Residential Services Panel Terms of Reference

Objective

The objective of the Residential Services Panel (the Panel) is to make recommendations to the Ministry of Children and Youth Services (MCYS) on improving the residential service system in Ontario to optimize positive outcomes for children and youth.

Background Information

There have been a number of reports that have highlighted issues about the residential services system in Ontario, and the changes required to enhance the service experience for children and youth and maximize positive outcomes.

MCYS is establishing the Panel to conduct a review of the child and youth residential service system across all sectors, including youth justice, child welfare, mental health and complex and/or special needs. Residential care includes the full range of out of home and regulated care, such as foster and group homes.

Effective residential services should ensure that children and youth can:


Official Name

The official name of the Panel is the Ministry of Children and Youth Services Residential Services Panel.

Composition

The Panel will be comprised of:


Mandate

The Panel’s mandate is to build on the foundational work of previous reviews and reports to MCYS advising on what is needed to improve the child and youth residential service system. The Panel will also undertake targeted discussions with stakeholders, including associations, service providers and individuals with lived experience of child and youth residential services.

This mandate is consistent with the goals of Growing. Together. The Ministry of Children and Youth Services 2013-2018 Strategic Plan, which recognizes that children and youth need to have a voice in their care, and that the best outcomes come from services that are accessible, responsive, grounded in respect and dignity, and are embedded in a system that is easy to navigate.

The Panel will recognize the strategic framework in Stepping Up: A Strategic Framework to Help Ontario’s Youth Succeed, to align Ontario’s efforts towards the needs of children and youth. This framework guides decision-making under a common vision, namely that "together, we will support all young people to become healthy, safe, hopeful, engaged, educated and contributing members of their communities and our province."

The Panel will also recognize the principles of the MCYS Aboriginal Child and Youth Strategy, including aspirations for First Nations jurisdiction and Aboriginal control.

The Panel will make recommendations on the most effective and efficient way to design the delivery of care and treatment services in a residential setting to optimize positive outcomes for children and youth.

In completing the review and developing their report the Panel will:


The Panel will deliver a final report to the Deputy Minister of Children and Youth Services by December 31, 2015, unless an alternate date is mutually agreed upon by MCYS and the Panel.

The report will reflect the input of all Panel members and the recommendations developed will reflect the voice of children and youth and the perspectives of all sectors providing child and youth residential services (e.g., youth justice, mental health, child welfare and complex and/or special needs).

Scope

The Panel will be responsible for conducting a review of the child and youth residential services system and providing the Deputy Minister with a final report that will include the results and recommendations from stakeholder discussions and recommendations on:

Comité consultatif pour les services en établissement – Cadre de référence

Objectif

Le Comité consultatif pour les services en établissement (le Comité) a pour objectif de formuler des recommandations à l'intention du ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse (MSEJ) sur l'amélioration du système de services en établissement, en Ontario, afin d'optimiser les résultats positifs pour les enfants et les jeunes.

Contexte

Plusieurs rapports ont souligné les enjeux relatifs au système de services en établissement, en Ontario, et les changements qui s'imposent pour améliorer l'expérience en matière de services des enfants et des jeunes et maximiser les résultats positifs.

Le MSEJ met sur pied le Comité qui sera chargé d'effectuer un examen du système de services en établissement pour les enfants et les jeunes, au sein de tous les secteurs, notamment ceux de la justice pour les jeunes, du bien-être de l'enfance, de la santé mentale et des besoins complexes et/ou particuliers. Les soins en établissement incluent tout l'éventail de soins hors du domicile et de soins réglementés, comme les familles d'accueil et les foyers de groupe.

Pour qu'ils soient efficaces, les services en établissement doivent veiller à ce que les enfants et les jeunes puissent :


Nom officiel

Voici le nom officiel du Comité : Comité consultatif du ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse pour les services en établissement

Composition

Voici la composition du Comité :


Mandat

Le mandat du Comité consiste à s'appuyer sur le travail de base qui est le fruit des examens et des rapports précédents remis au MSEJ, et qui expliquait les mesures nécessaires pour améliorer le système de services en établissement pour les enfants et les jeunes. Le Comité entamera également des discussions ciblées avec les intervenants, notamment des associations, des fournisseurs de services et des particuliers qui ont fait personnellement l'expérience des services en établissement pour les enfants et les jeunes.

Ce mandat est conforme aux objectifs du Plan stratégique 2013-2018 du ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse. Grandir. Ensemble., qui reconnaît que les enfants et les jeunes ont besoin que quelqu'un s'exprime en leur nom dans le cadre de la prestation de leurs soins, et que les meilleurs résultats émanent des services qui sont accessibles, réceptifs, ancrés dans le respect et la dignité et enchâssés dans un système au sein duquel il est facile de naviguer.

Le Comité tiendra compte du cadre stratégique d'Intensifions nos efforts : Cadre stratégique en faveur de la réussite des jeunes de l'Ontario afin d'aligner les efforts déployés par l'Ontario sur les besoins des enfants et des jeunes. Ce cadre oriente la prise de décision selon une vision commune, à savoir « Ensemble, nous aiderons tous les jeunes à être en bonne santé, à se sentir en sécurité, à avoir foi en l'avenir, à s'impliquer, à s'instruire et à devenir des membres à part entière de leur collectivité et de notre province ».

Le Comité tiendra également compte des principes de la Stratégie pour les enfants et les jeunes autochtones du MSEJ, y compris des aspirations en matière de compétence des Premières Nations et de contrôle autochtone.

Le Comité formulera des recommandations sur la méthode la plus efficace et efficiente en matière de conception d'un système de prestation des services de soins et de traitement en établissement, afin d'optimiser les résultats pour les enfants et les jeunes.

Dans le cadre de l'examen et de la rédaction de son rapport, le Comité :‎


Le Comité remettra un rapport final au sous-ministre des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse, d'ici au 31 décembre 2015, à moins de fixer une autre date mutuellement acceptable par le MSEJ et le Comité.

Le rapport reflètera la contribution de tous les membres du Comité et les recommandations formulées devront refléter les points de vue des enfants et des jeunes et ceux de tous les secteurs offrant des services en établissement aux enfants et aux jeunes (p. ex. justice pour les jeunes, santé mentale, bien-être de l'enfance et besoins complexes et/ou particuliers).

Portée

Le Comité devra effectuer un examen du système de services en établissement pour les enfants et les jeunes et remettre au sous-ministre un rapport final qui inclura les résultats et les recommandations issus des discussions avec les intervenants, et des recommandations portant sur ce qui suit :