Stepping Stones banner – legs and feet of a person stepping on stones to walk across water.

About Stepping Stones

Ontario has made substantial investments in youth and the youth services sector does excellent work across the province. Collectively, we have made significant progress in achieving positive outcomes for youth. At the same time, there is broad consensus that a better understanding of how youth develop based on research evidence and the voices of young people would help to ensure that services and supports across the province are better coordinated and better able to maximize positive youth development. Stepping Stones is informed by up-to-date research and dialogues with youth, community leaders and providers. The voice of Ontario's youth has shaped the creation of this resource—bringing rich dialogue, considerable expertise, and diverse perspectives on youth development to this work. Everyone involved has been motivated to create a resource that shares knowledge and experience about how youth develop to support them in achieving their highest potential.

Top

Context: Ontario's changing demographics

An illustration of a gold magnifying glass. This section provides more information to deepen your knowledge.DIGGING DEEPER: TODAY'S YOUTH

  • Ontario's youth population makes up 16.2% of the total population
  • By 2030, Ontario's working age population is projected to be 10.3 million or 61.6% of the population— down from 69.4% in 2009

Ontario's population patterns are changing
Currently over 2.4 million youth aged 12–25 call Ontario home. This is an incredibly diverse group who face a world where changing social and family dynamics and an evolving labour market mean that many youth need extra support and opportunities to learn the skills they need for success. The province's population is also aging and, as a result, Ontario's prosperity is increasingly dependent on a smaller group of workers. These youth are the province's economic future.

An illustration of a gold magnifying glass. This section provides more information to deepen your knowledge.DIGGING DEEPER: ABORIGINAL, NEWCOMER AND FRANCOPHONE YOUTH

  • The Aboriginal population is young and growing. In fact, it is the fastest growing population in all of Ontario
  • Of the population aged 15–24 in Ontario, 17.9% are immigrants
  • More than one in six Francophones are youth aged 12-24
  • The number of Francophone immigrant youth aged 15–24 increased by 18.6% between 2001 and 2006

Today, transitions are less predictable
Over the years, youth development has grown an added layer of complexity as the transition from adolescence into adulthood has become less clear and direct. For example, marriage is often no longer the reason for leaving the family home and few young people move from education/training directly into stable and long-term employment.

An illustration of a gold magnifying glass. This section provides more information to deepen your knowledge.DIGGING DEEPER: EXTENDED ADOLESCENCE

  • As young people attend postsecondary education longer, and postpone marriage and starting a family, the period defined as "youth" has widened
  • Over the past two decades there has been an increase in the number of young Canadians between the ages of 20–29 remaining to live with, or returning to live with, their parents
Top

The implications

Our youth will need to be resilient
A young man and woman from the Youth Development Committee sitting at a table working together. Today's youth will be more likely to work many jobs in their lifetime and perhaps have multiple careers. A different and larger set of skills is needed to ensure success in life and in the workplace so that youth are able to manage and respond to these challenges. We need youth who are:

Changing family structures and an evolving labour market mean that many youth are more dependent on their broader community for support.

Top

We need to provide positive supports

In order to prepare youth for success in this new context, parents, communities and decision makers should move beyond a deficit-focused model of youth development (ensuring that youth are "problem-free") and toward a coordinated and asset-focused approach that seeks to prepare youth to thrive as family and community members, leaders and contributors to the province and our future (Scales and Benson, 2004).

Attitudes toward adolescence have shifted
Adolescence has frequently been characterized as a period of "storm and stress". Too often, researchers, policy-makers and service providers have regarded young people as problems requiring a solution or intervention.

A close up of a happy young man from the Youth Development Committee.

In recent years, however, a positive youth perspective has emerged that involves a more constructive understanding of development during the adolescent years, supported by the recognition that a deficit model of service provision (for example, how to deal with delinquency and drug addiction) is only one part of the equation. This perspective acknowledges the importance of the experiences young people are exposed to—both positive and negative—in their overall development and preparedness for success as adults.

Significant research has demonstrated that this asset-focused approach—supporting development across all developmental domains—is effective in improving youth outcomes.

About our approach
The developmental maps presented in Part III of this document are based on a positive youth development framework. The maps are meant to describe what develops and how we recognize that development is taking place.

This description is not intended to dictate specific outcomes. Its purpose is to provide young people, their parents and those who work to support youth development with clear information about what to expect and the experiences that can be helpful during adolescence and early adulthood.

The letter ‘I’ in lowercase. This section provides helpful ideas to consider.INSIGHT: AN ASSET MODEL OF YOUTH DEVELOPMENT

It is important to recognize the difference between merely striving to ensure that youth are "free of problems" and the larger goal of ensuring they are "fully prepared" for success and engagement in life, work and citizenship. While the treatment of specific youth issues will always remain a critical component of youth development, Stepping Stones is intended to focus on developing the personal assets of our youth in a broad and rich way, rather than on the elimination of youth issues and challenges.

Top

The call for action

Ontario's Review of the Roots of Youth Violence report, released in November 2008, included a recommendation to government to develop an evidence-based youth policy framework that "is informed by research about the developmental and transitional stages through which youth pass".

The letter ‘I’ in lowercase. This section provides helpful ideas to consider.INSIGHT: THE REVIEW OF THE ROOTS OF YOUTH VIOLENCE REPORT

"The policy framework we see as the most promising would be based on the early childhood development model used in Ontario and elsewhere. That model, which has served to inspire and coordinate actions for children up to age six by governments and communities alike, is based on the developmental stages of children."
(2008; Volume 1, page 290)

Top

How this resource was developed

This resource was developed through a multi-faceted process
The process of developing this resource involved:

Research on youth development was compiled
The government issued an open call that resulted in 13 research papers that compiled up-to-date evidence on how youth develop. These papers were brought together with a cross-disciplinary literature review to form the "maps" of developmental stages that serve as the basis of this resource.

A youth dialogue strategy was developed
The government also launched a youth engagement process, which consisted of two core elements: creating a Youth Development Committee; and developing a youth dialogue strategy.

Youth Development Committee and Youth Network
In October 2010, recruitment for the Youth Development Committee was launched. The Committee's primary task was to provide expertise and advice to support the design and execution of youth dialogues. Committee members were compensated out of respect for their time and expertise and to ensure that the group was representative.

Two young men from the Youth Development Committee standing side by side and smiling.

Over 400 applications were received from Ontario youth. Through the support of an external selection panel, 25 young people were chosen to form the Committee. Committee members ranged in age from 18–25, came from across Ontario, and brought with them exceptional experiences and skills that represent the diversity of Ontario's youth.

In addition to the Committee, interested youth had other opportunities for participation in the project. Over 500 youth registered for the Youth Network and received updates on the development of the resource. Youth participants who previously worked with government also participated in this process by providing advice about their own experiences working with government to the Youth Development Committee.

Extensive youth dialogues were held
The dialogues provided youth with an opportunity to consider their own lived experiences and engage in interactive conversations to identify the supports and opportunities they need for positive development.

The dialogues, developed in partnership with the Youth Development Committee, gave youth across the province an opportunity to provide advice on how the decision makers in their lives can best support their development. The strategy, called "Where's your Voice At?", provided four ways for youth to participate:

Special efforts were made to ensure the voices of Aboriginal and Francophone youth were represented in the process. Efforts were also made to ensure that the face-to-face workshops were held across the province. Most face-to-face sessions were held in Youth Development Committee members' home communities.

Over 600 youth from across the province participated in the "Where's Your Voice At?" dialogues, representing the communities in the map below. Their voices are reflected throughout this resource.

An illustration of a speech bubble. This section provides information heard from Ontario youth.IN THEIR OWN VOICES

"Listen to what I have to say and ask me questions because, if you don’t ask me questions, I might as well not have a voice."

A map showing locations across Ontario where youth provided input. Red stars on the map indicate locations of face to face sessions, and yellow dots are locations represented by youth participation.

The letter ‘I’ in lowercase. This section provides helpful ideas to consider.INSIGHT: YOUTH PARTICIPANTS

Youth dialogue participants reflected the diversity of Ontario’s youth population as a whole. Many participants voluntarily identified themselves as representing a minority group:

  • 9% were Aboriginal
  • 3% were Francophone
  • 41% identified as being a visible minority
Top

Bannière d’Un stade à l’autre – jambes et pieds d’une personne qui marche sur des pierres pour traverser une étendue d’eau.

À propos D’un stade à l’autre

L'Ontario réalise des investissements majeurs pour la jeunesse, et le secteur des services à la jeunesse effectue un excellent travail dans toute la province. Ensemble, nous avons accompli des progrès significatifs pour atteindre des résultats positifs pour la jeunesse. Dans le même temps, un large consensus s’est formé en faveur d’une meilleure compréhension de la façon dont les jeunes se développent, basé sur des données de recherche probantes, et les opinions des jeunes permettraient d’assurer une meilleure coordination des programmes et soutiens dans la province et d’optimiser le développement positif des jeunes. D'un stade à l'autre repose sur les dernières recherches existantes et sur les discussions engagées avec les jeunes, les responsables communautaires et les fournisseurs de services. La voix de la jeunesse ontarienne a influencé la création de cette ressource et a permis d'étayer ce travail grâce à un dialogue riche, une expertise considérable et des points de vue divers sur le développement des jeunes. Chaque personne impliquée était désireuse de créer une ressource mettant en commun les connaissances et les expériences acquises sur le développement des jeunes en vue d'aider ces derniers à atteindre leur plein potentiel.

Haut

Contexte : l'évolution démographique en Ontario

Illustration représentant une loupe dorée. Cette section fournit des renseignements supplémentaires pour vous aider à approfondir vos connaissances.POUR ALLER PLUS LOIN : LES JEUNES D'AUJOURD'HUI

  • Les jeunes Ontariens représentent 16,2 % de la population totale de la province.
  • D'ici 2030, la population active de l'Ontario devrait atteindre, selon les projections, 10,3 millions de personnes, soit 61,6 % de la population totale – contre 69,4 % en 2009.

Les réalités démographiques évoluent en ontario
Aujourd'hui, plus de 2,4 millions de jeunes âgés de 12 à 25 ans vivent en Ontario. Ce groupe d'âge est incroyablement diversifié et fait face à une société en pleine mutation, où le changement des dynamiques sociales et familiales et l'évolution du marché du travail expliquent que de nombreux jeunes ont besoin de soutiens et de possibilités supplémentaires pour acquérir les compétences dont ils ont besoin pour réussir. En outre, la population ontarienne est vieillissante. Par conséquent, la prospérité de la province est de plus en plus tributaire d'une population active de moins en moins nombreuse. Les jeunes représentent donc l'avenir économique de la province.

Illustration représentant une loupe dorée. Cette section fournit des renseignements supplémentaires pour vous aider à approfondir vos connaissances.POUR ALLER PLUS LOIN : LES JEUNES AUTOCHTONES, LES JEUNES NOUVEAUX ARRIVANTS ET LES JEUNES FRANCOPHONES

  • La communauté autochtone est jeune et en pleine croissance démographique. De fait, elle représente la population qui connaît la plus forte croissance de tout l'Ontario.
  • Sur l'ensemble du groupe d'âge des 15-24 ans en Ontario, on compte 17,9 % d'immigrants.
  • Chez les francophones, plus d'une personne sur six est âgée de 12 à 24 ans.
  • Le nombre de jeunes immigrants francophones âgés de 15 à 24 ans a augmenté de 18,6 % entre 2001 et 2006.

Aujourd'hui, les transitions se font de façon moins prévisible
Au fil des ans, le développement des jeunes s'est accru, alors que la transition de l'adolescence à l'âge adulte est devenue moins claire et moins directe. En effet, le mariage n'est plus nécessairement la raison du départ du foyer familial et peu de jeunes passent directement des études/de la formation à un emploi stable et de longue durée.

Illustration représentant une loupe dorée. Cette section fournit des renseignements supplémentaires pour vous aider à approfondir vos connaissances.POUR ALLER PLUS LOIN : PROLONGATION DE L'ADOLESCENCE

  • Étant donné l'augmentation de la durée des études postsecondaires pour les jeunes et la tendance à repousser le mariage et le fondement d'une famille, la période qui correspond à « la jeunesse » s'est étendue.
  • Au cours des deux dernières décennies, on a observé une hausse du nombre de jeunes Canadiens âgés de 20 à 29 ans demeurant ou retournant vivre chez leurs parents.
Haut

Les conséquences

Nos jeunes devront être résilients
Un jeune homme et une jeune femme du Comité jeunesse qui sont assis à une table et travaillent ensemble. Les jeunes d'aujourd'hui sont plus susceptibles d'avoir plusieurs emplois au cours de leur vie, voire plusieurs carrières. Afin que les jeunes soient en mesure de gérer et relever ces défis, un éventail de compétences plus riche et plus divers est nécessaire pour garantir leur réussite sur le plan personnel et professionnel. Nous avons besoin de jeunes :

Du fait des changements qui se sont opérés au niveau des structures familiales et de l'évolution constante du marché du travail, les jeunes sont plus dépendants de la collectivité au sens large pour obtenir un soutien.

Haut

Nous devons fournir des soutiens positifs

Afin de préparer la jeunesse au succès dans ce nouveau contexte, les parents, les collectivités et les décideurs devraient aller au-delà du simple modèle de développement des jeunes reposant sur un objectif négatif (à savoir veiller à ce que les jeunes n'aient « pas de problème ») pour mettre en place une approche coordonnée et axée sur les atouts des jeunes, qui cherche à les préparer à s'épanouir, tant au sein de leurs familles que de leurs collectivités, en tant que chefs de file et membres essentiels contribuant à la province et à notre avenir (Scales et Benson, 2004) [traduction libre].

On observe une évolution des attitudes adoptées par rapport à l'adolescence
L'adolescence est souvent décrite comme une période « de trouble et de stress ». Trop souvent, les chercheurs, les responsables des politiques et les fournisseurs de services considèrent les jeunes comme des problèmes nécessitant une solution ou une intervention.

Gros plan d’un jeune homme souriant du Comité jeunesse.

Néanmoins, ces dernières années, une perspective positive sur la jeunesse s'est fait jour et appréhende de façon plus constructive le développement survenant à l'adolescence, ce qui s'appuie sur l'idée aujourd'hui reconnue qu'un modèle de prestation de services par la négative (par exemple, comment gérer la délinquance et la toxicomanie) n'est qu'une partie de l'équation. Cette nouvelle perspective reconnaît l'importance des expériences vécues par les jeunes – positives et négatives – sur leur développement en général et sur leur capacité à réussir en tant qu'adultes.

D'importants projets de recherche ont montré que cette approche axée sur les atouts – soutenant le développement dans tous les domaines – améliore efficacement les résultats des jeunes.

À propos de notre approche
La feuille de route du développement des jeunes présentée dans la partie III de ce document repose sur un cadre relatif au développement positif des jeunes. Elle vise à décrire le développement positif des jeunes – ce qu'il en est et comment nous pouvons reconnaître un tel développement.

L'objectif n'est pas d'imposer des résultats particuliers, mais de fournir aux jeunes, à leurs parents et à ceux qui œuvrent au développement des jeunes des renseignements clairs sur ce qui peut les attendre et sur les expériences qui peuvent être utiles au moment de l'adolescence et de l'entrée dans l'âge adulte.

La lettre « i » en minuscule. Cette section fournit des idées utiles qu’il est intéressant de prendre en compte.APERÇU : UN MODÈLE DE DÉVELOPPEMENT DES JEUNES BASÉ SUR LES ATOUTS

Il est essentiel de bien faire la différence entre le fait de simplement s'efforcer de garantir une jeunesse « sans problème » et l'objectif plus large consistant à s'assurer que les jeunes sont « bien préparés » à réussir et à s'engager dans leur vie, au travail et dans les affaires civiles. Même si le traitement de certains problèmes précis de la jeunesse reste une composante clé du développement des jeunes, D'un stade à l'autre vise à perfectionner les atouts personnels de chacun de nos jeunes de façon générale et constructive, plutôt que d'éliminer les problèmes et les défis auxquels ils font face.

Haut

L’appel à l’action

Le rapport de l'Ontario intitulé Examen des causes de la violence chez les jeunes, publié en novembre 2008, incluait une recommandation destinée au gouvernement préconisant d'élaborer un cadre stratégique pour la jeunesse basé sur des données probantes « qui tienne compte des recherches sur les stades de développement et de transition qui jalonnent l'enfance ».

La lettre « i » en minuscule. Cette section fournit des idées utiles qu’il est intéressant de prendre en compte.APERÇU : RAPPORT EXAMEN DES CAUSES DE LA VIOLENCE CHEZ LES JEUNES

« Le cadre stratégique qui nous semble le plus prometteur serait calqué sur le modèle de développement de la petite enfance utilisé en Ontario et ailleurs. Ce modèle, qui a servi à inspirer et à coordonner les actions menées en faveur des enfants de six ans et moins par les gouvernements et aussi par les communautés, s'articule autour des stades de développement de l'enfant. »
(Volume 1, 2008, pages 290-291)

Haut

Les modalités d'élaboration de cette ressource

Élaboration de cette ressource grâce à un processus multidimensionnel
L'élaboration de la présente ressource a reposé sur le processus suivant :

Compilation des recherches effectuées sur le développement des jeunes
Le gouvernement a lancé un appel ouvert qui a permis de réaliser 13 études regroupant les dernières données sur le développement des jeunes. Ces études ont ensuite été rassemblées dans un rapport scientifique interdisciplinaire afin de former des « feuilles de route » des stades de développement qui constituent la base de cette ressource.

Mise en place d'une stratégie de discussion avec la jeunesse
Le gouvernement a également lancé un processus visant à mobiliser la jeunesse, dans le cadre de deux composantes principales : la création d'un Comité jeunesse et la mise en place d'une stratégie de discussion avec la jeunesse.

Comité jeunesse et réseau jeunesse
En octobre 2010, on a entamé le processus de recrutement pour le Comité jeunesse. Ce dernier avait pour tâche principale d'offrir expertise et conseils en vue de soutenir la conception et la mise en place des séances de discussion avec la jeunesse. Les membres du Comité ont reçu une compensation visant à récompenser le temps consacré au projet et leur expertise. Cela a également permis de veiller à ce que le groupe soit représentatif.

Deux jeunes hommes du Comité jeunesse qui se tiennent côte à côte et sourient.

Plus de 400 candidatures de jeunes Ontariennes et Ontariens ont été reçues. En s'appuyant sur un comité de sélection externe, 25 jeunes ont été retenus pour former le Comité jeunesse. Il s'agissait de jeunes représentant la diversité de la jeunesse de l'Ontario : âgés de 18 à 25 ans, originaires de toute la province, dotés de compétences exceptionnelles et ayant vécu des expériences hors du commun.

En plus du Comité, les jeunes intéressés ont eu d'autres occasions pour participer au projet. Plus de 500 jeunes se sont inscrits au Réseau jeunesse et ont obtenu des mises à jour sur l'élaboration de cette ressource. Les jeunes qui avaient déjà travaillé avec le gouvernement ont également participé au processus en offrant au Comité jeunesse des conseils propres à leurs expériences antérieures de collaboration avec le gouvernement.

Organisation de nombreuses discussions avec la jeunesse
Les séances de discussion ont donné aux jeunes l'occasion de réfléchir sur leur propre vécu et de participer à des discussions interactives afin de déterminer les mécanismes de soutien et les perspectives dont ils ont besoin pour garantir leur développement positif.

Ces séances, élaborées en partenariat avec le Comité jeunesse, ont donné aux jeunes l'occasion de donner des conseils sur la façon dont les personnes responsables des décisions affectant leur vie au quotidien peuvent soutenir au mieux leur développement. Cette stratégie, baptisée « T'en penses quoi? », a offert quatre possibilités de participation aux jeunes :

Des efforts particuliers ont été déployés afin de s'assurer que les jeunes francophones et Autochtones puissent faire entendre leurs voix dans le cadre du processus. De plus, nous avons veillé à ce que les ateliers en face à face aient lieu dans toute la province. La plupart de ces séances ont été tenues au sein des collectivités dont étaient originaires les membres du Comité jeunesse.

Plus de 600 jeunes de la province ont participé aux séances de « T'en penses quoi? », représentant les collectivités indiquées sur la carte ci-dessous. Ce sont leurs voix qui s'expriment dans le présent document.

Illustration représentant une bulle (phylactère). Cette section fournit des renseignements qui ont été communiqués par de jeunes Ontariennes et Ontariens.DANS LEURS PROPRES MOTS

« Écoutez ce que j'ai à dire et posez-moi des questions, parce que, si vous ne m'en posez pas, c'est comme si je n'avais pas voix au chapitre. »

Une carte qui montre les différents lieux de l’Ontario où des jeunes ont donné leur point de vue. Les étoiles rouges représentent les sites des séances de discussion en face à face; les points jaunes signalent les sites représentés par la participation des jeunes.

La lettre « i » en minuscule. Cette section fournit des idées utiles qu’il est intéressant de prendre en compte.APERÇU : LES JEUNES PARTICIPANTS

Les jeunes qui ont participé aux séances de discussion reflétaient toute la diversité propre à ce groupe d'âge en Ontario. De nombreux participants se sont volontairement identifiés en tant que représentants d'un groupe minoritaire :

  • 9 % étaient des jeunes Autochtones
  • 3 % étaient des jeunes francophones
  • 41 % se sont identifiés comme appartenant à une minorité visible.
Haut