You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Special needs > OAP Clinical Framework > Appendices

OAP Clinical Framework - Appendices

Appendix A: Methods

  1. Parent/Youth, Clinician and Educator Stakeholder Consultations

    Stakeholder focus groups took place from November 2016 to March 2017. The purpose of the consultations was to document the advice, experiences, perspectives, and priorities from as many stakeholders across the province as possible. This wide gathering of information was done to ensure recommendations to the Minister about the OAP reflected the advice of children and youth, their families and their support and service providers, and took into consideration not just the individual skills that a child/youth can improve, but also their ability to participate as fully and as independently as possible in all their settings. Importantly, we wanted to ensure that the priorities of children and youth with ASD and their families were well understood.

    Each meeting was arranged with the intention of having between 10 and 12 stakeholders present to allow for fulsome participation. Most meetings achieved this target number, with a small number of groups having fewer than 10 participants and others with 15-20. Stakeholders included parents, youths, clinicians (e.g., members of the Regional Autism Providers of Ontario Network, the Ontario Association for Behaviour Analysis, the Independent Review Mechanism, Direct Funding Option providers, occupational therapists, speech language pathologists, physiotherapists, pediatricians), and educators (e.g., early childhood educators, resource teachers, teachers, educational assistants, school-based ASD and ABA specialists, superintendents, principals). Three parent/family and two school board focus groups were also conducted in the north.

    Youth focus groups discussed the types of goals they each have achieved, as well as supports that might benefit others. Parents were asked questions about the best ways for interventionists to get to know their children, how to decide what to work on, and optimal communication with the clinical team. Focus groups of clinicians discussed four main areas: information sharing within and outside of the OAP; factors and tools that should be considered when making clinical decisions within the OAP; and ways to create an integrative team that includes caregivers and service providers. Minutes from each meeting were analyzed for common themes.

  2. Community Stakeholder Consultation and Ontario Parent Survey

    Input from parents was solicited using an online survey. The survey was sent to parents within the networks of stakeholder groups who were invited to participate in our community-stakeholder consultations (e.g., Autism Speaks, Autism Ontario, South Asian Autism Awareness Centre, the Ontario Autism Coalition, and La Société franco-ontarienne de l'autisme). The Société franco-ontarienne was not able to attend but did circulate the survey. The survey consisted of 4 questions that addressed the general strengths and needs of a child/youth with ASD and how clinicians should work with a family to consider these factors.

    The survey was open for input between March 6, 2017 and March 17, 2017. A total of 467 individuals from across the province participated in the survey. A clear majority of participants were parents with a few individuals self-identified as well as teachers or clinicians.

  3. Intervention Planning Framework Study

    The CEC worked closely with RAPON to identify clinicians in all regions across the province, including both Direct Service Option and Direct Funding Option providers, in three professional groups (i.e., psychologists/psychological associates, Board Certified Behaviour Analysts, and speech-language pathologists). Clinicians who self-identified as having dual-credentials (e.g., SLP and BCBA certifications) were coded according to their primary clinical affiliation.

    Clinicians (N = 83) from across the province volunteered several hours of their time to complete these surveys. There was a strong representation from different sectors, professions, and treatment setting experiences. The high rates of participation make it clear that clinicians in Ontario value the opportunity to guide system-level change to better support children and youth with ASD and their families.

    Clinicians were given nine different case vignettes that included a comprehensive description of the bio-psycho-social status and history, detailed cognitive, developmental, and health information about individuals with ASD (i.e., preschool, school-aged, and youth) and their families/caregivers. Clinicians were then asked to (a) determine the ‘level of support needed’ for each individual (i.e., support needed vs. substantial support vs. very substantial), and (b) identify the specific domains (e.g., communication, school readiness, etc.) that they saw as relevant to that individual's needs.

    Key information identified as particularly important to clinicians in the clinical-decision making study included that there was a robust pattern in how clinicians valued the “whole child and family story/ vignettes” to help in the intervention design process (e.g., CANS and story). Other information that was helpful included a child’s age, diagnosis, child’s profile of strengths and needs, cognitive and adaptive profile, details about their social and communication skills, details and context about problem behaviour, current family stressors, family’s barriers and capacity to participate in interventions, and information/communication with school staff.

    Clinicians as a group consistently assigned children/youth with ASD into three defined levels of support. These results support the feasibility of a standardization component in the OAP.

    A range of intervention domains were identified for each child/youth. When asked to endorse the "domains" (e.g., communication, emotion regulation, etc.), clinicians provided response patterns that cut across all three "levels of support needed". In other words, the idea that "more severe" cases require a wider range of supports while "less severe" cases require a more limited range of support was not supported by the data.

Appendix B: Outcomes and Guiding Principles for the Ontario Autism Program Developed by the Ontario Autism Program Advisory Committee

Ontario Autism Program Outcomes

Child, Youth and Family Outcomes

Systems Outcomes

The Ontario Autism Program will provide services that are:

Ontario Autism Program Guiding Principles

Child, youth and family centered services: Children, youth and families are partners and are actively engaged in intervention planning. Evidence-based services are delivered according to a relevant assessment of a child or youth’s needs, strengths and interests and the family’s concerns and priorities. Families will be supported throughout the decision-making process. Informed choice is a key element.

Coordinated and collaborative: Intervention will be integrated and coordinated with other services that a child, youth or their family may be receiving. Families will experience a high degree of inter-professional partnership with mechanisms in place to support information sharing and collaboration amongst services and the community. Collaboration will take place among provincial ministries to support provision of coordinated services.

Flexible and responsive: Children, youth and their families will receive timely and individualized services in accordance with their needs, strengths and goals. The approach to intervention will be guided by an individualized service plan, developed in partnership with the family. Services will be flexible, proactive and continually responsive to the child, youth and families’ needs, recognizing that these needs change over time.

Available and accessible: Children and youth and their families can access the services they need close to home. Services are responsive to cultural, social, geographical and economic diversity and language needs of children, youth and their families. Entry into service will be straightforward and easy to navigate through a single entry point.

Transparency: Decisions regarding access to and provision of service will be transparent to families and other service providers, and information will be shared appropriately.

Continuous quality improvement: Approach to service delivery is outcome oriented and evidence-based. Services are flexible to be responsive to changing evidence and practice, and are accountable through continuous evaluation and monitoring. Capacity-building for families and service providers that incorporates evidence-based strategies and competency-based improvement is an essential component of service delivery.

Equitable and fair: Families with children and youth with autism have an equal opportunity to access equitable services that respond to their individual needs.

Free from conflict of interest: Clinical decisions will be made in the child or youth’s best interest.

BACK TO TOP

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Besoins particuliers > Programme ontarien des services en matière d’autisme Cadre clinique > Annexes

Programme ontarien des services en matière d’autisme Cadre clinique - Annexes

Annexe A : Méthodes

  1. Consultations auprès des parents et des jeunes, des cliniciennes et cliniciens et des éducatrices et éducateurs

    Des groupes de discussion avec les intervenants se sont déroulés du mois de novembre 2016 au mois de mars 2017. Ces consultations visaient à documenter les conseils, les expériences, les perspectives et les priorités du plus grand nombre d’intervenants possible aux quatre coins de la province. Cette vaste collecte d’information a été réalisée afin de s’assurer que les recommandations à l’intention de la ministre sur le POSA tenaient compte des conseils des enfants et des jeunes, de leur famille et de leurs fournisseurs de soutiens et de services et qu’ils prenaient en considération, non seulement les aptitudes individuelles que l’enfant ou le jeune peut améliorer, mais aussi sa capacité à participer de la façon la plus complète et indépendante que possible dans tous ses milieux. Nous voulions surtout faire en sorte que les priorités des enfants et des jeunes ayant un TSA et de leur famille soient bien comprises.

    Chaque rencontre a été organisée dans le but de compter sur la présence de 10 à 12 intervenants afin de permettre une participation complète. Cette cible a été atteinte dans la plupart des rencontres, tandis qu’un petit nombre de groupes comptaient moins de 10 participants et que d’autres en ont accueilli entre 15 et 20. Les intervenants étaient notamment des parents, des jeunes, des cliniciennes et cliniciens (p. ex. des membres des Prestataires régionaux des soins spécialisés en autisme de l’Ontario, de l’Ontario Association for Behaviour Analysis, du mécanisme d’examen indépendant, des fournisseurs de l’option du financement direct, des ergothérapeutes, des orthophonistes, des physiothérapeutes, des pédiatres) ainsi que des éducatrices et éducateurs (p. ex. des éducatrices et éducateurs de la petite enfance, des enseignantes-ressources et enseignants-ressources, des enseignantes et enseignants, des aides-enseignantes et aides-enseignants, des spécialistes du TSA en milieu scolaire et des spécialistes de l’ACA, des surintendantes et surintendants ainsi que des directrices et directeurs d’école). Trois groupes de discussion avec les parents et la famille et deux groupes de discussion avec les conseils scolaires ont également eu lieu dans le nord.

    Les groupes de discussion avec les jeunes portaient sur les types d’objectifs qu’ils avaient atteints ainsi que sur les soutiens qui pourraient être bénéfiques pour les autres. On a demandé aux parents quels seraient les meilleurs moyens à prendre pour aider les interventionnistes à apprendre à connaître leurs enfants, pour décider des points à améliorer et pour faire en sorte que les communications avec l’équipe clinique soient optimales. Les groupes de discussion avec les cliniciennes et les cliniciens ont abordé trois grands domaines : le partage de l’information à l’intérieur et à l’extérieur du POSA, les facteurs et les outils qui devraient être considérés au moment de prendre des décisions cliniques au sein du POSA ainsi que les moyens à prendre pour créer une équipe qui comprend des fournisseurs de soins et des fournisseurs de services. Le procès-verbal de chaque réunion a été analysé afin d’en dégager les thèmes communs.

  2. Consultation auprès des intervenants communautaires et sondage à l’intention des parents de l’Ontario

    On a recueilli les impressions des parents à l’aide d’un sondage en ligne. Le questionnaire a été envoyé aux parents à l’intérieur des réseaux des groupes d’intervenants qui ont été invités à participer à nos consultations auprès des intervenants communautaires (p. ex. Autism Speaks, Autisme Ontario, South Asian Autism Awareness Centre, Ontario Autism Coalition et la Société franco-ontarienne de l’autisme). La Société franco-ontarienne n’a pas pu y assister, mais elle a fait circuler le questionnaire. Le questionnaire était composé de quatre questions qui abordaient les forces et les besoins généraux de l’enfant ou du jeune ayant un TSA et comment les cliniciennes et les cliniciens devraient collaborer avec la famille afin de tenir compte de ces facteurs.

    Les personnes pouvaient répondre au sondage du 6 mai 2017 au 17 mars 2017. En tout, 467 personnes des quatre coins de la province y ont participé. Les participants étaient majoritairement des parents et quelques personnes se sont identifées comme étant des enseignantes ou enseignantes ou des cliniciennes ou cliniciens.

  3. Étude sur le cadre de planification des interventions

    Le CEC a travaillé en étroite collaboration avec le RAPON (Prestataires régionaux de soins spécialisés en autisme de l’Ontario) afin d’identifier les cliniciennes et cliniciens dans toutes les régions de la province, y compris les fournisseurs de l’option du service direct et de l’option du financement direct, dans trois groupes professionnels (c.-à-d. des psychologues ou associées et associés en psychologie, des analystes du comportement certifiés et des orthophonistes). Les cliniciennes et cliniciens qui déclaraient posséder deux attestations d’études (p. ex. un certificat en orthophonie et un diplôme d’analyste du comportement certifié) ont été codés selon leur principale affiliation clinique.

    Des cliniciennes et cliniciens (N = 83) d’un bout à l’autre de la province ont donné plusieurs heures de leur temps pour répondre à ces questionnaires. Il y avait une forte représentation de professions, d’expériences de traitement et de secteurs variés. Les taux de participation élevés indiquent clairement que les cliniciennes et les cliniciens de l’Ontario apprécient la possibilité d’orienter le changement systémique afin de mieux accompagner les enfants et les jeunes ayant un TSA et leur famille.

    Les cliniciennes et cliniciens ont reçu neuf vignettes de cas différentes qui comprenaient une description exhaustive de l’état bio-psycho-social et des antécédents, des renseignements détaillés sur la dimension cognitive, le développement et la santé des personnes ayant un TSA (c.-à-d. des enfants d’âge préscolaire, d’âge scolaire et des jeunes) ainsi que sur leur famille ou les personnes soignantes. Les cliniciennes et cliniciens ont été invités a) à déterminer le niveau de soutien nécessaire pour chaque personne (p. ex. le soutien nécessaire par opposition au soutien substantiel par opposition au soutien très substantiel) et b) à indiquer les domaines précis (p. ex. la communication, la maturité scolaire, etc.) qu’ils ont estimés pertinents pour les besoins de cette personne.

    Les principaux renseignements jugés particulièrement importants pour les cliniciennes et cliniciens dans l’étude sur le processus décisionnel clinique indiquaient notamment que les cliniciennes et cliniciens ont évalué les vignettes sur l’enfant et les antécédents familiaux dans leur ensemble en fonction d’un profil robuste afin de faciliter le processus d’élaboration de l’intervention (p. ex. la mesure CANS et le parcours). Les autres renseignements utiles étaient notamment l’âge de l’enfant, le diagnostic, le profil des forces et des besoins de l’enfant, le profil cognitif et d’adaptation, les détails sur ses aptitudes de socialisation et de communication, les détails sur le contexte du comportement problématique, les stresseurs familiaux actuels, les obstacles familiaux et la capacité des membres de la famille de participer aux interventions ainsi que les informations et les communications avec le personnel scolaire.

    En tant que groupe, les cliniciennes et cliniciens classaient invariablement les enfants et les jeunes ayant un TSA dans les trois niveaux de soutiens définis. Ces résultats justifient la faisabilité d’un volet de normalisation dans le POSA.

    Un éventail de domaines d’intervention ont été déterminés pour chaque enfant ou jeune. Lorsqu’on leur demandait d’approuver les domaines (p. ex. la communication, la régulation des émotions, etc.), les cliniciennes et cliniciens donnaient des profils de réponses qui se recoupaient dans les trois niveaux de soutien nécessaire. Autrement dit, le concept selon lequel les cas plus graves nécessitent un plus large éventail de soutiens, tandis que les cas moins graves nécessitent un éventail plus limité de soutiens, n’était pas corroboré par les données.

Annexe B : Résultats et principes directeurs pour le Programme ontarien des services en matière d’autisme élaborés par le Comité consultatif du POSA

Principes directeurs du Programme ontarien des services en matière d’autisme

Résultats pour les enfants, les jeunes et la famille :

Résultats pour le réseau :

Le Programme ontarien des services en matière d’autisme offrira des services qui sont :

Principes directeurs

Des services centrés sur l’enfant, le jeune et la famille : Les enfants, les jeunes et les familles sont des alliés et ils participent activement à la planification des interventions. Des services fondés sur des données probantes sont assurés à la suite d’une évaluation pertinente des besoins, des forces et des intérêts de l’enfant ou du jeune et selon les préoccupations et les priorités de la famille. Les familles seront accompagnées tout au long du processus décisionnel. Un choix éclairé est un élément clé.

Coordonnés et collaboratifs : L’intervention sera intégrée et coordonnée avec les autres services que l’enfant, le jeune ou sa famille peut recevoir. Les familles bénéficieront d’un partenariat interprofessionnel de haut calibre à l’aide des mécanismes qui sont en place pour favoriser l’échange d’information et la collaboration entre les services et la collectivité. Les ministères provinciaux collaboreront entre eux afin de faciliter la prestation de services coordonnés.

Souples et adaptés aux besoins : Les enfants, les jeunes et leurs familles recevront des services opportuns et individualisés conformément à leurs besoins, à leurs forces et à leurs objectifs. L’approche de l’intervention sera guidée par un plan de services individualisé qui sera conçu en partenariat avec la famille. Les services seront souples, proactifs et continuellement adaptés aux besoins de l’enfant, du jeune et de la famille, en reconnaissant que ces besoins changent au fil du temps.

Disponibles et accessibles : Les enfants, les jeunes et leurs familles peuvent avoir accès aux services dont ils ont besoin près de chez eux. Les services sont adaptés aux besoins culturels, sociaux et géographiques des enfants, des jeunes et de leurs familles ainsi qu’à leur diversité économique et à leur langue. L’accès au service sera simple et facile à naviguer à l’aide d’un seul point d’entrée.

Transparence : Les décisions liées à l’accessibilité et à la prestation des services seront transparentes pour les familles et les autres fournisseurs de services et les renseignements seront échangés adéquatement.

Amélioration continue de la qualité : L’approche de la prestation des services est orientée vers les résultats et fondée sur des données probantes. Les services sont flexibles, afin de s’adapter aux données probantes et aux pratiques changeantes, et responsables, grâce à une évaluation et à une surveillance continues. Un renforcement des capacités pour les familles et les fournisseurs de services qui intègre des stratégies fondées sur des données probantes et une amélioration axée sur les compétences est un élément indispensable de la prestation des services.

Équitables et justes : Les familles ayant des enfants et des jeunes autistes ont une chance égale d’avoir accès à des services équitables qui répondent à leurs besoins individuels.

Exempts de conflits d’intérêts : Les décisions cliniques se feront dans l’intérêt supérieur de l’enfant ou du jeune.

HAUT