You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Special needs > Ontario Autism Program Guidelines > Access to the Ontario Autism Program

SECTION 3: ACCESS TO THE ONTARIO AUTISM PROGRAM

The overall goal is to establish a collaborative, community-based approach to streamline access to the OAP, and to help children, youth and their families access appropriate services and supports quickly and easily.

Eligibility

All children and youth with a diagnosis of Autism Spectrum Disorder from a qualified professional can access the OAP until the age of 18. Eligibility will not be defined by age or by the severity of a child’s autism.

Children and youth may be receiving or waiting for other ASD-specific or general services and supports funded by MCYS or other ministries2 and they may continue to receive these services in addition to receiving services through the OAP. Other services and supports that children are receiving will be taken into consideration in the development of the OAP Family Service Plan.

Children who may have previously been deemed ineligible for the former Autism Intervention Program (AIP), or who have been discharged from the AIP are eligible for the OAP, and will receive service according to their needs, as long as they have a diagnosis of ASD and are under the age of 18.

Referral for Services

In order to access services through the OAP, families/caregivers can self-refer to the OAP, or with the family’s consent, a referral can be made by a professional such as:

Referrals may also be received directly from the five MCYS-funded regional ASD diagnostic hubs. More information on the hubs can be found on the Ministry’s website at: https//www.children.gov.on.ca/htdocs/English/specialneeds/autism/diagnostic-hubs.aspx.

A written diagnosis of ASD from a qualified professional is required for referral to the OAP. Referrals for service will be accompanied by relevant assessments and other information pertaining to the child or youth and their family that will assist in the development of the OAP Family Service Plan. Where a diagnosis of ASD has been made by the referring professional, all required assessment information and documentation pertaining to that diagnosis will be included with the referral.

Single Point of Access

All referrals to the OAP as of June 26, 2017 will be made through a single point of access in each of the nine service areas.3

Specifically, the single point of access is required to:

Management of Referrals

One service provider in each of the nine service areas is responsible for maintaining the OAP waitlist using a first-come first served principle. Families can call the single point of access in their service delivery area with questions regarding the waitlist and/or wait times. Providers will proactively and transparently communicate estimated wait times to families.

New families entering the OAP as of June 26, 2017 will be added to the OAP waitlist in chronological order based on date of referral. While families may contact the OAP prior to receiving a written diagnosis, their child will not be placed on the wait list until the OAP service provider receives a written diagnosis of ASD from a relevant professional who is qualified to make a diagnosis.

During the phased implementation period from June 2017 to the spring of 2018, families currently waiting for service will enter the OAP based on their position on the current ABA waitlist (chronological order). Where families were on both the waitlist for the Autism Intervention Program and ABA-based services and supports prior to June 26, 2017 and the date of referral is different for each list, the earliest date of referral will be used.

back to top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Besoins particuliers > Directives du POSA > Accès au Programme ontarien des services en matière d'autisme

ACCES AU PROGRAMME ONTARIEN DES SERVICES EN MATIERE D’AUTISME

L’objectif global est d’instaurer une approche collaborative et communautaire permettant de rationaliser l’accès au POSA, et d’aider les enfants, les jeunes et leurs familles à obtenir rapidement et facilement les services et les soutiens dont ils ont besoin.

Admissibilité

Tous les enfants et les jeunes ayant reçu un diagnostic de trouble du spectre autistique posé par un professionnel compétent peuvent accéder au POSA jusqu’à l’âge de 18 ans. L’admissibilité aux services ne sera pas définie en fonction de l’âge de l’enfant ou de la gravité de son trouble.

Les enfants et les jeunes ayant un TSA peuvent recevoir ou attendre d’obtenir d’autres services et soutiens généraux ou particuliers financés par le MSEJ ou par d’autres ministères2 et ils peuvent continuer à recevoir ces services en complément du POSA. Les autres services et soutiens offerts aux enfants seront pris en compte lors de l’établissement du plan de services à la famille du POSA (voir page 24).

Les enfants n’étant auparavant pas admissibles à l’ancien Programme d’intervention en autisme (PIA) ou ayant été retirés du PIA sont admissibles au POSA, et en bénéficieront en fonction de leurs besoins tant qu’ils présentent un diagnostic de TSA et qu’ils sont âgés de moins de 18 ans.

Aiguillage vers les services

Pour accéder aux services du POSA, les familles ou les fournisseurs de soins peuvent demander eux-mêmes l’aiguillage vers les services ou autoriser un professionnel à le faire, par exemple :

Les aiguillages peuvent également être obtenus directement auprès des cinq centres régionaux pour le diagnostic du TSA financés par le MSEJ. Pour en savoir plus sur ces centres, consultez le site Web du ministère à l’adresse : http://www.children.gov.on.ca/htdocs/French/specialneeds/autism/diagnostic-hubs.aspx

La présentation d’un diagnostic écrit du TSA posé par un professionnel compétent est indispensable pour l’aiguillage vers le POSA. L’aiguillage vers les services s’accompagnera des évaluations pertinentes et d’autres renseignements concernant l’enfant ou le jeune et sa famille qui seront jugés utiles pour établir le plan de services à la famille du POSA. Une fois le diagnostic de TSA posé par un professionnel compétent, l’ensemble des renseignements et des documents d’évaluation connexes est joint à l’aiguillage.

Accès à un guichet unique

À compter du 26 juin 2017, tous les aiguillages transiteront par un seul point d’entrée dans chacune des neuf zones de service3.

Plus particulièrement, l’accès à guichet unique est nécessaire pour :

Gestion des aiguillages

Dans chacune des neuf zones de service, un fournisseur de services est chargé de gérer la liste d’attente du POSA selon l’ordre de réception des demandes. Les familles peuvent appeler le point d’accès unique dans leur zone de prestation de services pour poser des questions concernant la liste et/ou les temps d’attente. Les fournisseurs communiqueront aux familles, de façon proactive et transparente, les temps d’attente prévus.

Les nouvelles familles accédant au POSA à compter du 26 juin 2017 seront ajoutées à la liste d’attente par ordre chronologique, d’après leur date d’aiguillage. Les familles peuvent entrer en relation avec le POSA avant d’avoir obtenu un diagnostic écrit. Toutefois, leurs enfants ne seront pas inscrits sur la liste d’attente tant qu’un professionnel compétent n’aura pas posé par écrit son diagnostic de TSA.

Pendant la période de mise en œuvre progressive allant de juin 2017 au printemps 2018, les familles qui attendent actuellement d’obtenir des services accéderont au POSA en fonction de leur position sur la liste d’attente actuelle pour les services et soutiens d’ACA (ordre chronologique). Pour les familles qui occupent des places différentes sur les listes d’attente pour le Programme d’intervention en autisme et pour les services et soutiens d’ACA avant le 26 juin 2017, on utilisera la date d’aiguillage la plus proche.

haut