Hearing

The first months and years of a baby's life are critical for developing language. Most children can hear right from birth. They learn to talk by imitating the sounds around them and the voices of their parents and caregivers. But that's not true for every child.

Every year in Ontario, nearly four in 1,000 babies are born deaf or hard of hearing. More lose their hearing later as they grow. Many of these children may need to learn speech and language differently, so it's important to detect hearing loss as early as possible.

Why early screening is important

It's really important to find out if your baby has hearing loss. Undetected hearing loss can cause delays in your baby's learning to talk. That can lead to behavioural and emotional problems and, later on, to problems in school.

The sooner hearing loss is identified, the better. There are many services available to help children with hearing loss. Finding out early means that they can get the help they need right away. And this gives them the same chance to develop language skills as hearing children.

L'ouïe

Les premiers mois et les premières années de la vie d'un bébé sont très importants pour l'acquisition du langage. La plupart des enfants peuvent entendre dès leur naissance. Ils apprennent à parler en imitant les sons qu'ils entendent et la voix de leurs parents et des personnes qui leur fournissent des soins. Mais cela n'est pas le cas de tous les enfants.

Chaque année en Ontario, environ quatre bébés sur 1000 naissent sourds ou malentendants. D'autres perdent l'ouïe un peu plus tard. Chez bon nombre de ces enfants, l'acquisition du langage devra peut-être se faire différemment. Il est donc important de déceler toute perte auditive aussitôt que possible.

Pourquoi est-il important que votre bébé fasse l'objet d'un dépistage des troubles auditifs?

Il est très important de savoir si votre bébé a subi une perte auditive. La perte auditive non détectée est l'une des causes du retard dans l'acquisition du langage. Ce retard peut entraîner des troubles comportementaux ou affectifs, et ultérieurement des problèmes scolaires.

Plus la perte auditive est détectée tôt, plus cela est avantageux pour l'enfant. Il existe de nombreux services pour aider les enfants qui ont subi une perte auditive. Un dépistage précoce signifie qu'ils peuvent recevoir immédiatement l'aide dont ils ont besoin. Et cela leur donne autant de chances de faire l'acquisition du langage que les enfants qui entendent normalement.