You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Stepping Up > 2014 Annual Report > A Sustained Commitment: Cross-Cutting Actions

Stepping Up banner – feet climbing stairs.

A Sustained Commitment: Cross-Cutting Actions

Photo of three young people standing at a work site

The Province of Ontario is increasing its commitment to working together with youth allies to support all young people to become healthy, safe, hopeful, engaged, educated and contributing members of their communities and our province.

Stepping Up has identified 20 outcomes that matter to the wellbeing of Ontario's young people. Through this framework, the Province of Ontario is renewing its commitment to youth wellbeing – and establishing these outcomes as priorities for action moving forward.

The guiding principles proposed through Stepping Up help to clarify how we will work towards achieving these priorities. They are:

  1. A Positive, Asset-Based View of Youth
  2. Targeted Support for Those Who Need It
  3. Collaboration and Partnership
  4. Meaningful Youth Engagement and Leadership
  5. Diversity
  6. Evidence-Informed Choice
  7. Transparency

Based on these principles, and in order to support progress towards the outcomes we want for our youth, the Province of Ontario is committing to the following cross-cutting actions, designed to create the conditions for success

  1. Provide sustained, positive-oriented leadership
  2. Focus on the needs of marginalized youth
  3. Support collaboration, local planning and partnership
  4. Increase youth voice in design and delivery of services
  5. Increase capacity to better serve diverse and marginalized youth
  6. Support research and evaluation
  7. Provide updates and information on the wellbeing of Ontario's youth

Action #1: Provide sustained, positive-oriented leadership

Sustained Leadership: We recognize that supporting all of Ontario's young people to develop successfully is a complex and multi-faceted goal. Moving forward, we are committed to using this strategic framework to guide our actions and choices. We are also committed to using it to inform our partnerships with others to better guide mutual decisions and investments.

Action #2: Focus on the needs of marginalized youth

Developing relevant and innovative solutions: Ontario will continue to see youth as a priority through investments in programs such as those made under Ontario's Youth Action Plan and the Youth Leaving Care Strategy. The services and supports we provide to youth need to be flexible, responsive and relevant to the changing needs of all youth. We know cultural, social, economic and geographical factors specific to youth must be considered when developing youth programs.

Youth Opportunities Fund. We are launching a Youth Opportunities Fund to support the development of innovative projects in priority neighborhoods to help at-risk youth stay on track.


Photo of young girl

Action #3: Support collaboration, local planning and partnership

Improving programs through cross-government coordination: The collaborative effort to develop Stepping Up brought together representatives from ministries across the provincial government to talk about young people and the outcomes that matter to them in a holistic and comprehensive way. We learned a lot from working together and we are committed to improving collaboration across ministries to better serve youth.

Establishing a Cross-ministry Working Group. The establishment of a permanent working group – representing 18 youth-serving ministries – will fill a gap at the cross-cutting government level related to youth issues. Through collaboration with the Premier's Council on Youth Opportunities, the working group will break down sector silos and address specific issues in youth-serving programs that were identified through the Ontario youth program review, as well as other issues as they emerge.

Supporting sectors to collaborate: Ontario communities have opportunities to improve outcomes for youth through the development of strategic plans and by forming linkages and improving relationships across sectors. We know that there are some communities already doing this work that we can all learn from. As announced in Ontario's Youth Action Plan, the Ontario government will provide supports to promote collaboration across sectors.

Cross-Sector Local Youth Planning. Supports for local planning will help youth and those who work with youth to set priorities together, reduce duplication and enhance existing capacity and service provision in their communities. By bringing together representatives from governments, school boards, the justice system, private business, community agencies and young people themselves, youth planning tables will foster better alignment between program goals and result in lasting location-based solutions.

Increasing opportunities for partnerships: We will also work closely with partners in the private sector to increase opportunities for business to contribute to the wellbeing of youth and support at-risk youth to succeed in areas like employment.

Private Sector Jobs and Mentorship Initiative. We are partnering with the Greater Toronto CivicAction Alliance to engage youth, employers, labour representatives, community leaders and governments to increase job, mentorship and entrepreneurship opportunities for at-risk youth in the private sector. We will look to identify immediate and long-term actions to overcome barriers that at-risk youth face when looking for, and starting, a job; attract the private sector to provide more job and mentorship opportunities; and encourage communities across Ontario to partner with the private sector to help at-risk youth succeed.


Action#4: Increase youth voice in design and delivery of services

Photo of two young people reading in a park

Fostering youth leadership: Involving young people in decision-making supports their futures. Doing so across the province will help ensure the services and supports in which we have invested will maximize positive youth development and allow youth to achieve their highest potential. We will try to create opportunities for meaningful youth involvement in decision-making through the programs and services they access. We will build on existing efforts to engage youth (for example, the Minister's Student Advisory Council of the Ministry of Education, the Feathers of Hope First Nations Youth Forum).

As a first priority, the government will direct the Premier's Council on Youth Opportunities to work with program staff to develop a plan to increase youth engagement in service design and delivery.

Premier's Council on Youth Opportunities.First introduced in Ontario's Youth Action Plan, the Premier's Council on Youth Opportunities has been established to provide advice to government on how to support youth through existing programs, lead thinking on new directions, and apply a "youth lens" to decision-making. The Council has a membership of 25 youth and young professionals, and is now a permanent feature of the provincial government's approach to youth services.

Supporting Youth-led Innovation: We know that issues like poverty, social isolation and youth violence require innovative solutions and an all-hands-on-deck approach – and recognize that creative solutions are needed to tackle these social problems. Youth is a developmental stage that supports inventive and innovative thinking. This period of creativity can be channeled to address pressing social problems when youth are supported to lead and empowered to act as agents of change.

Action #5: Increase capacity to better serve diverse and marginalized youth

Ensuring that services are inclusive and culturally responsive: Stepping Up has catalogued many programs and services for youth that are already provided by the Government of Ontario. We know that marginalized young people may not always feel comfortable accessing these services. We know that, to be effective, Ontario's youth programs need to reflect and be responsive to the diverse needs and backgrounds of the young people they serve. We are committed to strengthen diversity in Ontario's youth programs to better reflect the composition of the communities they serve. This involves:

  1. Building capacity of service providers to better serve diverse youth
  2. Strengthening outreach to youth through partnerships with culturally diverse grassroots agencies

We will work with our partners to develop strategies in this area.

Photo of young man working on a house

Action #6: Support research and evaluation

Increasing knowledge of youth development: Over the past few years, there has been an impressive increase in the quantity and quality of research in youth development and the supports required by youth to successfully transition to adulthood. This body of knowledge continues to evolve. It is important that we continue to embrace emerging evidence, innovative approaches and new knowledge - and to apply these in our work with youth. We will continue working to make this information more readily available to the people who are supporting the positive development of young people - whether they are youth, business leaders, caregivers, teachers, mentors, community planners, or policy-makers.

Mobilizing Knowledge. The government will continue to mobilize research on positive youth development, including Stepping Stones: A Resource on Youth Development, to increase understanding of youth development and invest in continuous quality improvement in Ontario's youth programming.

Increasing linkages to research and evaluation: There is broad consensus that youth services and supports across the province must do a better job of identifying their impact and that more focus is needed on the quality of services youth receive. We will share best practices and maximize positive youth development across the province. To do this, we will continue to research effective programs, identify best practices and leading strategies, and provide tools so we can all measure how effective our programs are.

Supports for Research and Evaluation. We are launching a plan to provide tools to support the measurement and evaluation by community programs and increase evidence on their effectiveness. This plan will support agencies delivering services to youth to tell their story, measure their impact and be guided by evidence.


Action #7: Provide updates and information on the wellbeing of Ontario's youth

Reporting on youth outcomes: An important part of Stepping Up is to provide a set of outcomes and indicators around which we can align our work in support of youth. We will continue to pay attention to how youth are doing through monitoring of these outcomes and indicators. We will also ensure that we work with the sector to capture additional qualitative data related to the themes identified that may not be fully captured by the indicators. This will help us understand how youth development in Ontario is progressing.

Tracking the Wellbeing of Youth. Beginning in 2013, the Ontario government will report on youth outcomes each year by tracking Stepping Up's outcomes and indicators and the implementation of Ontario Youth Strategy initiatives.

Top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Intensifions nos efforts > Le rapport annuel 2014 > Un engagement durable : Actions transversales

Intensifions nos efforts

Un engagement durable : Actions transversales

Photo de trois jeunes qui se trouvent sur un chantier.

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario renforce son engagement à collaborer avec les alliés des jeunes pour que tous nos jeunes soient en bonne santé, en sécurité, pleins d’espoir, mobilisés, instruits et qu’ils apportent leur contribution à leur collectivité ainsi qu’à notre province.

Intensifions nos efforts prévoit 20 résultats qui sont importants pour assurer le bien-être des jeunes de l’Ontario. Par l’intermédiaire de ce cadre stratégique, la province renouvelle son engagement en faveur du bien-être des jeunes, et fait de ces résultats des priorités guidant les mesures à prendre pour aller de l’avant.

Les principes directeurs que propose le cadre Intensifions nos efforts permettent de clarifier la façon dont nous allons œuvrer pour concrétiser ces priorités, qui sont les suivantes :

  1. Vision positive des jeunes, axée sur leurs points forts
  2. Soutien ciblé pour ceux qui en ont besoin
  3. Collaboration et partenariat
  4. Engagement judicieux et leadership constructif des jeunes
  5. Diversité
  6. Choix fondés sur des données probantes
  7. Transparence

À la lumière des ces principes, et en vue d’orienter les progrès dans le sens des résultats que nous souhaitons obtenir pour les jeunes, le gouvernement de l’Ontario s’engage à mener les actions transversales suivantes, qui sont conçues pour instaurer des conditions propices à la réussite.

  1. Offrir un leadership positif et durable
  2. Mettre l’accent sur les besoins des jeunes marginalisés
  3. Appuyer la collaboration, la planification locale et les partenariats
  4. Faire mieux entendre la voix des jeunes en ce qui concerne la conception et de la prestation des services
  5. Renforcer la capacité à proposer des services plus efficaces aux jeunes marginalisés et divers
  6. Appuyer la recherche et l’évaluation
  7. Fournir des mises à jour et des renseignements sur le bien-être des jeunes de l’Ontario

Action no 1 : Offrir un leadership positif et durable

Un leadership durable : Nous avons conscience que notre ambition d’aider tous les jeunes de l’Ontario à réussir est une entreprise complexe aux multiples facettes. Dorénavant, nous nous efforcerons d’utiliser ce cadre stratégique pour orienter nos actions et nos choix. Nous nous engageons également à l’utiliser dans le cadre de nos partenariats afin de mieux informer nos décisions et investissements mutuels.

Action no 2 : Mettre l’accent sur les besoins des jeunes marginalisés

Concevoir des solutions pertinentes et novatrices : L’Ontario continuera de miser en priorité sur la jeunesse, notamment en investissant dans des programmes relevant du Plan ontarien d’action pour la jeunesse et de la Stratégie pour les jeunes quittant la prise en charge. Nos services et soutiens en faveur de la jeunesse doivent être souples, adaptés et pertinents au regard de l’évolution des besoins de tous les jeunes. Nous savons qu’il est indispensable de prendre en compte les facteurs culturels, sociaux, économiques et géographiques inhérents à la jeunesse lors de l’élaboration des programmes pour les jeunes.

Fonds Perspectives Jeunesse. Nous mettons en place un Fonds Perspectives Jeunesse venant appuyer le développement de projets novateurs dans les quartiers prioritaires afin d’aider les jeunes à risque à rester sur le droit chemin.


Photo d’une jeune fille.

Action no 3 : Appuyer la collaboration, la planification locale et les partenariats

Instaurer une coordination à l’échelle intergouvernementale afin d’améliorer les programme : Le travail collaboratif qui a donné naissance à Intensifions nos efforts a réuni les représentants de divers ministères au sein du gouvernement provincial afin de parler des jeunes et des résultats importants à leurs yeux, dans une optique holistique et exhaustive. Cette collaboration a été riche d’enseignements, et nous sommes déterminés à améliorer la collaboration interministérielle dans le but de mieux servir les jeunes.

Création d’un groupe de travail interministériel du personnel. La création d’un groupe de travail permanent – représentant 18 ministères au service des jeunes – supprimera le fossé actuel à l’échelon intergouvernemental concernant les enjeux de la jeunesse. En collaboration avec le Conseil de la première ministre pour de meilleures perspectives pour la jeunesse, ce groupe de travail s’emploiera à mettre fin au cloisonnement du secteur et se penchera sur les enjeux inhérents aux programmes pour les jeunes qui ont été identifiés dans le cadre de l’Examen des programmes du gouvernement de l’Ontario pour les jeunes, ainsi que sur les autres questions à mesure qu’elles apparaîtront.

Favoriser la collaboration intersectorielle : Les collectivités de l’Ontario ont la possibilité d’améliorer les résultats des jeunes en procédant à l’élaboration de plans stratégiques, ainsi qu’en tissant des liens et en améliorant les relations entre les secteurs. Nous savons que certaines collectivités ont déjà mené à bien ce travail, et nous pouvons tous en tirer des enseignements. Comme annoncé dans le Plan ontarien d'action pour la jeunesse, le gouvernement de l’Ontario proposera des soutiens visant à promouvoir cette collaboration intersectorielle.

Planification locale intersectorielle dans l’intérêt de la jeunesse. L’apport de soutiens à la planification locale aidera les jeunes et les personnes qui collaborent avec eux à définir ensemble une liste de priorités, à éviter les redondances, ainsi qu’à renforcer la capacité existante et la prestation des services dans leur collectivité. En réunissant les représentants des gouvernements et administrations, des conseils scolaires, du système judiciaire, des entreprises du secteur privé, des organismes communautaires et de la jeunesse elle-même, les comités de planification des services à la jeunesse seront en mesure de favoriser une meilleure harmonisation des objectifs des programmes et d’instaurer des solutions pérennes ancrées dans la réalité locale.

Renforcer les possibilités de partenariats : Nous collaborerons également avec nos partenaires du secteur privé afin d’accroître les contributions possibles des entreprises au bien-être des jeunes et à la réussite des jeunes à risque, dans le domaine de l’emploi notamment.

Initiative d’emploi et de mentorat dans le secteur privé. Nous travaillons avec la Greater Toronto CivicAction Alliance dans l’optique d’inciter les jeunes, les employeurs, les représentants syndicaux, les leaders communautaires et les administrations locales à mettre sur pied des stratégies pour la promotion des perspectives d’emploi, de mentorat et d’entrepreneuriat pour les jeunes à risque de l’Ontario au sein du secteur privé. Nous nous emploierons à identifier les actions à mettre en œuvre immédiatement et sur le long terme pour éliminer les obstacles auxquels les jeunes font face quand ils recherchent un emploi et entrent en poste, pour inciter le secteur privé à fournir un plus grand nombre de perspectives d’emploi et de possibilités de mentorat et pour encourager les collectivités de tout l’Ontario à nouer des partenariats avec le secteur privé pour favoriser la réussite des jeunes à risque.

Action no 4 : Faire mieux entendre la voix des jeunes dans le cadre de la conception et de la prestation des services

Photo de deux jeunes qui lisent dans un parc.

Promouvoir le leadership des jeunes. L’implication des jeunes dans la prise de décision est un tremplin pour leur avenir. L’adoption d’une telle démarche à travers la province contribuera à garantir que les services et soutiens que nous proposons favorisent de façon optimale le développement positif des jeunes et leur permettent de réaliser leur plein potentiel. Nous nous efforcerons de créer des occasions propices à la participation constructive des jeunes dans la prise de décision par l’intermédiaire des programmes et services auxquels ils accèdent. Nous tirerons parti des initiatives existantes pour mobiliser les jeunes (par exemple, le Conseil consultatif ministériel des élèves du ministère de l’Éducation ou le forum jeunesse Feathers of Hope, une tribune réunissant des jeunes des Premières Nations).

Conseil de la première ministre pour de meilleures perspectives pour la jeunesse. Évoqué pour la première fois dans le Plan ontarien d’action pour la jeunesse, le Conseil de la première ministre pour de meilleures perspectives pour la jeunesse a été établi pour conseiller le gouvernement sur les moyens de soutenir les jeunes dans le cadre des programmes existants, pour mener de nouvelles pistes de réflexion et pour assurer la prise en compte du point de vue des jeunes dans les décisions. Ce comité se compose de 25 jeunes et jeunes membres professionnels et fait désormais partie intégrante de l’approche du gouvernement provincial en matière de services à la jeunesse.

La toute première démarche du gouvernement sera de demander au Conseil de la première ministre pour de meilleures perspectives pour la jeunesse de travailler avec le personnel des programmes à l’élaboration d’un plan visant le renforcement de la participation des jeunes dans la conception et la prestation des services.

Soutenir l’innovation dirigée par les jeunes : Nous savons que les problématiques sociales telles que la pauvreté, l’isolement social et la violence chez les jeunes nécessitent la mise en place de solutions innovantes et l’adoption d’une approche faisant intervenir tous les acteurs de services à la jeunesse – nous sommes conscients qu’il est impératif de trouver des solutions créatives pour nous attaquer à ces enjeux sociaux « iniques ». La jeunesse est un stade du développement qui se prête à une réflexion inventive et novatrice; il est possible de tirer parti de cette période de créativité pour trouver une réponse à des problèmes sociaux pressants en aidant les jeunes à devenir des leaders et des acteurs du changement.

Action no 5 : Renforcer la capacité à proposer des services plus efficaces aux jeunes marginalisés et divers

Garantir la prestation de services inclusifs et tenant compte des différences culturelles. Intensifions nos efforts fait l’inventaire des nombreux programmes et services que le gouvernement de l’Ontario offre déjà à la jeunesse. Nous savons que les jeunes marginalisés éprouvent parfois des réticences à recourir à ces services. Nous savons que, pour être efficaces, les programmes pour les jeunes de l’Ontario doivent refléter et prendre en compte les besoins et l’histoire de chacun des jeunes qui reçoit des services. Nous avons la volonté de renforcer la diversité au sein des programmes pour les jeunes de l’Ontario pour mieux refléter la composition des collectivités qu’ils desservent. Cela implique :

Nous travaillerons à l’élaboration de stratégies en la matière aux côtés de nos partenaires.

Photo d’un jeune homme qui fait des travaux dans une maison.

Action no 6 : Appuyer la recherche et l’évaluation

Étoffer nos connaissances à propos du développement des jeunes : Ces dernières années, nous avons été témoins d’une multiplication et d’une nette amélioration de la qualité des travaux de recherche portant sur le développement des jeunes et sur les soutiens nécessaires pour les aider à réussir la transition vers l’âge adulte. Ce corpus de connaissances ne cesse d’évoluer. Nous devons continuer de faire place aux données probantes, aux approches novatrices et aux nouvelles connaissances qui se profilent — et de les mettre en pratique dans notre travail auprès des jeunes. Nous poursuivrons nos efforts visant à rendre ces renseignements plus facilement accessibles pour les personnes qui œuvrent au développement positif des jeunes — aussi bien pour les jeunes eux-mêmes que pour les chefs d’entreprise, les personnes responsables, le personnel enseignant, les mentors, les planificateurs communautaires ou les responsables de l’élaboration des politiques.

Mobilisation du savoir. Le gouvernement continuera d’exploiter la recherche sur le développement positif des jeunes, y compris D’un stade à l’autre : Une ressource sur le développement des jeunes, afin d’en permettre une meilleure compréhension et d’investir dans l’amélioration continue de la qualité des programmes pour les jeunes de l’Ontario.

Renforcer les liens avec la recherche et l’évaluation : De l’avis général, il est indispensable d’assurer que les services et soutiens en faveur de la jeunesse fassent preuve d’une plus grande efficacité pour identifier leur impact et se focaliser davantage sur la qualité des services offerts aux jeunes. Nous allons mettre en commun nos pratiques exemplaires et optimiser le développement positif des jeunes à travers la province. Pour ce faire, nous continuerons d’étudier les programmes efficaces, d’identifier les pratiques exemplaires et les stratégies de premier plan et de proposer des outils permettant à tous de mesurer l’efficacité de nos programmes.

Appui à la recherche et à l’évaluation. Nous lançons un plan pour fournir des outils visant à favoriser la mesure et l’évaluation des programmes communautaires et à étoffer les données probantes attestant leur efficacité. Ce plan soutiendra les organismes qui fournissent des services aux jeunes dans l’optique de raconter leur parcours, de mesurer leur impact et de s’appuyer sur les données probantes.

Action no 7 : Fournir des mises à jour et des renseignements sur le bien-être des jeunes de l’Ontario

Assurer le suivi des résultats des jeunes : L’un des volets importants d’Intensifions nos efforts consiste à fournir un ensemble de résultats et d’indicateurs autour desquels nous pourrons articuler notre travail dans l’intérêt des jeunes. Nous continuerons de vérifier comment se porte la jeunesse en assurant le suivi de ces résultats et indicateurs. Nous veillerons également à travailler aux côtés des acteurs du secteur en vue de recueillir des données qualitatives supplémentaires en rapport avec les thèmes mis en lumière, mais qui ne sont pas forcément parfaitement rendues par les indicateurs. Cela nous aidera à mieux comprendre l’évolution relative au développement des jeunes de l’Ontario.

Suivi du bien-être des jeunes. À compter de 2013, le gouvernement de l’Ontario fournira chaque année un suivi sur les résultats et les indicateurs du présent cadre stratégique et sur la mise en œuvre des initiatives de la Stratégie ontarienne pour la jeunesse.

Haut