You are hereSkip Navigation Links > Home > Professionals > Ontario's Youth Action Plan > Roots of Youth Violence > Volume 1 > Discussion Guide Fall 2007

Review of the Roots of Youth Violence

Volume 1, Appendix 6:

Discussion Guide Fall 2007


Note from the Co-Chairs…

In June 2007, the Premier asked us to lead a Review of the Roots of Youth Violence, and to report our findings and recommendations to him in May 2008.

Violence involving youth is a serious concern for families, communities, schools, governments and youth themselves. This Discussion Guide is designed to assist Ontarians to provide their views on such violence, and on the solutions to it. These views are extremely important to the work which the Premier asked us to lead.

Our review involves many complex and longstanding issues, including how structural inequality, concentrations of disadvantage and racism impact violence involving youth. These are not new issues for either of us. Our deep interest in finding responses to inequality, disadvantage and racism did not start with the Premier's request to us, and it will not end when we submit our report to him.

Our immediate task is to identify and analyze underlying factors contributing to youth violence, and to provide recommendations to help Ontario become a better province for all of its youth and communities.

We are seeking the advice of Ontarians because we believe that our review will lead to lasting change — change that will be built on the shared experiences, insights and wisdom that youth and others share with us.

Because of what is at stake for our youth and our communities, we urge you to contribute to our review's important work.

Roy McMurtry and Alvin Curling, Co-Chairs
Review of the Roots of Youth Violence

There are many ways that people define and think about violence involving youth. This Discussion Guide has been designed as a starting point, and it is intended to enable all respondents to provide the feedback that they believe best reflects the experience in their neighbourhood. The Review of the Roots of Youth Violence is open to, and hopes to hear, many points of view.

1. Describe the violence involving youth in your neighbourhood. What impact is it having?

2. What do you see as the roots of violence involving youth?

...think about the experiences that youth have:
• In society • In the community • In school • With friends and peers • With other youth • With family

3. Tell us about what’s happening in your neighbourhood to help address violence involving youth.
...think about:

•Outreach programs • Youth-led initiatives • Education • Employment •Policing • Any other things that are happening in your neighbourhood What’s working? Why?

What’s not working? Why?

4.What are the two or three most important things that could be done to address violence involving youth in your neighbourhood?

5.Describe the capacity that already exists in your neighbourhood to address violence involving youth (e.g., people, knowledge, programs, other resources that the community already has). What additional supports would help existing and proposed activities succeed?

What we have
(current capacity)

What we need
(additional supports that would help)

6. Beyond what can be accomplished locally in your neighbourhood, what do you think can be done across the province to address violence involving youth?

7.Do you have any other advice for the review?

Need more space? Feel free to attach additional pages.

About This Discussion Guide…

Roy McMurtry and Alvin Curling both have long and distinguished careers as leaders in the Province and in their communities — careers that include major roles addressing issues such as housing, justice, equality and anti-racism. Their successes have earned them the privilege and responsibility of co-chairing this review.

In the short time that they have to conduct this review, the Co-Chairs will visit eight neighbourhoods across Ontario. In each of these, a version of this discussion guide is being used to develop presentations that neighbourhood representatives will make to the Co-Chairs. All of this feedback will be documented and shared with the review.

The Co-Chairs recognize that many more people may wish to provide their comments and ideas to the review, and have therefore established both this website and a toll-free number, 1-888-750-7977. If you have comments or ideas, you might find it useful to use the questions in this Discussion Guide to frame your responses. You may mail the completed guide to

Submissions
Roots of Youth Violence Secretariat
2nd Floor, 880 Bay Street Toronto, ON M7A 2B6
or you may send your responses by e-mail to RRYV@ontario.ca

Please note that it is an offence to publish or disclose to any person the name of a young person or any other information related to a young person if it would identify him/her as a young person who has been dealt with under the Youth Criminal Justice Act or the Young Offenders Act. On this basis, we ask that you exercise extreme care not to include in your responses any information that would fall within these statutory prohibitions.

Any personal information you choose to provide is collected in compliance with section 38(2) of the Freedom of Information and Protection of Privacy Act. Your information may be used to contact you regarding your comments but will not be released to any third party except with your permission. If you have any questions please contact the Review of the Roots of Youth Violence Secretariat at1-888-750-7977 or e-mail us at RRYV@ontario.ca.


Contents

Volume 1. Findings, Analysis and Conclusions

Volume 2. Executive Summary

Volume 3. Community Perspectives Report

Volume 4. Research Papers

Volume 5. Literature Reviews

Tu es làSkip Navigation Links > Accueil > Professionnels > Version élargie du Plan d’action pour la jeunesse > Examen des causes de la violence chez les jeunes > Volume 1 > Guide de discussion Automne 2007

Examen des causes de la violence chez les jeunes (2008)

Volume 1, annexe 6 :

Guide de discussion Automne 2007


Un mot des coprésidents...

En juin 2007, le premier ministre nous a demandé de diriger l’Examen des causes de la violence chez les jeunes et de lui faire part de nos conclusions et recommandations en mai 2008.

La violence chez les jeunes est un sujet grave de préoccupation pour les familles, les collectivités, les écoles, les gouvernements et les jeunes. Ce guide de discussion est conçu pour aider les Ontariens et Ontariennes à exprimer leurs commentaires sur cette violence et sur d’éventuelles solutions pour l’endiguer. Ces commentaires sont extrêmement importants pour accomplir le travail que le premier ministre nous a demandé de faire.

Notre examen traitera de questions complexes dont les solutions se font attendre depuis trop longtemps, notamment à quel point les inégalités structurelles, la concentration des désavantages et le racisme alimentent la violence chez les jeunes. Pour nous deux, il ne s’agit pas de questions jamais abordées. Notre profond intérêt pour trouver des solutions aux inégalités, aux conditions désavantageuses et au racisme ne s’est pas concrétisé avec la demande du premier ministre et il ne prendra pas fin lorsque nous lui remettrons notre rapport.

Notre tâche immédiate est d’identifier et d’analyser les facteurs sous-jacents qui contribuent à la violence chez les jeunes et de fournir des recommandations pour aider l’Ontario à devenir une meilleure province pour l’ensemble de ses jeunes et de ses collectivités.

Nous cherchons à obtenir l’avis des Ontariens et Ontariennes parce que nous croyons que notre Examen va donner lieu à des changements durables, des changements que nous fonderons sur une expérience commune et une sagesse que les jeunes et d’autres personnes voudront bien partager avec nous.

En raison de ce qui est en jeu pour nos jeunes et nos collectivités, nous vous prions de bien vouloir participer à cet important travail.

Roy McMurtry et Alvin Curling, coprésidents
Examen des causes de la violence chez les jeunes


Il y a plusieurs façons de définir et de réfléchir à la violence chez les jeunes. Ce guide de discussion a été conçu comme un point de départ pour permettre à tous les participants de fournir leurs commentaires qui, a leur avis, reflètent le mieux leur expérience dans leur quartier. L’Examen des causes de la violence chez les jeunes est ouvert à tous ces points de vue.
1. Décrivez la violence chez les jeunes de votre quartier. Quelles en sont les conséquences?

2. Quelles sont d’après vous les causes de la violence chez les jeunes?

...pensez aux expériences que vivent les jeunes :

3. Dites-nous ce qui se fait dans votre quartier pour contrer la violence chez les jeunes.

...pensez à : Qu’est-ce qui fonctionne et pourquoi?

Qu’est-ce qui ne fonctionne pas et pourquoi?

4. Quels sont les deux ou trois plus importantes choses qui peuvent être faites pour contrer la violence chez les jeunes de votre quartier?

5.Décrivez les ressources qui existent déjà dans votre quartier pour contrer la violence chez les jeunes (par ex. personnes ressources, connaissances, programmes, autres ressources). Quel soutien additionnel permettrait aux activités déjà existantes et proposées de réussir?

Ce que nous avons
(ressources actuelles)
Ce dont nous avons besoin
(soutien additionnel qui aiderait)

6. En plus de ce qui peut être accompli dans votre quartier, qu’est-ce qui peut être fait dans l’ensemble de la province pour contrer la violence chez les jeunes?

7. Avez-vous d’autres conseils pour les membres de l’Examen?

Vous avez besoin de plus d’espace? N’hésitez pas à incorporer des pages additionnelles

À propos de ce guide de discussion

Roy McMurtry et Alvin Curling ont tous deux mené de remarquables carrières à titre de leaders en Ontario et au sein de leur communauté. Grâce à leurs carrières, ils ont joué des rôles importants dans les domaines du logement, de la justice, de l’équité et de la lutte contre le racisme. Les succès qu’ils ont connus leur ont donné le privilège de présider cet examen.

Dans la courte période de temps consacrée à cet examen, les coprésidents visiteront huit quartiers dans l’ensemble de l’Ontario. Dans chacun de ces quartiers, une version de ce guide de discussion sera utilisée pour préparer des présentations que les représentants de quartier feront aux coprésidents. Tous ces commentaires seront documentés et ils seront transmis aux membres de l’Examen.

Les coprésidents reconnaissent que bien d’autres personnes pourraient vouloir leur présenter leurs commentaires et leur faire part de leurs idées. C’est pourquoi ils ont mis sur pied ce site Web et mis en service une ligne sans frais dont le numéro est le 1-888-750-7977. Si vous avez des commentaires ou des idées, vous trouverez sans doute utile d’utiliser les questions de ce guide de discussion pour structurer vos réponses. Une fois complété, vous pouvez le poster à l’adresse suivante :

Secrétariat de l’examen des causes de la violence chez les jeunes
880, rue Bay, 2e étage
Toronto, ON M7A 2B6

ou RRYV@ontario.ca

Veuillez prendre note qu’en vertu de la Loi sur le système de justice pénale pour les adolescents et de la Loi sur les jeunes contrevenants, il est considéré commettre une infraction que de publier ou de dévoiler à quiconque le nom d’un jeune ou de divulguer tout renseignement relié à cette jeune personne si cela permet de l’identifier. À cet effet, nous vous demandons de prendre toutes les précautions nécessaires pour ne pas inclure dans votre réponse tout renseignement qui pourrait entrer dans ces catégories d’interdiction obligatoire..

Tous les renseignements personnels que vous décidez de divulguer sont recueillis conformément à l’article 38(2) de la Loi sur l’accès à l’information et la protection de la vie privée. Ces renseignements pourraient être utilisés pour vous contacter en raison des commentaires ou des demandes que vous avez formulés mais ils ne seront pas divulgués à un tiers parti sans avoir reçu votre autorisation. Si vous avez des questions, veuillez communiquer avec le Secrétariat de l’examen des causes de la violence chez les jeunes à l’adresse suivante : 880, rue Bay, 2e étage, Toronto, Ontario, M7A 2B6, (1-888-750-7977) ou RRYV@ontario.ca.


Table des matières

Volume 1. Résultats, analyse et conclusions

Volume 2. Sommaire

Volume 3. Les points de vue des communautés