Children's aid societies

Protecting our children and youth

In Ontario, child protection services are:


About Ontario's children aid societies

Children's aid societies:

You can find a list of the children's aid societies on the Ontario Association of Children's Aid Societies website.

Role of the Ministry of Children and Youth Services

The ministry:


Commission to Promote Sustainable Child Welfare - Reports

The Commission to Promote Sustainable Child Welfare was established in July 2009 to work with Children’s Aid Societies to improve the child welfare system. Over its three-year mandate, the Commission submitted reports to the government that were made available to the public at the time of their release through the Commission's own website.

The Commission’s own website is no longer operational however you can request these reports through the ministry from:

Dawn Williams
Executive Assistant, Child Welfare Secretariat
416-212-2049
Dawn.Williams@ontario.ca

Reports available:


Youth Leaving Care Hearings & Report

Youth currently and formerly in the care of children’s aid societies worked with the Office of the Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth to organize two days of public hearings in November 2011. The hearings focused on the youth’s experiences and how they can be better supported to succeed. Professionals, parents and friends also added their voices. On May 14, 2012, the Youth Team released its final report, My Real Life Book — Report from the Youth Leaving Care Hearings, and recommendations.

Report


The Minister of Children and Youth Services established the Youth Leaving Care Working Group to act on the recommendations of “My REAL Life Book”. This Working Group provided its report "Blueprint for Fundamental Change to Ontario’s Child Welfare System." to the Minister on January 22, 2013.

The Provincial Adovcate for Children and Youth’s investigative authority

The Provincial Advocate for Children and Youth Act provides the Provincial Advocate with the authority to make recommendations that are aimed at improving the child welfare system so that it promotes the best interests, protection and well-being of children and youth. The Provincial Advocate has the authority to receive and respond to complaints, conduct reviews, represent the views and preferences of children and youth, make reports and provide recommendations.

The Provincial Advocate also has the ability to investigate matters relating to services provided by children’s aid societies and residential licensees, where a children’s aid society is the placing agency. This authority strengthens accountability, oversight and transparency of Ontario’s child welfare system.

Learn more about what to do if you have concerns about a children’s aid society.

Contacting the Motherisk Commission

In response to the Honourable Susan Lang’s final report, the government appointed an independent Commissioner in January 2016 to assist people who may have been affected by Motherisk laboratory’s testing methodology, regardless of the date of the test. Over the next two years, Commissioner Judith C. Beaman will lead a review and resource centre that will provide legal, counselling and other support to affected individuals involved in child protection matters.

The Commission’s office is now open and can be reached at 1-844-303-5476 or www.motheriskcommission.ca.

Learn more

Sociétés d'aide à l'enfance

Protéger nos enfants et nos jeunes

En Ontario, les services de protection de l'enfance sont :


Au sujet des sociétés d'aide à l'enfance de l'Ontario

Les sociétés d'aide à l'enfance :

Vous trouverez la liste des sociétés d'aide à l'enfance sur le site Web des sociétés d'aide à l'enfance de l'Ontario.

Le rôle du ministère des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse

Le ministère :


Commission de promotion de la viabilité des services de bien-être de l'enfance

La Commission de promotion de la viabilité des services de bien-être de l'enfance a été établie en juillet 2009 pour travailler de concert avec les sociétés d'aide à l'enfance en vue d'améliorer le système du bien-être de l'enfance. Au cours de son mandat de trois ans, la Commission a présenté rapports au gouvernement et les a mis à la disposition du public au moment de leur publication par le biais de son propre site Web.

Le site Web de la Commission n’est plus fonctionnel; toutefois, vous pouvez demander les rapports de la Commission auprès du ministère en vous adressant à :

Dawn Williams
Adjointe de direction, Secrétariat au bien-être de l’enfance
416 212-2049
Dawn.williams@ontario.ca

Rapports disponibles :


Audiences et Rapport des jeunes quittant la prise en charge

Les jeunes qui sont et qui ont été pris en charge par des sociétés d'aide à l'enfance ont collaboré avec le Bureau de l'intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes pour organiser deux journées d'audiences provinciales en novembre 2011. Les audiences ont mis l'accent sur les expériences des jeunes et comment mieux favoriser leur réussite. Des professionnels, des parents et des amis se sont aussi exprimés. Le 14 mai 2012, l'équipe des jeunes a publié son rapport final, My Real Life Book — Report from the Youth Leaving Care Hearings (La vraie histoire de ma vie — Rapport des audiences des jeunes quittant la prise en charge), et ses recommandations.

Rapport


La ministre des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse a mis sur pied le Groupe de travail pour les jeunes quittant la prise en charge pour tenir compte des recommandations contenues dans le document intitulé « Le livre de ma véritable histoire ». Ce groupe de travail a remis son rapport intitulé «Plan directeur visant un changement fondamental du système de bien-être de l'enfance de l'Ontario » à la ministre, le 22 janvier 2013.

L'autorité chargée des enquêtes de l'intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes

La Loi sur l'intervenant provincial en faveur des enfants et des jeunes confère au Bureau de l'intervenant provincial le pouvoir de formuler des recommandations visant à améliorer le système de bien-être de l’enfance pour qu’il défende les meilleurs intérêts des enfants et des jeunes et qu’il assure leur protection et leur bien-être. L’intervenant provincial a le pouvoir de recevoir des plaintes et d'y répondre, de procéder à des examens, de représenter les points de vue des enfants et des jeunes, de présenter des rapports et de faire des recommandations.

L'intervenant provincial a également la capacité de mener des enquêtes sur les questions liées aux services des sociétés d'aide à l'enfance (SAE) et des titulaires de permis de services en milieu résidentiel, si une SAE est l'agence de placement. Ce pouvoir renforce la responsabilisation, la surveillance et la transparence au sein du système des services de bien-être de l'enfance de l'Ontario

Découvrez quoi faire si vous avez des inquiétudes au sujet d'une société d'aide à l'enfance.

Communiquer avec la Commission Motherisk

En réaction au rapport final de l’honorable Susan Lang, le gouvernement a nommé une commissaire indépendante en janvier 2016 pour aider les personnes ayant pu être touchées par les méthodes d’analyse du laboratoire Motherisk, peu importe la date de l’analyse. Au cours des deux prochaines années, la commissaire Judith C. Beaman dirigera un Centre d’examen et de ressources qui fournira des services juridiques, des services de counseling et d'autres soutiens aux personnes impliquées dans des affaires de protection de l'enfance, qui pourraient avoir été touchées par le manque de fiabilité d'analyses du laboratoire Motherisk.

Le bureau de la Commission est maintenant ouvert et vous pouvez le joindre au 1 844 303-5476 ou sur le site Web www.motheriskcommission.ca.

Pour en savoir davantage