You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Ontario's Youth Action Plan > Roots of Youth Violence > Ontario at a Crossroads

Review of the Roots of Youth Violence: Executive Summary

Ontario at a Crossroads


We acknowledge that Ontario has been making progress on certain of the issues we identify. Much of its work on early childhood learning is very much in the right direction, the full-day learning initiative for four- and five-year-olds has the potential to be powerfully transformative, the increased spending on education is impressive, and the appointment of a Poverty Reduction Committee at the Cabinet level is inspirational. And both before our work started and fairly frequently throughout it, the government made program announcements that are consistent with the directions we propose.

For example, during our mandate the Ministry of Education amended the Education Act to address some of the concerns expressed to us by both educators and the community around “safe schools” issues and their disproportionate impact on racialized and marginalized students. Other announcements included funding for more psychologists, social workers, child and youth workers and guidance counsellors in schools (August 2007), the appointment of Dr. Charles Pascal to recommend the best way to implement full-day learning for four- and five-year-olds, the expansion of the Pathways to Education program (both November 2007), additional funding to keep schools open for community use (February 2008), the establishment of 34 new Parenting and Family Literacy Centres (May 2008), and funding for Big Brothers/Big Sisters Canada and other community groups to provide role models and mentors in schools (June 2008). Other examples of government initiatives that may help address the roots of violence involving youth are discussed in Chapter 8 and noted elsewhere in our report.

All of these programs support our conclusion that Ontario is starting to make some progress in addressing the roots of violence involving youth. But in other ways, serious problems remain. The positive announcements to which we refer do not form part of any comprehensive strategy for youth because Ontario does not have a coordinated strategy for its youth. The very serious problems being encountered in neighbourhoods characterized by severe, concentrated and growing disadvantage are not being addressed because Ontario has not placed an adequate focus on these concentrations of disadvantage despite the very serious threat they pose to the province’s social fabric. Racism is becoming a more serious and entrenched problem than it was in the past because Ontario is not dealing with it. The significant new investments in education are not reaching many of the children who need the most help because long-identified barriers to learning are not being addressed. Ontario’s youth justice system is harming some youth because it has no overall coordination, remains punitive in ways that are not strategic and permits increasingly problematic police-community relations.

That said, our point is not to unduly critique the present government for the ongoing effects of past policies, most of which it inherited. Instead, our point is that Ontario is now at a very important crossroads.

The trends we identify in our report, although largely masked by the overall stability of the crime figures, suggest that Ontario is incubating an increase in youth violence, and in more serious violence. These trends are deeply troubling. They include the increasing concentration of violent crime among younger people, the increasing frequency with which guns and knives are being used in disputes that might previously have been settled with fists, the increasing intensity and ferocity of the violence, the increasingly public nature of extreme violence, the growth in the prevalence of both guns and gangs, neighbourhoods trapped in a downward cycle of disadvantage and being challenged to provide the solidarity and positive role-modelling needed to help stem the violence, and a broader community inclined to write off these youth and these communities because they see them as the source of this problem rather than its victims.

In these developments, we see powerful signs that core social bonds are being stretched beyond the breaking point. As those bonds break, violence is normalized, sensibilities are brutalized and communities are isolated. The sowing of the seeds for community retreat, the ceding of public space to violence and the silence that arises from the fear to speak out all increase the opportunities for violence.

The summary our consultants prepared of the Neighbourhood Insight Sessions we conducted makes for very troubling reading. It pulls together what we heard in Ottawa, Thunder Bay, Hamilton and Kitchener-Waterloo, and in four Toronto neighbourhoods. Similar messages are found in the report of our consultation with urban Aboriginal youth across the province.

In the neighbourhoods we visited, we heard about gun violence, violence around drugs and drug dealing, robberies on the street, swarmings, verbal abuse, intimidation, threats, gangs, claims of turf, attacks with knives, fights at school, violence in sports, domestic abuse, sexual assaults, dating violence and violence that flows from systemic issues such as racism, inequality and poverty.

In these neighbourhoods, we also heard about impacts this violence is having on communities. These included fear in neighbourhoods being on the rise, a code of silence taking hold, communities and youth being stereotyped and becoming desensitized to violence, violence becoming an acceptable way of dealing with conflict, gangs proliferating, police presence increasing and leading to harassment, students having more difficulty focusing on school, teaching becoming more difficult, schools being unsafe, youth suffering from depression and social service agencies increasingly unable to keep up with the demand for services.

The worst impacts are being felt in neighbourhoods that are often already isolated from the rest of the community because of the circumstances of poverty. What is particularly disturbing is that many of these communities are largely composed of members of racialized groups. We trace in Chapter 4 how racism and other barriers have concentrated poverty in these groups, and how the housing market has then driven them into concentrations of those who suffer from high levels of poverty.

When poverty is racialized, and then ghettoized and associated with violence, the potential for the stigmatization of specific groups is high. That stigmatization can, in turn, further reduce opportunities for those groups. If we allow these trends and impacts to grow in intensity and impact and fail to mobilize as a society to address the conditions that give rise to them, the prognosis for the neighbourhoods and for the future of this province could be grim.

At the same time, we need to note that Ontario is in the relatively early phases of this degree and kind of violence. And, importantly, even the most disadvantaged communities in our province have good leaders, positive networks and many committed individuals working every day to strengthen and solidify them and to make them safer.

It is because this balance still exists, however precariously, that we consider Ontario to be at a crossroads.


Contents

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Version élargie du Plan d’action pour la jeunesse > Examen des causes de la violence chez les jeunes > L’Ontario à la croisée des chemins

Examen des causes de la violence chez les jeunes (2008) : Sommaire

L’Ontario à la croisée des chemins


Nous reconnaissons que l’Ontario a fait des progrès à l’égard de quelques-uns des problèmes sur lesquels nous nous sommes penchés. La plupart des mesures que la province prend en matière d’éducation de la petite enfance vont certainement dans la bonne direction, le programme scolaire à plein temps pour les enfants de quatre et cinq ans est très prometteur, les fonds supplémentaires consacrés à l’éducation sont impressionnants et la création du Comité ministériel de réduction de la pauvreté est encourageante. De plus, avant de commencer notre travail et à plusieurs reprises pendant notre mission, le gouvernement a annoncé des programmes qui vont dans la direction des conseils que nous proposons.

Par exemple, au cours de notre mandat, le ministère de l’Éducation a modifié la Loi sur l’éducation pour donner suite à certaines des préoccupations formulées par les éducateurs et la communauté autour des problèmes associés à la « politique de sécurité dans les écoles » et leurs conséquences disproportionnées sur les élèves marginalisés et racialisés. D’autres annonces ont été faites, notamment : le financement de nouveaux psychologues, travailleurs sociaux, intervenants auprès des enfants et des jeunes et conseillers d’orientation dans les écoles (août 2007); la nomination de Charles Pascal qui a été chargé de recommander le meilleur moyen de mettre en place le programme scolaire à temps plein pour les enfants de quatre et cinq ans (novembre 2007); l’élargissement du programme Passeport pour ma réussite (novembre 2007); le financement supplémentaire destiné à ouvrir les écoles aux communautés (février 2008); l’établissement de 34 nouveaux centres de formation au rôle parental et de littératie pour les familles (mai 2008); le financement de Grands Frères et Grandes Soeurs Canada et d’autres groupes communautaires afin de fournir des modèles et des mentors dans les écoles (juin 2008). D’autres exemples d’initiatives gouvernementales susceptibles de combattre les causes de la violence chez les jeunes sont présentés dans le chapitre 8 et mentionnés ailleurs dans notre rapport.

Tous ces programmes appuient notre conclusion que l’Ontario commence à faire des progrès dans sa lutte contre les causes de la violence chez les jeunes. Mais, à d’autres égards, il y a encore de graves problèmes. Les annonces positives auxquelles nous faisons allusion ne s’inscrivent pas dans le cadre d’une stratégie exhaustive pour la jeunesse, car l’Ontario n’a pas établi de stratégie coordonnée pour ses jeunes. Les problèmes très graves qu’on rencontre dans les quartiers où il y a de fortes concentrations de personnes défavorisées et dont le nombre ne cesse de croître, car l’Ontario ne met pas suffisamment l’accent sur ces concentrations de personnes défavorisées malgré la menace très grave qu’elles pausent pour le tissu social de la province. Le racisme devient un problème beaucoup plus profond et plus enraciné que par le passé, car l’Ontario n’y fait pas face. Les nouveaux investissements importants effectués dans l’éducation n’atteignent pas beaucoup des enfants qui en ont le plus besoin, car les obstacles à l’apprentissage décelés depuis longtemps n’ont pas été éliminés. Le système de justice pour la jeunesse de l’Ontario nuit à certains jeunes, car il n’est pas coordonné, continue de pénaliser de manières non stratégiques et ne fait rien pour empêcher la dégradation des relations entre la police et la communauté.

Cela dit, le but n’est pas de critiquer indûment le gouvernement actuel pour les répercussions de politiques adoptées par le passé, dont la plupart ont été héritées par lui. Nous préférons dire que l’Ontario se trouve maintenant à la croisée des chemins.

Les tendances dont nous parlons dans notre rapport, bien que largement masquées par la stabilité des chiffres de la criminalité, suggèrent que la violence chez les jeunes augmente en Ontario et qu’elle s’aggrave. Ces tendances sont très perturbantes. Elles comprennent la concentration croissante d’actes criminels violents commis par des enfants plus jeunes; la fréquence grandissante à laquelle les armes à feu et les armes blanches sont utilisées lors de disputes autrefois réglées par les coups; l’intensification et la férocité de la violence; la nature de plus en plus publique de la violence extrême; l’escalade des armes et des gangs de rue; les quartiers pris dans un cycle de privations à la baisse et mis au défi d’assurer la solidarité et les modèles positifs nécessaires à l’élimination de la violence; et une collectivité encline à ne pas se préoccuper de ces jeunes et de ces communautés, qu’elle considère être la source du problème et non ses victimes.

Nous avons également constaté des signes puissants de déliquescence des liens sociaux fondamentaux jusqu’au point de rupture. Lorsque ces liens se brisent, la violence devient normale, les sensibilités sont brutalisées et les communautés s’isolent. Les conditions qui poussent les communautés à se replier sur elles-mêmes, la tendance à céder l’espace public à la violence et le silence imposé par la peur sont autant de facteurs qui alimentent la violence.

Le résumé que nos consultantes ont préparé sur les séances de consultation des gens de quartiers que nous avons dirigées est très alarmant. Il présente ce que nous avons entendu à Ottawa, Thunder Bay, Hamilton et Kitchener-Waterloo, et dans quatre quartiers de Toronto. Des messages similaires se trouvent dans le rapport de nos consultations avec les jeunes Autochtones qui vivent en milieu urbain un peu partout dans la province.

Dans les quartiers que nous avons visités, on nous a parlé de la violence par les armes à feu, de la violence liée à la drogue et au trafic de drogues, des vols à la sauvette, des attaques de groupes, de la violence verbale, de l’intimidation, des menaces, des gangs de rue, des guerres de territoire, des attaques à l’arme blanche, des bagarres dans les écoles, de la violence dans le sport, de la violence familiale, des agressions sexuelles, de la violence dans les rencontres amoureuses, ainsi que de la violence associée à certains problèmes généraux comme le racisme, l’inégalité et la pauvreté.

On nous a également parlé des répercussions de cette violence sur les communautés, y compris la crainte qui se propage, le code de silence qui s’installe, les stéréotypes dont on affuble les communautés et les jeunes qui deviennent insensibles à la violence, la violence comme un moyen acceptable de régler les conflits, la prolifération des gangs de rue, la présence croissante et le harcèlement de la police, le mal qu’ont les jeunes de se concentrer sur leur scolarité, la difficulté d’enseigner, l’insécurité dans les écoles, les jeunes qui souffrent de dépression et les organismes de services sociaux qui sont de moins en moins capables de répondre à la demande de services.

Les pires conséquences sont ressenties dans les quartiers qui sont souvent déjà isolés du reste de la collectivité à cause de la pauvreté. Mais le plus perturbant, c’est que nombre de ces communautés se composent largement de groupes racialisés. Dans le chapitre 4, nous expliquons comment la pauvreté s’est concentrée au sein de ces groupes à cause du racisme et d’autres obstacles et comment le marché du logement a favorisé la concentration des groupes touchés par une extrême pauvreté.

Lorsque la pauvreté est racialisée, ghettoïsée et associée à la violence, le potentiel de stigmatisation des groupes est élevé, ce qui, en retour, leur ferme davantage les possibilités. Si nous laissons ces tendances et répercussions s’intensifier et si la société ne fait rien pour éliminer les conditions sous-jacentes, le pronostic pour les quartiers et l’avenir de cette province est alarmant.

En même temps, il convient de souligner que ce type de violence existe depuis peu de temps en Ontario. Il importe également de mentionner que même les communautés les plus défavorisées de notre province jouissent de dirigeants compétents, de réseaux positifs et de nombreuses personnes dévouées qui oeuvrent chaque jour pour les renforcer et en assurer la sécurité.

C’est parce que cet équilibre existe encore, quoiqu’il soit fragile, que nous disons que l’Ontario est à la croisée des chemins.


Table des matières