You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Special needs > Ontario Autism Program Guidelines > OAP Services and Supports

SECTION 4: OAP SERVICES AND SUPPORTS

Scope of Services

The focus of all OAP services will be on increasing the capacity of the family and the OAP Family Team, should a family wish to have one, to maximize the child/youth’s functional skills within the context of their home and community. The OAP will deliver a continuum of evidence based behavioural services and family services and training for children and youth with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) and their families based on their needs and strengths across all developmental stages.

Evidence Based Behavioural Services

The OAP Clinical Framework will guide clinicians in partnering with families to develop an understanding of each child’s/youth’s and family’s strengths, capacities and need for behavioural services and creating a Behaviour Plan with an evidence based approach to meeting those needs. Families can expect to receive services that actively engage them to acquire skills that support their child’s development and skill building.

Applied Behaviour Analysis (ABA)

Many of the effective behaviour interventions for children and youth with ASD are based on the principles of applied behaviour analysis (NAC, 2015). ABA is an applied science, based on the principles of learning and behaviour. ABA uses these principles to assess, understand, and teach behaviours that are important to individuals, their families, and their communities.

ABA interventions are based on scientific research and direct observations and measurement in order to increase or decrease existing behaviours under specific contextual conditions. ABA is used to teach skills across developmental domains, including but not limited to communication, social and adaptive skills, promote independence, and treat challenging behaviour. An important feature of ABA is that the skills learned are maintained and generalized to other settings and with other people.

ABA strategies range from highly structured, adult-led instruction (e.g., discrete trial teaching), to child-led interactions (e.g., incidental teaching, natural environment teaching).

There is an emerging body of research supporting the use of Naturalistic Developmental Behavioural Interventions (NDBI), which are typically used with children under the age of 3, at risk for, or diagnosed with ASD. These approaches follow the sequence of typical development, use the principles of developmental science, are relationship based, child centred and play based (Wagner, Wallace, & Rogers, 2014) and often include an intensive individualized approach to parent/caregiver coaching (Wetherby et al., 2014).

High quality, evidence based behavioural intervention for children/youth with ASD includes the following components that have been identified in the literature as being of key importance:

Family Services and Training

The involvement of parents/caregivers is essential to achieving maintenance and generalization of skills learned by children and youth with ASD. There is significant evidence of many positive outcomes associated with parent training and parent/caregiver implemented intervention (Drew, Baird, & Baron-Cohen, 2002; Ingersoll & Dvortcsak, 2006; Feldman et al., 2002; Lafasakis, & Sturmey, 2007; Stewart, Carr & LeBlanc, 2007; Seiverling, Williams, Sturmey, & Hart 2012; Fettig, Schultz, & Sreckovic, 2015). It has also been demonstrated that parents/caregivers who learn the specific techniques to support their children or youth have increased feelings of competence and report positive parent-child interactions (National Research Council, 2001).

The ability of the OAP to lead to improved outcomes for children and youth with ASD is dependent to a significant degree on the involvement of parents/caregivers in learning the strategies being taught to their children and incorporating these techniques into daily activities. This ongoing support is essential for children and youth to maintain the skills they have learned, and to apply these skills in other settings and with other people. As such, the involvement of parents/caregivers is a core component of the OAP, and will be clearly documented in the Family Service Plan.

OAP family services and training will support parents/caregivers to become:

Domains of Need

The OAP will address the needs that children and youth with ASD have across the following domains:

Social/Interpersonal

Individuals with ASD often have significant impairments in social/interpersonal skills, such as difficulties with initiating conversations or sharing emotions with others, use and understanding of nonverbal communicative behaviours, and difficulties establishing and maintaining friendships.

Communication

Communication difficulties or disorders are commonly associated with ASD, including difficulties using and understanding verbal and nonverbal communication. This may include joint attention, which is an early social-communicative skill in which gestures and eye gaze are coordinated and used to share interest in an object or event, and which may be impaired in children/youth with ASD. Other examples of communication difficulties include a total lack of speech, abnormalities in pitch, rhythm and intonation, stereotypical and repetitive language use, idiosyncratic word use.

Cognitive Functions

Cognitive abilities include problem-solving, reasoning, information processing, and executive functioning.

School Readiness

Learning/school readiness includes skills that are prerequisites for success in school, including acquiring new skills within a group setting, independent work, following routines, and self-help skills (e.g. dressing, toilet training).

Motor

Motor skills include gross motor movements (i.e., large movements of legs, arms, feet, or the entire body) and fine motor movements (i.e., fine movements of the hands, fingers and wrists).

Personal Responsibility/Adaptive

Adaptive and personal responsibility skills are practical skills required to function optimally in daily environments and routines, such as maintaining personal hygiene, using kitchen appliances, and community safety skills.

Play and Leisure

Many individuals with ASD lack effective play and leisure skills, including deficits in conventional engagement with play items/activities, engagement in cooperative or imaginative play, and interest in, and friendships, with peers.

Self-Regulation

Self-regulation includes the ability to identify and manage one’s behaviour, such as sustaining and shifting attention, self-management and self-monitoring.

Vocational

Vocational skills include practical skills and knowledge required for success in a trade, vocation or profession.

Challenging Behaviour

Challenging behaviours commonly occur in the ASD population. These behaviours may include aggression, self-injury, and restricted/repetitive or otherwise disruptive behaviours that interfere with skill development and prevent participation in social and community activities.

back to top

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Besoins particuliers > Directives du POSA > Services et soutiens du Programme ontarien des services en matière d'autisme

SERVICES ET SOUTIENS DU PROGRAMME ONTARIEN DES SERVICES EN MATIERE D’AUTISME

Portée des services

L’ensemble des services du POSA visera à renforcer la capacité de la famille et de l’équipe familiale du POSA (si la famille le souhaite) à porter au maximum les capacités fonctionnelles de l’enfant ou du jeune, à la maison et dans la collectivité. Le POSA fournira un continuum de services comportementaux fondés sur des données probantes, de services à la famille et de formation au profit des enfants et des jeunes ayant un trouble du spectre autistique (TSA) et de leurs familles, en fonction de leurs besoins et de leurs forces à tous les stades de développement.

Services comportementaux

Le Cadre clinique du POSA aidera les cliniciennes et cliniciens à établir un partenariat avec les familles dans le but de mieux comprendre les forces, les capacités et les besoins de l’enfant ou du jeune et de sa famille en matière de services comportementaux, ainsi qu’à élaborer un plan comportemental fondé sur des données probantes pour répondre à ces besoins. Les familles peuvent s’attendre à recevoir des services auxquels elles participeront activement afin d’acquérir les compétences nécessaires pour favoriser le développement de leur enfant et le renforcement de ses capacités.

Analyse comportementale appliquée (ACA)

Bon nombre des interventions comportementales efficaces auprès des enfants et des jeunes ayant un TSA reposent sur les principes de l’analyse comportementale appliquée (NAC, 2015). L’ACA est une science appliquée fondée sur les principes de l’apprentissage et du comportement, qu’elle utilise pour évaluer, comprendre et enseigner des comportements importants aux personnes, à leurs familles et à leur communauté.

Les interventions faisant appel à l’ACA reposent sur la recherche scientifique et sur des observations et mesures directes permettant d’accentuer ou d’atténuer les comportements existants dans des circonstances particulières. L’ACA est utilisée pour l’enseignement de compétences dans divers domaines du développement, dont la communication, les relations sociales et les facultés d’adaptation, le renforcement de l’autonomie et la prise en charge des comportements difficiles. Caractéristique importante, l’ACA vise à assurer le maintien des compétences acquises et leur généralisation dans d’autres milieux et auprès d’autres personnes.

Les stratégies d’ACA vont des enseignements très structurés dirigés par un adulte (p. ex. essai discret) aux interactions dirigées par l’enfant (p. ex. apprentissage incident, apprentissage en environnement naturel).

On constate l’émergence d’un corpus de recherche à l’appui d’une approche développementale naturaliste des interventions comportementales (Naturalistic Developmental Behavioural Interventions, NDBI), généralement employée chez les enfants de moins de trois ans présentant un risque ou un diagnostic de TSA. Ces méthodes suivent l’ordre typique des stades de développement, utilisent les principes de la science du développement, se basent sur les relations et sur le jeu, sont centrées sur l’enfant (Wagner, Wallace, & Rogers, 2014) et prévoient souvent une approche individualisée intensive en matière d’encadrement des parents ou des fournisseurs de soins (Wetherby et coll., 2014).

Une intervention comportementale de haute qualité et fondée sur des données probantes pour les enfants ou les jeunes ayant un TSA inclut les éléments suivants, jugés d’une importance cruciale dans la littérature :

Services à la famille et formation

La participation des parents ou des fournisseurs de soins est essentielle pour assurer le maintien et la généralisation des compétences acquises par les enfants et les jeunes ayant un TSA. Un ensemble conséquent de preuves vient étayer les nombreux résultats positifs associés à la formation des parents et à l’intervention mise en œuvre par les parents ou les fournisseurs de soins (Drew, Baird, & Baron-Cohen, 2002; Ingersoll & Dvortcsak, 2006; Feldman et coll., 2002; Lafasakis, & Sturmey, 2007; Stewart, Carr & LeBlanc, 2007; Seiverling, Williams, Sturmey, & Hart 2012; Fettig, Schultz, & Sreckovic, 2015). Il est également prouvé que les parents ou les fournisseurs de soins qui apprennent des techniques particulières visant à soutenir l’enfant ou le jeune se sentent plus compétents et font état d’interactions parent-enfant positives (Conseil national de recherches, 2001).

La capacité du POSA à induire une amélioration des résultats pour les enfants et les jeunes ayant un TSA dépend considérablement de l’implication des parents ou des fournisseurs de soins dans l’apprentissage des stratégies enseignées à leurs enfants et de la mise en pratique de ces techniques dans les activités quotidiennes. Ce soutien continu est essentiel au maintien des compétences acquises par les enfants et les jeunes, ainsi qu’à leur mise en œuvre dans d’autres milieux et auprès d’autres personnes. À ce titre, la participation des parents ou des fournisseurs de soins est une composante clé du POSA qui sera clairement documentée dans le plan de services à la famille.

Les services à la famille et la formation au titre du POSA aideront les parents ou les fournisseurs de soins à :

Domaines de besoin

Le POSA répondra aux besoins des enfants et des jeunes ayant un TSA dans les domaines suivants :

Relations sociales/interpersonnelles

Les personnes ayant un TSA présentent souvent des déficiences majeures en matière d’interactions sociales et de relations interpersonnelles, telles que des difficultés à entamer une conversation ou à faire part de leurs émotions, à utiliser et à comprendre la communication non verbale, et à se faire des amis ou à les conserver.

Communication

Le TSA est généralement associé à des difficultés ou des troubles de la communication, y compris en ce qui concerne l’utilisation et la compréhension de la communication verbale et non verbale. L’attention conjointe, qui est une faculté sociale et communicative précoce reposant sur une coordination des gestes et du regard utilisée pour partager un intérêt pour un objet ou un événement, peut notamment être altérée chez les enfants et les jeunes ayant un TSA. Les difficultés de communication comprennent également le mutisme, les anomalies en termes de hauteur tonale, de rythme et d’intonation, l’emploi d’un langage stéréotypé et répétitif, et l’utilisation d’un vocabulaire idiosyncrasique.

Fonctions cognitives

Les fonctions cognitives incluent la résolution des problèmes, le raisonnement, le traitement de l’information et les fonctions exécutives.

Préparation à l’école

La préparation à l’apprentissage/à l’école englobe les compétences préalablement requises pour réussir sa scolarité, notamment l’acquisition de nouvelles compétences en groupe, le travail autonome, le respect des routines et l’autonomie (p. ex. savoir s’habiller seul, être propre).

Habiletés motrices

Les habiletés motrices incluent les mouvements de motricité globale (à savoir les grands mouvements des bras, des jambes, des pieds ou du corps entier) et de motricité fine (à savoir la mobilisation précise des mains, des doigts et des poignets).

Responsabilité personnelle/Facultés d’adaptation

La responsabilité personnelle et les facultés d’adaptation sont des compétences pratiques nécessaires à un fonctionnement optimal dans les routines et les environnements quotidiens, par exemple : l’hygiène personnelle, l’utilisation des appareils électroménagers, la sécurité communautaire.

Jeu et loisirs

Bon nombre d’autistes n’ont pas la faculté de jouer efficacement, ce qui se traduit notamment par une façon non orthodoxe d’aborder les jouets/activités récréatives et de participer aux jeux coopératifs ou d’imagination, et par un manque d’intérêt pour les pairs et l’absence de liens d’amitié.

Maîtrise de soi

La maîtrise de soi est la capacité à identifier et à réguler son propre comportement; elle inclut la concentration, l’autogestion et l’autosurveillance.

Compétences professionnelles

Les compétences professionnelles englobent les compétences pratiques et les connaissances requises pour exercer avec succès un métier ou une profession.

Comportements difficiles

Les comportements difficiles sont courants chez les personnes autistes. Il peut s’agir d’agressivité, d’automutilation et d’autres comportements restrictifs/répétitifs ou autrement perturbateurs qui nuisent à l’acquisition des compétences et empêchent la participation aux activités sociales et communautaires.

Haut