You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Youth opportunities > Premier's Council on Youth Opportunities

Premier's Council on Youth Opportunities

The Premier's Council on Youth Opportunities is a permanent, advisory body to government. This advisory council has a membership of 25 youth, young professionals and other community leaders from a variety of cultures, communities and backgrounds.

The council gives advice to the Premier of Ontario and the Minister of Children and Youth Services on issues affecting youth, including how the government can improve programs and services for youth. Council members also talk to youth in their home communities to help government initiatives better reflect the needs of all young people across the province.

PCYO Members

group of PCYO members standing around a desk

“Improving outcomes for youth will only happen if we work together to address the challenges they face growing up in this province. As the council meets and engages with young people across Ontario, we are reminded of the importance of providing advice to shape how the government pursues its priorities. It’s a privilege to be part of this dialogue – I encourage others to take on this challenge too!”
- Muhammad Zaman, Member

three people standing together smiling
three people talking with each other

“Having diverse young people advise policymaking ensures that we are moving from a place of "respecting diverse voices" - to a place of - " practising active inclusion of diverse voices." Improving outcomes for the most vulnerable youth is the clearest way to investing in a bright future for all Ontarians."
- Zakaria Abdulle, Chair

three people standing infront of a blue screen together
committee members siting around a table having a meeting

“It has been such a privilege to be a part of this council helping to amplify the voices of vulnerable, underrepresented youth and giving advice on how the government can more effectively invest in their futures.”
- Shalom Omollo, Member

Learn about council members here.

Applying to the Premier’s Council on Youth Opportunities

By joining the Premier’s Council on Youth Opportunities (PCYO), youth can make a difference in the lives of young people across the province.

Council members are involved in:

How to apply

To apply to the PCYO, applications are submitted directly to the Public Appointments Secretariat (PAS). To submit an application, a candidate just needs to have their résumé ready and fill out the application form on the PAS website. Youth and young adults over the age of 16 are invited to apply for the PCYO.

Applications are accepted year round. Anyone interested in applying must submit an application by January 19, 2018, to be considered in time for the 2018-2019 PCYO. Applicants selected for interviews will be contacted in February. Only those selected for the Council will be contacted. The 2018-2019 PCYO will begin meeting in April 2018.

If you have any questions about the application process, or would like to contact the council, please email PCYO@ontario.ca.

Step-by-step instructions for applicants

Step 1: Contact information

  • Complete your contact information in this section.

Step 2: Selecting the PCYO application form

  • Find the "Premier’s Council on Youth Opportunities" under the "Agencies" list.
  • Make sure you click "Add Selected Agency".
  • A new box will pop up. In the “Position” drop-box, select "Member (Part-time)" and click "Next Step".

Step 3: Tell us about yourself

  • Pull out your résumé to help you fill out "Step 3" (two pages). This asks about your education, employment experience and community work.
  • The PAS uses a standard form for all applications, so don’t worry if you don’t have experience in all of these areas.
  • We encourage you to use the "Additional Information:" section to tell us more about yourself. You could tell us why you are interested in the PCYO, what you would bring to the Council, or what you are passionate about. This really helps us to learn more about you and how you might help to amplify the voices of youth in your community!

Step 4: Review and submit

  • Review your application summary. This is your chance to make any last edits.
  • Once you have reviewed, you can click "Submit".
  • Your application is now complete. You can also print a copy of the form.

Accountability for Premier's Council on Youth Opportunities

Under the Agencies and Appointments Directive and the Travel, Meal and Hospitality Expenses Directive, provincial agencies are required to post their governance documents. These include business plans, annual reports and expense information for designated individuals.

Expense Information

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Perspectives pour la jeunesse > Conseil de la première ministre pour de meilleures perspectives pour la jeunesse

Conseil de la première ministre pour de meilleures perspectives pour la jeunesse

Le Conseil de la première ministre pour de meilleures perspectives pour la jeunesse est un organisme permanent offrant des conseils au gouvernement. Il compte vingt-cinq membres qui sont des jeunes, de jeunes professionnels et d’autres dirigeants communautaires de cultures, de communautés et d’horizons divers.

Cette instance donne des conseils à la première ministre de l’Ontario et à la ministre des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse sur des enjeux qui touchent les jeunes, notamment sur la façon dont le gouvernement peut améliorer les programmes et les services destinés aux jeunes. Les membres du Conseil parlent également avec des jeunes de leurs collectivités d’attache pour que les initiatives gouvernementales reflètent mieux les besoins de tous les jeunes de la province.

Les membres du Conseil

« Les résultats pour les jeunes s’amélioreront uniquement si nous travaillons ensemble pour aborder les défis qu’ils rencontrent en grandissant dans cette province. Les réunions et l'engagement du conseil avec la jeunesse de tout l’Ontario nous rappellent l’importance de fournir des conseils pour guider le gouvernement dans la poursuite de ses priorités. C’est un privilège de participer à ce dialogue, et j’encourage d’autres à relever aussi ce défi! »
- Muhammad Zaman, membre

« Faire appel aux conseils des jeunes dans le cadre de l’élaboration de politiques permet de passer du stade « respecter diverses voix » à celui d’« inclure activement diverses voix ». L’amélioration des résultats pour les jeunes les plus vulnérables est le moyen le plus évident d’investir dans un avenir meilleur pour tous les Ontariens et Ontariennes. »
- Zakaria Abdulle, président

« C’est un privilège de faire partie de ce conseil et d’aider à amplifier les voix des jeunes vulnérables sous représentés ainsi que de fournir des conseils sur la façon dont le gouvernement peut investir plus efficacement dans leur avenir. »
- Shalom Omollo, membre

Renseignez-vous sur les membres du conseil ici.

Faire une demande au Conseil de la première ministre pour de meilleures perspectives pour la jeunesse

En vous joignant au Conseil de la première ministre pour de meilleures perspectives pour la jeunesse (CPMMPJ), vous pouvez faire une différence dans la vie des jeunes partout dans la province.

Les membres du Conseil :

Comment présenter une demande

Pour présenter une demande au CPMMPJ, les demandes sont soumises directement au Secrétariat des nominations. Pour ce faire, les candidates et candidats doivent tout simplement avoir leur curriculum vitae prêt, et remplir le formulaire de demande sur le site Web du Secrétariat des nominations. Les adolescents et les jeunes adultes âgés de plus de 16 ans sont invités à présenter leur candidature au CPMMPJ.

Les demandes sont acceptées toute l’année. Toute personne intéressée doit soumettre une demande d’ici le 19 janvier 2018 pour que sa candidature soit prise en considération en temps voulu pour le CPMMPJ 2018-2019. Nous communiquerons avec candidats sélectionnés pour une entrevue en février. Nous ne communiquerons qu’avec les personnes sélectionnées. Le CPMMPJ 2018 commencera à se réunir en avril 2018.

Si vous avez des questions sur le processus de demande, ou si vous aimeriez communiquer avec le Conseil, veuillez envoyer un courriel à PCYO@ontario.ca.

Instructions étape par étape pour les candidates et candidats

Étape 1 : Indiquez vos coordonnées

  • Mentionnez vos coordonnées dans cette section.

Étape 2 : Sélectionnez le formulaire de demande pour le CPMMPJ

  • Trouvez le « Conseil de la première ministre pour de meilleures perspectives pour la jeunesse » dans la « Liste des organismes ».
  • Assurez-vous de cliquer sur « Ajouter l’organisme choisi ».
  • Un nouveau champ apparaîtra. Dans le menu déroulant « Position », choisissez « Membre » (« Temps partiel ») et cliquez sur « Prochaine étape ».

Étape 3 : Parlez nous de vous

  • Munissez-vous de votre curriculum vitae pour remplir l’« Étape 3 » (2 pages) qui vous demande votre niveau de scolarité, vos antécédents professionnels et votre engagement communautaire.
  • Le Secrétariat des nominations utilise un formulaire standard pour toutes les demandes, ne vous inquiétez donc pas si vous n’avez pas d’expérience dans tous ces domaines.
  • Nous vous encourageons à utiliser la section « Renseignements supplémentaires » pour nous en dire davantage sur vous. Vous pourriez nous dire pourquoi le CPMMPJ vous intéresse, quel sera votre apport au Conseil, ou ce qui vous passionne. Cela nous aide vraiment à en savoir plus sur vous et sur la façon dont vous pourriez contribuer à faire entendre davantage la voix des jeunes de votre communauté!

Étape 4 : Revoyez et soumettez la demande

  • Revoyez le résumé de votre demande. C’est l’occasion de faire toute dernière correction.
  • Une fois que vous avez revu votre demande, vous pouvez cliquer sur « Postulez maintenant ».
  • Votre demande est maintenant prête. Vous pouvez également imprimer une copie du formulaire.

Reddition de compte : Conseil de la première ministre pour de meilleures perspectives pour la jeunesse

En vertu de la Directive concernant les organismes et les nominations et de la Directive sur les frais de déplacement, de repas et d'accueil, les organismes provinciaux doivent afficher leurs documents de gouvernance, notamment les plans d'activités, les rapports annuels et les renseignements sur les dépenses des personnes désignées.

Renseignements sur les dépenses