You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Stepping Up > 2014 Annual Report > A Sustained Commitment: Ontario's Profile of Youth Wellbeing

Stepping Up banner – feet climbing stairs.

A Sustained Commitment: Ontario's Profile of Youth Wellbeing

The Profile of Youth Wellbeing presents a set of 20 outcomes and 52 indicators, which were selected to create a picture of how young people are doing in Ontario.

The outcomes in Stepping Up were selected based on research and consultations with stakeholders and youth. For each outcome, indicators were chosen as a proxy measure to assess and monitor the state of youth. Together, the outcomes and indicators represent our priorities for young people and our commitment to monitoring their wellbeing and development.

Why a profile?

The Government of Ontario has developed this profile in order to improve understanding about how youth in Ontario are doing – and to help identify what issues we need to pay attention to in order to support them to succeed.

The profile extends Stepping Up's common language on positive youth development for government and the youth-serving sector by providing an opportunity for ongoing evidence-based dialogue about the priority areas.

How was the profile developed?

The indicators rely on data that is currently collected on a regular basis. Publicly reported, Ontario population-level data was used where available and supplemented with data on government programs to respond to each specific outcome and round out the picture of youth wellbeing.

Indicators for the Ontario Profile of Wellbeing were selected based on their:

  • Relevance to the outcomes we want for Ontario's youth
  • Regularity in data collection (annual or biennial)
  • Representation of a large, stable youth sample
  • Representation of Ontario's context
  • Balance of the data's sensitivity to change and volatility

As the profile was created by curating the available data, its value is not found in the individual data points but in the picture that is created when all of the indicators are understood together. The overall portrait of young people in Ontario tells a unique story about a generation, a context and a trajectory of change.

The profile was not developed with the intention of assigning a degree of causality in changes to the indicators to activities inspired by Stepping Up. Changes to the indicators may reflect past investment and contextual conditions beyond our control. Likewise, the indicators have not been selected as an evaluative tool for Stepping Up itself, or for individual programs.

Working with what is available.

The indicator sources used in the profile have differences in populations represented, age demographics of the samples, data collection methodology and regularity of reporting. (Please see the Appendix for original data sources.) Many of the indicators are based on voluntary, self-reported surveys. Although this data provides an excellent opportunity to hear the voice of youth, not all voices are represented. For example, many of the data sources exclude First Nations youth on reserves and in remote communities.

Considering the differences for marginalized youth

Photo of young girl and boy leaning against a wall

The main goal in creating the Profile of Youth Wellbeing has been to develop an overall picture of how all youth across Ontario are doing. By focusing on population-level indicators, we recognize that the story presented in the profile does not necessarily reflect the experiences of individual youth. Each data source used in the profile is limited by its sample, which in many cases under-represents the experiences of marginalized populations (such as Aboriginal youth or "undocumented" youth).

With limited data available to assess outcomes for youth, we readily acknowledge the methodological challenges in creating the profile. However, we believe the profile plays an important role in showing the overall status of Ontario's young people - and we see it as providing a first, foundational step that can be used to demonstrate where the experiences of some groups of young people are very different from the rest of the population.

As the Review of the Roots of Youth Violence report notes, it is important to proceed with the best information that is available and then work to make improvements over time, rather than waiting for something better to emerge.

Each year, the province will publish an update on the Profile of Youth Wellbeing. As a part of this update, we commit to digging deeper into the experiences of marginalized youth - including Aboriginal youth, youth in and leaving care, youth with disabilities or special needs, racialized youth, newcomer youth, LGBTTQ youth, francophone youth, youth living in rural and remote communities, youth from low-income families and youth in conflict with the law.

In addition, we believe that this profile plays a role in highlighting the need for more meaningful data about youth and identifying areas where current data is lacking. The profile will be improved as the data improves and new information emerges. We know that collaboration with partners in the sector will be important to improving data and monitoring on the profile.

A critical step forward

The profile is a statement; a commitment to paying attention to the wellbeing of young people. The outcomes provide an ideal reality that we hope all youth can experience. The indicators will allow us to know, each year, how many youth are getting closer to reaching that reality. Although the profile will not perfectly describe all youth in Ontario, it provides the questions we can ask the young people in our lives about how they are faring and what supports they need to develop and thrive.

Ontario Profile of Youth Wellbeing

Theme: Health & Wellness

Ontario youth are physically healthy.

Ontario youth feel mentally well.

Ontario youth make choices that support healthy and safe development.


Theme: Strong, Supportive Friends & Families

Ontario youth have families and guardians equipped to help them thrive.

Ontario youth have at least one consistent, caring adult in their lives.

Ontario youth form and maintain healthy, close relationships.


Theme: Education, Training & Apprenticeships

Ontario youth achieve academic success.

Ontario youth have educational experiences that respond to their needs and prepare them to lead.

Ontario youth access diverse training and apprenticeship opportunities.


Theme: Employment & Entrepreneurship

Ontario youth have opportunities for meaningful employment experiences.

Ontario youth have the skills and resources needed to develop a successful career or business.

Ontario youth are safe and supported at work.


Theme: Diversity, Social Inclusion & Safety

Ontario youth experience social inclusion and value diversity.

Ontario youth feel safe at home, at school, online and in their communities.

Ontario youth respect, and are respected by, the law and justice system.


Theme: Civic Engagement and Youth Leadership

Ontario youth play a role in informing the decisions that affect them.

Ontario youth are engaged in their communities.

Ontario youth leverage their assets to address social issues.


Theme: Coordinated & Yourth-Friendly Communities

Ontario youth have access to safe spaces that provide quality opportunities for play and recreation.

Ontario youth know about and easily navigate resources in their communities.

Top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Intensifions nos efforts > Le rapport annuel 2014 > Un engagement durable : Profil du bien-être des jeunes de l’Ontario

Intensifions nos efforts

Un engagement durable : Profil du bien-être des jeunes de l’Ontario

Le Profil du bien-être des jeunes se compose de 20 résultats et de 52 indicateurs sélectionnés dans le but d’établir un état des lieux de la jeunesse de l’Ontario.

Dans le cadre d’Intensifions nos efforts, la sélection des résultats s’est fondée sur les conclusions de la recherche et sur les consultations menées auprès des parties prenantes et des jeunes. Pour chaque résultat, diverses variables ont été choisies à titre d’indicateurs indirects pour évaluer et assurer le suivi de l’état de la jeunesse. Ensemble, les résultats et indicateurs représentent nos priorités pour la jeunesse et concrétisent notre volonté d’assurer le suivi du bien-être et du développement des jeunes.

Pourquoi concevoir un profil?

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a élaboré ce profil dans l’objectif d’améliorer la compréhension de la situation des jeunes de la province, et d’aider à mettre en relief les enjeux auxquels nous devons prêter attention afin d’aider ces jeunes à réussir.

Le profil vient enrichir la présentation générale d’Intensifions nos efforts sur le développement positif des jeunes — à l’intention du gouvernement et du secteur des services à la jeunesse — en proposant une base de dialogue durable et fondée sur des données probantes à propos des thèmes prioritaires.

Comment ce Profil a-t-il été mis au point?

Les indicateurs reposent sur des données qui sont actuellement recueillies de façon régulière. En complément des données publiques disponibles à l’échelle de la population ontarienne, les données relatives aux programmes du gouvernement ont servi à informer chaque résultat et à obtenir un état des lieux du bien-être des jeunes.

Les indicateurs composant le Profil du bien-être des jeunes de l’Ontario ont été sélectionnés en fonction :

  • de leur pertinence au regard des résultats que nous souhaitons obtenir pour les jeunes de l’Ontario;
  • de la régularité de la collecte des données correspondantes (annuelle ou bisannuelle);
  • de leur représentation d’un échantillon de jeunes qui soit vaste et stable;
  • de leur caractère représentatif du contexte de l’Ontario;
  • du juste équilibre entre la sensibilité au changement et la volatilité des données.

Ce profil étant articulé autour des données disponibles, sa valeur ne repose pas dans l’analyse indépendante de chaque point, mais dans la vision obtenue lorsque tous les indicateurs sont interprétés ensemble. Le portrait général des jeunes de l’Ontario nous raconte une histoire unique portant sur une génération, un contexte et une trajectoire d’évolution.

Ce profil n’a pas été conçu dans le but de déterminer un lien de cause à effet entre les changements observés pour chaque indicateur et les activités inspirées par Intensifions nos efforts. L’évolution des indicateurs peut être le reflet d’investissements antérieurs et de circonstances indépendantes de notre volonté. De même, les indicateurs n’ont pas été sélectionnés pour faire office d’outil d’évaluation applicable à Intensifions nos efforts ou à un programme en particulier.

Travailler à partir des données disponibles

Les sources sur lesquelles se fondent les indicateurs utilisés dans le profil présentent des différences en ce qui concerne les populations représentées, les tranches d’âge des cadres d’échantillonnage, la méthodologie retenue pour la collecte des données et la fréquence de communication de ces données. (Veuillez vous reporter à l’annexe pour connaître la source d’origine des données). Bon nombre de ces indicateurs se fondent sur des enquêtes d’auto-déclaration volontaire. Même si ces données sont un excellent moyen de savoir ce que les jeunes pensent, elles n’offrent pas une représentation de toutes les voix de la jeunesse. Ainsi, de nombreuses sources excluent les jeunes des Premières Nations vivant dans des réserves et collectivités éloignées.

Tenir compte des différences en ce qui concerne les jeunes marginalisés

Photo d’une jeune fille et d’un jeune garçon qui s’appuient contre un mur.

L’objectif principal de l’élaboration du Profil du bien-être des jeunes consiste à donner un aperçu global de la situation de tous les jeunes, dans tout l’Ontario. Nous sommes conscients qu’en mettant l’accent sur des indicateurs à l’échelle de la population, nous obtenons une histoire qui ne reflète pas nécessairement les expériences propres à chaque jeune. Chaque source de données est limitée par son échantillon, au sein duquel les expériences des populations marginalisées sont souvent sous-représentées (comme les jeunes Autochtones ou les jeunes « sans papiers »).

Au vu des données limitées dont nous disposons pour évaluer les résultats des jeunes, nous convenons sans peine des enjeux méthodologiques inhérents à la création de ce profil. Nous pensons toutefois qu’il joue un rôle important, car il donne un aperçu de la situation d’ensemble des jeunes de l’Ontario, et à nos yeux, il constitue une première étape fondamentale qui pourra servir de marchepied pour démontrer à quel point les expériences de certains groupes de jeunes diffèrent de celles vécues par le reste de la population.

Comme le note l’Examen des causes de la violence chez les jeunes, il est important d’exploiter les meilleures données disponibles, puis de s’employer à apporter des améliorations au fil du temps, plutôt d’attendre l’émergence de données plus précises.

Chaque année, la province publiera une mise à jour du Profil du bien-être des jeunes de l’Ontario. Dans le cadre de cette mise à jour, nous nous engageons à nous pencher de façon plus approfondie sur les expériences vécues par les jeunes marginalisés, y compris les jeunes Autochtones, les jeunes pris en charge et quittant la prise en charge, les jeunes handicapés ou ayant des besoins particuliers, les jeunes racialisés, les jeunes nouveaux arrivants, les jeunes LGBTBQ, les jeunes francophones, les jeunes qui vivent dans des collectivités rurales et éloignées, les jeunes issus de familles à faible revenu et les jeunes ayant des démêlés avec la justice.

Par ailleurs, nous sommes convaincus que ce profil joue un rôle important, car il souligne la nécessité de disposer d’un plus grand nombre de données significatives sur la jeunesse et identifie les domaines dans lesquels les données actuelles sont lacunaires. Le profil sera perfectionné à mesure de l’amélioration des données et de l’émergence de nouveaux renseignements. Nous savons que la collaboration avec des partenaires du secteur sera essentielle en vue de l’amélioration des données et du suivi du profil.

Un pas en avant capital

Ce profil constitue une déclaration, un engagement en faveur du bien-être des jeunes. Les résultats dressent le tableau d’une réalité idéale à laquelle nous aspirons pour tous les jeunes. Les indicateurs nous permettront de connaître, chaque année, le nombre de jeunes qui se rapprochent de cette réalité. Bien que ce profil n’offre pas une description parfaite des expériences individuelles de tous les jeunes de l’Ontario, il détaille les questions que nous pouvons poser aux jeunes de notre entourage pour savoir comment ils se portent et quels sont les soutiens dont ils ont besoin pour s’épanouir.

Profil du bien-être des jeunes de l'Ontario

Thème : Santé et bien-être

Les jeunes de l'Ontario sont en bonne forme physique.

Les jeunes de l'Ontario se sentent en bonne santé mentale.

Les jeunes de l'Ontario font des choix propices à un développement sain et sécuritaire.


Thème : Strong, Supportive Friends & Families

Les familles et les personnes responsables des jeunes de l'Ontario disposent de moyens pour aider ces jeunes à s'épanouir.

Les jeunes de l'Ontario ont dans leur vie au moins une personne attentionnée et stable.

Les jeunes de l'Ontario établissent et entretiennent des relations saines et étroites.


Thème : Éducation, formation et apprentissage

Les jeunes de l'Ontario ont un bon rendement scolaire.

Les jeunes de l'Ontario suivent un parcours éducatif qui répond à leurs besoins et les prépare à devenir des leaders.

Les jeunes de l'Ontario ont accès à un vaste éventail de possibilités en matière de formation et d'apprentissage.


Thème : Emploi et entrepreneuriat

Les jeunes de l'Ontario ont la possibilité de vivre des expériences professionnelles constructives.

Les jeunes de l'Ontario disposent des compétences et des ressources nécessaires à la construction d'une carrière ou au développement d'une entreprise.

Les jeunes de l'Ontario sont soutenus et en sécurité au travail.


Thème : Diversité, inclusion sociale et sécurité

Les jeunes de l'Ontario savent ce qu'est l'inclusion sociale et valorisent la diversité.

Les jeunes de l'Ontario se sentent en sécurité chez eux, à l'école, en ligne et au sein de leur collectivité.

Les jeunes de l'Ontario respectent, et sont respectés par, le système de droit et de justice.


Thème : Engagement civique et leadership chez les jeunes

Les jeunes de l'Ontario jouent un rôle en faisant entendre leur voix pour les décisions qui les touchent.

Les jeunes de l'Ontario participent à la vie de leur collectivité.

Les jeunes de l'Ontario tirent parti de leurs points forts pour faire face aux enjeux sociaux.


Thème : Collectivités coordonnées et adaptées aux jeunes

Les jeunes de l'Ontario ont accès à des espaces sécuritaires qui leur offrent des possibilités intéressantes en matière de divertissement et de loisirs.

Les jeunes de l'Ontario connaissent les ressources mises à disposition dans leur collectivité et comprennent facilement comment y avoir accès.

Haut