You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > About the Ministry > Published plans and annual reports > Published Plan 2015-2016 > Appendix > Services and Supports for Aboriginal Children and Youth

Appendix: Services and Supports for Aboriginal Children and Youth

The ministry continued to support the unique needs of First Nations (on and off reserve), Métis, and Inuit young people across Ontario in 2014-15. It continued to fund the Aboriginal Healthy Babies Healthy Children Program, the Aboriginal Fetal Alcohol Spectrum Disorder/Child Nutrition Program, Aboriginal child protection services and prevention initiatives, the Akwe:go and Wasa-Nabin Urban Aboriginal Programs, and community-based programs for Aboriginal youth in, or at risk of, conflict with the law.

As part of Ontario's Mental Health and Addictions Strategy, funding was provided to hire more than 80 new Aboriginal mental health and addictions workers across the province to help almost 4,000 Aboriginal children and young people get better access to culturally-appropriate mental health and addiction services. These new workers provide counselling, individual and group therapy, crisis intervention, and a range of traditional health services, including traditional teachings and ceremonies. Funding for training needs was made available to Aboriginal agencies that provide child and youth mental health services.

The ministry is implementing a long-term plan for training supports for Aboriginal Mental Health and Addictions Workers in First Nations, Metis, Inuit and urban Aboriginal communities to build and enhance worker knowledge, competencies, and skill capacity to support them in providing high quality mental health services to children and youth. The plan is being implemented over three fiscal years starting in 2014-15 and consists of:

  • A Professional Development (PD) Fund;
  • Mobile Training Teams (pilot in 2014-15 and 2015-16);
  • A Short Term Intensive Course on Aboriginal Mental Health and Addictions; and
  • An Aboriginal Mental Health and Addictions Workers' Training Committee.

In January 2013, Ontario announced its plans to work collaboratively with First Nations, Métis, Inuit, and urban Aboriginal partners on an Aboriginal Children and Youth Strategy to improve outcomes and opportunities for Aboriginal children and youth by transforming the way in which services are designed and delivered.

The Strategy engagement process was formally launched in summer 2013 with three Leadership Roundtables hosted by the Ministers of Children and Youth Services and Aboriginal Affairs. The Leadership Roundtables are as follows:

  • Inuit Leadership Roundtable
  • Métis and Urban Aboriginal Leadership Roundtable
  • First Nations Leadership Roundtable

Leadership representation at the Inuit Leadership Roundtable includes:

  • Ottawa Inuit Children's Centre (OICC)
  • Tungasuvvingat Inuit (TI)

Leadership representation at the Métis and urban Aboriginal Leadership Roundtable includes:

  • Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO)
  • Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres (OFIFC)
  • Ontario Native Women's Association (ONWA)

Leadership representation at the First Nations Leadership Roundtable includes:

  • Nishnawbe Aski Nation (NAN)
  • Anishinabek Nation/ Union of Ontario Indians (AN/UOI)
  • Grand Council Treaty #3 (GCT3)
  • Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians (AIAI)
  • Independent First Nations (IFN)
  • Six Nations of Grand River
  • Chiefs of Ontario (COO)
  • Ontario First Nations Young Peoples Council (OFNYPC)

The ministry also hosted Leadership Roundtables in fall 2014 and winter 2015.

In addition to the Leadership Roundtables, a number of engagement mechanisms were utilized, including engagement with over 500 Aboriginal youth to gain their insight and perspectives for the Strategy.

The ministry continued working with a number of Aboriginal service providers seeking designation as Aboriginal CASs. In particular, two agencies, Kina Gbezhgomi Child and Family Services and Kunuwanimano Child and Family Services took final steps towards designation which occurred early in the 2015-16 fiscal year.

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Au sujet du ministre > Plans publiés et rapports annuels > Plan Publié 2015-2016 > Annexe > Services et soutien aux enfants et aux jeunes autochtones

Annexe : Services et soutien aux enfants et aux jeunes autochtones

En 2014-2015, le ministère a continué de répondre aux besoins uniques des jeunes des Premières Nations (dans les réserves et hors réserve), métis et inuits d’un coin à l’autre de l’Ontario. Il a continué de financer le programme « Bébés en santé, enfants en santé » à l’intention des Autochtones, le Programme de lutte contre les troubles du spectre de l’alcoolisation fœtale chez les Autochtones / Programme de nutrition des enfants autochtones, les services de protection des jeunes autochtones et les initiatives de prévention, les programmes d’Akwe:go et de Wasa-Nabin, qui s’adressent aux enfants autochtones en milieu urbain, ainsi que des programmes communautaires destinés aux jeunes autochtones en conflit avec la loi ou à risque de l'être.

Dans le cadre de la Stratégie de santé mentale et de lutte contre les dépendances, des fonds ont été accordés pour l’embauche de plus de 80 nouveaux travailleurs autochtones en santé mentale et en toxicomanie à l’échelle de la province pour offrir à près de 4 000 enfants et jeunes autochtones un meilleur accès à des services culturellement appropriés de santé mentale et de lutte contre les dépendances. Ces nouveaux intervenants offrent du counseling, de la thérapie individuelle et de groupe, des interventions en situation de crise et un éventail de services traditionnels de santé, y compris des enseignements et des cérémonies traditionnels. Un financement pour les besoins de formation a été rendu disponible aux organismes autochtones qui offrent des services de santé mentale pour enfants et jeunes.

Le ministère met en œuvre un plan à long terme relativement à des soutiens en matière de formation des travailleuses et travailleurs autochtones en santé mentale et en toxicomanie des communautés des Premières Nations, des Métis et des Inuits et des collectivités urbaines autochtones afin d'accroître et de renforcer les connaissances, les compétences et les aptitudes des travailleuses et travailleurs pour les aider à fournir des services de santé mentale de haute qualité aux enfants et aux jeunes. Le plan, dont la mise en œuvre a débuté en 2014-2015 et s'échelonnera sur trois exercices, consiste :

  • en un Fonds pour le perfectionnement professionnel;
  • en des équipes de formation mobiles (projet pilote pour les exercices 2014-2015 et 2015-2016);
  • en un cours intensif de courte durée sur la santé mentale et les dépendances chez les Autochtones;
  • en un comité de formation des travailleurs sociaux pour la santé mentale et la lutte contre les dépendances dans les communautés autochtones.

En janvier 2013, l’Ontario a fait part de son intention de collaborer avec des partenaires des Premières Nations, des Métis, des Inuits et des Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain à l'égard d'une Stratégie pour les enfants et les jeunes autochtones visant à améliorer les résultats et les perspectives des enfants et des jeunes autochtones en transformant le mode de conception et d’exécution des services.

Le ministère a lancé officiellement le processus de participation à la Stratégie à l'été 2013 en tenant trois tables rondes sur le leadership organisées par les ministres des Services à l'enfance et à la jeunesse et des Affaires autochtones. Les tables rondes sur le leadership sont les suivantes :

  • Table ronde sur le leadership des Inuits
  • Table ronde sur le leadership des Métis et des Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain
  • Table ronde sur le leadership des Premières Nations

La représentation du leadership à la table ronde sur le leadership des Inuits comprend :

  • Ottawa Inuit Children’s Centre
  • Tungasuvvingat Inuit

La représentation du leadership à la table ronde sur le leadership des Métis et des Autochtones vivant en milieu urbain comprend les groupes suivants :

  • Métis Nation of Ontario (MNO)
  • Ontario Federation of Indigenous Friendship Centres (OFIFC)
  • Ontario Native Women’s Association (ONWA)

La représentation du leadership à la table ronde sur le leadership des Premières Nations comprend les groupes suivants :

  • Nishnawbe Aski Nation
  • Anishinabek Nation/Union of Ontario Indians (AN/UOI)
  • Grand Council Treaty #3
  • Association of Iroquois and Allied Indians (AIAI)
  • Independent First Nations (IFN)
  • Six Nations of the Grand River
  • Chiefs of Ontario (COO)
  • Ontario First Nations Young Peoples Council (OFNYPC)

Le ministère a également tenu des tables rondes sur le leadership à l'automne 2014 et à l'hiver 2015.

Outre les tables rondes sur le leadership, le ministère a eu recours à un certain nombre de mécanismes de participation, y compris la consultation de plus de 500 jeunes autochtones pour obtenir leurs points de vue et leurs idées sur la stratégie.

Le ministère a poursuivi sa collaboration avec plusieurs fournisseurs de services travaillant auprès des Autochtones qui souhaitent être approuvés en tant que SAE se consacrant aux enfants autochtones. Plus particulièrement, deux organismes, soit Kina Gbezhgomi Child & Family Services et Kunuwanimano Child & Family Services, ont franchi les dernières étapes en voie de l'approbation accordée au début de l'exercice 2015-2016.