarding consent and rape culture—even if it’s just one person’s.”Participant, Black Women in Motion

Top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Intensifions nos efforts > Le rapport annuel 2016 > Cercle familial et amical solide et solidaire

Cercle familial et amical solide et solidaire

Résultats 4, 5, 6

L’Ontario veut que les jeunes :

Il est bénéfique pour les jeunes d’avoir dans leur vie des membres de la famille, des amis et des mentors solidaires qui s’occupent d’eux, les encouragent et croient en eux. Certaines familles, toutefois, ont du mal à satisfaire les besoins de base. L’accès à des services et des soutiens supplémentaires peut alors être utile. Les stratégies visant à réduire la pauvreté et à accroître le nombre de logements abordables ont un impact positif réel sur les enfants et les jeunes. La lutte contre la pauvreté des enfants et des jeunes passe souvent par la résolution des problèmes de pauvreté de la famille.

Cette année, l’Ontario a continué à investir dans des stratégies et services favorisant la création d’un cercle familial et amical solide et solidaire, notamment :

Stratégies et programmes à l’appui de ces résultats

Stratégie de réduction de la pauvreté

Organisme responsable : ministère des Services sociaux et communautaires

La Stratégie de réduction de la pauvreté de l’Ontario s’attache à rompre le cycle de la pauvreté pour les enfants et les jeunes. Elle vise également à créer une province où toute personne peut développer son plein potentiel et contribuer à la prospérité et à la santé de l’Ontario. Les trois piliers de la stratégie sont la pauvreté infantile, la sécurité financière et l’itinérance. La liste d’initiatives présentée ici et dans le Répertoire des programmes pour les jeunes 2016 n’est pas exhaustive. Les exemples cités dans ce rapport sont principalement axés sur les jeunes.

Nouveaux éléments :

Stratégie à long terme de logement abordable

Organisme responsable : ministère du Logement

En vertu de la mise à jour 2016 de sa Stratégie à long terme de logement abordable, l’Ontario a réalisé des investissements afin de concrétiser sa vision d’une province dans laquelle chaque personne a un logement abordable, convenable et de qualité. Cette stratégie inclut un volet visant à mettre fin à l’itinérance des jeunes. Comme nous l’avons constaté pour la pauvreté, la lutte contre l’itinérance des jeunes passe souvent par la résolution des problèmes d’itinérance de la famille. Les exemples cités dans ce rapport sont principalement axés sur l’aide en faveur des jeunes.

Nouveaux éléments :

Services de justice familiale

Organisme responsable : ministère du Procureur général

Le ministère du Procureur général offre divers programmes et services aux familles ontariennes qui vivent une séparation ou un divorce. Le site web du ministère consacré aux Services de justice familiale fournit de plus amples renseignements à propos de ces programmes et services.

Nouveaux éléments :

 

Services agréés en milieu résidentiel pour les enfants et les jeunes

Organisme responsable : ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse

Les milieux résidentiels agréés pour les enfants et les jeunes incluent les foyers de groupe, les familles d’accueil, les établissements directement administrés et les établissements de garde et de détention en milieu ouvert et fermé du système de justice pour la jeunesse.

Nouveaux éléments :

Services de protection de l’enfance

Organisme responsable : ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse

En Ontario, les services de protection de l’enfance sont exclusivement assurés par les sociétés d’aide à l’enfance et les sociétés autochtones d’aide à l’enfance.

Ces sociétés sont des organismes autonomes chargés de faire enquête sur les signalements ou toute preuve de mauvais traitements et de négligence à l’égard des enfants âgés de moins de 16 ans et, lorsque cela est nécessaire, de prendre des mesures pour protéger les enfants. En outre, elles fournissent des soins aux enfants et assurent la surveillance des enfants qui leur sont confiés, fournissent des conseils et un soutien aux familles et placent les enfants en vue de leur adoption.

La Loi sur les services à l’enfance et à la famille (1990) régit le travail de ces sociétés, ainsi que divers aspects des soins en établissement fournis aux enfants et aux jeunes ayant des besoins particuliers et d’autres services et mécanismes de soutien destinés aux enfants, aux jeunes et aux familles vulnérables. Ces sociétés sont également assujetties aux Normes de la protection de l’enfance en Ontario (2016) et aux Échelles d’admissibilité des services de bien-être de l’enfance de l’Ontario (2016).

Nouveaux éléments :

Permanence et adoption

Organisme responsable : ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse

Les mesures en faveur de la permanence et de l’adoption aident les Ontariens et les Ontariennes à fonder une famille, ainsi qu’à améliorer les résultats des enfants et des jeunes pris en charge par les sociétés d’aide à l’enfance et les sociétés autochtones d’aide à l’enfance, et à assurer une stabilité dans leur vie.

Nouveaux éléments :

Stratégie pour les jeunes quittant la prise en charge

Organisme responsable : ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse

La Stratégie pour les jeunes quittant la prise en charge fournit des programmes de soutien et des ressources aux jeunes pris en charge et anciennement pris en charge par une société d’aide à l’enfance ou une société autochtone d’aide à l’enfance.

Nouveaux éléments :

Faits et chiffres

Données du Profil de bien-être des jeunes

Étude de cas

Black Women in Motion

Black Women in Motion aide les jeunes femmes à atteindre leurs objectifs personnels et professionnels.

Black Women in Motion (BWIM) est une initiative locale dirigée par des jeunes qui cherche à inspirer les jeunes filles et les jeunes femmes et à renforcer leur autonomie. BWIM propose des programmes et organise des ateliers en vue de favoriser le bien-être psychique, émotionnel et physique des participantes. Ces programmes aident les jeunes femmes à atteindre leurs objectifs personnels et professionnels, et leur permettent d’acquérir les compétences nécessaires pour devenir des modèles de comportement, des mentors et des chefs de file au sein de leurs collectivités.

En 2016, BWIM a reçu le soutien de la Laidlaw Foundation et du Fonds Perspectives Jeunesse (FPJ). Le financement au titre du FPJ a permis de mettre sur pied une équipe de jeunes torontoises afin d’organiser la conférence annuelle « This Means WARR: Weekend of Action Against Rape Culture ». Cet événement sur deux jours a pour objectif de renforcer le dialogue sur les attitudes culturelles à l’égard du viol. Les discussions d’experts, ateliers et activités interactifs étaient l’occasion d’apprendre ce qu’est la culture du viol, et de savoir comment reconnaître ses manifestations et les contrer.

« Je suis très reconnaissante de participer à un programme comme celui-ci. Grâce à ces nouvelles connaissances, je me sens capable de faire changer les comportements à l’égard du consentement et de la culture du viol, ne serait-ce que chez une seule personne. »Participante, Black Women in Motion

Haut