Download print version (PDF).

Services for children who are Deaf or hard of hearing

Children born Deaf or hard of hearing, or who develop permanent hearing loss while they are very young, are at risk for delayed language development.

Research shows that delay in language development can affect cognitive, emotional and social development: how well a young child's language is developing is related to whether that child will be ready to learn when he or she starts school. The earlier a child's hearing loss is identified, and the sooner the child can receive support, the better opportunity that child will have to succeed in school.

The Ontario Infant Hearing Program (IHP)

The Infant Hearing Program is dedicated to serving the needs of children who are Deaf or hard of hearing and their families.

The Infant Hearing Program:

  1. Offers universal hearing screening for all newborns, in order to identify infants who are born deaf or hard of hearing, or who are at risk for developing hearing loss in early childhood.
  2. Provides services for infants and young children who are Deaf or hard of hearing, and their families, to support language development.

When you know your child is Deaf or hard of hearing

Your audiologist has told you that your baby is Deaf or hard of hearing. Now it's time to find out about the services offered through the Infant Hearing Program for your child and for your family. Making full use of these services, and continuing to use them as your child grows, is important to your child's future. The Infant Hearing Program will support your child's healthy development and preparation for success in school when he or she enters Grade 1.

Audiology services: hearing re-assessment

All babies referred from hearing screening have their hearing assessed by an audiologist.

Audiologists are specialists in the assessment of hearing and in working with technology such as hearing aids to help improve communication for people with hearing loss. The Infant Hearing Program audiologists have received advanced training in the latest methods, techniques and equipment for assessing the hearing of infants and young children.

Hearing assessment of infants is based on electrophysiological measures, which use special equipment and a number of tests. An assessment may take several hours to complete, because of the amount of information the audiologist needs to determine hearing levels. Babies usually sleep through the entire process.

The assessment provides:

As children grow older, other assessment techniques are used to monitor hearing over time. Ongoing audiology reassessment is important because it allows changes in hearing over time to be identified. Hearing aids can be adjusted and changes in services can be made as appropriate.

Audiology services: amplification

When parents know that their child has a permanent hearing loss, they may choose for their baby to use a hearing aid or other device used to improve hearing. Infant Hearing Program audiologists have specialized training in selecting and fitting hearing aids for infants. The audiologist will do an evaluation, and will select a device based on information about the child's hearing loss and other needs.

The audiologist – or a hearing instrument specialist who has been trained by the Infant Hearing Program – will show parents how to use and care for the hearing aids.

Your child's hearing will continue to be monitored, and adjustments will be made to the hearing aids as needed. These frequent services are provided by audiologists and hearing instrument specialists located as close to home as possible.

Infants who meet certain criteria will be eligible for the province's Cochlear Implant Program. Audiologists from the Infant Hearing and Cochlear Implant programs work together to assess the needs of the infant, and to decide whether an implant might be an option.

If your family chooses a cochlear implant for your child, you can become involved with one of the province's three pediatric cochlear implant programs as soon as possible after the identification of hearing loss. Your audiologist can help with a referral.

Language development: services to support you and your child

You will receive information about the services and supports for communication development that are available to you and your baby from your audiologist. These include:

Specially trained service providers, including speech language pathologists and ASL and literacy consultants, will give you ongoing language development services and support:

As your child grows older, Infant Hearing Program professionals will continue to assess and monitor his or her language development, and may recommend changes in service delivery or approach. It will always be possible for families to choose different approaches to language development, different service providers, or additional supports, depending on the needs of their child.

Regardless of the approach chosen by families, the goal is for children who are Deaf or hard of hearing to develop language that is age-appropriate by the time they begin school, so that they will have the same opportunity as other children for academic success.

Family support

The Infant Hearing Program provides support services to parents as they adjust to the knowledge that their child is Deaf or hard of hearing. These services are provided by trained specialists, called family support workers. Family support workers are social workers who have received additional information on hearing loss, and on the implications of hearing loss on language development. Your family support worker will help to connect your family with the service providers you wish to meet. He/she will connect you with other community agencies, and will help to ensure that all of your needs as a family are met.

Developmental milestones in American Sign Language (ASL)

Listed below are some of the milestones that mark the progress of young children as they learn to communicate in American Sign Language (ASL). Also listed are some suggestions for what you can do to help.

Most children learn language in a predetermined order. Research indicates that children using ASL as a first language pass through the same stages of language development as hearing children using spoken language. You can look for these milestones as your child learns and grows.

Sign Language milestones

Birth to 3 months

What you can do

3 to 6 months

What you can do

6 - 9 months

What you can do

9 - 12 months

What you can do

12 - 18 months

What you can do

18 - 24 months

What you can do

Developmental milestones in spoken language

Listed below are some of the milestones that mark the progress of young children as they learn to communicate in spoken language.

These milestones are based on a child's hearing age – the length of time the child has been consistently wearing hearing aids and/or a cochlear implant.

Based on hearing age and other variables, children will pass through the same stages of listening, speech, language and cognitive development as children with typical hearing.

By 6 months

By 9 months

By 12 months

By 18 months

By 24 months

By 30 months

Babies like it when you:

Toddlers like it when you:

These materials are available at no cost from your regional Infant Hearing Program:

  • Brochure: A parent's guide to hearing aids
  • DVD set: Auditory-verbal therapy for you and your child / Sign language for you and your child

Format PDF.

Services aux enfants sourds ou malentendants

Les enfants qui naissent sourds ou malentendants, ou qui sont touchés par une perte auditive évolutive pendant leurs premières années, risquent de manifester un retard dans l’acquisition du langage.

Les recherches montrent qu’un retard dans l’acquisition du langage peut nuire au développement cognitif, affectif et social : la mesure dans laquelle un jeune enfant acquiert des capacités langagières se répercutera sur son niveau de préparation à apprendre lorsqu’il entrera à l’école. Plus une perte auditive sera détectée tôt chez un enfant et plus tôt celui-ci bénéficiera de soutien, meilleures seront ses chances de réussir à l’école.

Programme de dépistage néonatal des troubles auditifs et d’intervention précoce (PDNTAIP)

Le Programme de dépistage néonatal des troubles auditifs et d’intervention précoce a été conçu pour répondre aux besoins des enfants sourds ou malentendants et de leur famille.

Rôle du PDNTAIP :

  1. offrir un service de dépistage de la surdité à tous les nouveau-nés de l’Ontario afin de déceler ceux qui sont nés sourds ou malentendants, ou qui risquent de subir une perte auditive au cours de leurs premières années;
  2. fournir des services aux nourrissons et aux jeunes enfants qui sont sourds ou malentendants, ainsi qu’à leur famille, afin de favoriser leur développement sur le plan de la communication et du langage.

Lorsque vous apprenez que votre enfant est sourd ou malentendant

Un audiologiste vous a dit que votre enfant est sourd ou malentendant; c’est le moment de vous renseigner sur les services offerts par le PDNTAIP à votre enfant et à votre famille. Ces services, utilisés de façon maximale et continue pendant que votre enfant grandit, sont d’une importance capitale pour son avenir. Le PDNTAIP soutiendra le développement et la réussite scolaire de votre enfant lorsqu’il entrera en première année.

Services d’audiologie : les évaluations audiologiques

Tous les bébés dirigés pour un dépistage de la surdité sont évalués par un audiologiste.

Les audiologistes sont des spécialistes de l’évaluation de l’audition et ils utilisent des techniques comme des aides à l’audition pour améliorer la communication avec les personnes ayant une perte auditive. Les audiologistes du PDNTAIP ont reçu une formation spécialisée en ce qui concerne les méthodes, les techniques et les appareils les plus récents pour évaluer l’audition des nourrissons et des jeunes enfants.

L’évaluation audiologique chez les enfants est fondée sur des mesures électrophysiologiques effectuées au moyen de matériel spécialisé et de plusieurs tests. Une évaluation complète peut prendre plusieurs heures en raison de la quantité de renseignements dont a besoin l’audiologiste pour déterminer les niveaux d’audition. Généralement, les bébés dorment tout au long du procédé.

L’évaluation fournit les renseignements suivants :

D’autres techniques d’évaluation sont utilisées pour vérifier l’audition des enfants à mesure qu’ils grandissent. L’évaluation audiologique continue est importante parce qu’elle permet de déceler les changements de l’audition au fil du temps, d’ajuster l’aide auditive et de modifier les services selon les besoins.

Services d’audiologie : amplification

Les parents qui apprennent que leur enfant a une perte auditive permanente peuvent décider de recourir à une aide auditive ou à un autre appareil d’amélioration de l’audition. Les audiologistes du PDNTAIP ont été formés spécialement pour choisir et poser des aides auditives chez les nourrissons. L’audiologiste procédera à une évaluation et il sélectionnera un appareil en fonction des renseignements recueillis sur la perte auditive de l’enfant et ses autres besoins.

L’audiologiste, ou un spécialiste des appareils de correction auditive qui a reçu la formation relative au PDNTAIP, indiquera aux parents comment utiliser et entretenir une aide auditive.

On vérifiera de façon continue l’audition de votre enfant et des ajustements de l’aide auditive seront faits au besoin. Ces services fréquents sont fournis par des audiologistes et des spécialistes des appareils de correction auditive qui sont situés le près possible du domicile des familles.

Les nourrissons qui répondent à certains critères sont admissibles au programme d’implant cochléaire de la province. Les audiologistes qui travaillent dans le cadre de ce programme et les audiologistes du PDNTAIP collaborent pour évaluer les besoins de l’enfant et décider si un implant est une option appropriée.

Si votre famille choisit un implant cochléaire pour votre enfant, vous pouvez participer à l’un des trois programmes provinciaux d’implant cochléaire chez les enfants, dès le dépistage d’une perte auditive. Votre audiologiste peut vous aider à obtenir une recommandation.

Développement du langage : des services de soutien pour vous et pour votre enfant

Vous obtiendrez, de votre audiologiste, des renseignements sur les services et les modes de soutien pour le développement de la communication qui vous sont offerts ainsi qu’à votre bébé. En voici quelques exemples :

Des fournisseurs de services spécialisés, notamment des orthophonistes, des spécialistes du LSQ et des conseillers en alphabétisation, vous donneront de façon continue des services de soutien et de développement du langage :

À mesure que votre enfant grandit, les spécialistes du PDNTAIP continueront d’évaluer et de vérifier ses progrès en matière d’acquisition du langage et ils pourraient recommander des modifications dans la prestation des services ou le choix des méthodes. Les familles auront toujours la possibilité de choisir d’autres stratégies d’acquisition du langage, d’autres fournisseurs de services ou des services de soutien supplémentaires, compte tenu des besoins de leur enfant.

Peu importe la stratégie choisie par la famille, l’objectif est de faire acquérir aux enfants sourds ou malentendants des capacités langagières appropriées à leur âge afin qu’ils aient les mêmes chances de réussir que les autres enfants lorsqu’ils commenceront leur scolarité.

Services de soutien à la famille

Le Programme de dépistage néonatal des troubles auditifs et d’intervention précoce fournit des services de soutien aux parents qui doivent s’adapter à l’idée que leur enfant est sourd ou malentendant. Ces services sont fournis par des spécialistes qu’on appelle préposés – préposés aux services de soutien à la famille. Ces personnes sont des travailleurs sociaux qui ont reçu une formation complémentaire sur la surdité et sur les répercussions de la perte auditive sur le développement du langage. Votre préposé aux services de soutien à la famille vous aidera à prendre contact avec les fournisseurs de services que vous souhaitez rencontrer. Elle/il vous mettra en communication avec d’autres organismes communautaires et aidera à assurer que tous vos besoins sont satisfaits en tant que famille.

Âges et étapes d’apprentissage : le langage des signes québécois (LSQ)

Vous trouverez ci-après certaines étapes importantes de l’apprentissage de la communication en langage gestuel chez les jeunes enfants. Vous trouverez aussi des suggestions sur ce que vous pouvez faire pour les aider.

La plupart des enfants acquièrent le langage selon un ordre préétabli. Les recherches indiquent que les enfants dont la langue première est le langage gestuel passent par les mêmes étapes d’acquisition linguistique que les enfants entendants qui utilisent le langage parlé.

Soyez à l’affût de ces étapes importantes à mesure que votre enfant apprend et grandit.

Étapes de l’acquisition du langage gestuel

De la naissance à 3 mois

Ce que vous pouvez faire

De 3 à 6 mois

Ce que vous pouvez faire

De 6 à 9 mois

Ce que vous pouvez faire

De 9 à 12 mois

Ce que vous pouvez faire

De 12 à 18 mois

Ce que vous pouvez faire

De 18 à 24 mois

Ce que vous pouvez faire

Âges et étapes de l’acquisition du langage parlé

Vous trouverez ci-après certaines étapes importantes de l’apprentissage de la communication verbale chez les jeunes enfants.

Ces étapes sont établies d’après l’âge auquel l’enfant commence à entendre – le temps écoulé depuis que l’enfant porte de façon constante une aide auditive ou un implant cochléaire.

Compte tenu de l’âge auquel les enfants commencent à entendre et d’autres variables, ces enfants traversent les mêmes étapes de la compréhension auditive, de l’acquisition du langage et du développement cognitif que les enfants entendants.

Au plus tard à 6 mois

Au plus tard à 9 mois

Au plus tard à 12 mois

Au plus tard à 18 mois

Au plus tard à 24 mois

Au plus tard à 30 mois

Votre bébé aime lorsque ...

Un tout petit aime lorsque ...

Les documents suivants sont disponibles gratuitement auprès du Programme de dépistage néonatal des troubles auditifs et d’intervention précoce (PDNTAIP) de votre région,

  • Brochure : Guide à l’intention des parents sur les appareils auditifs
  • Un coffret de deux vidéos : Thérapie auditive et verbale pour vous et votre enfant et Langage gestuel pour vous et votre enfant