You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Student Nutrition Program > Special diet considerations

SECTION 7: SPECIAL DIET CONSIDERATIONS

Vegetarian diet: There are different types of vegetarianism. Some vegetarians eat dairy products and eggs, some eat only dairy products, some eat only eggs, and some eat fish. People following a vegan diet do not eat any foods derived from animals including eggs, dairy products, gelatin, and honey. Vegetarians can eat a healthy diet by choosing fortified soy beverage as part of the Milk and Alternatives food group, and a variety of meat alternatives (e.g., beans, lentils, eggs, tofu, nuts, etc.) from the Meat and Alternatives food group.

Faith based diet: Given the variety of faith and cultural groups within Ontario, it is important that food and beverages provided to children and youth is in keeping with their faith, while still meeting the SNP Nutrition Guidelines.

Culturally appropriate diet: SNPs should make an effort to offer culturally appropriate foods that also meet the SNP Nutrition Guidelines.

Medically directed diet: Particular attention is required when providing food to children and youth with medical issues. Parents and caregivers are the best source of information for their child’s specific needs.

Food allergies and intolerances: Food Allergy Canada has more information about the differences between food allergy and food intolerance. In order to help keep children and youth with food allergies safe and feeling well, use these best practices:

SNPs in schools need to follow their School Board’s anaphylaxis policy. Anaphylaxis plans of children and youth with allergies should be shared with SNP program providers. For more information about food allergies in schools, consult your local School Board policies, and refer to the Anaphylaxis in Schools & Other Settings 3rd Edition (Canadian Society or Allergy and Clinical Immunology – CSACI) or visit Food Allergy Canada.

Should any other special dietary requirements arise, contact a registered dietitian from the local public health unit or Eat Right Ontario at www.eatrightontario.ca or toll free at 1-877-510-5102.

Good to Know!

Children, youth and their families/caregivers are the best sources of information about their specific dietary needs.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Programme de bonne nutrition des élèves > Les régimes alimentaires spéciaux

SECTION 7 : LES RÉGIMES ALIMENTAIRES SPÉCIAUX

Régime végétarien : Il existe différents types de végétarisme. Certains végétariens consomment des produits laitiers et des oeufs, certains consomment seulement des produits laitiers, d'autres seulement des oeufs et certains mangent du poisson. Les personnes qui suivent un régime végétalien ne mangent aucun aliment d'origine animale, y compris les oeufs, les produits laitiers, la gélatine et le miel. Les végétariens peuvent adopter un régime alimentaire sain en choisissant des boissons de soya enrichie du groupe alimentaire Lait et subsituts, et en choisissant une variété de substituts; légumineuses, lentilles, oeufs, tofu, noix, du groupe Viandes et substituts.

Régime fondé sur les croyances : En raison de la diversité de groupes confessionnels et culturels en Ontario, il est important que les aliments et les boissons offerts aux élèves soient conformes à leur croyance, tout en respectant les lignes directrices sur la nutrition du Programme d’alimentation saine pour les élèves.

Régime adapté à la culture : Les Programmes d’alimentation saine pour les élèves devraient essayer d'offrir des aliments adaptés à la culture qui respectent également les lignes directrices sur la nutrition du Programme d’alimentation saine pour les élèves.

Régime prescrit pour raisons médicales : Une attention particulière est requise lorsque des aliments sont offerts à des élèves présentant des problèmes médicaux. Les parents et les personnes soignantes sont les meilleures sources d'information en ce qui concerne les besoins particuliers de leur enfant.

Allergies et intolérances alimentaires : Allergies Alimentaires Canada offre de plus amples renseignements sur les différences entre les allergies alimentaires et les intolérances alimentaires. Afin d’assurer la sécurité et le bien-être des élèves ayant des allergies alimentaires, utiliser les pratiques exemplaires suivantes:

Les Programmes d’alimentation saine pour les élèves dans les écoles doivent respecter la politique concernant l’anaphylaxie de leur conseil scolaire. Les plans concernant l'anaphylaxie pour les enfants et les jeunes qui ont des allergies devraient être transmis aux fournisseurs du Programme d’alimentation saine pour les élèves. Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les allergies alimentaires dans les écoles, veuillez consulter les politiques de votre conseil scolaire ainsi que le document L'anaphylaxie à l'école et dans d'autres milieux, 3e édition, ou visiter le site Web d'Allergies Alimentaires Canada.

Advenant l'émergence de toute autre exigence alimentaire spéciale, veuillez communiquer avec un diététiste professionnel du bureau de santé publique de votre région ou avec Saine Alimentation Ontario à l'adresse www.sainealimentationontario.ca ou au numéro sans frais 1-877-510-510-2.