Collective Impact in Ontario

What is Collective Impact?

Collective Impact is an approach to tackling complex social problems in communities. Its central philosophy is that no single policy, program, government ministry, sector or organization alone can solve these problems.

Collective Impact aims to support local groups in working together to improve how systems, services and communities interact, and to help local partners rally around a shared vision of success in tackling common issues. A Collective Impact approach can be used to address issues across sectors, including economic development, child and youth wellbeing, and housing instability.

The Ontario government has used the Collective Impact approach in a number of initiatives to support better outcomes for youth.

What is Collective Impact for Connecting Youth?

We know some of Ontario’s youth face complex issues. They interact with many different systems (e.g. health, education, justice, employment) across government and in their communities.

Collective Impact for Connecting Youth (CICY) is a made-in-Ontario Collective Impact approach to improving outcomes for youth who are Not in Employment, Education, or Training (NEET).

CICY is working in demonstration communities across Ontario to bring together public, private, philanthropic and non-profit organizations, along with local businesses and community members. CICY aims to promote solutions that are co-developed and make systems more responsive to local issues.

What does it look like?

Who are Ontario’s NEET youth?

CICY is committed to supporting youth who face multiple barriers to success in their communities. In particular, CICY is focused on reducing the number of youth who are NEET. In Ontario, there are over 150,000 (nearly 1 in 10) NEET youth.

Despite efforts to support Ontario’s youth, these young people remain disconnected from school and work. The rate of NEET youth in Ontario has not significantly changed in over a decade. The systems in place to serve these young people are disconnected. Interventions have not reached a significant number of Ontario youth. By working across systems and engaging cross-sector partners, CICY will test a new way of working to ensure Ontario’s youth have what they need to thrive.

Provincial Partnership Table

CICY is guided by a group of leaders from across sectors. Established in March 2016, the Provincial Partnership Table (PPT) is comprised of leaders from the public, private, non-profit and philanthropic sectors. The PPT works with communities and youth leaders to tailor their support to what is needed locally.

PPT members include:

Public Sector – Deputy Minister Co-chairs
Ministry of Tourism, Culture and Sport Nancy Matthews
Ministry of Children, Community and Social Service Janet Menard
Public Sector – Other Ministry Representation
Ministry of Training, Colleges and Universities
Ministry of Municipal Affairs and Housing
Ministry of Education
Private Sector
Hospitality Workers Training Centre Mandie Abrams
RBC Noah Aiken-Klar
Starbucks Canada Ross Anderson
Virgin Unite RE*Generation Joanne Kviring
Non-Profit Sector
United Way Toronto & York Region Nation Cheong
Ontario Trillium Foundation Jennifer Roynon
Philanthropic Sector
Laidlaw Foundation (Youth CI) Jehad Aliweiwi
J.W. McConnell Family Foundation (Innoweave) Ryan Conway
Social Capital Partners Judy Doidge

Youth Collective Impact

Youth Collective Impact (CI) helps groups of community, government, and private sector organizations across Ontario learn about, develop and launch Collective Impact projects that generate change in local community settings, such as: increasing secondary school graduation rates or reducing the number of youth who experience homelessness.

The Ministry of Children, Community and Social Services funds Youth Collective Impact, and it is delivered by the Laidlaw Foundation in partnership with the J.W. McConnell Family Foundation’s Innoweave Initiative. Youth Collective Impact works to build the capacity of Ontario’s youth serving sector so that communities are able to work collaboratively and tackle complex community problems. Youth CI offers support to existing and potential community-based groups through information and engagement sessions, workshops, coaching and funding.

Information

Email CIDY@Ontario.ca to learn more about Collective Impact for Coonnecting Youth in Ontario.

Resources

Here are some resources to help you learn more about the Collective Impact methodology.

NEET Youth

Collective Impact

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Perspectives pour la jeunesse > Impact collectif en Ontario

Impact collectif en Ontario

Qu’est-ce que l’impact collectif?

L’impact collectif est une approche pour s’attaquer à des problèmes sociaux complexes dans les collectivités. Son concept central réside dans le fait qu’aucune politique, aucun programme, ministère gouvernemental, secteur ou organisme ne peut résoudre ces problèmes individuellement.

L’impact collectif vise à appuyer des groupes locaux qui œuvrent ensemble dans des collectivités afin d’améliorer la façon dont de nombreux systèmes et groupes collaborent et se mobilisent autour d’une vision commune de réussite en s’attaquant à des problèmes communs. On peut recourir à l’impact collectif pour s’attaquer à des problèmes affectant plusieurs secteurs, notamment le développement économique, le bien-être des enfants et des jeunes, l’environnement, et l’instabilité en matière de logement.

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a souscrit à l’approche de l’impact collectif dans un certain nombre d’initiatives pour appuyer l’amélioration des résultats pour les jeunes.

Qu’est-ce que l’impact collectif pour les jeunes déconnectés?

Nous savons que certains jeunes de l’Ontario sont aux prises avec des problèmes très complexes, et qu’ils interagissent avec de nombreux systèmes différents (p. ex., santé, éducation, justice, emploi) au sein du gouvernement et dans leurs collectivités.

L’impact collectif pour les jeunes déconnectés (ICJD) est une approche conçue en Ontario pour améliorer les résultats chez les jeunes qui sont confrontés à de multiples obstacles pour réussir.

L’approche rassemble toute une gamme de chefs de file, de ressources et d’investissements afin d’expérimenter une nouvelle façon de travailler ensemble pour faire une différence notable sur les résultats obtenus par les jeunes dans des collectivités modèles choisies en Ontario.

En rassemblant les secteurs gouvernemental, des entreprises locales, de la philanthropie et à but non lucratif, l’ICJD vise à promouvoir des solutions élaborées en collaboration, et à mieux harmoniser les systèmes afin qu’ils soient plus réceptifs aux problèmes des jeunes à l’échelon local.

À quoi cela ressemble-t-il?

Qui sont les jeunes NEEF de l’Ontario?

Reconnaissant que la majorité des jeunes de l’Ontario sont épanouis, l’ICJD est déterminé à offrir un soutien à ceux qui sont confrontés à de multiples obstacles pour réussir en classe et au travail. En particulier, l’ICJD se consacre à réduire le nombre de jeunes qui ne sont ni aux études, ni en emploi, ni en formation (NEEF). En Ontario il y a environ 160 000 jeunes NEEF (soit près d’un jeune sur dix).

En dépit d’un investissement important dans le secteur de la jeunesse de l’Ontario, ces jeunes se sont déconnectés de l’école et du travail. Le taux de jeunes NEEF en Ontario n’a pas changé de façon importante en une décennie. Cela est dû au fait que les systèmes sont déconnectés, pas les jeunes. Reconnaissant que ces investissements n’ont pas réussi à rejoindre ce groupe de jeunes, l’ICJD, en œuvrant dans le cadre de plusieurs systèmes et en mobilisant divers niveaux de partenaires, expérimentera une nouvelle façon de travailler pour améliorer la vie de ces jeunes.

Table de concertation provinciale

L’Initiative ICJD est guidée par un groupe de chefs de file de divers secteurs. Constituée en mars 2016, la Table de concertation provinciale (TCP) est composée de chefs de file des secteurs public, privé, à but non lucratif et philanthropique. Elle collabore avec des collectivités et des leaders jeunesse pour adapter leurs apports à ce dont on a besoin sur le terrain.

Voici les membres de la Table de concertation provinciale :

Secteur public
Ministères des Services l’enfance et à la jeunesse Nancy Matthews
Ministère des Affaires civiques et de l’Immigration Alex Bezzina
Ministère de l’Enseignement supérieur et de la Formation professionnelle Glenn Craney
Ministère des Affaires municipales/ministère du Logement Laurie LeBlanc
Ministère de l’Éducation Bruce Rodrigues
Secteur privé
Hospitality Workers Training Centre Mandie Abrams
RBC Noah Aiken-Klar
Starbucks Canada Ross Anderson
Virgin Unite RE*Generation Joanne Kviring
Secteur à but non lucratif
United Way Toronto & York Region Nation Cheong
Fondation Trillium de l’Ontario Jennifer Roynon
Secteur philanthropique
Laidlaw Foundation (partenariats d’action pour les jeunes) Jehad Aliweiwi
Fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell Aaron Good
Social Capital Partners Bill Young/Judy Doidge
Lyle S. Hallman Foundation Laura Manning
conseillère stratégique Suzanne Herbert

Partenariats d’action pour les jeunes

Les partenariats d’action pour les jeunes aident des groupes d’organismes, issus des secteurs communautaire, gouvernemental et privé de partout en Ontario, à mieux connaître, concevoir et lancer des projets d’impact collectif qui génèrent du changement dans les collectivités locales, par exemple : en augmentant les taux d’obtention du diplôme d’études secondaires ou en réduisant le nombre de jeunes qui connaissent le sans-abrisme.

Financé par le ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse, le Programme des partenariats d’action pour les jeunes, dont la prestation est assurée par la Laidlaw Foundation en partenariat avec l’initiative Innoweave de la Fondation de la famille J.W. McConnell, œuvre à renforcer la capacité du secteur des services aux jeunes afin que les collectivités soient en mesure de travailler en collaboration et de s’attaquer à des problèmes communautaires complexes. Le Programme des partenariats d’action pour les jeunes offre un soutien aux groupes communautaires existants et potentiels dans le cadre de séances d’information et de mobilisation, d’ateliers, de mentorat et de financement.

Information

Envoyez un courriel à CIDY@Ontario.ca pour en savoir davantage sur l’impact collectif pour les jeunes déconnectés de l’Ontario.

Ressources

Voici des ressources pour vous aider à en savoir davantage sur la méthodologie de l’impact collectif.

Jeunes NEEF

Impact collectif