Addendum

Temporary Changes to the Special Services at Home (SSAH) and Enhanced Respite for Medically Fragile and/or Technology Dependent Children Programs

To support children with special needs and their families while access to the community-based services and supports may be limited or unavailable, and while families remain at home practising physical distancing, eligible expenditures in the programs have been temporarily expanded to support greater flexibility for families. This includes support for those accessing Special Services at Home (SSAH) and Enhanced Respite for Medically Fragile and/or Technology-Dependent Children.

These changes come into effect immediately and will remain in place while communities are under COVID-19 restrictions. Program recipients will be given as much advance notice as possible to prepare for the return of standard protocols, at a future date to be determined by the ministry.

Temporary Expansion of Admissible Expenditures

The following categorized list of expenditures are temporarily admissible until further notice:

  1. Sensory Items
    • To support children and youth who rely on sensory items to alleviate anxiety/stress and/or support any clinical or behavioural plans.
      • e.g. multi-sensory related products and technologies.
  2. Technology
    • Provide children and youth the means and ability to stay safe, connected, and engaged at home, including in virtual and online learning and skill development activities. These items include:
      • Laptops and tablets;
      • Online educational and e-learning activities and resources;
      • Videogames and videogame systems;
      • Webcams and microphones;
      • Media service subscriptions and platforms (e.g. Netflix, Xbox Live, Disney+) (NOTE: this will not include cancellation fees);
      • E-readers (e.g. Kindle or Kobo); and
      • Remote monitoring devices and medical alert services and devices.
  3. Items to support home-based recreation and fitness activities:
    • Supplies to support home-based hobbies and recreational activities that would otherwise be accessed through school and other community-based programs. Some examples include, but are not limited to:
      • Arts and craft supplies;
      • Hobby supplies;
      • Puzzles and games; and
      • Books for leisure/learning.
    • Supplies to support home-based physical activity and fitness. Some examples may include, but are not limited to:
      • Indoor items and equipment (e.g. skipping rope, yoga mat, resistance bands); and
      • fitness/sport equipment and supplies that may be used on the individual’s property (e.g. basketball net, frisbee, badminton set).
  4. Personal Protective Equipment and Supplies
    • To enable children and youth, their families and their support workers to be supported more safely at home or as required, in the community, which may be of heightened importance to children/adults who are immunocompromised. This includes items such as:
      • Gloves
      • Masks
      • Gowns
      • Cleaning supplies (e.g. disinfectant wipes, sprays, and hand sanitizer)
      • Goggles and face shields.
  5. Essential Service Delivery Fees
    • Where families are unable to leave their homes for groceries or pharmacy needs because of the vulnerability of their family member and/or because of their care requirements, service delivery fees for essential items such as groceries and medication will be an admissible expense. (Note: this does not include the actual cost of the groceries and/or medications, just the service fee for delivery).
    • Delivery fees for takeout food from restaurants are not included.
  6. Behavioural Support Plans and Interventions
    • Behavioural supports and interventions intended to assist families to more safely support their child at home. This may include:
      • development of behavioural support plans and recommended interventions (delivered in person or remotely/virtually)
      • Support strategies to reduce challenging behaviours or potential crisis situations.
      • Note: This does not include physiotherapy, occupational therapy or speech therapy.
  7. Ability to hire (non-primary caregiver) family members or neighbours/friends to provide respite
    • To allow families who cannot hire respite workers or have concerns about having workers in their homes, to hire trusted family or friends to provide respite.
    • It should be noted that this is already an eligible expense for SSAH.

For SSAH, all other inadmissible expenditures as outlined in the Special Services at Home Guidelines remain in effect.

Temporary Changes to Administrative Requirements for SSAH and Enhanced Respite

To reduce the administrative burden on families, the following temporary administrative changes have been implemented, effective immediately, for SSAH and Enhanced Respite.

These changes support the on-going administration of the program for families and agencies while physical distancing requirements remain in place.

Claim and Invoice Signature Requirements

As physical distancing is currently mandated by all levels of government, and as many individuals/families may not have access to technology to support an e-signature process, the signature requirements for SSAH and Enhanced Respite invoice and claim forms are now waived until further notice. This includes support worker signatures to confirm that a service was provided.

As accurate record keeping will be essential to help ensure program integrity, Regional Offices and agencies are required to maintain accurate records of verbal and email acceptances.

2019/20 Claim Submission Deadline

In order to help families and recipients who are facing challenges to submit their 2019/20 SSAH and Enhanced Respite claims, ministry is waiving the 2019/20 submission deadline to families.

Helping People Access Funding: Pre-flow of Funding

The following changes will allow individuals and families to utilize their direct funding more quickly, while also accommodating the operational challenges being faced by ministry regional offices and transfer payment agencies, as a result of the COVID-19 outbreak.

  1. Eligibility for Enhanced Respite

    The ministry is temporarily waiving the requirement for in-person eligibility assessment to be conducted by Local Health Integration Networks (LHINs) to ensure that families who were in approved for 2019/20 funding continue to receive their 2020/21 funding without having to be reassessed.

  2. Advance Payments for 2019/20 Claims for SSAH

    To help ease the financial challenges faced by families who have not been able to submit claims or receive reimbursements for admissible expenditures associated with their 2019/20 SSAH funding, active SSAH recipients will receive a payment of up to $1,000 from their remaining 2019/20 authorized amount. For families with less than $1,000 remaining in their 2019/20 authorized amount, they will be provided with that amount in full.

    SSAH recipients are required to continue to submit their claims to be reconciled against the advance payment (up to the maximum of $1,000) of their 2019/20 authorization. Recipients will not be reimbursed for more than their total 2019/20 allocation.

  3. Advance Payments of 2020/21 Funding Amounts for SSAH and Enhanced Respite

    SSAH program recipients who submitted claims for the 2019/20 fiscal year and continue to be eligible for funding in 2020/21 will receive a 3-month pro-rated amount of their annual authorized allocation in advance, a payment equal to one quarter of their annual funding amount for the period of April to June 2020.

    SSAH program recipients who have not submitted a claim or have not had their claims processed by the regional offices are required to contact their local ministry regional office to request a pro-rated advance payment.

    For Enhanced Respite, the ministry will automatically pre-flow funding to families who were approved for funding in 2019/20, equal to one quarter of the full annual allocation of up to $3,500 per child.

    This will provide families with immediate financial help to purchase services and supports, including the new temporary eligible expenses, without waiting to be reimbursed for their claim, enabling families to purchase the supports they need while supporting their child/youth with special needs at home.

    Program recipients can continue to submit claims for reimbursement in addition to their advance payment amount, as long as the total value of claims submitted plus their advance payment does not exceed the person’s annual authorized funding amount for the 2020/21 fiscal year.

    All recipients of advance payments are required to retain receipts/invoices to reconcile their actual expenditures against their advance payment. Recipients are encouraged to continue to submit claims to the Regional Offices so their remaining budget amount is up to date.

    For families accessing both SSAH and Enhanced Respite, recipients should track their claims to ensure claims are only submitted once, to avoid duplicate claims.

    Self-admin families:
    Families who self-administer their SSAH funding and who receive their payment through Direct Bank Deposit (DBD) will have their payment deposited into their account as per the usual payment process.

    Agency-admin families:
    For families that have their funding administered by an agency, you may contact your local agency and provide them with the appropriate information that will support an electronic transfer of funds so that this funding can be deposited directly to your account.

Addendum

Modifications temporaires apportées au Programme de services particuliers à domicile (PSPD) et au Financement accru des services de relève pour les enfants dont la santé est fragile ou dépend de moyens technologiques

Afin d’aider les enfants ayant des besoins spéciaux et leurs familles pendant que l’accès aux services et au soutien communautaires peut être limité ou inaccessible, puis que les familles restent à la maison et pratiquent l’éloignement physique ou social, les dépenses admissibles au Programme de services particuliers à domicile (PSPD) et au Financement accru des services de relève pour les enfants dont la santé est fragile ou dépend de moyens technologiques ont été temporairement élargies afin d’offrir une plus grande flexibilité aux familles.

Ces changements entrent en vigueur immédiatement et resteront en vigueur tant que les communautés seront soumises aux restrictions de la COVID-19. Les participants aux programmes seront prévenus le plus tôt possible afin de les préparer au retour à la normale, à une date ultérieure qui sera déterminée par le ministère.

Expansion temporaire des dépenses admissibles

Les dépenses suivantes classées par catégorie sont temporairement admissibles jusqu’à nouvel ordre.

  1. Articles de stimulation sensorielle
    • Aider les enfants et les jeunes qui comptent sur des articles de stimulation sensorielle pour diminuer leur anxiété ou leur stress ou pour appuyer tout plan clinique ou comportemental.
      • Par exemple, les produits et les technologies multisensorielles.
  2. Technologie
    • Fournir aux enfants et aux jeunes les moyens et la capacité de rester en sécurité, connectés et engagés chez eux, y compris dans des activités virtuelles et en ligne d’apprentissage et de développement des habiletés. Ces articles comprennent :
      • ordinateurs portables et tablettes;
      • activités et ressources éducatives et d’apprentissage en ligne;
      • jeux vidéo et systèmes de jeux vidéo;
      • Webcams et microphones;
      • abonnements à des services et des plateformes médiatiques (p. ex., Netflix, Xbox Live, Disney+) (REMARQUE : les frais d’annulation ne sont pas inclus);
      • lecteurs électroniques (p. ex., Kindle ou Kobo);
      • dispositifs de surveillance à distance ainsi que services et dispositifs d’alerte médicale.
  3. Articles pour soutenir les activités récréatives et de conditionnement physique à domicile
    • Fournitures pour soutenir les passe-temps et les activités récréatives à domicile qui seraient autrement accessibles dans le cadre de programmes scolaires et d’autres programmes communautaires. Voici quelques exemples :
      • fournitures pour les arts et l’artisanat;
      • fournitures pour les loisirs;
      • casse-têtes et jeux;
      • livres de lecture récréative ou d’apprentissage.
    • Fournitures pour soutenir l’activité physique et le conditionnement physique à domicile. Voici quelques exemples :
      • articles et équipement d’intérieur (p. ex., corde à sauter, tapis de yoga, bandes de résistance);
      • équipement et fournitures de sport qui peuvent être utilisés sur la propriété de la personne (p. ex., panier de basket-ball, disque volant, ensemble pour badminton).
  4. Fournitures et équipement de protection individuelle
    • Permettre aux enfants et aux jeunes, à leurs familles et à leurs agents de soutien de bénéficier d’un soutien plus sûr à domicile ou, le cas échéant, dans la communauté, ce qui peut être particulièrement important pour les adultes immunodéficients. Cela comprend des articles tels que :
      • gants;
      • masques;
      • blouses;
      • produits de nettoyage (p. ex., lingettes désinfectantes, vaporisateurs et désinfectant pour les mains);
      • lunettes de protection et masques de protection faciale.
  5. Frais de prestation de services essentiels
    • Lorsque les familles ne peuvent pas quitter leur domicile pour aller à l’épicerie ou à la pharmacie en raison de la vulnérabilité d’un membre de leur famille ou en raison de leurs besoins en matière de soins, les frais de prestation de services pour des articles essentiels tels que les produits alimentaires et les médicaments seront considérés comme des dépenses admissibles. (Remarque : cela n’inclut pas le coût réel des aliments ou des médicaments, mais seulement les frais de service pour la livraison).
    • Les frais de livraison des plats à emporter dans les restaurants ne sont pas inclus.
  6. Plans de soutien en cas de troubles du comportement et interventions
    • Des plans de soutien en cas de troubles du comportement et des interventions destinés à aider les familles à mieux soutenir leur enfant à la maison en toute sécurité. Cela peut inclure :
      • élaboration de plans de soutien en cas de troubles du comportement et d’interventions recommandées (en personne ou à distance/virtuellement);
      • stratégies de soutien visant à réduire les comportements difficiles ou les situations de crise potentielles.
      • Remarque : Cela n’inclut pas la physiothérapie, l’ergothérapie ou l’orthophonie.
  7. Possibilité d’engager des membres de la famille (aidants non primaires) ou des voisins/amis pour assurer une relève
    • Permettre aux familles qui ne peuvent pas embaucher de travailleurs de relève ou qui craignent d’avoir des travailleurs à leur domicile, d’engager des membres de leur famille ou des amis de confiance pour assurer la relève.
    • Il convient de noter qu’il s’agit déjà d’une dépense admissible dans le cadre du PSPD.

Pour le PSPD, toutes les autres dépenses non admissibles, telles qu’énoncées dans les Lignes directrices du Programme de services particuliers à domicile restent en vigueur.

Modifications temporaires apportées aux exigences administratives du PSPD et du Financement accru des services de relève

Afin de réduire le fardeau administratif imposé aux familles, les modifications administratives temporaires suivantes ont été apportées et entrent en vigueur immédiatement, pour le PSPD et le Financement accru des services de relève.

Ces changements soutiennent l’administration continue du programme pour les familles et les organismes pendant que les exigences en matière d’éloignement physique et social sont en place.

Exigences relatives à la signature des demandes de remboursement et des factures

Étant donné que l’éloignement physique et social est actuellement imposé par tous les ordres de gouvernement et que de nombreuses personnes ou familles n’ont pas accès à la technologie permettant de soutenir un processus de signature électronique, les exigences relatives à la signature des demandes de remboursement et des factures du PSPD et du Financement accru des services de relève sont suspendues jusqu’à nouvel ordre. Cela inclut la signature des agents de soutien pour confirmer qu’un service a été fourni.

Comme la tenue de dossiers précis est essentielle pour garantir l’intégrité du programme, les bureaux régionaux et les organismes doivent tenir des dossiers précis des acceptations reçues verbalement et par courriel.

Date limite pour présenter des demandes de remboursement pour 2019-2020

Afin d’aider les familles et les bénéficiaires qui ont de la difficulté à présenter leurs demandes de remboursement pour 2019-2020 au titre du PSPD et du Financement accru des services de relève, le ministère suspend la date limite de présentation des demandes de remboursement pour 2019-2020 imposée aux familles.

Aider les gens à accéder au financement : versement anticipé du financement

Les changements suivants permettront aux personnes et aux familles d’utiliser plus rapidement leur financement direct, tout en tenant compte des défis opérationnels issus de la pandémie de COVID-19 auxquels sont confrontés les bureaux régionaux du ministère et les organismes de paiement de transfert.

  1. Admissibilité à un Financement accru

    Les familles qui ont été approuvées pour un financement en 2019/20 continueront à recevoir leur financement en 2020/21 sans avoir à être réévaluées. À moins qu'une famille soit déjà évaluée et jugée inéligible.

  2. Paiements anticipés des demandes de remboursement pour 2019-2020 au titre du PSPD

    Pour aider à atténuer les difficultés financières auxquelles sont confrontées les familles qui n’ont pas pu présenter des demandes de remboursement ou recevoir des remboursements pour les dépenses admissibles liées à leur financement du PSPD de 2019-2020, les bénéficiaires actifs du PSPD recevront un paiement pouvant aller jusqu’à 1 000 $ de leur montant autorisé restant pour 2019-2020. Pour les familles dont le montant autorisé pour 2019-2020 est inférieur à 1 000 $, dans le montant autorisé pour 2019/20, la totalité de ce montant leur sera versée.

    Les bénéficiaires du PSPD doivent continuer à présenter leurs demandes de remboursement qui seront conciliées par rapport au paiement anticipé (jusqu’à un maximum de 1 000 $) du montant autorisé pour 2019-2020. Les bénéficiaires n’obtiendront pas un remboursement supérieur au montant de leur allocation totale pour 2019-2020.

  3. Paiements anticipés des montants de financement pour 2020-2021 dans le cadre du PSPD et du Financement accru des services de relève

    Les participants PSPD qui ont présenté des demandes de remboursement pour l’exercice 2019-2020 et qui sont encore admissibles à un financement en 2020-2021 recevront à l’avance un montant proportionnel de leur allocation annuelle autorisée pour trois mois, un paiement égal au quart de leur montant de financement annuel pour la période d’avril à juin 2020.

    Les participants au PSPD qui n’ont pas présenté de demande de remboursement ou dont la demande n’a pas été traitée par les bureaux régionaux doivent communiquer avec le bureau régional du ministère pour demander un paiement anticipé proportionnel.

    Pour le Financement accru des services de relève, le ministère versera automatiquement aux familles dont le financement a été approuvé en 2019-2020 un montant égal au quart de l’allocation annuelle complète, jusqu’à concurrence de 3 500 $ par enfant.

    Les familles recevront ainsi une aide financière immédiate pour obtenir des services et du soutien, y compris les nouvelles dépenses admissibles temporaires, sans attendre d’être remboursées, ce qui leur permettra d’obtenir le soutien nécessaire tout en aidant leur enfant ou leur jeune ayant des besoins particuliers à la maison.

    Les participants au programme peuvent continuer à présenter des demandes de remboursement en plus du montant de leur paiement anticipé, tant que la valeur totale des demandes présentées ajoutée à leur paiement anticipé ne dépasse pas le montant de financement annuel autorisé de la personne pour l’exercice financier 2020-2021.

    Tous les bénéficiaires de paiements anticipés doivent conserver les reçus et les factures afin de concilier leurs dépenses réelles par rapport à leur paiement anticipé. On invite les bénéficiaires à continuer de présenter leurs demandes aux bureaux régionaux afin que le montant restant de leur budget soit à jour.

    Pour les familles qui ont accès PSPD et au Financement accru des services de relève, les bénéficiaires doivent faire le suivi de leurs demandes pour s’assurer que les demandes ne sont présentées qu’une seule fois, afin d’éviter les demandes en double.

    Familles autoadministrées :
    Les familles qui gèrent elles-mêmes leur financement au titre du PSPD et qui reçoivent leur paiement par dépôt bancaire direct recevront leur paiement selon la procédure habituelle.

    Familles administrées par un organisme :
    Les familles dont le financement est géré par un organisme peuvent communiquer avec leur agence locale et lui fournir les renseignements appropriés qui permettront d’effectuer un transfert électronique de fonds afin que ce financement puisse être déposé directement sur leur compte.