You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Special needs > Assistance for Children with Severe Disabilities > Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder > FASD letter from the PA

September 8, 2017

Letter from Parliamentary Assistant Sophie Kiwala
regarding International Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) Awareness Day


Dear FASD Partner:

International Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder (FASD) Awareness Day is recognized annually on September 9. On this day, we reflect on the lives of those who live with FASD, and also on the incredible work that you do, every single day, to support children, youth and families affected by FASD. This day of recognition is also an opportunity to build an understanding of FASD throughout our province and country - and by doing so, reduce the prevalence of this preventable disorder.

Our government is committed to improving the lives of individuals affected by FASD. We are also steadfast in our efforts to increase public awareness to better understand the risks associated with drinking alcohol during pregnancy. Earlier this year, I shared details of Ontario’s first-ever FASD Strategy and the six initiatives it supports. This letter provides you with an update on our FASD Strategy and some of the first steps of implementation.

Calls for Expressions of Interest

In the coming weeks, we will release calls for Expressions of Interest for organizations to apply to develop and implement the following initiatives:

Information about these calls for Expression of Interest will be available on our website at www.ontario.ca/FASD.

Membership in Canada FASD Research Network

The Ministry of Children and Youth Services is joining the Canada FASD Research Network (CanFASD). Membership in CanFASD offers distinct benefits for Ontario, such as:

I encourage you to visit the ministry’s website for updates at ontario.ca/FASD. Please accept my thanks to all those who helped shape Ontario’s first-ever FASD strategy. I appreciate your ongoing support and commitment and look forward to continuing our work together.

Sincerely,

Sophie Kiwala
Parliamentary Assistant

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Besoins particuliers > Handicaps de développement > Programme de lutte contre les troubles du spectre de l’alcoolisation foetale > TSAF - Lettre de l’adjointe parlementaire

Le 8 septembre 2017

Lettre de l’adjointe parlementaire Sophie Kiwala
concernant la Journée internationale de sensibilisation aux troubles du spectre de l’alcoolisation fœtale (TSAF)


Madame,

Monsieur,

La Journée internationale de sensibilisation aux troubles du spectre de l’alcoolisation fœtale (TSAF) est célébrée le 9 septembre de chaque année. Ce jour-là, nous réfléchissons à la vie des personnes qui vivent avec les TSAF et au travail incroyable que vous accomplissez quotidiennement pour aider les enfants, les jeunes et les familles touchés par les TSAF. Cette journée est aussi l’occasion de faire comprendre les TSAF dans la province et le pays, et ce faisant, de réduire la prévalence de ce problème évitable.

Notre gouvernement est déterminé à améliorer la vie des personnes touchées par les TSAF. Nous nous efforçons constamment aussi d’intensifier la sensibilisation du public afin de l’aider à bien comprendre les risques liés à la consommation d’alcool pendant la grossesse. Plus tôt cette année, j’ai fourni les premiers renseignements sur la toute première stratégie en matière de troubles du spectre de l’alcoolisation fœtale et sur les initiatives qu’elle appuie. Cette lettre fait le point sur la stratégie et sur certaines des premières étapes de sa mise en œuvre.

Demandes de déclaration d’intérêt

Au cours des prochaines semaines, nous publierons des demandes de déclaration d’intérêt pour concevoir et mettre en œuvre les initiatives suivantes :

Des renseignements sur ces demandes d'expression d’intérêt seront affichés sur notre site Web à www.ontario.ca/TSAF.

Adhésion au Canada FASD Research network

Le ministère des Services à l’enfance et à la jeunesse s’est joint au Canada FASD Research Network (CanFASD) auquel l’adhésion apporte des bienfaits distincts à l’Ontario, comme :

Je vous encourage à visiter le site Web du ministère pour vous tenir au courant des nouveautés à ontario.ca/FASD. Je remercie toutes les personnes qui ont contribué à façonner la toute première stratégie de l’Ontario concernant les TSAF. J’apprécie votre soutien et votre engagement fidèles et je me réjouis d’avance de continuer à travailler avec vous.

Cordialement,

L’adjointe parlementaire,

Sophie Kiwala
Adjointe parlementaire